Honda Malaysia sets 109,000 sales target for 2018, 18% market share from estimated 600,000 TIV

Honda Malaysia (HM) has announced its sales target for 2018, which is 109,000 units. The on-form brand is also gunning for 18% market share on the back of estimated total industry volume (TIV) of 600,000 units this year. The Malaysian Automotive Association’s TIV estimate for this year is 590,000 units.

The 109k sales target is 9,000 units higher than the 100k target for 2017, which was exceeded – HM sold 109,511 vehicles last year. It was an all-time record for the brand in Malaysia and the first time sales breached the 100k mark. From the 2017 TIV of 576,635 units, Honda held a market share of 19% in 2017 (21.3% if counting passenger cars alone). Honda’s market share in Malaysia is the second highest in the world after Pakistan.

Click to enlarge.

HM’s sales target has been rising sharply in the past few years – it was 76k in 2014, 85k in 2015, 90k in 2016 and 100k last year. Targets have been achieved every year, and HM describes this as “stable momentum for the past four years.”

All the brand’s CKD locally assembled models – City, Jazz, Civic, Accord, CR-V and BR-V – top their respective segments. Honda ended the year as the top non-national brand in the country, and number two overall, ahead of Proton and behind only Perodua.

The company will launch two new products this year, one of it being the Odyssey facelift.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Avatar 168 on Feb 06, 2018 at 6:34 pm

As usual, Always think about the sales, but compromise on MANY Assemble conditions, safety / sensor features and poor service centre.. Why give many airbags and not all round DISC ? Prevention of accident(DISC brakes) than an accident already happened(airbags) .. wisdom thinking to solve tiny compromise items and very frequent go to SC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • DRB is in charge on Assemble conditions & local Build quality.

• Sri Jayaraman on Feb 06, 2018 at 8:23 pm

Honda give good estimate. Realistic targets. Some car companies, sales only 70,000 but they target 500,000.

Fuyooh

• Ah pek on Feb 07, 2018 at 9:34 am

Well done honda. Other car brand like proton, volvo, peugeot and ford shall learn from Honda strategy in malaysia to recover their sales

• Siam kap on Mar 21, 2019 at 2:20 pm

This Perodua very dishonest. Always give unrealistic target.

• DRB only do assembly. Build quality and parts r under Honda responsible.

• Top Ten List, I choose Proton, Nissan, Mercedes, BMW, Volkswagen and Subaru.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Lansi Perodua salesman on Feb 06, 2018 at 7:53 pm

Yeah but your sales people so Lansi now, see us like kutu only as though they’re selling BMW

• Perodua sales 2 X 109k

• No plan to improve after sales/service ??

• Seriously honda need to increase its service centre due to higher sales volume. You need to book for service appointment well in advance, otherwise you can’t get the slot, especially on weekend. Unless you’re willing to burn your leave on weekdays.

• Not Honda Fan on Feb 07, 2018 at 12:36 pm

even if you can get a slot to a service appointment on weekend, it is unlikely you can get the SC to look at other issues with your car. especially involving warranty claims. you will need to come back on week days to sort that concern. they will kindly push you out.

• Wait what? Just two launches this year? And one of it is the Odessey? So they have to choose facelifted HR-V or new Accord eh?

• They planned to launch only 6 models last year, but came out 7. So why cant they increase too if got market?

• Honda Honda Honda again, so boring. Jaguh Kampung Jepun Malaysia. Those who buy seriously are driving a boring brand compared to say Mazda or Nissan cars which at least has soul,emotion and best of all superior built quality.

• Improve your after sales first before talking of market share!

• I don’t think they can pass last year achievement. It will be around 100k mark.
    This year will be more challenging. Interest rate hike, stringent loan approval, MyVi effect & a P2’s SUV would make an impact. Boyue might affect them next year

• Mohd Affandi on Feb 07, 2018 at 10:36 am

Wait… only 2 new launches for 2018?

MMC Odyssey is one, and we know the impending arrival of the MMC HR-V..

So no new Honda Accord?