Honda Malaysia aftersales push – 7 new dealerships, 90 mins Express service, extended Help Line hours

In addition to Honda Malaysia’s 2018 sales target announcement, the Japanese brand also announced its plans for aftersales operations on our shores for this year. This includes its aim of opening seven new dealerships comprising a mix of 3S and 2S centres, along with new body and paint centres.

Existing dealerships will be upgraded too, with the aim of enhancing quality of service as well as to meet growing demand. Honda Malaysia reported 13% growth in its total service intake, and has opened and upgraded six dealerships in the country last year, to a total of 93 dealerships nationwide in 2017.

The growth of its dealership network will be supported by a collaboration with a public vocational college and a local private automotive college, where selected students will receive a six-month training stint before becoming certified technicians for Honda Malaysia. This will help prepare the graduates for Honda’s Fixed Right First Time (FRFT) standard, which the company says is key to customer satisfaction.

A new corporate identity is being implemented at Honda dealerships as well, aimed at presenting to its customers a fresher image with new human-centric elements, the company says. This move aims to enhance the customer experience at its outlets by providing the latest facilities and top-notch hospitality.

Honda dealer HZN Cars has also announced HZN Express, which is an express service for Honda vehicles. Located in Glenmarie along Jalan Pelukis U1/46, the service centre is equipped with 10 Fast Service bays to service up to 60 cars daily, including tyre service. The outlet aims to furnish this service in under 90 minutes for each Honda admitted, and appointments can be made online.

Connectivity is all the rage, and here Honda Malaysia aims to help its customers stay plugged in to their vehicle servicing requirements with an after-sales portal slated to go online this year.

The main aspects of vehicle servicing to be facilitated by this portal will include the setting of service appointments, checking of the status of a vehicle’s progress of service, as well as keeping tabs on vehicles’ service history and any product update requirements, such as recalls.

Customer aid is augmented by its toll-free call centre, the Honda Help Line, to run 13 hours a day from 9am to 10pm, seven days a week, including public holidays. This will go towards enhancing the customer experience, Honda says, and productivity in this area will be improved by up to 30%.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Muhd Satibi bin Harun on Feb 07, 2018 at 12:49 pm

Proton needs to learn from Honda Malaysia how to do this 90 minute Service. I send my car to Proton Glenmarie 7.30am, my car only ready 7pm in the night.

90 minutes vs 12 hours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 49
    • Fake news lah wei! P1 service centers dun open until 8.30am. Mau tipu pun kasi logik sikit. And P1 has 60 minutes quick servis bays.

60 minutes vs 90 minutes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 51
      • Mohd Taufik Yunos on Feb 07, 2018 at 5:57 pm

A simple google search will show you Proton’s opening hours. Your 8.30 am you quoted is inaccurate as usual. Official website opening times is 8am to 7pm. As with all car companies, they start taking in cars at 7.30am

Address: 6, Jalan Juruhebah U1/50, Kawasan Perindustrian Temasya, 40150 Shah Alam, Glenmarie
        Hours: Open 8am ⋅ Closes 7PM
        Phone: 03-5569 5499

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 27
        • Your 7.30am quoted is inaccurate as usual. P1 dun start work until official start time and they dun take in ur car b4 that. Fake news again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 38
      • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 07, 2018 at 6:41 pm

another fake news. I always send my car 7.30 am.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
        • Sinister on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:30 pm

Can see clearly John never own Proton before. He must be a 12 years old fella with nothing to do except comment nonsense here.

• I worked at the company beside the P1 Glemarie and I can tell you’re just bullshXting. They only opened at 8am to receive cars and only start to service cars about 8.30am. That’s pretty much the working hours of our surrounding area. So stop demeaning John with the fake name and fake news!

• theanswer on Feb 07, 2018 at 4:57 pm

honda got sales target (for service)..they need to reach their monthly goal. so they will try to service as many car as possible in one day (depending on amount of technician on that day) *told by my cousin who work as a honda’s technician

• Sinister on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:33 pm

You see, they care more about sales than quality, that’s why so much complaint about Honda service. The poor technician have to rush through service and make many mistake due to the sales target.

• Sinister on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:26 pm

Honda and Proton should learn from Ah Beng bawah pokok. That guy can check, service and clean your car under 30 minutes.

• I wud be very very wary of any Ah Beng bawah pokok that can replace a timing belt under 30 minutes. I hope ur car stay well clear from mine.

• whatever la on Feb 07, 2018 at 12:52 pm

the copy Toyota who had this years ago la..30-40min all done cos toyota quality very very good. just do normal service, pay and drive home..

• iamnap on Feb 07, 2018 at 1:49 pm

Deswai UMW toyota tops in JD Power CSI.

• I went to Toyota service center, and they told me “sori sir all full pls come next day”. I ask why, since I got appointment. They said full with those walk in customers that cilok my timeslot. And im not the only one! Daheck they allow to do this! That means appointment or no appointment makes no diff! All toyota the same, taboleh pakai! P2 pun sama!

At least Honda only allows walkin when theres free slot between appointments, and P1 reserves 20 minutes waiting for late coming appointments b4 service walkin. Tip top customer service, no bollocking u like those above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Sorry for the trouble.
        Please visit UMW Toyota service center next time.

• This WAS IN mafak UMW toyota service center! Even outside service at least its 1st come 1st serve, i can understand that. Toyota just shiok sendri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Srivignesh Dass on Feb 07, 2018 at 7:21 pm

Chill bro.. All good things are worth waiting for

• U try wasting 2 holidays just to service ur car, then come back and tell me if thats a gud thing.

• Gabriel on Feb 07, 2018 at 1:03 pm

Honda & P2 both sprucing up their aftersales & dealership. Who will take silver behind P2 in 2018?

• Seriously honda need to increase its service centre due to higher sales volume. You need to book for service appointment well in advance, otherwise you can’t get the slot, especially on weekend. Unless you’re willing to burn your leave on weekdays.

• Appointment no problem as long as they dun service walk ins that cilok ur timeslot. Thats what happen to toyota.

• theanswer on Feb 07, 2018 at 4:55 pm

toyota already have appointment app since almost a year ago.. just use the app to book your slot. so far no problem.

• U din read what I wrote. I DID make appointment, but walk ins ciloked my timeslot and other pipu as well. They so easy allow these cilokers to come at their own sweet time but make me to come next day. So appointment or no appointment makes no diff. Apa ni?!

• Totally welcome this move and hopefully they will keep up the promise. Going to their SC is a nightmare and please send those workers behind the desk to some course. teach them interpersonal skills, teach them about the car. Love their cars but poor poor SCs

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 07, 2018 at 2:30 pm

Kudos, Honda Malaysia.

You have listened to customers feedback & taken proactive steps to rectify. These new Express Service centres will help towards improving customer satisfaction.

Time to prepare for Geely-Proton onslaught this year end. They’re already planning for 3S/4S centres that focus on customer experience. Imagine a reception/waiting area that resembles a 5 star hotel. Geely plan to uplift the current poor Proton customer service to the level of that in China. On top of that, the soon to be launched C segment (Boyue) SUV will not only be cheaper but better equipped than your (B segment) HRV. All these will eat into your current & future market share. Your sales-marketing strategy for 1 to 5 years will have to proactively counter this onslaught. Build customer loyalty via a combination of products & services. Positive customer experience is priceless & word of mouth will be your strongest advertisement.

• Meanwhile toyota wallow in their overpriced CHR that no one wants. Expecting another round of bashings from their SAs in PT cuz beating flies.

• Opening seven new dealerships? I found that many service center is short of manpower.Increase new service center also no use.Please also increase manpower.

• Pok Mat on Feb 07, 2018 at 5:53 pm

Honda senawang.
    Apoinment 9am.
    12 pm baru siap.
    Tukar minyak itam je pun.

Tapi bagusnya dpat makan free

• Steven on Feb 08, 2018 at 8:36 pm

Hzn honda express said my car gear box leak. Sent to Hzn for 1 full day check then said no leak. Please dont go there.

• Tanny on Feb 14, 2018 at 3:02 pm

Sent several emails and made several calls to Honda Customer Service informing them I have sold off my vehicle and was assured they would update their records. Sadly, it has not been done and keeps on sending regular reminders, which is very annoying.

It appears Honda Malaysia Customer Service personnel do not understand what I have written, probably due to my poor English writing skill.