Proton looking to sell 400,000 cars per year by 2027 – aiming for 30% market share in Malaysia, 10% in Asean

Proton has come up with a 10-year plan in which it is targeting to sell 400,000 vehicles a year by 2027, The Star reports. In terms of volume projection, the national automaker is targeting a gradual increase in output, with the intention to get to 200,000 units by 2020 and 300,000 units by 2023 before arriving at the 400k mark in 2027.

The growth is part of a turn-around plan that aims to turn the company around “as soon as practicable,” with the intention of retaking local market leadership and becoming one of the top three carmakers in South-East Asia. The plan, drafted by Proton’s management team headed by CEO Li Chunrong, is expected to be presented to the government for approval.

The publication’s StarBiz section, which had access to the plan, revealed that the automaker is looking to reduce expenditure across the board by 30% beginning from this year. The process of cost cutting has already begun, with Li having recently issued a directive to parts suppliers to reduce their prices by as much as 30%.

The automaker has localisation targets set out in its business plan – over the next four years, 80% of Proton’s components and services will be sourced locally, but the company stated that vendors have to place a strong emphasis to quality, cost and reliability.

The company said it will focus on productivity, quality and cost competitiveness as well as enhancing brand value to optimise investments. Within the next decade, Proton says it is looking at securing a 30% market share locally and 10% of the Asean market, with exports accounting for 25-30% of its annual sales.

It has also started work on improving quality, saying that its car quality improved by 30%-50% last year with the introduction of a stringent system aligned to the international standard of Volvo cars. By the end of 2018, Proton is expected to achieve the same quality standard as Geely vehicles made in China, the plan stated.

In terms of products, three new models are set to be introduced, and four of its current models will be upgraded. It also reiterated that production expansion will be moved to Tanjung Malim due to cost and space considerations. An expansion of its sales network has also begun – in the short term, the number of sales centres are set to be increased to 109 by October this year from the current 75.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments reveal skepticism and mixed sentiments towards Proton's ambitious plans to sell 400,000 cars annually by 2027 and achieve significant market shares in Malaysia and ASEAN. Many critics question the realism of these targets, citing Proton's past sales performance, quality issues, and stiff competition from Japanese, Korean, and Chinese brands. There is concern about Proton’s past reputation, RV, and the quality of Chinese-made vehicles compared to local standards. Some express hope that Geely's ownership and the integration of global standards will improve Proton, but many are doubtful, emphasizing the need for tangible progress rather than promises. Overall, the sentiments range from skepticism and doubt to cautious optimism about Proton’s future under Geely's management.

• anonymous on Feb 08, 2018 at 4:12 pm

He can do it, but how about the rest of people?
    Don’t forget incident of MAS former Mat Salleh CEO

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 7
    • Gargantia on Feb 08, 2018 at 5:23 pm

Kudos to Geely vision! Unless local DRB commitment is made, there are only promises and hopes; but not plans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Mohd Taufik Yunos on Feb 08, 2018 at 7:19 pm

China CEO already asking why parts cost 30% more. Something local CEOs for 20 years could not figure out

Soon China CEO will ask…. How come 10,000 Proton workers only produce 70,000 cars when Mitsubishi in Thailand got only 6000 workers but can produce 320,000 cars.

10X productivity

Then we see the drama

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
        • Blogass on Feb 09, 2018 at 9:24 am

I think the old management knows, but cant do anything or risk losing support. This new CEO dont give a damn about losing support they dont need.

• Yaacob on Feb 09, 2018 at 9:05 am

ASEAN got so many japanese cars at cheap prices. They dont have msian car tax. Altis is like RM80k in Thailand for example

Why they want to buy China car?

Currently in ASEAN countries even other China car brands tak laku

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
        • rchoo on Feb 09, 2018 at 9:35 am

Why? because you are naive. Go to China n see that their SUV are eating up foreign SUV market share (including japs). That’s how fast they are moving up the market chain.

You caveman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
        • kzm (Member) on Feb 09, 2018 at 9:47 am

it around RM100k for cheapest thai altis n it is 1.6L manual which is not sold in malaysia. The 1.8L sold price is quite similar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 08, 2018 at 5:43 pm

Everyday changing figure. That day they announced 500,000. Now, they say 400,000.

Don’t dream so big lah. First of all, charity begins at home. Win your rakyat’s heart first. Then, talk big and aim for the world.

Currently, even 70% of local grads choose foreign makes. That is the younger generation. The older generation, after trying Proton, refuse to try again.

So, even your youngters, millenials and Y generation all don’t want Proton.

Why don’t you focus on your rakyat first before you aim for ASEAN? After all Proton was created for the rakyat of Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 20
      • Afeeq Hasan on Feb 09, 2018 at 8:44 am

Very true statement on older generations not wanting Proton after owning one before.

• Yaacob on Feb 09, 2018 at 9:21 am

very few people buy Proton for the 2nd time. They learn their lesson

• True. After they try another car, then when time to replace it, they come back to P1 for 3rd, 4th, 5th…

• Marhaen on Feb 09, 2018 at 12:06 pm

Brape lama lagi Rakyat marhaen terpaksa menanggung beban untuk proyek tempatan yang tidak kompeten ini. Pikir2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • U maksud P2 ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • OhnoDreamagain on Feb 08, 2018 at 6:35 pm

P2 i beliv can. P1…ermmm…by 2027 people more smart ody lorrr. They wun go for p1 anymore lor. 40K a year can la gv p1 face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • Proton will soon take over the world. You don’t buy Proton, you are the loser….oh wai!

Let us support our own success and product. I am proud of P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
        • arowana on Feb 09, 2018 at 10:32 am

Keep preaching boy. Hopefully those local grads hear you.

• Sam 'john' Loo on Feb 09, 2018 at 10:22 pm

Of course P2 can, as Poodua already take over the ‘juara kampung malaysia’ status. Bravo. You don’t buy Poodua, that MD will marah when sales does not meet target….oh wai!

Let us support ‘their’ own success and product. I am proud of P2 of their cost cutting retard (coz all of their new cars temperature gauge went missing)

• Yaacob on Feb 09, 2018 at 9:23 am

China car can only sell in China. Go see sales figures. China car hardly can sell anywhere outside China

Whatmore in ASEAN where people are very conscious about brands….they will go for Jap or Korean

• rchoo on Feb 09, 2018 at 9:39 am

You are wrong, Chinese car manufacturers couldn’t really sell their car in 2015, starting 2016 n 2017, they are flying high now. 2 years in China is about 7-8 years of progression in the rest of the world.

You will see their car compete in South Korean level very soon. Like what you see in Huawei

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 09, 2018 at 9:38 am

I love syiok sendiri statements like “Proton gonna take over the world”

Sounds like He Man Masters of the Universe or Ultraman.

• tokmoh. on Feb 08, 2018 at 6:41 pm

Mat Salleh CEO just an employee, he tak suka, he keluar.

But Geely owns 49.99% of Bao Teng. He tak suka, you keluar!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
      • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 08, 2018 at 9:01 pm

Proton sales history…..

2006 – 115k
        2007 – 118k
        2008 – 141k
        2009 – 148k
        2010 – 157k
        2011 – 158k
        2012 – 141k
        2013 – 138k
        2014 – 115k
        2015 – 102k
        2016 – 72k
        2017 – 70k
        2018 – ???
        2019 – ???
        2020 – 200k
        2023 – 300k

https://paultan.org/2017/03/21/more-than-70-of-local-university-grads-choose-to-buy-foreign-vehicles-rather-than-the-national-car-proton/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Yaacob on Feb 09, 2018 at 9:27 am

2018 is 50,000 cause Boyue only come out end of 2018. And that also don’t know whether it will sell

• So whats this nonsense about cars being exp in MY? Even u admitted freshies alredi can afford to get toyota & honda. Again got caught in ur twisted wordplay, eh?

• apamau on Feb 08, 2018 at 7:00 pm

This can’t compared with Mas !
      Geely basically own Proton now, the 49% is purely technically to show Proton still Malaysian products in Asean and other reason. (u can read the news in china)..the reason why geely own 49%.

How about the rest of people ? what you mean the rest of people. There’s basically no “the rest of people”, if they can’t follow, there’s a big bunch of china supplier already eyeing to supply proton with quality parts at better price, including setting up plant in malaysia to get the Asean Market.

So, “the rest of the people” is out of the question.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 19
      • Game Over on Feb 09, 2018 at 8:17 am

10 Nov 2017:

No retrenchments at Proton, workforce set to increase
        – sales are also expected to climb to 500,000 units per year within the next decade.

Ahmad Maslan said that Proton staff will also be given opportunities to join human capital development programmes organised by Geely at its various design R&D centres across the globe, including China, Sweden and the United States.

He added that the carmaker aims to expand its workforce to 20,000 in the next 10 years, and sales are also expected to climb to 500,000 units per year within the next decade.

The increased volume will benefit more than 230 of Proton’s vendors, Ahmad Maslan said. He added that the number of vendors is also set to increase. “Geely also aims to increase the number of Proton vendors and enhance their capacity in their quest to produce better quality products,” he said.

https://paultan.org/2017/11/10/no-retrenchments-at-proton-workforce-set-to-increase/

• inb4 Geely is dreaming, owh but they did sell 1.2mil cars in China alone last year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 28
    • 12yrsold on Feb 08, 2018 at 5:06 pm

Selling 1.2 million in China is sap-sap-sooi bcos they have 1.4 billion people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 32
      • Try telling that to Zoyte & Landwind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
        • Be grateful 70k units sold. Good job all P1 dealers!!

• 12yrsold on Feb 09, 2018 at 8:40 am

If Geely cannot sell 1.2 million vehicle, U think got $$$ to buy Lotus & P1 meh ??!

• U think just becoz got China brand, them mainlanders will buy kah? how come Geely is success while Zoyte Landwind is not?

• Basherlogic on Feb 10, 2018 at 2:49 pm

how come P2 is success while Proton is not? U think just becoz got Msia brand, them bolehlanders will buy kah?

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 08, 2018 at 5:45 pm

How from 70,000 now can jump to 200,000 in 2 year’s time?

Is that possible? Be realistic.

Already your sales from 220,000 plummet to 70,000. You think in 2 year’s time you can jump so high?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
      • Can..only when u gv it back to the founder. Hehe..

“..without experience, two years may not be sufficient for him to solve the problems.”

• waters on Feb 09, 2018 at 9:07 am

The 200k figure is production output.

• rchoo on Feb 09, 2018 at 9:49 am

Can since Geely is in control and going to revamp all segments of Proton, leave no stone unturn.

• Anonymous on Feb 27, 2018 at 6:19 pm

Unless you have a track record of turning around a failing car company, you can’t say what is and what isn’t realistic.

• Mocha Man on Feb 08, 2018 at 4:16 pm

Why not humbly said 41%?

• suomynona on Feb 08, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Well that’s some big numbers

• Same L0rr on Feb 08, 2018 at 4:25 pm

Hahaha.. good luck. Still campro vvt, confirm no sale. Bad RV! Buy perodua/honda/toyota better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 19
    • Mohd Taufik Yunos on Feb 08, 2018 at 6:36 pm

Spot on. Already normal Proton got super bad RV, can you imagine China made Proton?

I think within 1 year already lose 70% in value.

Every wondered why in Malaysia Chna cars like Haval, Cherry etc are hardly seen and have very low sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
  • pro-san on Feb 08, 2018 at 4:34 pm

By the end of 2018, Proton is expected to achieve the same quality standard as Geely vehicles made in China

hahahahaha plotek mode on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
    • lilytan on Feb 09, 2018 at 8:56 am

To say that proton will have same quality like chinese car is probably the worse news ever. Kudos to geely but proton now have no face. So much for bmw of the east.

• clown on Feb 09, 2018 at 11:50 am

Have you drive Geely car? Do you know how the quality of Geely car?You thinks its china made and its not ok? Not all china made are worst..

• johnissohai on Feb 08, 2018 at 4:35 pm

Wont buy and also wont touch proton anymore no mattet how “good” they become

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 19
  • azrai on Feb 08, 2018 at 4:35 pm

400k sales around the world?Yes.
    30% Malaysian market shares?NO.
    Honda The Power of Dream.
    Proton The Power of Daydreaming.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 18
    • lilytan on Feb 09, 2018 at 3:15 pm

Spot on. They have been talking empty rhetorics for about a million years now.

• Proton oh Proton on Feb 08, 2018 at 4:54 pm

Talk after achieved… don’t just dreaming with the numbers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 7
  • The Campro engine puts me off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • With Chinaman at the helm, I don’t see how they couldn’t achieve that. But they really have to focus on their exports

• tokmoh. on Feb 08, 2018 at 6:34 pm

Muahahahahaha.

Already, I’m seeing people questioning why need to present to govt?

I’ve said it before, haters gonna cry foul, call it playing dirty, but so what? I’ve said it, fortune favours the bold, Geely shall be rewarded handsomely, Geely will win, it is their destiny!

Those who knew of the might of Geely fear them. The unfair advantage will tilt so much in favour of Bao Teng, they will not let it happen, so they spread fake news, they lied to the consumers, yet deep down they know they cannot respond in kind, and they will know despair, they will what it’s like to lose. Dread it, run from it, yet fate still comes!

Geely, Bao Teng > all!!!

Excellent long term plan by Dr Li and management,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 55
  • Mystvearn on Feb 08, 2018 at 6:35 pm

2 tahun lagi nak 200k cars.. . Very ambitious

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Must have ambition. If no ambition, CEO Dr.Li and big boss will get upset and asks why want to target so low? That’s why never successful..

• Les copaque on Feb 09, 2018 at 10:37 am

Introduction to Ambition & target 101.
        https://paultan.org/2014/10/14/proton-ev-2017-under-rm100k/

• Carlover on Feb 08, 2018 at 7:37 pm

With the current offerings from proton and in a very competitive market, from perodua n Japanese cars, it is a wishful thinking of ideas, to sell car up to 200k yearly in 2 years time. Ceo has to do his duty in d mean time for d sake of salary by providing plans etc. What happen in d future, will be d company owners responsible.
    Proton quality will be good as geely car in d future? Wow, then please rebadge geely car asap. Proton has been rebadging many japanese car with little to non success, inspira, perdana, suzuki, and now Chinese car.well good luck.

• rchoo on Feb 09, 2018 at 9:57 am

yeah,yeah like they say good luck to this what? Huawei? what? and now everyone fears Huawei technology, inventor of new technology, patents by patents and intentionally and discriminated feared even by US government and competitors including your favourite Samsung and Apple.

The Chinese are coming with greater things you have yet to enjoy in your life, idiot

• I’m an owner of Inspira. Honestly speaking, other than the spareparts are alot more expensive than a typical Proton Wira, and the Proton after sales-service is really shitty attitude, I dont find anything wrong with this car at all

• Matchy on Feb 08, 2018 at 7:59 pm

5 years ago they also said target to sell 500,000 units by 2017/2018…

• Never count your chicks before it has hatched….currently all that Proton has to show for itself are just pitches and poorly built cars…honestly instead of publishing more press statements, just focus on your turnaround plan please….the public is getting rather tired with all the hot air ….without any tangible substance..

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 08, 2018 at 9:13 pm

Good luck, Dr Li. We have no doubts on your sincerity on achieving these goals, proven first with the 30-50% quality improvement, something Proton was unable to do in 30 yrs. The target timeline isn’t realistic but it’s good to push the laggards so that you can separate the wheat from the chaff. Natural culling will leave you with those that wants to progress with Geely.

I feel Geely has something to prove with this Right Hand Drive market venture. It goes beyond Proton as it means opening up a new market in right hand drive countries such as UK, Ireland, Australia, South Africa & New Zealand. In short, Geely is thinking Global rather than SEA regional or a small market like Malaysia.

Permit me to guess the 3 new models; Boyue (C segment), Vision S1 (B segment), either MPV or GC9 (Perdana replacement).

• sohhai on Feb 08, 2018 at 9:46 pm

What a slap in the face. Proton’s quality isn’t even on par with Geely cars made in China. Malaysia Boleh

• Of cuz! Geely car follows VolvoCar global standards. Why do u think they buy VolvoCar? U think Geely made in China is like ur Zoyte fake clone kah? Ur ipongX oso Made in China lah!

• bakri on Feb 08, 2018 at 11:11 pm

No use improving quality on the existing fleet of cars. We want new models with better engines, not another campro vvti.
    Will boycott P1 until they fast track the introduction of newer models.

• Jeffrey Chew on Feb 09, 2018 at 9:23 am

By the end of 2018, Proton is expected to achieve the same quality standard as Geely vehicles made in China, the plan stated.

Now you know huh….

• Sobuz on Feb 09, 2018 at 8:33 pm

Geely had a factory in Indonesia and start selling cars there since 2010. Has it conquer Indonesia market yet? Still a small fry. So don’t boast in Malaysia.

• I believe long time back, Proton should have emulate Lotus business model. Chassis build ownself, engine buy from others.
    If all Proton comes with Mitsubishi MIVEC engines, it will definitely sell better. The modern MIVEC is definitely superior in terms of fuel consumption at least. There is nothing as thirsty as the Turbo CAMPRO in the 1.5L~1.6L category engine.
    So far only the manual gearbox models are good. The Punch CVT gearbox is a nightmare.