It seems that Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has quietly introduced an update to the Tiguan Comfortline, Tiguan Highline and Passat Highline. The surprise comes in the form of an improved head unit, and the good news is there won’t be a price hike to compensate for the new system.
During its launch in April 2017, the Tiguan Comfortline and Highline both came with an eight-inch touchscreen head unit. The Comfortline’s Composition Media system supported Bluetooth, SD card, USB and AUX-in functions, while the Highline’s Discover Media unit bundled all that with navigation and a reverse camera.
The updated head units on both variants are part of the latest-generation Volkswagen MIB infotainment family, introduced in the Mk7.5 Golf. Both systems get flush-fitting screens and touch-sensitive controls instead of hard buttons, but retain their physical volume and tuning knobs. The top-of-the-range Discover Pro, not offered here, gets a full touch panel with a 9.2-inch display.
Additionally, the App-Connect package, previously a RM1,099 option on the Highline, is now standard on the Highline and Comfortline, granting smartphone screen mirroring functionality via Apple CarPlay, Android Auto or MirrorLink.
In terms of features and functions, they are pretty much the same, and both are hooked to eight speakers. Again, the only advantage Discover Media has over Composition Media – aside from a reverse camera – is integrated GPS navigation, but remember, both systems are Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatible, so you can use Apple Maps (Apple CarPlay) or Google Maps or Waze (Android Auto) for navigation instead.
The Passat Highline, on the other hand, gets upgraded from the older 6.5-inch Discover Media to a larger eight-inch Discover Media unit – the same as that on the Tiguan Highline. The Passat Comfortline will continue to get the smaller 6.5-inch Composition Media unit, whereas the entry-level Trendline makes do with an even smaller five-inch Composition Colour touchscreen display.
For a detailed look at the Tiguan and Passat’s equipment and specifications, head over to CarBase.my. You can also read our full review of the Tiguan 1.4 TSI and Passat 1.8 and 2.0 TSI.
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
Good interface working together with Google Android Auto and Apple Car Play. Ideally, 8 inch screens are ideal for large limo’s so it is ideal for the Passat to follow the Tiguan in offering that.
VW never listen. Always try low spec first. No biz only giving out the upgrade (App-Connect package RM1099) for free now.
All car companies are like that laa, when i bought my g4 CRV in 2013, I have to pay for the damm reverse sensor and Honda charge premium for it cz of warranty. the worst thing is, the color didn’t match the bumper(Solid black vs grey)
Better buy this than junk Boyue
But u said VW is tow truck drivers favourite wor…
Boyue lasts longer than this problematic VW
Summore VW free service^^
Had not driven or seen the Boyue yet on Malaysian Roads yet and you said it is a JUNK .
Personally most of my friends view VW more like a German Junk as it is not only problematic but also
a scandalous manufacturer same like AUDI.
Ini sarahan VW for no price hike…
Well done Volkswagen. Boycott Hyundai “Made in China” AVN.
The optional AVNs from UMW and Tan Chong are also made in China…
And boycott UMW Toyota “Ah Beng” aftermarket DVD AVN.
VW is problematic car that why need upgrade each time at no extra cost to entice directionless buyers who knows notice about cars.
As for many already boycott VW brand long time ago and that is why sales in malaysia recently is seen falling like a rock.
Hyundai, kia are still better and cheaper to maintain than any VW . lately Peugeot and Mazda are seen making their strides.
Not many china car brands in malaysia yet and I cannot comment yet .
Good News
i just got my passat 3 months ago. this is really not fair.
3 months ago, u got harga runtuh diskaun which is not available for this.
its a miracle
with that headunit it will still struggle to sell in malaysia due to the reliability issue that they need to work hard to convince the market.