Gov’t reiterates weekly fuel pricing system will remain

The government has reiterated that it will not move away from the managed float system that determines the retail pricing of fuel in the country. According to the domestic trade, cooperatives and consumerism ministry (KPDNKK), any change in the existing fuel pricing mechanism – in which petrol and diesel prices are adjusted weekly – could inconvenience the people, Bernama reports.

Its minister, Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin, said this was due to the fact that the weekly pricing mechanism established by the government had been gradually accepted by the people. He added that although prices were fluctuating between seven and eight sen a week, the people understood and were willing to adapt to the changes.

“The price fluctuation mechanism is according to the world market price and once the people understand that, we should be thankful with what the government is doing for the well-being of the people,” he told reporters at an event.

Forty-nine weekly fuel price announcements have been made since the system began at the end of March 2017. The current pricing of RON 95 petrol for the week March 1-7 is RM2.20 per litre, while RON 97 is at RM2.47 per litre, and Euro 2M diesel is at RM2.18 per litre. Current pricing is 10 sen lower (from RM2.30 per litre) for RON 95, 13 sen lower (from RM2.60) for RON 97 and two sen lower (from RM2.20 per litre) for Euro 2M compared to that at the start of the programme.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 3 year old on Mar 06, 2018 at 6:28 pm

matematic tadika 1tahun

• Karamchan Singh on Mar 06, 2018 at 6:50 pm

49 weekly annoucements have been made. Most of which shows petrol prices going up. So about 40 times our petrol prices have gone up.

But in the 49 weeks, global prices have shown oil prices have gone up down about 25 times.

So macam mana ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • tadika on Mar 06, 2018 at 7:59 pm

matematik 1tahun

• Shahrin Abdul on Mar 07, 2018 at 9:06 am

banyak kali minyak dunia turun tapi minyak malaysia naik

• More on la dei! Boring topic di on Mar 06, 2018 at 8:53 pm

U dont like just migrate or live with it…in india petrol is 77rupees per litre…no one complains ..live goes on even for villages ..ok!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • rightwinger on Mar 06, 2018 at 9:52 pm

source please.

• rightwinger on Mar 06, 2018 at 10:01 pm

also, im looking at world bank figures on the most expensive places to buy petrol in the world, on a list of 217 countries, where the higher the position means higher the price, malaysia is at number 204.
      please change my mind.

• CookieCutter on Mar 07, 2018 at 12:38 am

“The current price of RON 95 petrol is 10 sen lower (from RM2.30 per litre) than at the start of the programme, while RON 97 is 13 sen less (from RM2.60). Diesel, meanwhile, is two sen lower than it was then (from RM2.20 per litre).”

In case you didn’t read the article, this is from the last paragraph. It doesn’t matter if it went up more times compared to the prices going down, but the net result is that the prices of all type of available fuels for vehicle are lower compared to the prices before the weekly update system.

• Banglaman on Mar 06, 2018 at 8:06 pm

Siapa terima ini sistem pak menteri? John satu org saja.

• drMpower on Mar 06, 2018 at 10:45 pm

Hamzah people are not ‘gradually accepting’ the system. It just 1) no choice and 2) complaint now nothing happen might as well wait GE14

The thing with Hamzah and all these people is that they think they know best. Say anything also these people dont want listen because i am the menteri thus i know all

Jesus christ hamzah go fly kite

• Leong on Mar 07, 2018 at 9:42 am

Current calculations for fuel price is based on what Rafizi’s idea back then. It has been implemented since then, and it is the best channel for us to enjoy the subsidies since the richest are no longer can enjoy these subsidies.

• Koo San on Mar 07, 2018 at 9:56 am

Im pretty sure people around the world need to change their lifestyle. Buy what you need, not what you want. Let me give you some examples: do we really need over-expensive iphone? or New Samsung Galaxy? The price of the fuel gone up every inch in this world.

• Jesse Abdullah on Mar 07, 2018 at 9:59 am

We all have pretty much world class infrastructure like MRT, use it. Or are you waiting/expecting to have the MRT station in front of your house?

• stastasta on Mar 08, 2018 at 9:59 am

list of places which DONT HAVE MRT:
      penang
      JB
      melaka
      ipoh
      east coast malaysia, east malaysia

oh wait i forgot, klang valley equals malaysia .

• Concerned on Mar 07, 2018 at 10:03 am

So by everyone’s logic, changing to monthly assessment is better? What is the difference than weekly, price still change. Or you want the price of petrol constant, making govt lose more money in the process?