Get used to weekly rise and fall in fuel prices – PM

Can’t keep up with the constantly changing weekly fuel price adjustments? Prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak says that citizens should get used to it, as fuel prices change daily in developed countries, according to a report by Berita Harian.

The premier went on the programme Bicara 4 Mata last night to discuss the issue, saying that the government can no longer provide subsidies for fuel. “We have already said that we cannot afford to provide mass subsidies, which is why we provide more focused subsidies.

“Only when the price of RON 95 reaches RM2.50 [continuously over the course of three months] will the government step in to help the rakyat. That is the guarantee we have made,” Najib said.

The government moved to a monthly managed float system on December 1, 2014 after it abolished fuel subsidies, then switched to weekly fuel price adjustments on March 29 last year. Today, prices for petrol fuels rose three sen to RM2.29 per litre for RON 95 and RM2.56 per litre for RON 97, while diesel fuels jumped six sen to RM2.32 per litre for Euro 2M diesel and RM2.42 per litre for Euro 5 diesel.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• MeToo on Jan 04, 2018 at 10:09 am

Rise and fall? My foot..

Work back 9 months and see whats the nett increase…

Now diesel cost more then RON95… expect transportation cost not to increase?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • Kancil Hybrid on Jan 04, 2018 at 2:20 pm

The bottom line is, harga masih lagi rendah berbanding Singapura.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 39
    • Rightwinger on Jan 05, 2018 at 6:23 pm

Why nine months? Why not the whole year? Is it because if you did work back the whole year, you’ll actually see the price did fall (RM1.89 I think in July)?

• maznah rompin on Jan 04, 2018 at 10:11 am

Changing weekly fuel price? Food & goods prices go up & dunwan come down. Kids school bus fees & text books oso sangat mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • As been repeated many times by the rakyat, what is the fuel pricing formula that they had developed? They should had been more transparent with the calculation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • Gabriel on Jan 04, 2018 at 1:58 pm

The formula has been disclosed in paul tan website before. Do your homework before commenting..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
      • Proof it dude. Send me the link

• Gabriel did homework on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:39 pm

Since when the formula came out? Even YB Hasan Malek do promise to did so before also no longer on his job anymore. So why don’t u just show us one of the link, since u already did ur homework…yeah!..

• Leafable on Jan 04, 2018 at 10:25 am

“Only when the price of RON 95 reaches RM2.50 will the government step in to help the rakyat. That is the guarantee we have made,” Malaysia will never moving forward with this kind of pamper intervention. The rakyats will be lazy and lazier by day.

• kingslayer on Jan 04, 2018 at 10:30 am

Hi DS, sometimes there is no point to justify the action taken by the gov of the day. Many people already steadfast of what they believe in. If they believe pigs can fly, there are no two ways to say otherwise, else, they’ll call you of sort of nasty names especially when they have no facts to back their accusations or allegations.

Those who seek truth can always do some deep searching in the internet. Many already can make calculation that can almost predict the ups and downs of the fuel price, yet, many more choose to stay ignorant.

Btw, by the raise of the fuel, I guess the GE will be called off? As by certain people logic, fuel down indicates GE is around the corner.

May God bless us Malaysian. Keep striving for better nation regardless many mental hurdles we need to overcome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • MeToo on Jan 04, 2018 at 12:18 pm

“Saya Jamin harga minyak RON95 tidak akan naik, tidak kira harga pasaran minyak naik ataupun turun. Kerajaan akan terus bantu rakyat.” – Februari 2012

Do you remember who said this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
      • Gabriel on Jan 04, 2018 at 1:59 pm

Please share the link to the quote.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Wasnt that the old boss? But he got taken down wor. So like, new mgmt new decisions?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • MeThree on Jan 04, 2018 at 2:39 pm

Don’t quote out of context. He said “untuk tahun ini” as well at the end of “naik ataupun turun”. So he kept his promise then.

• Leaving certain opposing facts is opposite side troopers specialty.

• DS may not be a doctor in profession but he certainly is the right doctor that gips us the bitter pill to face reality, unlike the previous doctor that only gips sweets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Show us how you calculate the fuel prices then we can get used of it!

• Layman’s formula:
      World oil prices goes up this week, MY petrol up next week.
      World oil prices down this week, MY petrol down next week.

• https://paultan.org/2018/01/04/us-petrol-prices-could-hit-record-high-since-2014/
    US price too high! Ini mesti salah MY gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Maslan anti Fakenews on Jan 04, 2018 at 12:02 pm

This the same guy who spreaded Malaysia Got Cheapest Petrol in the World.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Akbar on Jan 04, 2018 at 10:37 am

Our leaders are responsibled and capable to lead Gomen prudent spending and lets Malaysia great again.
    – Reduce bloated 1.8Mil civil servants, 1 civil servant for every 19 people in Malaysia. 1 to 119 in
    Britain.
    – Stop corruption, procurement project leakages and Roadtax evasion.
    – Reallocate public funds saved from above to Health, Education, Housing and Underprivileged people in poverty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • -If reduce to Britan ratio, where to get army, doctors, polis, & bomba men?
      -Underway, din u see the big sharks being caught nowadays?
      -Alredi ongoing, deswai u see GINI coefficient reducing now.

Gov shud set the float to world standard (@ RM4.54 today) and reallocate all that income to more public transports.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
      • Mama Sustagen on Jan 05, 2018 at 3:51 pm

Jho hepi joli outside…
        big sharks being caught nowadays?

• alldisc on Jan 04, 2018 at 10:39 am

yes we are ok. but pls remove the 45 sen tax since there is no more subsidy. the subsidy is necessary as part of return to all of uss because the oil dug from the land belongs to all Malaysians – not only the govt.

• sabahan on Jan 04, 2018 at 11:59 am

Majority oil dug from sabah & sarawak…. and what we got in return? Sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • lilytan on Jan 04, 2018 at 12:21 pm

Dream on. Msian petrol n diesel are not from borneo or tganu crude oil. The crude are sourced from abroad from the low and cheap quality supplier.

• Before got oil From Sabah n Sarawak, where the money come from to develop Sabah n Sarawak?

• Ben Yap on Jan 04, 2018 at 10:45 am

I only pump my fuel only twice a month due to the fuel efficiency of the civic FC 1.5T. so i didn’t really feel the pinch. If you want to save fuel drive a civic FC as it is under EEV status.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
    • 7yrsold on Jan 04, 2018 at 11:57 am

my dad 318i more power, more savefuel becoz its EEV

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 04, 2018 at 12:46 pm

U might want to check out the Hyundai Ionic if you REALLY want to save fuel Mr. Ben.

• Jeff Hardy on Jan 04, 2018 at 1:16 pm

same with me Ben.. but i win little la.. i pump my BMW 320i once a month because my office is walking distance from my home.. only drive during weekend.. hahahahahaha

• Yen Bap on Jan 04, 2018 at 1:23 pm

I only pump my fuel only once a month due to the fuel efficiency of the iDCD hybrid. so i didn’t really feel the pinch. If you want to save fuel drive a hybrid as it is a real EEV car.

• sohai on Jan 04, 2018 at 2:05 pm

it seems more to me the low mileage per week you need to travel. you may not even need a car and use public transport will do.
      don’t let the FC of your Honda fool you…

• bobby on Jan 04, 2018 at 11:39 am

“Focused Subsidies”… yeah right…. seeing the inflations and high cost of living, we better off having the fuel subsidies than the so-called ‘focused subsidies’.

How about effort by government to cut cost? Did we reduce the number of ministers and ministry? Did the cabinet doing a more multi-tasking roles? Why there are still so many ‘advisor’ paid at minister level salaries in Najib cabinets? These are the questions that needs answer.

Give us back the petrol subsidies!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • What u been experiencing was artificially low prices not matched to global movement and prices. This had been going on all these times and we can no longer continue this dream unless we wanna end up like Venezuela (everything was cheap but when the dream bubble burst, nothing is worth anything).

Its time we face reality and help those who truly need needs assistance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • kimchi on Jan 04, 2018 at 9:37 pm

Ok John. Fair enough but do u really believe that government had wisely and transparently used all the saving from petrol subsidies to those who truly needs assistance ? Why are there still many poor people out there ?
        And u did not answer bobby questions on the wastage by Najib in running the government. If you know about the global prices and recession and u also need to tweak your government accordingly. But as far as we know Najib still running a full blown government with additional horse power at his discretion and yet putting the burden into all middle class citizens who actually paying the tax for government budget. Oh by the way do u realize that 90% of government budget goes for paying the government operation and only 10% allocated for spending in development ?

Time to wake up lah..

• I belip gov is doing all the best it can to help those truly in need. Of cuz theres alwiz more can be done but so far the efforts r commendable.
          Ur Q about poor pipu is stupid and simplistic. Even rich advanced countries like US and SG has poor pipu. Why din they use their riches and strong currency to help them, hmm?
          And what do u mean by wastage? Any proof of that? If u meant gov headcount, it encompasses all facets of servis including armed forces, polis, doctors, teachers. So in ur rationality which of these shud we cut? Polis? Doctors? Teachers?
          Oh by the way, 90% OPEX is common for all govs when including all those essential personnel that I listed above. Or do u suggest we dun pay teachers their salaries?

So who alredi woke up and who is still in lalaland dreaming of the past?

• panjang on Jan 04, 2018 at 1:01 pm

1.Where is the formula u promise to share?

2.Remove the tax and then let the petrol station set their price. If they burden us then u as gomen step in.Its a way to show that u are ‘perihatin’ to the rakyat rather than u handle the issue and take the blame making the gomen not favoured by the rakyat.This game oso dunno how to play eh?

• Gabriel on Jan 04, 2018 at 2:02 pm

The formula has been shared in paul tan website and malaysiakini before. Do some homework before commenting…

• 12yrsold on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:17 pm

What formula U are referring? I see mostly Formula 1 news. Asking someone to do some homework show you are arrogant. He is merely asking Pertinent questions.

• Do your own homework. U ask for formula, u find it yourself. Got on Pt before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • ex-VGM staff on Jan 04, 2018 at 4:28 pm

https://paultan.org/2009/02/15/how-fuel-prices-are-calculated-in-malaysia/

• Saviour-V on Jan 06, 2018 at 12:21 pm

Thanks for bringing up that URL. Might be worth analyzing.

Still, even if we presume that the calculation formulas can be trusted with an error margin of 0.01% or less, I believe that there are still other issues within the current government of the day, which may have been swept under the carpet.

Perhaps, however, we should focus less on it and more on guarding our own gates from their hands. Plugging our own leaks should prevent us from ending up dry.

• Raja Celup on Jan 04, 2018 at 1:52 pm

John working hard overtime to defend this nonsense.

Such a lowlife macai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Only lowlifes stoop to calling names.
      Try arguing with facts instead. Face reality dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • Ratzuan on Jan 05, 2018 at 8:53 pm

“The rakyat must adjust and change their lifestyle”…sound familiar????

• The “rakyat” wanted changed, right? Well its coming their way. But u may not like it how it looks when comes. Well, tough. Theres a saying “Be careful what u asked for”