ASEAN NCAP organises first blind spot monitor test

The New Car Assessment Programme for South East Asian Countries (ASEAN NCAP) has performed the first development test for blind spot monitoring systems today. Based on the latest ASEAN NCAP 2017-2020 protocol – which assesses the availability of the technology under the Safety Assist category – the test is aimed at improving the agency’s capacity and capability in testing these systems.

Blind spot monitoring systems have been included in its scoring system because of the high number of fatalities involving motorcyclists in Malaysia and in the greater ASEAN region, ASEAN NCAP says. According to statistics from the Malaysian police, there were 4,348 motorcyclist deaths in Malaysia last year.

This puts them in the highest bracket for road deaths in the country, comprising 64.5% of the 6,740 total fatalities. By comparison, the next highest group, passenger car drivers and occupants, made up only 18.8% of the overall figure. By encouraging the adoption of blind spot monitoring systems, collisions with motorcycles when changing lanes can be mitigated or eliminated altogether, ASEAN NCAP says.

A total of 10 car models, sold in the region with blind spot monitors, were subjected to the test today – these include various models from Toyota (C-HR, Camry), Honda (Accord, CR-V, Odyssey), Mazda (Mazda 3, CX-5), Volvo (V40), Mercedes-Benz (S 400 h) and Hyundai (Ioniq). They were tested against 10 of the most popular motorcycle models in the ASEAN region. Five of these car models were also tested at night.

“The blind spot technology (BST) development test marks ASEAN NCAP’s plans in performing actual assessments to test the effectiveness of BSTs in detecting motorcyclists riding in the blind spot zone,” said secretary-general Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim. “This is according to ASEAN NCAP’s objective to reduce motorcyclist fatalities especially during a lane changing action.

“The test will also prepare us for our future roadmap for 2021 to 2030 that will place a priority on motorcycle safety by having a special domain for it in future assessments,” he added.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Meng meng on Mar 07, 2018 at 8:46 pm

I need this on the new myvi 2018, really too small for the side mirror

• Leafable on Mar 07, 2018 at 8:47 pm

Why BMW is missing? Oh wait BMW don’t offer these technology in Malaysia. Even Mercedes only offer it on the S class. Well done Toyota, Honda and Mazda. And ofcourse Volvo the safest car on the planet.

• Bernard on Mar 07, 2018 at 8:53 pm

The only problem with this is most Bolehland drivers & riders , drive&ride like they are actually blind. So how to solve?

• Blind spot monitoring only effective if work with Lanekeep Assist. If pipu dun bother to signal, they much less bother to look b4 change lanes even with BLIS.

• potato on Mar 08, 2018 at 12:07 am

poor engineers never been to Mr.DIY before. they sell blindspot mirrors for rm15.

• 12yrsold on Mar 08, 2018 at 10:50 am

Hahaha. Looks like there are many smart people like U & me already fix one to our older cars.

• To protect motorcyclist? Do they even earned or deserved that right? Considering they seems to do whatever they like on the road and expect other road users to give way to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • As if car drivers care who they whack when they switch lanes w/o looking.

• I’m a big fan of technology in cars, particularly if it adds to the safety element of driving.

I’m not convinced Blind Spot Monitoring, which I really like, will make much difference to some of the antics that many motorbike riders get up to on the roads.

Here’s a crazy idea that might just work. How about ALL motorbike riders OBEY ALL THE ROAD RULES. That might go a long way in saving lives.

I know it’s thinking out of the square but it might just work!!

• Hussein Nazrin on Mar 08, 2018 at 9:24 am

In overseas, blind spot monitoring are standard in Honda and Toyota cars.

But in Malaysia, Honda make sure you pay RM175k to get this system.

DRB Honda and UMW Toyota, both being gomen bodies should start to care for the rakyat and give such safety spec free.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 08, 2018 at 10:31 am

South East Asia, India, Africa n South America not just Bolehland. U oversea actually mean Europe, US, Japan, SKorea n Australia not the rest of the world.

• Kuntak on Mar 08, 2018 at 10:50 am

All related to gov is bad.. Pretty good logic.

• theanswer on Mar 08, 2018 at 11:41 am

easy to blame everything on the government. Persona A: i want full safety spec. Person B: I want a cheaper car. Person C: I want a good quality, cheap, powerful and fuel saving car. but end up..blame the gomen. easy.

• But when gov got 5.8% GDP growth, 6.9% EPF, 6.25% TH, Gov foreign reserves at US$103.7 Billion (thats USD), semua diorang diam aje…

• theanswer on Mar 08, 2018 at 11:39 am

cost la brader. higher selling price…maintenance wise also. some malaysian 1st service already avoid service centre.. if anything goes wrong with the system..must be costly to replace. thats why offer only on higher priced model for particular brand. nway u can get the system at cheaper hyundai ioniq.

• Option is still there. on Mar 08, 2018 at 12:16 pm

At least the option to get it is still there sub 200k for Toyota/Honda etc.

How about BMW/Mercedes? All the safety feature stripped, but yet, sales are still going up.

• Lolz! Now demand things for free. Eh, can ur boss demand extra bashings for free too kah?

• ryder0707 on Mar 08, 2018 at 10:13 am

Fortuner BSM indicator is located on both A pillars rather than the side mirrors, i think this is good because side mirrors are exposed and sometime hit by motorcyclists…if unlucky tercabut or mirror broken into pieces and the BSM becomes useless until the side mirror is replaced…i think this good move by Toyota…thinking outside the box that is more suitable for Malaysian traffic with thousands motorcyclists on the road!

• Good development. It has become an essential tool now just like passenger air bags and GPS. But I have to say a lot of motorcyclists weave in and out between cars. That unfortunately is a discipline problem.

• In addition I’ve also seen how someone driving a merc with detection actually veered close to me and did not bother to move back into his lane until I honked at him. It was so close that I could see the orange warning light on his left side rear mirror. Mangkuk.

• rally_fan (Member) on Mar 08, 2018 at 10:40 am

i’m totally with all the guys here who agree that motorcyclists are the bigger part of the problem here. year in year out, the statistics continue to show that bikers make up 60 to 70% of the fatal accidents, but hardly any effort is done to solve the root of the problem. Poor rider training (if you have a bike license, you will know what i’m talking about), lack of enforcement, etc. etc.