In late February 2018, Toyota revealed a whole range of new technologies that will be used in future vehicles based on the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA). One of those technologies is the Direct Shift-CVT, which features a launch gear to increase the efficiency of the belt-driven system.
To better understand how it works, Jason Fenske from Engineering Explained has uploaded a video to explain the purpose of the launch gear, and how it improves the CVT.
In Toyota’s new transmission, the CVT switches to the launch gear when setting off from a stop. This provides direct gear drive, much like starting in first gear in a manual transmission. However, as the vehicle speeds up, the launch gear is dropped and the transmission switches to belt drive and operates like a regular CVT.
The launch gear results in better acceleration when setting off, and helps deal with the “sluggishness” that people find when driving a CVT. With the launch gear taking over accelerating duties from a standstill, Toyota has also been able to fit smaller belt and pulley components, along with a narrower belt angle (9 degrees from 11 degrees), result in shifting speeds that are 20% faster.
Very good video… simple, direct yet educational. Thank you Thank you
Thanks Mr Lai for the information. Keen to know Honda CVT or Toyota CVT which better…? What the pro & con…?
Toyota means innovation. That why they sell more care from year to year. If people know the weakness of cvt-they will avoid buying cvt trans auto. Of course in term of cost, manufacturer benefit is unquestionable and for user also enjoy more saving on fuel cost but for long term use it still not justify to traditional auto trans.
Far better than Proton Punch CVT!
Hahaha! Ur toyota oso now go into CVT! What say u now, all ur bash oso kena ur company wei!
before that, understand what’s the difference between each CVT. Not all Dogs will bite. Not all CVT will have problem.
Ingenious !! Credit due where it deserves.
Which of toyota cars sold here uses this type of cvt?
Funny that now toyota has to ADD A GEAR to a cvt to improve the feel and efficiency of this gearbox. Just stick to a traditional 6 speed, its more reliable,efficient and also can “drop gear” for syok overtake.