Access by BMW car subscription service launched in the US – two tiers, unlimited swaps, from $2k monthly

To drive a car, you must buy one. That’s the convention that we’re used to, but there’s a new trend in the West – car subscription. Just like how you subscribe to Spotify and listen to whatever you want for a fixed fee, you can drive whichever model you want, and swap it for another model when you need or want to. No need to worry about maintenance, insurance or road tax. Sounds good?

BMW is the latest to offer a vehicle subscription service in the US. Access by BMW, the name of the service, will provide members with unlimited access to a diverse fleet of BMW vehicles through a single monthly subscription. The service debuts as a pilot programme in Nashville, Tennessee and will be facilitated by local BMW dealers who are responsible for vehicle deliveries and maintenance.

Here’s how it works. After paying the US$575 (RM2,225) joining fee, members can request a vehicle via a mobile app, after which a BMW concierge will personally deliver a fully-fueled car “most closely matching the member’s needs” to their location at the desired time. The monthly ration is 2,000 miles (3,218 km) and unused miles can be rolled over. Go past 2k and there will be a US$0.50 (RM1.90) per mile surcharge. There is no limit to how often members can switch vehicles within a given month.

But there are tiers, and you can only choose from cars within your tier. The US$2,000 (RM7,740) ‘Legend’ tier is quite diverse. It includes sedans (5 Series), SUVs (X5), coupes and convertibles (4 Series), iPerformance plug-in hybrids (530e, X5 xDrive40e) and one M option for the times when you need to let off steam – the M2 is great for that.

If that’s not “emotional” enough, there’s the “M” tier, which is self-explanatory. The M4, M5, M6, X5M and X6M are all yours to choose from for US$3,700 (RM14,319) a month. The monthly fees are inclusive of vehicle maintenance, insurance and BMW Roadside Assistance – basically, there are no additional motoring-related costs a typical car owner must bear, except for fuel. BMW is looking at more (lower) tiers as the programme expands.

BMW isn’t the first or the only one onto this new business model. Late last year, Porsche started its app-based subscription service called Porsche Passport. The pilot project is limited to 50 people in the city of Atlanta in the US.

Like BMW’s plan, Porsche offers two tiers – US$2,000 (RM7,740) a month opens one up to the 718 Boxster, Cayman S, Macan S or Cayenne on demand. A buffet of 22 Porsche models is available for US$1,000 more (RM11,611) per month. No limit to how many times one can swap cars, and all incidentals are covered, except for fuel. Care by Volvo and Cadillac’s BOOK work on the same subscription premise.

It’s clear why the carmakers are experimenting with subscription. Younger consumers are used to “using without owning” – think Uber (vs owning a car) and Spotify (vs buying a record) – and carmakers need to adapt to this commitment-free trend that might very well be the norm in the future.

“As customers continue to explore the growing mobility market, service-related offerings are becoming more in demand. Subscription-based services are of emerging interest for our customers, and we’re excited to be offering a mobility service to meet their individual and evolving needs,” said Ian Smith, CEO of BMW Group Financial Services USA.

“A pilot program is a great opportunity for us to learn. In the future, the nationwide network of BMW dealers will be integral to the success of Access by BMW. We will depend heavily on their close collaboration to continue to meet and exceed consumer expectations, and to ensure the sustainable development of this new business model,” he added.

Porsche is more direct. “We now have millennials who are incredibly successful and have the financial power to own a Porsche, but might not be willing to own a Porsche today. We are pretty sure it will help sales, especially in the mid and long term,” Klaus Zellmer, president of Porsche North America told Bloomberg.

Sounds brilliant doesn’t it? Changing cars whenever you like, without having to bother with potentially costly maintenance and insurance. And the amazing variety – how does a 530e for daily commuting, an M2 for a country road blast with the mates and an X3 M40i for the family trip sound? It will cost you though – the monthly subscription fees are significantly higher than a conventional hire purchase loan’s monthly repayment.

Daily driver, weekend sportscar and family roadtrip machine – all for US$2,000 a month

As pointed out by Bloomberg, the US$3,700 (RM14,319) monthly fee BMW asks for the M tier is nearly three times the cost of the monthly lease payments on a 2018 M5. Yes, three times, although the lease would require a US$5,724 (RM22,154) downpayment and the owner will need to spend on vehicle maintenance and insurance.

Still, the entry cost is high and that will be the prohibitive factor for many who will be keen on subscription – millennials who are incredibly successful (as Porsche calls its target market) won’t be outnumbering those who are just getting by anytime soon. It’s safe to say that unless the mass market players suddenly jump on the subscription wagon with real-world prices for real-world cars, we won’t be sampling rides on-demand like how we listen to music anytime soon.

Look at the brands tentatively dipping their toes in the water – they’re all premium players with fat profit margins to spare for small-scale experiments. At this stage, it’s probably not very profitable for both carmaker and customer, but car subscription is an interesting trend to watch. We could all be (car) players someday, who knows?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• applegreen on Apr 06, 2018 at 9:32 pm

Monthly car subscription service. Many would rather jump into the latest techy sexy Volvo rides. Care by Volvo, makes having a car as transparent, easy and hassle free as having a phone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Muzaffar Shah on Apr 06, 2018 at 10:54 pm

Can we Malaysians also have this? For RM2000 we can have a BMW for a month?

This system shows, we have the most expensive car prices in the world. This subscription scheme shows, how cheap BMWs are globally that even someone earning RM2000 also can own a BMW

Don’t forget, fresh graduate in US earn US$4500 (RM18,000) per month

So, he spend RM2000 per month….kacang puteh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 23
      • Why u no ask why Canada dun have?
        Why u no ask why EU dun have?
        Why u no ask why Nippon dun have?
        Why u no ask why China dun have?
        Why u no ask why Aus dun have?
        Why u no ask why SG dun have?
        Why u no ask why Tomyam dun have?
        Why why, tell me why?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 6
        • Old horse on Apr 07, 2018 at 8:03 am

They will have it very soon down the road…

• Nawawi on Apr 07, 2018 at 9:33 am

EU have

https://paultan.org/2017/09/27/care-by-volvo-leasing-service-launched-in-europe/

• rightwinger on Apr 07, 2018 at 1:51 pm

coz he’s just here to twist and bend what ever news that comes out to fit his masters’s narrative of some ‘people’ can do a better job then others.

• Muzaffar Shah on Apr 07, 2018 at 1:57 pm

Let’s hope Geely Mercedes will launch the same in Malaysia market at attractive rate

• Rahim Jantan on Apr 07, 2018 at 4:09 pm

DRB can do this also. with Proton, of course. so that ppl wont suffer with hard ownership of Proton cars. this way every month DRB can easily register extra 5,000 units per month for this purpose. i will commit to do it if the fee is no more than 1k. hey, i save myself from 2,000km of petrol…of insurance, maintenance service and repairs and worse of all – the early years depreciation.

• Then why u no ask ur Toyota overlord to initiate this program here? Talk so much, do it lah.

• Even without this monthly subscription already bersepah 3er, x5 and soon cooper se countryman on our road here. Don’t you ever heard about bmw full circle program which offer more flexibility to the owner? Too bad you must be clouded by empty promises from someone’s manifesto

• Erm….. better re-check your data, $4500 per month for fresh grad only for certain sectors attainable ie. STEM. Majority would be in the 3k range.

• Rightwinger on Apr 09, 2018 at 4:17 pm

Fact checking is the last thing these intra liberals will do, just do they can keep peddling myths like the wage gap.

• Which tier will unlock i8?

• Muzaffar Shah on Apr 06, 2018 at 11:18 pm

Can we in Malaysia also have…pay RM3000 and get to drive Porsche Carrera S for one whole month?

• What for? One week later, ur poket koyak cuz cannot afford the fuel bill. The rest of the other 3 weeks just for show.

• Eternalgl0ry on Apr 06, 2018 at 10:14 pm

Malaysia very hard to introduce this kind of subscription because there are too many car thefts and even corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 90
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 07, 2018 at 8:55 pm

this one really no resale value

• Erwinkarim on Apr 07, 2018 at 9:20 pm

This is actually a good idea and potentially the future of the urban environment.

Be real, most of the time people use cars to commute and get to the mall. With public transport getting the investment it deserve, there’s less reason to actually own a car. And most people don’t actually kept up with maintenance.

The future would be more like you can use the car X amount of days per month but paying a subscription fee. And car sharing would be a thing.