Volvo XC40 officially revealed – CMA platform, Drive-E engines, first model offered in ‘Care by Volvo’ service

This is it, meet the new Volvo XC40, which celebrates its launch debut today in Milan. The compact SUV is the smallest XC model offered by the Swedish carmaker, positioned below the XC60 and XC90.

The XC40 rides on the company’s Compact Modular Architecture (CMA), which will underpin all other upcoming cars in the 40 Series including fully electrified vehicles. It measures 4,425 mm long, 1,863 mm wide, 1,655 mm tall and has a wheelbase measuring 2,702 mm. The sporty stance you see is courtesy of a wider rear track (1,626 mm) compared to the one at the front (1,601 mm).

Previewed by the 40.1 concept from last year, the XC40 carries over many of the cues found on the show car. The bold Volvo grille at the front can be had in different designs depending on trim line (R-Design or Momentum), and they are flanked by the brand’s well-known LED headlights (with ‘Thor’s hammer’ LED daytime running lights).

Along the sides, simple lines create scalloped sections near the hood and rearmost pillar, as well as the lower section of the doors. Another highlight is the black-painted roof, which is part of a two-tone theme that sees the shoulder line act as a separator between roof and body. If black isn’t to your liking, other colour schemes are available as well, along with a variety of wheels (from 17 to 21 inches in size).

As for the rear, vertical taillights wrap around the pillars, and are clearly independent of the rear hatch. On R-Design variants, there’s dual exhaust outlets, whereas Momentum cars have theirs tucked away. A roof spoiler is standard, and follows the same colour as the one chosen for the roof.

Moving inside, you’ll find elements from the XC40’s larger stablemates, most notably with the portrait-format, nine-inch Sensus Connect touchscreen infotainment system and 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster. A decorative inlay splits the upper and lower sections of the dashboard, available in either Urban Grid Aluminium or Cutting Edge Aluminium designs. The trim is also applied on the door cards, and for an even more premium feel, ambient lighting is installed here.

Volvo says the XC40 is well suited to city living, and offers a bevy of suitable and functional storage spaces as a result. For instance, the bass speaker commonly found in the doors has been moved to behind the dashboard, allowing for a larger door pocket to store a laptop, iPads, water bottles, etc.

Elsewhere, the storage beneath the armrest is large enough to contain a tissue box, and just ahead of it is a removable waste bin. You still get conventional cupholders here, and at the front of the centre tunnel, there’s a storage space for your smartphone with wireless charging capability. For items that are meant to go into the boot, there’s 432 litres of cargo space available.

The kit list includes a dual-zone climate system with a CleanZone air filtration system and rear air-con vents, leather upholstery, powered seats, high performance audio system (Harman Kardon Premium Sound is optional) and Volvo On Call mobile app service.

Under the clamshell bonnet, the XC40 will first be offered with 2.0 litre four-cylinder engines. The first is a D4 turbodiesel unit that serves up 190 hp and 400 Nm of torque, while the other option is a T5 Drive-E petrol powerplant with 247 hp and 350 Nm of torque. These engines are paired with an AW TG-81SC eight-speed Geartronic automatic transmission and an all-wheel drive system (front-wheel drive comes later on).

Further powertrain options, including a hybridised and pure electric version will be introduced later on. The former is likely the T5 Twin Engine plug-in hybrid powertrain shown to us in Sweden two years ago. Volvo also adds the XC40 will be available with a new three-cylinder engine in the future, likely the 1.5 litre unit used in the T5 Twin Engine.

Safety and driver assistance features on the XC40 include Volvo Cars’ Pilot Assist system, City Safety, Run-off Road protection and mitigation, Cross Traffic alert with brake support and a 360-degree camera.

Volvo also introduced the new ‘Care by Volvo’ subscription service, a service that makes “having a car as transparent, easy and hassle free as having a phone.” With the service, customers will only need to order online, and drive away in a new Volvo without having to worry about down payments, insurances, taxes, service fees and geographical or customer age related differences.

All that is needed is to pay a standard (unified price in Eurozone countries), ready-negotiated monthly fee like you would with most subscription services (i.e. Spotify). After 24 months, customers can even opt for a new Volvo vehicle of their choice. The service is also backed by digital concierge services, such as fuelling, cleaning, service pick-up and e-commerce delivery to the car., depending on regional availability.

The XC40 will be the first model to be offered with the new service, which will be made available to customers in Sweden, the United Kingdom, Germany, Spain, Italy, Norway, Poland and the United States, with other markets set to follow at a later stage.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 21, 2017 at 6:35 pm

good the rakyat a nice t5 hybrid with good price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 3
    • Volvo Geely Lotus > All

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 27
      • > All joke on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:11 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 175
        • TonyT on Sep 22, 2017 at 1:08 pm

U mean u can see the future? The car isn’t even on our road and you knew it has technical problem.

• Cipek on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:19 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 161
      • St3wpiak on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:30 pm

Hardly see Perdana3 on the road. Hope less

• For your first statement, I suggest you to get your eyes checked.

As to your second statement, Volvo is doing fine against the Germans when it comes to the actual product. I decided on the XC90 over the X5 because of its merits, build quality, materials used, performance and practicability/everyday usage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 18
        • Tony fernanez on Sep 26, 2017 at 9:25 am

Hardly see xc90 on the road bro. But i see plenty of x5 on the road especially my area at tropicana. Not to say volvi is no good, perhaps the brand perception is not there yet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • william on Sep 27, 2017 at 2:28 am

Seen more of XC90 in Bukit Jalil ,Subang and Sunway areas than X5.

Maybe these locations prefer XC90 more than X5

Matter of preference not brand perception even X5 is also a good like the XC90 .

• taiking on Nov 27, 2017 at 11:02 pm

Yup. A lot of X5s. A lot of recond ones, too. Driven by all sorts of people. Too common. Cant associate class with commonplace items. Nope. I for one, would not.

• Merc GLC is in big trouble.

• Dr J Abraham on Sep 21, 2017 at 6:38 pm

This what happens when you let China take over. You come out with great products that sell well.

Let us face facts, in Malaysia, we need China brains and discipline to work hard. This is what is lacking even in our Proton.

Hopefully now China will make Proton another Volvo. Let us hoe the 12,000 workers can tahan the hard work

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 225 Thumb down 21
    • knowledgetransfer on Sep 21, 2017 at 6:57 pm

Actually this and all the other new Volvo’s are conceptualised, designed and engineered by the Swedish. They had this knowledge all along.

The only benefit of Geely’s ownership is the cash/capital needed for Volvo to realise their long term development programme is finally there.

In the case of Proton, they need both cash and technical knowledge. This is the biggest challenge to how willing Geely is to provide the knowledge transfer. Remember, although Proton is currently part owned by Geely, it might not be forever owned by them. Geely might also just restructure the company and bring it to profitability, then selll their shares. So anything is possible and Proton needs to learn fast and improve their processes and productivity to ensure they are self sufficiently managed one day.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 37
      • Tom Jones on Sep 21, 2017 at 8:12 pm

Straight rebadge proton XC40 & sell la.

Boyue RHD is doa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
    • Honta on Sep 21, 2017 at 7:01 pm

Dun overpraise la, volvo has been a long timer in auto industry just dun have enough revenue and capital to survive alone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 25
      • sabahan on Sep 21, 2017 at 8:13 pm

XC40 pricing circa Tiguan $160k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 72
        • VW is not A premium or niche car badged .

VW can only compare that badge level to Toyota, Honda , Peugeot , Mazda , Ford , Subaru ,HYUNDAI , KIA ( for MASS MARKET buyers)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • Sarawakian on Sep 23, 2017 at 9:08 am

Tiguan is a better car and better buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • Yes, Tiguan price is cheaper to buy > cos it is categorised as non premium SUV.

Better car than a Volvo SUV , I do not think so. VW is more problematic than Volvo.

• Tech Man on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:33 pm

Hello Dr J Abraham, Geely doesnt do anything at Volvo HQ in Gothenburg, Sweden. They dont even have a single Chinese guy there. Every one there is Swedish. I’ve been to the plant recently on a company tour. All they do is give money and Volvo does all the rest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • tokmoh. on Sep 21, 2017 at 7:02 pm

Volvo > all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 23
    • Stuxxpid All on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:12 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 186
    • Jenny on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:20 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 237
      • Oliver on Sep 22, 2017 at 2:06 am

Same goes for VW , AUDI , BMW and MERCEDES

I am not fantasies either by theses German cars too.

looks more old fashion and conservative >>> also boring too

Anyway, these german cars RV are crap too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • tokmoh. on Sep 25, 2017 at 9:53 am

Exactly.

Bashing Volvo no RV is like pot calling kettle black.

People who think German have RV never owned them, they dunno open mudah and check that BMW, Merc RV also like shit.

Volvo able to make their 40, 60 and 90 series quite unique and distinguishable. One glance is enough to tell which is which.

Germans like Merc just photostat S-class to E-class and C-class, all their SUVs look the same, can’t tell which is what until get up close and squint eye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
          • Volvo koyak on Sep 25, 2017 at 9:32 pm

So far those who owned volvo before upgraded their next car to Audi or benz. This is the fact, thats why many German on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
          • Photostat car on Sep 25, 2017 at 9:53 pm

Very shameful, german photostat all its series also can sell so well. Volvo to do the same will further reduce its market share thats already weak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • william on Sep 22, 2017 at 6:20 pm

Sounds more for TOYOTA brand actually

Here is the quote from a world renowned car magazine articles:-

Toyota: Please Stop Calling Us Boring
        Alanis King
        5/10/17 4:25pm

Toyota has heard one too many jokes about the Camry dent, and about how it carries the large, beige-colored flag of vanilla midsize sedans. But it’s 2017. The angles are sharper, the wheels are sportier, and Toyota wants you to stop calling its cars boring. Please. Guys. Please.

Actually it is TOYOTA which is the MOST BORING CAR MAKER currently .This is factual indeed!!

At least Volvo is not boring as you claimed but a safe, durable and lively brand to own.

Volvo is an alternative and a competitor to strong German cars . Volvo policy is clear and always like to present itself by understating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • tokmoh. on Sep 25, 2017 at 9:56 am

Good news is Volvo uses Toyota/Lexus’s gearbox. Bulletproof reliable and dependable.

Germans like VW here became laughing stock cuz their gearbox rosak all the time.

• Aising on Sep 25, 2017 at 2:57 pm

Proton CVt orso reliable and dependable.

• Volvo koyak on Sep 25, 2017 at 9:29 pm

Used old tech Toyota gearbox. Might as as well get a Toyota that is more premium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Damn the car looks really good

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 7
  • Leafable on Sep 21, 2017 at 7:11 pm

Shut up and Take My Money NOW!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 14
    • Osaka boy on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 263
      • Leafable on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:55 pm

You call Japanese’s plastic luxury? CX3 just shout cheap design.

• I never heard from any international car reviewers mentioning CX3 is luxurious .

All I had gathered was CX 3 is crampy sort of average small compact japanese SUV

To you is luxury but for the majorities is not.

Keep on dreaming in your own dream world.

By the looks, XC40 is already a Million times better looking than any CX3 . Furthermore FYI , CX3 is classified under non premium SUV category by world standard .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Wydle on Sep 23, 2017 at 5:43 pm

There’s always an opportunity to pull people/buyer up from some of those cheaper brands — a [Mazda] CX-3, [Hyundai] Tucson or a [Volkswagen] Tiguan or something like that,”

The 1,969cc four-cylinder turbo motor T5 will deliver 182 kW of power at 5500 rpm, while its 350Nm torque peak begins at 1,800rpm and begins to trail off beyond 4,800rpm AND the T5 is good for 230km/h at its top end, whipping through to 100km/h in only 6.5 seconds.

• klguy on Sep 25, 2017 at 9:33 am

typical kiasu reply

• Vroom Vroom on Sep 21, 2017 at 7:27 pm

Make Honda, Proton, BMW, Volvo and Mercedes Benz win-win, everyone happy except for Perodua and Volkswagen

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 489 Thumb down 33
  • Tahar on Sep 21, 2017 at 7:28 pm

WOW , The dashboard design looks very Premium .

Just like it !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 189 Thumb down 5
  • LONG LIVE TOYOTA on Sep 21, 2017 at 8:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 298
    • Oliver on Sep 22, 2017 at 2:14 am

VW already failed.
      Audi is problematic leading to failure soon

Latest Camry design looks like dinosaur and with outdated technology > meaning soon to be out of sight and out of mind of most buyers.

So at least Volvo is still sound and safe forever.

Any failures could deemed to be yourself for failing to understand the market current needs ,acceptances and perceptions

i think you come from a different boiling hot world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • TOYOTA THE KING OF KINGS on Sep 22, 2017 at 12:01 pm

Wat so many dilikes?? Yall loser dont know much ya…volvo is nice to touch..once broken u will cry till no more water…hahaha…Toyota the king will always make u smile…suberb rv..service support…chick msgnet etc etc…yr boss will even give u a promotion…not volvo…he know u stupid ..will even kick u out..even fish sellers will pity u.. ..it a Pityfull car…do buy a new Camry ok..it will uplive ur life..good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
      • simon on Sep 25, 2017 at 12:21 pm

Pity on your unimaginative answers.

TOYOTA actually is crap and boring brand.
        Handling is poor and not fun to drive at all.

Toyota technology is so outdated currently but is trying very hard to maintain its past laurels by passing and selling to buyers with their dinosaur technology offer products in throwing/slashing prices( discount). RV then drop again in many seasons throughout the year)

This is real bad car for ownership.

At least Volvo is a safer car no what it takes and look like someone on the upper rung and does not need to be showy .

Toyota is more like an a Beng car and does not turn heads at all> meaning even you are smart but perceptions you are not there yet driving a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Mystvearn on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:02 pm

Hopefully proton can use this design language and not just copy paste badge on the boyue. So beautiful.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 3
  • Lpost on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:17 pm

China dun hv brains to design car. Tis is deisgned by mat saleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 37
  • seancorr (Member) on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:21 pm

Somehow still prefer the bigger siblings design but wouldn’t mind getting one if it’s just under 200k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 25
    • Should be around Tiguan price. 160 hopefully

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
      • Lucky Gong on Sep 22, 2017 at 4:21 pm

With CBU, 2.0, Volvo brand kind of safety features…easily 280k

• Is in the Category of the X1 , Q3 , GLA. think will be slightly over 200k or just below 200K.

• Proton oh Proton on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:56 pm

If price reasonable for sure we can see more cx40 on the road.

• Gracke on Sep 21, 2017 at 11:36 pm

The best ever interior and exterior!! Super beautiful!

• Volva on Sep 22, 2017 at 9:09 am

The photos look gorgeous but if you watch the video the car looks as exciting as a tiguan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 14
  • applegreen on Sep 22, 2017 at 11:39 am

The design is so fresh and modern. I kinda in love with its rear design but it looks a bit better if volvo take off the rear tiny wiper

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 23, 2017 at 1:11 am

only one thing bugs me…why did volvo choose to use the suspended accelerator instead of the floor organ type accelerator like its siblings

• believe me the price nearly 200k when it come to MY….CBU btw……or CKD?

• old horse on Sep 23, 2017 at 4:29 pm

Volvo is going to bring back the glory of 850 and 960 days in bolehland…

xc40 and xc60 come come..

• Photostat car on Sep 25, 2017 at 9:57 pm

Volvo is just like your nick name old horse. Macam mana nak dapat glory.

• nice… i love it

• stasta on Sep 26, 2017 at 11:47 am

price 160k in your dreams. this engine is 2.0 vs tiguan only 1.4. and this has more advanced safety features.

• 7yearsfd1 on Sep 27, 2017 at 9:54 pm

we still waiting for the new xc60, so how long will this come here?