Perodua introduces GearUp Bluetooth tyre pressure monitoring system – check in-car and via app, RM385

Perodua has introduced a new item to its official GearUp accessories range. The Smart Bluetooth TPMS (Tyre Pressure Monitoring System) lets motorists keep track of their vehicle’s tyre pressure in real time.

The locally developed and manufactured product has an introductory price of RM385 until June 30 this year, after which it will be priced at RM430. As with all GearUp accessories, a six-month warranty is offered.

“With the Smart Bluetooth TPMS, Perodua has become the first carmaker in Malaysia to introduce a mobile app-enabled tyre pressure monitoring system as an original accessory. We at Perodua take pride in championing a home-grown product and in doing so, contributing to the local automotive ecosystem,” said Perodua Sales MD Datuk Dr Zahari Husin, who added that tyres running on correct pressure prolongs tyre life, helps reduce fuel consumption and aids the car’s overall safety.

The product comprises four individual tyre sensors and an in-car device. The tyre sensors, which screw on to the tyre valves (in place of the standard valve caps) transmit information via Bluetooth to the in-car device.

The device has four lights representing the four tyres of the car. If the pressure on any of the tyres falls below 8% of the recommended values, a beeping sound will be emitted and the corresponding lights on the device will light up.

Users can also download the FOBO Tire mobile app for real-time data on the car’s tyre pressures and temperatures via Bluetooth. The app also stores the data on the cloud for the viewing of other invited users, such as family members.

To prevent theft, the individual tyre sensors can be locked using an included lock nut spanner. The tyre sensors are powered by coin-cell batteries while the in-car smart device is powered by two AA batteries (all batteries are included). The in-car device has a built-in motion sensor – it goes into sleep mode to save battery when no motion is detected.

Perodua has of late introduced practical items to its GearUp accessories range, in addition to styling items and bodykits. Last October, the market leader introduced child seats for infants and toddlers priced from just RM660. Ticking GearUp accessories when you buy a new Perodua means that the cost of the items can be factored into the loan amount as well.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Waaayyy to exp! Lazada selling only for Rm130 saje. Ali/taobao even cheaper. Who they trying to fool? Oh wait, their customers pun memang dah kena fooled.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 22
    • Betoi. Got mine from ali.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • tokmoh. on Apr 09, 2018 at 12:37 pm

Was about to say this lol. Such ripoff pricing.

Those tpms have screen, can check directly without needing to use smartphone app.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
      • I only search for BT version but yeah, got those with screen that u can stick ontop dashboard and they powered by solar. Veli useful to detect when to pump air or when got 1 tayar selow puncture.

• kaizen on Apr 09, 2018 at 12:42 pm

Bro, you got to be fair. There are so many types of TPMS. These varieties give you an option which one to choose to suit your budget and expectation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Bro. The one I saw in Lazada is same same thing with BT connect to smartpong. Only 3X less the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • kaizen on Apr 09, 2018 at 3:46 pm

Not promoting, but definitely different type/model (after a check on lazada and ali).

• Just cuz they look diff dun mean they arent the same. They HAVE to look diff to sell. But look at the capabilities. See the Rm130 one in Lazada is same with BT function.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • “The device has four lights representing the four tyres of the car. If the pressure on any of the tyres falls below 8% of the recommended values, a beeping sound will be emitted and the corresponding lights on the device will light up.”

You dont hv to use the smartphone app for this device either. However, all the cheap ones from Lazada or Ali do not have the sophisticated features that can be accessed with this TPMS app, the full bluetooth based design, its 24/7 alert, sharing function and many others. Please have a closer look at the device as you may change your mind. Tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Too bad i cant link the lazada advert but the one i mentioned HAS bluetooth function. Its same same thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Rose Mah anak Manser on Apr 09, 2018 at 11:48 am

TPMS is redundant for generic tires. Work best if your vehicle has run flat tires.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Not really. TPMS is mandatory in some countries even when the cars there not using runflats. Really helpful when tayarman is far away and u need time to drive there for repair/replacement. Their sensors r stick on inside rims and not easy steal unlike this cheap (but P2 price not cheap!) system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • polla on Apr 09, 2018 at 11:59 am

trust me the caps will end up in someone’s bike/bicycle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • seancorr (Member) on Apr 09, 2018 at 12:49 pm

Lol very true

• kassim on Apr 09, 2018 at 2:46 pm

Malaysia the civilized high income country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • GearUP TPMS on Apr 09, 2018 at 4:05 pm

We did our best to design an anti-theft options for our customers. The theft issue happens everywhere and the TPMS offers 2 option of handling this kind of issue.

1) Lock-nuts for mechanically secured the sensors
        2) Set bind to owner’s email address when registered on the App initial setup

Thanks.

• Lawson on Apr 09, 2018 at 4:42 pm

Good if each of perodua’s sport rim come with an extra tire inflating valve tube (but located in the inner side of the rim) just for mounting the tpms sensor. So whenever tire need to be inflate there is not need meddle/disconnect the tpms sensor. Very good for lady drivers.Also less vandalism on the tpms sensor. Not only perodua sports rim have this inner side tire inflating tube. Honda, proton, nissan, mazda etc etc should have it.

• Why not design in-rim TPMS? This design is off-the-shelf from China and its just asking for trouble.

• Kaizen333 on Apr 10, 2018 at 1:27 am

In-rim TPMS is expensive and easily damaged whilst replacing the tyres….

• As if this price quoted is CHEAP. Lazada sells at 3X less. For something close to Rm400, I expected in-rim TPMS.

• The caps only function with its paired phone or in car unit. Stealing the caps has no value. It would be much more fruitful to steal the wipers or door mirrors as those items can be used on another car. Or to steal the fancy aluminium valve caps that come with most aftermarket wheels. Tq.

• But that doesn’t make trying to find replacement for the stolen caps less painful. That is, if can buy caps only. Most of systems like this you need to buy whole set. So, 2 caps stolen RM400 gone down the drain

• Benard on Apr 09, 2018 at 12:25 pm

My routine.

Once a week fill up fuel. After filing up check the tire pressure. Check the spare tire pressure once a month. After 3 years my tire is in perfect shape even when it is time to change due to minimum thread left.

Save your RM385 for other things in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Your conscientious efforts at maintaining your car should be applauded. Sadly most motorists are simply not as careful as this. For this reason there has to be an alert for tyre pressures as it is the most critical safety element in any automobile. Just as there are alerts for fuel level, engine temperature, engine oil level…..it should be mandatory that air pressure has its alert. A blown tyre is not something pleasant to deal with. Tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Yes. Can save for new tire replacement. The price can get u 2 new one.

• passion on Apr 09, 2018 at 12:37 pm

comes with a lock nut, wow.

• Yup, there are two levels of theft deterrent; a proprietary mechanical lock nut and a cloud ID. Sensor has no resell value.

• azrai on Apr 09, 2018 at 12:50 pm

For sure geng lajak will steal this thing and put it on their ugly bicycle.

• The caps only function with its paired phone or in car unit. Stealing the caps has no value. It would be much more fruitful to steal the wipers or door mirrors as those items can be used on another car. Or to steal the fancy aluminium valve caps that come with most aftermarket wheels. Tq.

• passion on Apr 09, 2018 at 2:50 pm

good job P2. now we know why you are the best seller.

• U mean best ripoff

• 12yrsold on Apr 09, 2018 at 5:15 pm

Why U worry. Its their $$$. If they decided to buy a more expensive TPMS, its their CHOICE Right !~! It is better than spending $$$ on nonsensical noisy exhaust pipe. To each its own bro.

• Can track the air pressure ? shouldn’t add in another function will be more fantastic? Like GPS tracker. It will be perfect.

• China havent invented it yet. Sabar.

• GearUP TPMS on Apr 09, 2018 at 4:01 pm

Hi there! Glad to hear your concerns on the feature offers on this system. As of now, the GearUp Smart TPMS is mainly to monitors your tire pressure, including your tires’ temperature too! Batteries of the sensors also can be determine on the App.

• PailTin Auto on Apr 09, 2018 at 5:00 pm

I dont need those coz i am experienced driver and knew which tyre are low pressure..lol

• useless, majority man drive this kind of car will not able get the subsequent car.

• Ben Yap on Apr 09, 2018 at 6:05 pm

pump your tyres every 2 weeks is sufficient. no need all this gadgets. better use the money for petrol or road tax.

• stastasta on Apr 10, 2018 at 11:45 am

tyre puncture can happen at any time

• johnnas on Apr 10, 2018 at 4:54 pm

Or just buy a premium car like Civic Turbo like Ben’s. Save the money for petrol or road tax cos u will need to save every bit of it for future hefty maintenances on the almighty turbocharged cola bottle sized engine.

• Guest on Apr 11, 2018 at 9:02 am

TPMS is a device to assist user to help to maintain their tire pressure.

• 3pedaler on Apr 10, 2018 at 6:06 pm

Just check your tyre pressure every time u fill up petrol. Needs to put AA battery, not convenience stuff.

• Annonym on Apr 11, 2018 at 8:59 am

AA battery is meant for the In-car unit. You can straight monitors your tire pressure using the App.

• Helmiz on Feb 15, 2019 at 6:12 pm

If Perodua want to sell tpms it should be the internal one. The external type like this can be easily bought everywhere & installed