SST 10% to be reintroduced on September 1 – PM

The sales and services tax (SST) will be reintroduced in September. This was revealed by prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad at a press briefing today following a cabinet meeting. The return of SST will require legislation to be enacted in parliament.

It has been announced previously that SST will be set at 10%, the same as when it was replaced by the goods and services tax (GST) in April 2015. GST will be zero-rated from June 1, which means that the “tax holiday” will last for three months.

All automotive players have released car prices with zero-rated GST, and the prices are lower. However, car prices could possibly jump back to a level higher than present with the reintroduction of SST, according to the Malaysian Automotive Association. This is expected, as car prices came down in April 2015 when GST took over from SST.

The time is now, as the carmakers would say.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hahahahahaha! Enjoy it while u can!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Tido oh Tido on May 30, 2018 at 2:23 pm

Pity the new Government. They have to repay the 1 trillion ringgit debt. They have no choice but to introduce this to reduce the debt

Otherwise, Malaysia will be another Venezuela….rich in oil but bankrupt.

Remember this 5 years down the road when you vote. What the corrupted songlap from Malaysia….even our grandchildren still have to repay their debts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 24
      • “The official Federal Government debt is RM686.8bil (50.8% of GDP).”
        – new FM

Remember this 5 years down the road when you vote. If they can flip flop and lose 3 Billion in 2 weeks, what more can 5 more years of misery do to ur money. When the fools runs the country… even our grandchildren and great grandchildren, and even their children, will suffer the consequences.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
        • Gov Basher on May 31, 2018 at 6:09 pm

Trying so hard to bash new gov? The debt is incurred from the old gov, not new gov. Show us where they lose 3B in 2 weeks and we will belip in u else we will know who is trying to create hatred to the gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • Yes always the u turn policy. Blamed it on the previous govt.lol
            When one’s rule with third class mentality

• U-Tun on May 30, 2018 at 1:59 pm

Three months honeymoon starts now. After that is nightmare..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • HondaFanBoi on May 30, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Booked a Civic 1.5 TC at 113k. Good buy?

• turborider on May 30, 2018 at 2:51 pm

HondaFanBoi – I’m Civic FC TCP owner, using the car for nearly 2 years. My comments on this car.

Pro:
      1) Deliver good power.
      2) Good handling, nimble and stering reponse is quick.
      3) Spacious interior with big boot space too.

Cons:
      1) The doors feel heavy to open or close, some times my kids used their legs to kick lightly the door to open it.
      2) Leather seat lower quality compared to Japanese rival like Toyota or Mazda. My front perforated seats seem like wanna “koyak” soon even though i regularly clean it using Turtle Wax leather protection.
      3) Uncomfortable seating postion for front passenger side (too low), i can’t even sleep during long journey back from KL. Driver side is ok as the height is adjustable.
      3) Service Interval: Honda Maintenance Minder required you to change engine oil very frequent, average 6500KM you need to change it. If you stay at KL which Jam most of the time, you service interval will be even sooner. Modern turbo charged cars should last at least 10,000KM or 6 months right?. My usage is around 20,000KM per year, i went almost 4 times to services it per year.
      4) Workmanship really not up to standard, i understand this is made and control machine. You can check the join parts, welding area and a lot uneven gap around the cars. This issues applied to worldwide too, not CKD problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • about the toher cons you mention im not sure. but isnt heavy door means the door is safe? protection from side collision? you want tin milo light door?

• turborider on May 30, 2018 at 5:38 pm

Not i want tin milo door. Those solid built door doesn’t need to feel heavy when you want to close or open it. You go try open Volkswagen, Mercedes or BMW cars door first, you will get what i mean.

I’m not trying to use continental cars as benchmark to Civic. I’m comparing the ease for doors opening/closing, their cars doors is solid and heavy, but you can open it easily.

• stastasta on Jun 04, 2018 at 3:34 pm

i guess it depend on the quality of the hinges. like how a bank vault door weights 1 ton but can be open by a single person.

• HondaFanBoi on May 30, 2018 at 4:40 pm

Thanks for sharing bro. I think I can live with those shortcomings.

• X-Men on May 30, 2018 at 2:18 pm

Please reduce excise duty if you really care.

• musangKing-originalz on May 30, 2018 at 2:34 pm

now possche good buy!!!

• 12yrsold john on May 30, 2018 at 4:14 pm

Hehehe. It may be a good buy now but U will be sorry when U start to pay for your servicing & spares bcos it’s a PORSCHE.

• If u can afford a Posh then, u can afford a Posh now. Just that its cheaper for the rich. Th rich gets richer.

• The Poor on May 31, 2018 at 6:15 pm

It’s ok. I prefer the rich gets richer than the thieve gets richer by stealing my moni

• James on May 30, 2018 at 2:42 pm

Buy only if you had every intention to buy one this year and the exact model you can afford.
    If you planned to a car @ 60k initially but you saw a car that’s 75k after 5k discount, you don’t save 5k, you spent 75k. You only save if the original choice become cheaper due to the 0% GST.

• From what I know when GST implement all car price up 6%. when this September 2018 NO GST car price up….. do anyone see this. The car price will never go DOWN…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Lord Suave on May 30, 2018 at 5:58 pm

which cocoon have you been leaving under, havent you seen the countless post on PT on brands introducing lower pricing without GST? or u just simply trolling?

• Hepi for 3 months then suffer for next 5 years.

• Roti John on May 31, 2018 at 6:20 pm

We have suffered for 60 years when the previous regime capati their promise to reduce car prices by 30%

• sampan 250kmph on May 30, 2018 at 4:51 pm

Probably government approved selling price will also be adjusted soon by September

• hyin21 on May 30, 2018 at 6:23 pm

the country’s economy is not all about cars only…

• The past time was GST, now is SST, future?

• yournameismyname on May 30, 2018 at 11:59 pm

gst is a more clear & cleaner method to show the tax collected by the gov, sst is hidden.

• Clean Malaysia on May 31, 2018 at 6:26 pm

GST is clean but BN is not.

• Though I’m happy it’s zero rated Now, I wish the customs will still insist on reporting of the zero rating to ensure the transparency that the GST has introduced.

• Technically price should drop lower as Car manufacturer will buy cheaper tyre, Cheaper consumables, imported parts only pay import duty minus gst,Zero gst for transporting car from factory to show unit etc etc?

The gov must ensure they police and carry out frequent audit and impose heavy fine and penalty.

It will be intersting to see how they enforce it.

• annoynimous on Jun 04, 2018 at 11:03 am

GST, SST, whatever, those hardly make a difference.

The real difference lies in the excise duties that doubles up car prices!!

If they lower that by 10% and re-introduce 10%, then there cars are effectively 6% lower. Better yet they reduce duties by 40% to have a major impact on the car industry.