RON 97 – GST removed, but price remains until June 7

It has been announced that the price of RON 97 will be floated according to market forces starting on June 7, which means that its current price of RM2.47 per litre will remain in place until then. Ahead of that, a question has come up with regards to its pricing independent of the market float that it will be subjected to.

This has to do with the goods and services tax (GST). With June 1 here and zero-rated GST upon us, there should be an adjustment on how the fuel is priced as a result of that removal – the price of RON 97 has been GST-inclusive up to today (and thus theoretically RM2.33 with GST omitted), but the announcement made by finance minister Lim Guan Eng yesterday stated that the retail price of RON 97 would remain in place (until the float next week) despite having 0% GST.

Other unregulated fuels such as Petron Blaze 100, which is priced at RM3.08 per litre, and Shell V-Power Racing, which currently goes for RM3.12 per litre, were also priced GST-inclusive up till today.

This of course doesn’t affect RON 95 and diesel, which was not imposed with GST to begin with. Prices of these will also remain fixed as per the announcement made on the matter – RON 95 will go for RM2.20 per litre and Euro 2M diesel for RM2.18 per litre, while Euro 5 diesel will be priced at RM2.28 per litre.

Users who have filled their cars up with RON 97 today have noted that the 6% GST calculation stated before the final total has been removed in receipts, but with the retail price remaining as is, it begs the question – what actually happens to that sum now that there’s no need to pay input tax, or more specifically, where does it go to (until June 7, at least)? Any thoughts on the subject? Share them with us below.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments largely discuss the unchanged petrol prices despite the removal of GST, expressing skepticism about government transparency and transparency on how petrol prices are set. Some mention that RON97 is used mainly by luxury or high-performance vehicles, and many argue that the focus should be on affordable RON95 or RON92 fuels due to cost concerns. There is criticism of government officials, perceived corruption, and calls for more transparency in Petronas' finances. Several comments discuss the broader economic implications, such as the need for petrol subsidies or regulation reforms, and some express hope for a reborn Malaysia with better governance. Overall, the sentiment is mixed but leans toward skepticism regarding price changes and government accountability.

• John Palat on Jun 01, 2018 at 6:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 115
    • Rimau on Jun 01, 2018 at 6:52 pm

Car fuel cap says minium unleaded ron97 la, how use? Ron 92 for high emissions junk can la .
      Not eco at all. They should make a electric powered conversion kit for older cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
      • Rightwinger on Jun 01, 2018 at 9:59 pm

RON rating has no correlation with sulphur content.

• Got, at least here in malaysia.. RON95 is Euro2M and RON97 is Euro4

• Rajnikhand on Jun 02, 2018 at 1:01 pm

Inb4 all proton cars not even Euro4 compliant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
          • https://paultan.org/2014/09/25/proton-iriz-meets-euro-4-regulations-foreign-engines-considered-markets-euro-5/

• Can we use car oil to cook then?

• Rashid Maamor on Jun 02, 2018 at 1:24 pm

john, pls don’t give or ask stupid questions whether we can cook with this oil

We are fed up with you. If you want to stay in this blog, pls ask proper questions and give sensible answers.

Already you kalah teruk teruk, masih nak buat kacau di sini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • Nizzam on Jun 01, 2018 at 6:59 pm

immense financial damages caused by past Gov. will take years for our country to heal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 33
      • Rajoo Selvam on Jun 02, 2018 at 8:53 am

So happy we don’t have the corrupted Government anymore. Now I see, everything is cheaper. All unnecessary departments also closing down.

And most importantly, no more highly paid cybertroopers here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
    • “GST removed”, “Price remains”. Something wrong ni….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
      • Rajoo Selvam on Jun 02, 2018 at 8:55 am

Nothing wrong here. Only thing wrong is when your salary is only RM18k, you buy 284 Birkin handbags worth RM200k each.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 29
        • RM18k salary but with multiple chairmanship and directorship.. Even LGE got multiple income when he was the PG CM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
          • Jobstreet on Jun 03, 2018 at 12:27 am

Multiple income is ok as long as no corruption. Some people also work for multiple jobs what.

• But LGE got ongoing corruption case. Same like Khir Toyol.

• Who says bijaN is not rich beforehand?

• Ah Chun on Jun 02, 2018 at 8:10 am

It’s wrong to think that RON97 is for super rich! The luxury cars would use more premium petrol like shell power racing but not RON97. RON97 is more for cars that needs it for a little bit more power and engine cleansing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Rightwinger on Jun 04, 2018 at 12:10 pm

RON95 burns just as clean as 97. Only reason to ‘need’ 97 is if engine compression ratio requires it, usually mentioned explicitly by manufacturers – for example Honda Civic Type R (fd2r), it’s K20a motor with 11.7:1 comp-ratio requires RON100 to fully release them poneys.

So if your motor is running typical numbers like 10:1 or 10.5:1, RON95 will do just fine, 97 will just boost the placebo effect and lighten your wallet.

• Richard Sambrani on Jun 01, 2018 at 6:28 pm

Time to float Petronas. Not only we can reduce our big national debt, Petronas will be so cash rich, they can reduce petrol prices for the rakyat.

So silly kept Petronas private for 60 years. Most of Petronas money also never went to poor Petronas to plough back and dig for more oil.

Time to list Petronas. List the company so that Malaysians can see the accounts finally after 60 years.

Petronas cannot be the cash cow and private bank to the previous ruling Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 56
    • sabahan on Jun 01, 2018 at 8:59 pm

Petronas richness fairly shared by poor Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Ghani on Jun 01, 2018 at 10:03 pm

So instead of being the bank of the previous Government, it nows becomes an ATM to the current Government? And you call this being responsible in previous articles?

Either you’re a paid supporter or you’re just a dumb one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • Rajoo Selvam on Jun 02, 2018 at 8:57 am

Ghani, I think you have trouble understanding the commentator above. Try to improve your English. There is no mention of current Government using Petronas as ATM

Commentator insist it should go public ie listed for public scrutiny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
        • U don’t need to list petronas. Can do like BNM, which shares yearly statement for all to access..

• I thought Petronas was only created in 1974? 60 yrs?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 03, 2018 at 7:18 pm

Since history’s written by the victors, so now PH’s re-writting Malaysian history according to what they said.

• Am i suppose to say that the Gov took it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Riezman on Jun 01, 2018 at 8:35 pm

The previous Lady took it. Sigh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
      • But its implemented now wor. Ah u mean we again go Back in Time to blame previous Lady. Okayss..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
        • Rajoo Selvam on Jun 02, 2018 at 8:58 am

Enough of your negative comments here john. Please get a life. After losing badly, you should hide in your cave

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
        • Ignatius on Jun 02, 2018 at 10:33 am

Dulu lain sekarang lain. If u harped on Dulu you never move on. Change in progress no change mindset you be left behind john nice b good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Dulu lain, sekarang lain ke?
            Kronisme dulu x Ok, sekarang Ok?
            Nepotisme dulu x Ok, sekarang Ok?
            Suruh orang keluar dulu x Ok, sekarang Ok?

Ini ke CHANGE yang kita pilih tu? Ini bukan CHANGE, ini CHAOS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
          • Dedak dulu Ok, sekarang X Ok?

• Dedak dulu x Ok, sekarang Ok?

• BN Macais on Jun 04, 2018 at 6:30 pm

U bunch of losers, already lost diam 2 lah. Buat kacau in internet buat apa? Not like u are going to win anything.

• TherealMaserati on Jun 01, 2018 at 6:37 pm

Always willin to pay more. Doin our part for benefit of a nation reborn,Hebatkan Malaysia ku.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • Return my 6% on Jun 01, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Return our 6%. We pump >50L weekly. That’s easily RM8..

• Wargaputra on Jun 01, 2018 at 8:52 pm

Terima kasih kerajaan baru. Rakyat dilindungi, duit raya dikasihi. Syukur pemimpin baru

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
      • Rajoo Selvam on Jun 02, 2018 at 8:54 am

Kerajaan sekarang prihatin. Bukan kerajaan zalim dan korup lagi….yahoooooo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
        • Zainab on Jun 03, 2018 at 3:54 pm

Open tender is homecoming. It was simply inevitable – Unlike previous gomen to give more handouts and more contracts into their crony hands.

• Open tender? You mean like how they open tender to only ONE company for their terowong projek ke? Like this considered as open tender?

• Ron92 Rolls Royce on Jun 01, 2018 at 8:52 pm

extra pocket monies for fuel stations towkay

• Ah Chun on Jun 02, 2018 at 8:06 am

It’s a matter of transparency, the formula used in determining the retail price of RON97 should be disclosed to the public as well as the government income derived from RON95/Diesel.

• Henry on Jun 02, 2018 at 8:52 am

Maybe paultan can check with customs and update us here

• familyman on Jun 02, 2018 at 10:05 am

Pumped 50 litre of Ron97 this morning. I questioned the owner where does the RM7.03 goes since its not going to the government. They returned me the RM7.03 for the GST that was “0”-rised.

Ask the station owner back for the GST amount, don’t be an idiot and let them pocket the money as “extra” income.

• Rightwinger on Jun 04, 2018 at 12:18 pm

Sorry to bust your bubble. But if you want to ask for your money back, you’re gonna have to ask the parent company not the dealer. The dealer’s cut/ commission remains the same, any extra, as you put it, goes to company. So go bang on Shell/Petron/BHP/PETRONAS/Caltech HQ doors, leave dealer alone.

• Marini on Jun 02, 2018 at 11:39 am

Oh God my Proton Iswara 1.3 Special Edition 2001 use only RON97 as stated on fuel cap..

• Pak Man (gen 3) on Jun 02, 2018 at 9:05 pm

I ride kapchai and have lowly paid salary. If I can use kerosene or el-cheapo petrol, I’ll use it without a second thought. I dont need performance. I just need mileage to go and back to work.

Govt, please have more consideration of the poor.

• If without gst price remain the same, its 6% price increase! Simple math guys…so far new gov give more excuses rather than fulfill the manifesto

• Francis Lim on Jun 04, 2018 at 1:55 am

Why don’t MOT introduce Euro 5 fuels first? Euro 2M is banned in Europe 15 years ago due to high sulfur contents. Time for Malaysia to go ahead, folks.

• nice!