International Engine of the Year 2018 – Ferrari for three

Ferrari has emulated Ford’s feat in becoming a triple crown winner with its F154CB, which bagged the International Engine of the Year award for the third time. The 3.9 litre twin-turbo V8 won the award in 2016 and last year.

The mill, which features on the 488 GTB, 488 Spider and 488 Pista, was a convincing winner again this year, amassing 486 points to finish ahead of Porsche’s 3.0 litre turbo six-cylinder (198 points) on the 911 and its stablemate 6.5 litre V12 (158 points), seen on the 812 Superfast.

The F154CB also took home the Performance Engine and Best 3-Litre to 4-Litre engine awards for 2018 to make it a trio of awards. The Superfast’s F140 GA made it five for the boys from Maranello by taking the Best New Engine title – ahead of BMW’s 4.4 litre twin-turbo V8 from its M car applications – and the Above 4-Litre award.

As before, 13 categories were contested, and the remaining nine saw a number of winners from other manufacturers. For the capacity-specific ones, Volkswagen emerged with the Sub 1-Litre award with its 1.0 litre three-cylinder turbo, which is found on a number of VW Group offerings.

In the 1-Litre to 1.4-Litre category, PSA Peugeot Citroen’s 1.2 litre three-pot won this year’s title, finishing ahead of three competitors from Volkswagen, while the 1.4-Litre to 1.8-Litre category saw the 2015 IEotY winner, the BMW 1.5 litre three-cylinder turbocharged hybrid engine in the BMW i8, emerging as champion.

Porsche took the 1.8-Litre to 2-Litre title with its 2.0 litre turbo from the 718 Boxster and Cayman, while the Audi 2.5 litre five-pot from the RS3, RS Q3 and TT RS emerged as the winner in the 2-Litre to 2.5-Litre category. The 3.0 litre turbo six on the 911 did bag a medal by taking the 2.5-Litre to 3-Litre title this year.

The final two categories were for best Electric Powertrain and Green Engine, and here, Tesla scooped up both with its full-electric powertrain, finishing ahead of BMW’s full-electric system from the i3 and 1.5 litre three-cylinder turbo hybrid from the i8 respectively.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mara-nello on Jun 06, 2018 at 12:30 pm

Bravo Ferrari!

• SO where is myvi and vios engine that is touted as best engine by p2/toyota supporters?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 35
    • And where is campro engine and punch cvt that are touted as best engine and best transmission by p1 supporters?

Don’t start flame war ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
      • Its there at:
        1.8-2L – 2nd place.
        2-2.5L – 5th place.
        3-4L – 2nd place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 25
        • john penipu on Jun 06, 2018 at 11:00 pm

Toyota engine is in the list, where is Proton engine? Those u shown are Merc engine, not Proton engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
          • https://paultan.org/2018/02/26/li-shufu-zhejiang-geely-holding-founder-is-now-daimlers-biggest-shareholder-with-9-69-stake/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
          • john penipu on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:51 am

john, u can manipulate the likes/dislikes but u still can’t change the fact that Proton engine is not in the list. And no, Merc engine is not Proton engine. The truth prevails.

• Aik. How do pipu manipulate the like/dislike system? U certainly know how isnt it. Kantoied!

And Mesidis=Geely=P1. So apa sarahan Geely?

• john penipu on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:27 am

Say whatever u like lah, u know what u did. There are other people that will correct u.

• johnisretarded on Jun 07, 2018 at 7:11 pm

Lol Mercedes = P1…funniest comment ever

• Amran on Jun 06, 2018 at 6:47 pm

Chill bruhs. P1 & P2 Suv battle soon ok