This year’s International Engine of the Year award goes to the 1.5 litre three-cylinder turbocharged hybrid engine in the BMW i8, finally ending the Ford 1.0 litre Ecoboost engine’s three-year reign.

The i8’s engine took home the coveted award with its 274 point score, placing it ahead of the Ford engine’s 267 points. The Ford engine retained its title in the Sub 1-Litre category while the BMW emerged top in the 1.4-Litre to 1.8-Litre category as well as the New Engine category.

The 1-Litre to 1.4-Litre category winner is PSA Peugeot Citroen’s new 1.2 litre three-cylinder turbocharged engine they’ve put in various cars like the 208, 308, DS3, C3 Picasso, C4 Cactus, C4 and DS4. The engine is available in two tunes – either 110 PS or 130 PS.

Mercedes-AMG’s 360 PS 2.0 litre turbocharged engine emerged champion in the 1.8-Litre to 2-Litre category. You’ll find this engine installed in the A 45 AMG, CLA 45 AMG and GLA 45 AMG.

Moving up a displacement size, the 2-Litre to 2.5-Litre category was won by Audi’s 2.5-litre five-cylinder turbo engine found in the 367 PS Audi RS3 and 340 PS Audi RS Q3.

BMW’s new 3.0 litre twin-turbo six-pot engine powering the new M3 and M4 took the honours for the 2.5-Litre to 3-Litre category, ahead of another BMW 3.0 litre turbo engine, the non-M N55 found in cars like the 235i and 435i. In fact, this category was full of BMW engines, occupying four spots in the top six.

The 3-Litre to 4-Litre category was won by McLaren’s 3.8 litre V8 twin-turbo. For the Above 4-Litre category, Ferrari’s 4.5 litre V8 found in the 458 Italia and 458 Speciale took the top honours. The Ferrari V8 also won the Performance Engine category. Tesla’s full electric powertrain won the Green Engine category,

The International Engine of the Year Awards 2015 results:

1. BMW 1.5 litre three-cylinder hybrid – 274 points
2. Ford 1.0 litre three-cylinder turbo – 267 points
3. PSA Peugeot Citroen 1.2 three-cylinder turbo – 222 points
4. Ferrari 4.5 litre V8 – 221 points
5. Mercedes-AMG 2.0 litre turbo – 177 points
6. Tesla electric powertrain – 157 points
7. BMW M 3.0 litre six-cylinder twin-turbo – 133 points
8. McLaren 3.8 litre V8 twin-turbo – 93 points
9. Audi 2.5 litre five-cylinder turbo – 81 points

Check out the full results of all the 2015 categories in the gallery below.