International Engine of the Year awards – Fiat bags top prize

International Engine of the Year awards – Fiat bags top prizeThe recently concluded 2011 edition of the International Engine of the Year awards saw Fiat bagging the overall engine of the year gong with its 875cc TwinAir two-cylinder turbocharged engine.

The international jury of 76 motoring journalists from 36 countries placed the Fiat mill ahead of the Volkswagen 1.4 litre TSI Twincharger, and finishing a distance behind in third was Ferrari’s 4.5 litre V8 block as seen in the 458 Italia.

The 85 hp/150 Nm TwinAir also took the honours in the sub-1.0 litre category, ending Toyota’s four-year dominance in this area, and it also picked up the Best New Engine of the Year and Green Engine of the Year titles to make it four award wins. With a normally-aspirated 65 hp and a tuned-up 105 hp derivative to follow shortly, you can expect it’s not the last time you’ll see the Fiat block winning things.

VW did however pick up the gong in the 1.0 to 1.4 litre category with the 1.4 TSI Twincharger, which took the title for best engine in the category for the sixth consecutive year.

In the 1.4 to 1.8 litre segment, BMW’s 1.6 litre turbocharged engine – a further intepretation of the Prince engine, with fully variable valve management incorporated – finished top of the heap, and in the 1.8 to 2.0 litre class, it was another BMW mill, the 204 hp 2.0 litre TwinPower Turbo diesel, that took the top prize.

Audi’s 2.5 litre five-cylinder turbo, as seen in the likes of the RS3 and TT RS, walked away with the 2.0 to 2.5 litre title in hugely convincing fashion, while BMW did so in the same manner in the 2.5 litre to 3.0 litre category, with its 3.0 litre DI twin-turbo unit finishing well ahead of the competition.

Making it four class wins for BMW was its 4.0 litre V8, the unit in the M3, which has been the title holder in the 3.0 litre to 4.0 litre category since 2008, and rounding off the winners was Ferrari’s 4.5 litre V8, which the 458 Italia wears, in the above 4.0 litre segment. It finished ahead of last year’s winner, the Mercedes-AMG 6.2 litre V8.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kawan on May 20, 2011 at 11:54 am

hope fix in Kancil or viva…

• mini gugu freak on May 20, 2011 at 1:09 pm

datuk anthony lim, can u give us the result of Malaysian engine award of the year?

• BeemerFreak on May 20, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Out of 8, 4 are BMWs, 1 is Fiat, 1 is VW, 1 is Ferrari and 1 is Audi. It is very clear who is the dominant force.

• klguy on May 20, 2011 at 11:55 am

wher r the japs? bz conning malaysian drivers?

• lol.. aku ingat vvti, vtech, vttvtvtdvvt sume dah superior abis.. 1 pun x sangkut..

• Where is the soo called great VVTI…IVTEC..MIVEC….worshipped by most Msian??? ..he3x

• sixtythree on May 20, 2011 at 1:51 pm

those variable valve tech was so yesterday….its efficient force induction era now!

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on May 20, 2011 at 1:52 pm

err…all the specs sound good in theory but wonder if they still will give
      engine of the year after 3 years. The flaw of this award is criteria is based
      on new engine. What happens after 3-5 years of usage….
      Reliability and Durability should the the primary criteria but this cant be tested
      when the engine is new. I see BMW in the list which is a joke. Past experience
      show their engine’s reliability is questionable….. Funny part is Toyota engines
      dont get these awards but in reality you will see engines traveled more than 300,000km without any issue. I would take this award with a pinch of salt…

• Rulered on May 20, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Maybe the Toyotas of yester years I agree, they don’t make em like they used to.

• vincent on May 20, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Have you ever owned a BMW before? Conti engines are as good as Japanese engines, it all boils down to whether the engine was maintained properly, some of my friends who drove conti, such as Volvos, Peugeot, Benz, all can last more than 400k km and still running strong!

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on May 20, 2011 at 8:26 pm

Yeah I have owned BMW 2004 e46 325i before the engine is sensitive. Loves workshop and my wallet until got fed up and sold it….bare reached 150,000km

• Your luck is bad, I own a same car and it is running smoothly and no problem at all and it is still in good condition after 200,000km.

• Payne on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:18 am

BMW=Banyak Makan Wang.. But who cares? its for oreng kaya when it come to Malaysia. 4×4 ROCKS…

• Rulered on May 20, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Maybe the Toyotas of yester years I agree, however they don’t make em like they use to.

• those are outdated engines

• vincent on May 20, 2011 at 12:05 pm

Where is “greatest” toyota engine? :)

• Kumar san on May 20, 2011 at 12:14 pm

It’s nice to see Fiat finally bagging some awards for their latest and newly developed powerplants.VW’s TSI engine will continue to bag it’s category award until something else that is better comes along..

A brilliant effort nonetheless by both automotive stalwarts.

Cheers.

• kinda weird… the two cylinder in the 500 is known to not being nearly as efficient as taunted… if i’m not mistaken, more powerful and bigger n/a engines in quite a number of C sedan beat it in us epa cycle. really weird…

• i think i got confused between this twinair and the 1.4 multiair…

• otromen on May 20, 2011 at 12:18 pm

Toyota?

• samyyd on May 20, 2011 at 12:18 pm

campro IAFM second prize issit?

• European rules….european wannabe? (beloved campro)….keep it up, u can do it. Refer european not japs.

• littlefire on May 20, 2011 at 1:03 pm

If not mistaken Toyota win it last year category for 1.0L engine which use in Toyota IQ..

But when can i see our so claim kampung jaguh Campro engine can went in this category..

• most are BMW, hem……

• There’s no point Fiat bagging the top engine prize without any good product from Fiat or Alfa Romeo. Fiat been too busy buying into Chrysler and trying to get into the NA market. The issue was not the market in the first place but the products itself. With good products, the demand and market will follow. So where’s the multi-air engine?

• The TwinAir has been available in EU for some time, since late last year or early this year.

Its just not making it’s way here yet and it’s mainly fitted into the 500, which over here, no thanks to some ppl, is way over costs.

After the 500, it will make its way into the Panda, Mito, etc… which we’ll never ever get to experience…

• from that list the most affordable car you can buy is the Peugeot 308 turbo. just slightly more then rm100k. looks like my choice of a new car is still pointing towards the 308T.

• campro cps is 9th overall.

• Toyota bags 2 award in 2010.

Where is the world greatest car mfg Hyundai/Kia engine.

Opps they did “Best Copycat Engine”

• better say toyota bag 5 awards in 1980…so lame!!

• TurboMan on May 20, 2011 at 7:09 pm

somebody blowing hot air again.

• Out of Luck on May 20, 2011 at 8:19 pm

The Korean won 6th place in the 1.8-2.0L engine category. Surprisingly, none of the Jap engines won anything in that category. Don’t take my word for it. The list is below. See for yourself

http://www.ukipme.com/engineoftheyear/winners_11/2_25.html

1. Audi 2.5-litre five-cylinder turbo (Audi TT RS, RS3)
      2. Mercedes-Benz CDI 2.1-litre (Mercedes-Benz C, E, GLK)
      3. Subaru 2.5-litre turbo (Subaru Forester, Impreza, Legacy, Exiga)
      4. BMW 2.5-litre DI six-cylinder (BMW Z4 23i)
      5. Peugeot-Citroën-Ford diesel 2.2-litre (Citroën C-Crosser, C5, Land Rover Freelander2, Range Rover Evoque, Peugeot 4007, 508, Ford Mondeo, S-Max, Galaxy)
      6. Hyundai 2.4-litre four-cylinder (Hyundai Sonata, Santa Fe, Kia Cerato, Forte, Forte Koup, Optima, Kia Sportage, Sorento)

• TurboMan on May 21, 2011 at 4:02 am

See

I told u.

He is blowing hot air again.

• subaru is from japan right……..

• Out of Luck on May 21, 2011 at 5:27 pm

Yes, you’r rite. I stand corrected :)
          Personally, I don’t see what the big fuss about which engines makes it into the list or not. It about new engines developed in 2010. T&H fans shouldn’t upset that their favourite manufacturers didn’t bag much award this year because it simply means there were no new engines produced last year except Prius 1.8L engine (which did won a couple of awards). It doesn’t mean that the engines quality has dropped or outdated. So cheer up!
          Although I’m not a fan of T&H products, I gladly admit that their products are proven to be reliable thus far.

• Ash Menon on May 20, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Completely conquered by Italians and the Germans.

Eh, number 2 is a 1.4TSi but examples shown include a VW Polo. Polo has a 1.4TSi? I thought only 1.2TSi ?

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 20, 2011 at 5:04 pm

I think they meant the Polo GTI, which uses the Twincharger TSI

• Mazlan on May 20, 2011 at 5:09 pm

Actually, Fiat had won many awards for the Euro COTY.
    Alfa, Lancia and Maserati r also under Fiat.
    So, winning this award is only logical for them…

1967: Fiat 124
    1970: Fiat 128
    1972: Fiat 127
    1980: Lancia Delta
    1984: Fiat Uno
    1989: Fiat Tipo
    1995: Fiat Punto
    1996: Fiat Bravo/Brava
    1998: Alfa Romeo 156
    2001: Alfa Romeo 147
    2004: Fiat Panda
    2008: Fiat 500

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on May 20, 2011 at 5:10 pm

From the Engine of the year website :

SCORING
    In every category, the panelists judged each shortlisted engine using their subjective driving impressions and technical knowledge, and took into account characteristics such as fuel economy, smoothness, performance, noise and drivability. The jurors each had 25 points to award to their five favourites in each category. A maximum of 15 points could be allocated to an engine, and the minimum was one point. An engine could not be tied for the top slot.

Hmm…..should be called “Engine of the year based on paper and short test drive”
    Seriously all initial impression only with no long term test to backup the award.

• Anthony, i believe there is some mislead info here.

The 1.6 turbo that won the award is the one further developed by BMW with Valvetronic technology incorporated, not the original jointly developed prince engine by BMW & PSA.
    Source : www.ukipme.com
    The engine only apply to Mini’s. (Not applicable to Peugeot & Citroen).

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 21, 2011 at 2:28 am

Jolo, you’re right, it’s the one with fully variable valve management, I saw the list and thought it was the old Prince. Too many engines to sift through, very pusing! Thanks for the spot.

• While the dimensions might be small – TwinAir measures 307mm in length, 500mm in width and 596mm in height – the two-cylinder packs a punch, due mainly to a “Mitsubishi” turbo helping to generate 85bhp and 150Nm of torque. “Light, economical, clean and powerful, this TwinAir engine can also be the perfect motor for even Cor D-segment cars,” commented Hungary’s Gábor Szécsényi, one of many IEOTYA judges eager to praise TwinAir powertrain.

So it is Italian + Japanese Engine after all.

• Why not VW 1.4TSI No.1?mad!

• mat koboi on May 20, 2011 at 7:43 pm

campro iafm…campro cps…?vvti is better than those engine….

• Out of Luck on May 20, 2011 at 8:10 pm

It would be nice if someone post a link for the full list of engine rankings.

• Out of Luck on May 20, 2011 at 8:20 pm

Sorry, that was silly of me. A quick search of Google yielded this link:

http://www.ukipme.com/engineoftheyear/categories.html

• Danny on May 21, 2011 at 2:25 am

http://www.ukipme.com/engineoftheyear/categories.html

• SoMeOnE on May 20, 2011 at 11:45 pm

im not suprised with bmw’s engines popping all over..although im not a fan of the marque..they currently make the best engines among the main stream car makers and it has been so for the last 10 years…vw group is a close second imo

• iloveproton on May 21, 2011 at 12:16 am

why proton inspira engines not on the list?

• Out of Luck on May 21, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Inspira’s engine is not a new engine produced in 2010. But I do wish Proton can produce a new engine that could win some award which can make us Malaysian proud. Afterall, they’ve been given so much protection and fund by our G. I envy the Koreans making their mark in automotive industry even though they’re relatively new comer. Currently, their technology way surprised the Bolehland tech. Sigh!

• 875cc TwinAir two-cylinder (2) turbocharged engine, it this a motorcycle engine?
    It a great feat by Fiat to overcome larger capacity engine and congratulations.

• Still waiting for Campro to bag the top prize (Worst Engine of the Year lah!)

• Still waiting for Campro to bag the top prize (Worst Engine of the Year lah !)

• firefox on May 21, 2011 at 8:44 pm

i knew it, TSI engine will be in the top 10 list for this years, i am really enjoy of TSI 2.0 right now, but we can see, high performance engine for BMW are in the list too, it is not surprise, but i knew a lot of problem for normal BMW car like 520, 525i , 320i etc for current model, few of my friend alway got car problem, going in factory almost every 2 months.

• otromen on May 21, 2011 at 10:36 pm

Toyota = Only For Toy and Auta…. where is toyota in racing? Rally… F1….. Auta only this car… tipu orang bayar mahal kete hampeeehhhhh!!!

• Wisdom on May 23, 2011 at 12:10 am

I’m nobody but am truly disappointed with the way they come up with the results.

See the scoring:
    http://www.ukipme.com/engineoftheyear/rules06.html

For example, green engine, the priority was fuel economy. For sure a 875cc engine will sips less fuel compared to bigger engine. Yes they could’ve considered the efficiency but based on the engine itself? We all know that efficiency will depend on the transmission (for energy loss), kerb weight of the car etc.

The should have rename the award as “International Car engine of the year” as the qualification only involves engines that are mounted on a ‘passenger car’. I believe if they really sincere, they should’ve scrutinize engines from all sources eg. I know there’s a lot of highly efficient engine for superbikes with all sorts of tech such as pneumatic valves etc.

Even worst, the panelist were asked to use their ‘subjective driving impression’ and then gives points to which engine they prefer. What the hell was that?!!
    Isn’t the best way to compare engine was; Efficiency = Input vs output. The engine with lower input (fuel) giving higher output (power) should have higher marks, and they should limit those ‘subjective’ marks. Most BMW could’ve won the award simply by their excellent handling and very thick insulation (which could’ve influence all the judges to think the engine was gooood).

I agree with somebody’s comment above on reliability. Infact it should’ve been one of the main priority (based on consumer feedback).

Besides that, my own opinion on why are most engines winning the awards originated from europe.
    See the list of judges:
    http://www.ukipme.com/engineoftheyear/judges.html

Only 3 from Japan, 1 from Korea, overall mere 10% from Asian continent. Count yourself how many judges from European union countries.

This award is no longer reliable…….

• John Carey from Wheels, Australia quotes: “This is proof that aggressive downsizing need not spell timid performance. Surprisingly torquey, impressively and affordably efficient, this tiny twin also has plenty of character.”

• Wisdom on May 23, 2011 at 9:36 pm

Hope ‘breakdown’ is not one of the character.

In 70’s and 80’s they say F.I.A.T = Fiat Is Always Trouble