International Engine of the Year Awards 2013 winners

ford-fiesta-mc-05

Ford’s 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder EcoBoost has been named the International Engine of the Year 2013 and best Sub-1 litre titles, repeating its wins in last year’s awards. The judging committee has had a habit of crowning repeat winners recently, with BMW’s 5.0 litre V10 and 3.0 litre twin-turbo inline-six taking two consecutive gongs each in 2005/2006 and 2007/2008 respectively and most recently VW’s 1.4 litre TSI TwinCharger in 2009/2010.

The only recent winner not to achieve that feat was 2011’s big winner – Fiat’s 875 cc TwinAir – that in updated Natural Power (CNG) form gets the nod in the Green Engine sub-category this year. The VW Golf Mk7’s new single-turbo 1.4 litre TSI ACT (yes, the one we don’t get) wins the best New Engine title, though funnily enough the judges still prefer the older 1.4 TwinCharger for the 1.0 to 1.4 litre class award.

Performance Engine of the year and Above 4.0 litre awards fall to Ferrari’s new 6.3 litre V12 in the F12berlinetta, taking over from the 458 Italia’s 4.5 litre V8. McLaren finally breaks its losing streak by taking the 3.0 to 4.0 litre category with its MP4-12C’s Ricardo-built 3.8 litre twin-turbo V8, ending BMW M’s five-year domination of the class with its 4.0 litre V8.

BMW isn’t left empty-handed as its 2.0 TwinPowerTurbo engine tops the 1.8 to 2.0 litre class, while Audi’s 2.5 litre five-pot turbo and Porsche’s new base 2.7 litre motor enjoy wins in the intermediate 2 to 2.5 litre and 2.5 to 3 litre categories respectively. The familiar BMW-PSA 1.6 litre turbo wins the 1.4 to 1.8 litre class for the seventh year running, beating fresher rivals from Mercedes-Benz and Ford.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Veneno on Jun 07, 2013 at 12:45 pm

where is Campro..?? hahahahahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 54
    • Honda and Toyota not inside also.. LOL.. ah, the “almighty” VTEC

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 22
      • Toe To Toe on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:03 pm

GT-Rider, your stupid outdated car’s engine ranked 6th with 175 points. Hahahahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • GT-Rider on Jun 08, 2013 at 1:21 am

Hey, I don’t care my engine is at 7th or 100th. I already pawned countless sport cars. I just can’t stop to be proud when I saw my car in movies, FF6, anyone?

My heart scream,”That’s my car! That’s my car!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
          • kadajawi on Jun 10, 2013 at 11:28 am

In FF6 they replaced all engines with American V8 muscles. No VTEC in there…

• frenzyaustin on Jun 10, 2013 at 1:59 pm

Proton use our tax payers money to develop the toilet Campro, toilet Campro never win anything also. Bazir duit give Proton grants of hundreds of million. For what? Lazy fellows working there, sleep the whole day. No need to give money anymore lah government, Syed Mokhtar can give his own money for R & D

• Why Proton and Perodua never win? Because in the world of cars, Proton engines are known as the pariah. People laugh at us. In asutralia and UK, our cars fail big time.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:34 pm

From 2000 to 2004, Honda won best 2 litre categories with only S2000. Your argument is invalid. Source: http://www.ukipme.com/engineoftheyear/archive.php

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • High Efficiency engine, but low reliability on Jun 07, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Most of these engine are not reliable:: among the Bottom worst engine reliability.

Source:
      http://cars.uk.msn.com/features/the-best-and-worst-car-brands-for-engine-reliability

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • 1nz-fe on Jun 07, 2013 at 12:58 pm

how about 1NZ-FE 1.5L VVTI?

• Chris on Jun 07, 2013 at 12:59 pm

Anyone know if someone has done a comparison of a 1L Ecoboost Fiesta vs Swift Sport?

134hp/160nm vs 120hp/170nm (200nm overboost?). I think the ecoboost would be a better daily driver, but would like to read what experts write.

• Where is Campro? IAFM? CPS? Oh, I forgot they already won the title in the past few decades. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 29
    • Peyno on Jun 08, 2013 at 7:34 am

Where is perodua??? Only can conn kampung ppl in bolehland??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • zamer on Jun 09, 2013 at 9:23 pm

stupid fellow..u already know lagi mau tanya..
      why dont u mention where is lamborghini’s engine? lambo’s engine similar to campro? not listed it seems

• Black Dog on Jun 07, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Why mostly Europeans? Whare’s the Japs? Or Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • along on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:41 pm

This is not the league for CAMPRO,

Campro should fight with F1 engine… got IAFM maa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • Abg Long on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:08 pm

where r the japs????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • gOOsh on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:12 pm

jangan kan CAMPRO… japan makes engines pn tarak…
    kuat korang kutuk PROTON kan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 46
  • ae101 on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:43 pm

if japs come out 1.0 or 1.2 with turbo or supercharge + low emission sure got chance. whether you like it or not, this is the trend now.

• Jeremy on Jun 07, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Engine of the decade, K20A for 2.0 litre and B16B for 1.6 litre!

• shawal on Jun 07, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Iz d bmw psa 1.6 turbo is d same d same engine we get in almost all peugeot sold ere? Makes the 408 a very tempting proposition with 240nm torque on tap n 5 year free service n warranty

• shawal on Jun 07, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Honda’s 1.6 turbodiesel with 300nm om tap? Still not on sale yet?
    bmw’s n20b20 is prolly d most balance one out there for average car enthusiast…

the japs are prolly ( probabbly still…) vigorously testing their own brand of DFI+VVTI+turbo engines .. we cn sure hope theyd b super reliable…
    But its really evident that d japs are falling behind cuz they invested heavily into hybrids… the latest lexuses n infinities are still using old large v6s..

• SSaturn on Jun 08, 2013 at 2:20 am

I think you guys should see the attached photos, before start commenting :) Mazda is the only Japs brand so far I found in the list.

2.0 Petrol Skyactiv engine (under 1.8-2.0)
    2.2 Turbo Diesel Skyactiv Engine (under 2.0-2.5)

• Well I think most of them are referring to Honda & Toyotas.

I do notice when you talk facts about who didn’t made it to the “2013” list, everyone goes crazy. LOL. They’ll pull out pass years achievements, reliability and what so not. Quite amusing to see fanboy goes raging.

Last but not least, VTEC IS NOT HIGH TECH ANYMORE. See how many thumbs down I will get from the Honda fanboys and you’ll know how much madness this is. LOL. Still LOLing. Come on Honda boys, make me proud and thumb this comment down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Peyno on Jun 08, 2013 at 7:32 am

Where is myvi engine dvvt timing chain??? Hahaha

• Where are the IVTEC and VVTi engine?? Those two are supposed the best No1 engine in the world. That what most Msian told me ler…..this award is totally wrong!

• Tok Kok on Jun 08, 2013 at 8:15 pm

Ford’s engine is ok lah.. But not their DCT (Dual Clutch) gearbox.
    For those who wish to buy the Fiesta & Focus.. please reconsider.

I had enuf issues with the DCT on my 2010 Fiesta and I’m selling it off soon.

• where’s my NSX engine?
    :-(

• peyno on Jun 09, 2013 at 7:07 am

best engine still use TIMING BELT??? heyyyy this result must be wrong, myvi dvvt TIMING CHAIN should be no.1…

• Are they reliable? I mean those winners.

• LimPek on Jun 10, 2013 at 12:24 pm

VW Golf Mk6’s EA111 1.4 TSI twin charge engine still simply much better than the new Mk7’s EA211 belt driven 1.4 TSI!

• Engine Too Hot on Jun 12, 2013 at 2:09 pm

VW TSI engine may be good but when they assemble dry clutch and problematic DSG gearbox to it, then we now have to visit the workshop one by one. Good engine must be accompanied by other reliable features or don’t believe it when they claim that they can do wonders on small engines.