Volkswagen Golf Mk7 1.4 TSI introduced – RM158k

golf mk7

Articles related to the new Volkswagen Golf Mk7 have been coming in thick and fast in the past few days. From local spyshots to a mega gallery of the preview party, there’s no shortage of information on Volkswagen’s latest model. Add to that our test drive report from the Golf Mk7 international press drive in Sardinia, and the only vital matter left uncovered is the official pricing and specs.

That last piece of the puzzle has just been announced – the Volkswagen Golf Mk7 1.4 TSI is priced at RM157,888, without insurance. That’s the same price as the outgoing car in its model-runout SE guise. As we’ll find out in this article, there’s a lot more car on offer here for the same price, with a more comprehensive standard equipment list and improved efficiency.

There’s no question that the Golf Mk7 is a much bigger step forward compared to the incremental improvements from Mk5 to Mk6, as seen from the introduction of entirely new architecture and engine. This is definitely not a mere facelift.

Starting on the local specifications, the Golf Mk7 is available in a single 1.4 TSI guise, and only a seven-speed dual-clutch DSG gearbox is offered – no surprises there. Also standard is the handling-enhancing XDS transverse differential lock, previously only available on the GTI model.

xDSC_5348

The petrol engine is all-new, not to be confused with the outgoing EA111 TwinCharger mill. Part of the latest EA211 engine family, it drops the low-rev supercharger found on the old motor, relying on a single turbocharger to give the small engine a big output.

Losing the supercharger sees the maximum power drop from 160 to 140 PS, which is developed at 4,500 to 6,000 rpm. It’s not all bad news, as torque sees a welcome 10 Nm bump to 250 Nm through 1,500 to 3,500 rpm. The 0-100 km/h sprint now takes 8.4 seconds, 0.4 sec slower than before, while top speed has dropped from 220 to 212 km/h.

Not exactly slow, then, just slightly slower than the car it replaces, which is never an ideal situation. Volkswagen, however, argues that the benefits to be had on the efficiency front are significant enough to outweigh the performance drop. Well, that is for the customers, those who will have to refuel their car week in and week out, to judge.

The new engine and structure weighs 35 kg less than before, as part of the Golf Mk7’s 80 kg diet. It’s now badged as a BlueMotion unit and is equipped with an idle Stop/Start system as standard. With less weight comes great efficiency, as the new Golf 1.4 TSI certainly proves.

DSC_5314

The Mk6’s combined figure of 16.7 km per litre was considered by many to be outstanding, especially given the performance on offer. Now, with marginally less speed, the new Golf 1.4 TSI returns 20.0 km per litre, a solid improvement of 20%.

Is it a worthy trade-off? It’s not 20% slower, that’s for sure, and we have the suspicions that most prospective owners will hardly feel the slight drop in performance – it’s more than fast enough anyway – but the significantly lower running cost will not go unnoticed.

As speculated, Active Cylinder Technology (ACT) has been omitted from the local Golfs. Such fitted, the combined fuel consumption figure would improve further to 21.3 km per litre but more importantly, its CO2 emission would drop from 116 to 110 grams per km.

Small difference, yes, but just big enough to push the ACT-equipped model into Germany’s top-band Efficiency Class for substantial tax benefits. There’s no such perks available in Malaysia and, with little to gain mileage-wise, it’s deemed unnecessary for our local cars. Fair enough. Our low-grade fuel has also been cited as one of the reasons why ACT is not offered here.

DSC_5242

Dimensionally, the new car is 56 mm longer, 13 mm wider, 28 mm lower with a 59 mm longer wheelbase. The ultra-modern Modular Transverse Matrix (MQB) platform is all new, replacing the ageing one shared by the Golf Mk5 and Mk6.

Interior space is now 14 mm longer than before, benefiting passengers in the rear seats the most. There’s now 15 mm more legroom in the back, while shoulder and elbow room have been increased by 30 and 20 mm respectively.

Cargo capacity has grown by 30 litres to 380 litres, making good use of the variable cargo floor that can be lowered by 100 mm. Maximum boot width has increased by a massive 228 mm, now 1,272 mm. The load sill is 17 mm lower and 47 wider too, for easier access.

Much has been said of the car’s exterior, so we’ll not elaborate further. The ‘U’ shaped LED daytime running lights – now of the ‘lightbar’ type rather than having individually housed diodes – is now a standard feature. Bi-xenon lights with active bending function is also present.

DSC_5321

Round the back, standard bulb rear lights are used – darkened LED units are to be introduced on the costlier GTI variant and may be offered as an optional extra on the TSI in the future.

The wheels are ‘Dover’ 16-inch items with 205/55 R16 tyres, sitting on a track that has been widened by eight millimetres at the front and six millimetres at the rear compared to the old Golf. Standard fit tyres are low-rolling resistance Bridgestone Turanza ER300s.

Moving inside, the driver-oriented dashboard gets a 5.8-inch “Composition Media” colour touchscreen equipped with a proximity sensor. It has swipe and pinch functions, just like smartphones do, and has Bluetooth, USB, AUX-in and SD card connectivity as standard.

The driver’s seat and steering wheel now have a wider adjustment range, while the new MQB superstructure allows for a more spacious foot well. Cabin ergonomics have been improved throughout as well.

DSC_5275

A not so welcome addition is the electronic parking brake, replacing the space-hungry traditional handbrake. There’s an Auto Hold function too, so there’s no need to constantly finger the tiny button during hill starts.

Finishing off, there’s the usual bevy of safety equipment – seven airbags in total (including a knee airbag for the driver), ESC, front and rear ParkAssist (proximity sensors, not auto park) and a new Multi Collision Brake feature that applies the brakes to prevent or mitigate a subsequent impact when the vehicle has been involved in a collision. It has also been certified with a Euro NCAP five-star safety rating, if anyone is counting.

For driver convenience, there are auto headlights and a basic cruise control (not Adaptive Cruise Control). Unfortunately Volkswagen’s excellent Dynamic Chassis Control (DCC) is not specified, joining the sunroof and satellite navigation in the missing-features-in-local-cars list. A five-year warranty with unlimited mileage and five-year mobility guarantee are offered.

DSC_5228

So there you have it. The new Volkswagen Golf Mk7 1.4 TSI is a bigger, lighter, more economical and better handling, if slightly slower car sold for the same money as the model it replaces. Everything considered, is it a better proposition than the outgoing Golf Mk6? Voice your opinions below.

Also, we have driven ‘The Car’ to Penang – our report on the Mk7 Golf’s performance on Malaysian tarmac will be coming very soon. For now, you can read our international press drive review and browse through our 110-photo gallery from yesterday’s preview party to have a closer look at the Malaysian-spec Golf Mk7, which officially goes on sale from this Saturday, March 16.

UPDATE: Our local test drive review of the Volkswagen Golf Mk7 1.4 TSI is now online. Read how the Malaysian-spec car behaves on our roads here.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• carrie on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Great review, thanks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • abo-then on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:04 pm

As expected, the omission of ACT means no reason for me to dump my twin-charge 1.4.

Was looking forward to a brand new mk7. oh well… save a little more and hopefully 320d will be within reach in a year or two

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
      • Sam Loo on Mar 14, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 125
        • Das Motor on Mar 14, 2013 at 2:40 pm

4 speed Camry better and faster? You’re joking, right? That thing takes 12.5secs to hit 100 laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 10
          • Made in Germany ? on Mar 15, 2013 at 10:03 am

My advice to anyone buying VW, please read the forums before buying the car. Yes, go to VW forums or even Paul Tan’s VW posting and read all the comments. Don’t take things for granted. This involves big money. The problem with we Malaysians is that we worship the Mat Salleh too much but fail to realise the shortcomings of the white man. We come out with generalisations that ALL western products are great. Let it be known that not ALL German products are high quality. Some German products can even be lower quality than your Buatan Malaysia. I used to work in Germany many years and the Germans have 2 categories of products. One high quality and another low quality. There is no middle. Infact, their low quality products like chocolates for example are so low in quality that it makes our Vochelle or Van Houten in Malaysia taste like Ferrero Rocher.

So, please don’t be taken in by the fact that VW is a continental car or German car and buy into that. Research the idea in forums and see the pros and cons. Not everything that has the words “Made in Germany” is of utmost quality and does not give you headache and trouble. Sometimes even a mere Proton or a Japanese brand can be at par with German brands if reliability is concerned. If you are looking for a car with minimum visits to the service centre to solve problems and zero breakdowns, VW may not be your brand.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 25
          • Malaysian Chocolate > Germany Chocolate (according to you)

Proton > Volkswagen ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
          • MadeinMalaysia on Mar 17, 2013 at 10:03 am

This is to Made in Germany…for someone who keeps on talking about researching facts, you offer absolutely none as a basis for your claims about German products. VW doesn’t become one of the world’s biggest carmaker for no reason

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
          • stranger on Apr 12, 2013 at 1:13 pm

I agree of what had been mentioned by Made in Germany ?
            I could see the differences between local VW and VW from Euro/USA
            They are so obvious especially the accessories…
            The local VW are equipped with cheapskate, unlike the VW Euro/US
            Perhaps this is something do with our beloved GOV again

• Tau ceti on Apr 17, 2013 at 10:38 pm

Madeinmalaysia: VW is one of the no 1 maker because of suckers like you!

• abo-then on Mar 14, 2013 at 4:00 pm

Ok.. i am going to feed the TROLL on this one..

go to mudah.
          set the date from 2010 to 2010
          search “golf” and “camry”

golf tsi lowest price 2010 – 114k
          golf tsi highest price 2010 – 128k
          camry 2.0 lowest price 2010 – 100k
          camry 2.0 highest price 2010 – 130k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 9
          • Use Your Brain on Apr 26, 2013 at 10:08 am

Hello Mr/Ms “Tau Ceti”. Did you know most of the buyers of VW’s in Malaysia are professionals?

Also, the majority of VW buyers are Chinese, followed by the Malays.

If you dont believe me, you can study the demographics done recently. I dont know how you can get it now, but you can try asking MAA. I happen to know about it because I attended one seminar on the motor industry done by Frost & Sullivan some time ago.

So are you trying to say that most Malaysian professionals do not do their research before buying their cars? Or people buy their cars based on emotion and not based on rationale?

Do hope you can answer those questions before you make such silly accusations!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • abo-then on Mar 14, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Feeding the TROLL again..
          speaking of resale value,(mudah)

Sonata 2010 2.0 Brand New – 135k
          Sonata 2010 2.0 used low price – 92k
          Sonata 2010 2.0 used high price – 113k
          depreciation range = 47k-22k ?

Camry 2010 2.0 Brand New – 154k
          Camry 2010 2.0 used low price – 100k
          Camry 2010 2.0 used high price – 130k
          depreciation range = 54k-24k ?

technically, all cars above rm120k has very bad resale value regardless of make. especially bimmers and audis..

life is already boring as it is. more of a reason why in my 35 years of life (17yrs for motoring life) i have never bought a toyota let a lone set foot in it’s showroom.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 5
          • All4TorqueProDSG on Mar 14, 2013 at 7:21 pm

For those who harp on residual value, don’t buy any car. Spend your money to buy a property. For the troll above Mr. Sam Loo, u can buy a small 400sf low cost apartment cos that will be your Camry.

At this day and age, when you buy a car, it’s all about enjoying it, a reward for yourself, the feel, the connection with the car, handling, ride, performance, technology, innovation, and the gadgets.

I used to drive the much loved Civic 2.0 and my decision was partly arrived at after reading the reviews here, and no regrets driving it. At that point in time, to me, it was fast enuff, good handling, performance fantastic, I look at the engine bay, waaahhhh Honda I-vtec some more, great car, but it was very light. I praise this car as my older cars were all Proton.

Now I found something better, a VW. A car technologically far more advanced, solid feel, heavier, stable, fast, torquey, 18″, conticontactsport 5 tyres, precise, accurate, turbocharged, I won’t ask for more for now. Let’s enjoy the ride. VW is lovely. Don’t talk about the price as every material thing depreciates. Enjoy the moment. Now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 12
          • kononnya troll feeder ,
            do you know that NEW ccamry 2010 rm139k ?

een highest spec also not rm154k,

so u take 2012 camry price and assume that previous generation 1 also same price?

• shame on you camry 2010 2.0 new just rm139k,even highest spec 2.0 also rm149k,

rm154k clearly u took from camry 2012 price,

shame on you

• Ahmadfaris93 on Mar 14, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Joke of the day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • thanks vw malaysia it’s so cheap. i\ll buy 10 straightaway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • gerald on Mar 17, 2013 at 1:14 pm

yr reasoning nt sound…

• lol.. RV loo
          ur faster meant can reach the top gear (4 vs 7) in shorter time?
          dang, ur camry is 4 speed is slower than kancil 3 speed auto .. loser

• Seriously on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Agreed.

• Jimmy on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:38 pm

Yeah, knee airbag as mentioned in my previous comment on Golf.
      And no increase in price, welcome; again a slap on someone’s face.
      BTW, in Malaysia Golf and Mazda6 gain more respect from common people compared to vehicles of similar price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 24
    • Kalun on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:23 am

Hey guys, do you think that Plate Number font on this VW is legal? Looks like Singaporean Car Plate number font to me or Euro style font.

Discuss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
  • Kalun on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:50 pm

This VS the Ford Focus

I take ford focus because it has manual gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 34
    • Auto transmission is the best! easy drive and i love it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 28
    • Seriously on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:25 pm

Manual gearbox with a sub-par engine? Don’t really make it better. Unless you’re comparing that to the FF-ST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • sepul on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Here only Focus ST has manual gearbox, not the Sport and Titanium one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • kokot on Apr 03, 2013 at 2:56 pm

real man use 3 pedals!

• ABTguy on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Omission of supercharger, DCC and the misery wheel are way too big to ignore. I am not happy, do you !?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
  • love VW on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:57 pm

Why the center panel looks like preve?…do u guy noticed it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 15
    • Jimmy on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:51 pm

Try compare interior of Golf vs Kamuri.
      Where is Preve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
    • Ahh whatever it looks like Preve or not,at least the P1 logo is not on ur car bonnet so u should proud of it when u’r driving it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • crank on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:26 am

Actually its the other way around, Proton have been obsessed with european car styling since the Gen-2. If you notice even the fuel lid of Protons are placed on the right side of the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • heeart on Mar 14, 2013 at 12:56 pm

no such things, nowadays this car loks like that car, and vice versa. copy copy paste paste one. oh not only on design wise, also on negine department, detuned and deactivation have been practised since long ago

• jumper on Mar 14, 2013 at 5:13 pm

nope, proton design has a mixture of characteristics of european and asian deisgn

• loklok on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:57 pm

the price positioned too close against Passat 1.8, and the price gap between Polo & Golf was to far.. Golf is just a people’s car like Ford focus.. how come it’s sell it like super premium car.. wordless..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:42 pm

VW in Malaysia is generally viewed as more premium than ordinary brands like Ford/Nissan/Honda/Toyota. The closest Jap brand vs VW is Mazda.
      We are not talking about Infiniti/Lexus, the proper luxury brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 45
      • frenzyaustin on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:16 pm

But Mazda is priced WAY lower than VW

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 5
        • rally_fan on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:08 am

European cars have a higher Tariff structure than japanese cars.. thats a fact. even if they wanted to lower prices, they cannot, because they are paying more taxes. Even in Europe, VW generally costs more than its competitors as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
        • But RV is more than that i mean VW…

• Only see few unit of those Jap luxury brands like Infiniti and Lexus…maybe they are ugly and low RV…BMW and Merc r everywhere…

• ahmad loy on Mar 14, 2013 at 12:32 am

..do agreed. Price context, the ppl considering D-segment,Passat..very BAD pricing strategy or VW Malaysia not enough price survey..you are losing the incoming users..they might option to Ford Focus or Mazda 6..”TheGolfTheCar”, I guess facing problem..same as the new Honda Civic..better maintain the old price..but it’s too late alresdy..maybe you are greedy about the past 2010/2011/2012 the Polo/Golf track record..btw,GOOD news for the MK6 Golf/MK5 Polo owners/used car dealers!

• guest on Mar 14, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Golf is the bread-and-butter model for VW. Looking at how well the previous Golf sells even at bloated price, it’s no surprise that they further bump up the price despite stripping equipments.

VW Malaysia is quite smart actually, holding big events to create awareness among the locals, claiming how they stand for “people’s car” and bringing in more models at affordable price. When awareness and volume is there, they start to screw “people’s car” nonsense, and start screwing your wallet

Seems like VW Malaysia folks has been attending rip-off training in Toyota and Honda, and hey it works!

• Hafriz, pls review on the auto start stop system. is this the same as bmw/merc/audi system? what criteria to make the engine stop automatically at idle, and any visible vibration when the engine restart? dont miss out whether the feature can be turn off voluntary? thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:00 am

Just to clarify, this article is a news piece and not a review. Our test drive report on the local car will be up soon :).

As for the engine idle stop/start system, yes it can be turned off – there’s a button to the left of the gear knob.

In the international press drive cars, the system works in much the same way as other similar setups, where the engine would turn off when you come to a complete stop, and with a firm pressure on the brake pedal. Ease up on the pedal and it would start up again.

There was minimal vibration at start up, less than there is in most BMWs but more noticeable than Honda/Toyota hybrids.

• How does the car differ without ACT? I bet your international press drive cars has em.

Don’t presume, find out and report on it please. You’re a car journalist. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 14, 2013 at 3:41 pm

Yes the cars at the international press drive had the ACT and pretty much all optional extras fitted, as they always do.

There’s no button to turn on or deactivate the ACT, it just works in the background, switching to 2 cylinder mode when it sees fit. To be honest I didn’t feel it working at all. Coast along and the instrument display would show ‘2-cyl mode’, press on and it disappears, without any disruption in power or response.

• Ongtk on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Supposedly people’s car in Europe but priced at a premium in Malaysia and thus out of reached of majority of C segment car buyers no thanks to our taxes. I will go for Ford Focus anytime. Besides, at that price, many good alternatives such as Mazda 6 are available.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 5
    • Seriously on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Mazda 6 is a good alternative? That’s questionable. I guess it depends what you want in a car, but performance and sheer driving pleasure, definitely still a Golf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 74
      • Mazda 6 drives just as good as the look. Mind you Mazda 6 is side by side with Aston Martin Vanquish and Jaguar F type now in World Design of the year! The look on this Golf? Still the same look as the old grandma’s Golf. Sorry, sheer driving pleasure comes with good look too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 4
        • rally_fan on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:09 am

but still don’t discount the fact that mk7 is european car of the year. I suppose looks are in the eyes of the beholder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
          • Runyakhunts on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:56 am

no one is debating whether its the car of the year, but the factors which made the journalist cream in their pants and ejaculate at every mention of the mk7 more or less did not make it into the local car… a good car nonetheless, but not as good as what we could have been getting with better specs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • I think Mazda 6 is cool but Golf is coolest!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
          • jacksonkua on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:34 pm

Will it be still the car of the year if they offered Malaysia spec in oversea?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 15, 2013 at 12:04 am

They do. Along with lower-specced base models with less power, manual transmission, torsion beam suspension, smaller LCD screen (5- and 3.5-inch), plastic steering, wind down rear windows, solid paint, halogen lights with no DRLs, no fog lamps, less airbags, no parking sensors and even 15-inch steel rims with wheel caps instead of alloys.

Point is, the local cars are far from being the worst-specced Golf Mk7s around. Difference being, European customers can spec up their cars as they like and even then, most cars that leave the dealerships are middle-range variants, not costly top-spec models.

• Jimmy on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:44 pm

Ford is regarded as a ‘cheaper’ brand in Malaysia, just like Toyota vs Suzuki.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
      • ya bcos general malaysian like u like to use RV to gauge a car value.. not the car itself

no need airbag, no need vsc, no need abs, maybe dont even need seatbelt, only need to slap logo that implied high RV, automatically become best seller of the decade.

• Seriously on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:01 pm

More room, more efficient and better handling for a slight trade off from power… hmm, interesting dilemma.

• ProDSG on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:07 pm

Firstly, thank you Paul Tan and team, great honest review and great write-up as always. VW is the way forward for all car makes to emulate.

Where is Sam Loo the fake one and Anderson Andrew Hartwig Hogwart? Waiting patiently for you guys to condemn DSG again. You can use other pseudo names don’t worry.

VW is The car. I realised this until I own one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 48
    • Ilikevw on Mar 14, 2013 at 12:20 am

Bashing DSG is so lame now… Newly every other conti car has double clutching. So grow up already….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
      • driver on Mar 14, 2013 at 2:06 am

I dont think they’re against dual-clutch tech. it’s just that particular DSG7 is associated with problematic. But I see the effort of VW to wipe this out by giving 5 years mobility warranty.

we’ll see…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • intermilan on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Latest development on the DSG issues, read this article in NST..

http://www.nst.com.my/latest/volkswagen-to-recall-cars-after-china-tv-criticism-1.237030

• Amir Sufyan on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:36 am

Yalah, other conti double clutcing got no problem..thus one got

• Sam Loo on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:03 pm

Whats the point of 5 year warranty when the risk of having your family in a car that has a high risk of breaking down all the time?

Reliability, proven reliability is something euros could not give the world

• Stance on Mar 15, 2013 at 8:05 am

For once I agreed with you. For me, if I were to choose between a 3 yrs warranty reliable car with a 5 yrs warranty not so reliable car, my choice is obvious. Family safety of is the utmost priority. Importantly I do not want to visit the service centers regularly just to have my car rectified even though i dont have to pay a single cent. My time already cost me money. Seriously, I’ve heard a lot of this from friends who drive Peugeot, VW and even Audi.

• …Comment from people who cant afford to buy !! nonsense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • tricycle on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:07 pm

Good review, and good car to have and fun to drive FWD. I’ve driven MK6 and it is good, well balance and worth the money spent. I do believe this would be better.

If you are looking for space for family with kids this isn’t it. Glamour also not so much if compare to other Big German Brands.

But if you are a couple with no kids, and your partner enjoy the thrill of riding fast around corner. Then this is the right car for you.

Bottom line: it is fun and not so expensive (in Malaysia price range).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 47
    • Jimmy on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Yes, there are so many people who can buy a new Golf every month in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Focus or mazda6, though diff class. It should be cheaper since the golf mk7 selling outside cheaper than mk6. I like this car but no with the price..unless im multi millionare, guy this for my kids

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • by the way, why vw omitted the organ type pedal? this is one of my must-have-feature when considering europe cars.. so far notice vw polo, polo gti, audi a4 and a6 omitted this pedal, when it is found on some of the japanese marque and kia optima..

• tHe^CuLpRit on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:19 pm

tyres should be 205/55 R16 surely? pedantic lot we are heh.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:50 pm

Yes, you’re right, they are 205/55 R16s as I mentioned correctly in the preview gallery post.

Fixed, thanks!

• oilworker on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:31 pm

damn.. no cylinder deactivation? arghhhhh why we always get crappy speced cars here???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • For the price and that spec(and let’s face it do we really need all those stuff as the Germans), I’d say its not really that bad. Although I’d say the Mk6 looks better as this has went abit more generic design. For a family or a normal A-B car, I don’t need to ask more, it does the job well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • crank on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:38 am

I seriously don’t think many would agree that it’s wise to spend 158k for a normal A-B car and furthermore Mazda 6 seems a better choice for a family car within that price range. Seriosly bad pricing by VW.

• 7 SPEED DSG Problem again and again……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 14
    • Ilikevw on Mar 14, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Bashing DSG again?…lame….lame…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • KingPin on Mar 16, 2013 at 4:08 am

Sorry to burst your bubble mate, its not lame its fact. DSG7 has severe issues, if you havent had yours yet, dont worry it will come soon enough

• Sam Loo on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Not bashing, but highlighting reality and facts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Ilikevw on Mar 15, 2013 at 12:04 am

Not DSG bashing? Why not highlight these facts-
        BMW F10 issues-
        http://www.google.com.my/search?q=bmw+f10+transmission+problems&aq=0&oq=bmw+f10+problem&sourceid=chrome-mobile&ie=UTF-8&hl=en-US
        What about Merc?
        http://www.google.com.my/search?hl=en&q=mercedes+cgi+problems&oq=mercedes+cgi+pro&gs_l=mobile-gws-serp.1.0.0i22i30l5.1683.17211.0.18805.35.28.3.4.4.6.131.2694.14j13.27.0.les%3B..0.0…1ac.1.5.mobile-gws-serp.1OOBbt7zvqw
        Grow up already….every car have its weakness. Stop picking on it. If we start picking on issue of all car brands (Toyota included) nobody will be driving, All take LRT. But then LRT too have issues…. What now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • Don’t compare VW with BMW and Merc, they are different league. Compare VW with Toyota, Honda, Mazda and so on.

• MadeinMalaysia on Mar 17, 2013 at 10:11 am

So your logic is, don’t compare with a superior car (when in fact those superior cars have issues just like the inferior car) but compare with inferior ones? are you also the type that rides in a kancil and bashes it for not having a turbocharger?

• alphachu on May 17, 2013 at 5:37 pm

VW Golf DSG7 gear problem is real.Not just in Malaysia,also all over the world.In China warranty extended to 10 years,many hundreds recalled.My car was in workshop for more than 4 weeks because of gearbox problem..One component in the box is faulty.The new Golf has same gearbox;that is why VW has downgraded the HP and removed the Super;just to reduce the load on the gearbox.DSG6 do not seem to have this problem…I believe VW has already solved it..That is why there is promotion to get rid of old stock!!!

• Kuinosan on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:02 pm

I personally feel the new Golf is over priced and under spec. In today’s market, car buyers have many choices to choose from. The other model which is way better value would be the new Ford Focus. Just as powerful and being N.A, maintenance and long term reliability should be better. Imagine, saving 40+k and driving a higher and better performing car in the process. Makes one wonder whether it is worth the money to get a new Golf, eh? Just my 2 cents on the subject.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
  • Overpriced for what it is. I doubt the real world fuel efficiency. Ford, Mazda etc make better cars for this price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • rosdi on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:07 pm

Why oh why VW cars look too ‘bland’ lah… this latest Golf is the most bland of all. Maybe some people like it, but for me the look is way to simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Golf Lover on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Hafriz, does the multimedia screen comes in color or grayscale mode? Because I recalled the earlier review mentioning that it’s grayscale instead.

• Paul Tan on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:16 pm

The head unit is colour. The one that’s greyscale is the small multi-info display in the instrument cluster between the speedometer and the tachometer. There is a colour version.

Greyscale:
      http://paultan.org/2013/03/13/volkswagen-golf-mk7-1-4-tsi-introduced-rm158k/dsc_5332/

Colour:
      http://paultan.org/2013/03/13/driven-volkswagen-golf-mk7-tested-in-sardinia/dsc_4009a/

• OMG no joke u serious??? no TFT display on dash, and 5.8″, 16″ wheel for RM157k?

wtf is wrong with ppl man.. it isn’t cheap already and yet we are getting a cheaper version to the already mass people mover in europe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • Arun 12B on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:21 pm

rim so ugly.. even polo coming wit 17 inch rim. seriously ford focus so much better in the specs wise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Woody on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:32 pm

Has the cylinder deactivation been omitted? Are the upholstery fully fabric? Can’t recall seeing the 16″ Dover rims in international reviews too. I also figured the golf is just less than 10k cheaper than polo gti and around 12k less than CKD passat. Really do think we’re still short changed with this new golf. The mbq platform was supposed to be more cost effective in terms of mass production, so if the golf costs the same as the mk6 then it is only logical the consumers would expect more up to date specs, similar to what you would get in the UK and Germany

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • Specks on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:37 pm

Expected so much more from the new golf after all the buzz internationally. Looks deflated with smaller wheels n no sunroof. I guess it is the perfect opportunity for ford to really up their game for the launch of the focus st. If ford plays the game right they could grab some disappointed potential golf buyers who will be unimpressed with the mk7, thus loosing faith in the Malaysian gti when it arrives. Can u guys imagine a mk7 gti which is more expensive but with lesser equipment than those u get overseas?

• Clarkson on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:42 pm

I’m a golf fan and hav always looked forward to this launch. But I’m too extremely let down. Was actually looking to book the golf but now I might even consider alternatives. Alfa guilietta, focus. Heck even the civic. C’mon, no selective drive modes? Seriously? The guys overseas were so impressed that the standard golf in Europe included this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 0
  • Dr Mamak on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:50 pm

What a bloody rip off for an overated 1.4! Sold at £17k in uk, this thing is worth no more than 100k in bolehland.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 296 Thumb down 7
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 14, 2013 at 12:08 am

While I can’t possibly say how much the car should be worth, a similarly specced (you can’t get the same exact combination, as the local car sits in between UK’s SE and GT trim lines) Golf in the UK would be in the range of £23k (SE 1.4 TSI 122PS with more or less the same specs as the local car) to £26k (GT 1.4 TSI 140PS ACT with more kit than what we get).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • mr_em on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:10 am

Hafriz Shah,

If the 1.4TSI Golf kitted with options is already GBP23k-26k then I wonder how much will be the price of the Golf GTi in the UK?

A Focus ST in the UK sells for about GBP25k, is in the same price range as your Golf 1.4TSI! Thats really absurd (and that is in the UK)!

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:20 am

Local to UK price comparisons are never ideal as the specs, taxes and many other factors skew the figures substantially.

Just to compare though, the Focus ST that we get here most closely resembles UK’s top-spec ST-3 package, and with the same options fitted it would come up to more or less £27k.

• Point on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:54 pm

Omg. For those who hav already booked this before the launch …
    Kinda odd now the golf has far less features than advertised in Europe. A very very bad decision by vw malaysia. ford, Alfa. Time for u guys to pounce on vw’s mistakes. Hint hint.

The new golf here with less features is a sure deterrent for potential gti buyers. I think the public wont be as forgiving if the gti comes under spec later this year. Vw please don’t mess it up or you would loose the real golf fans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • its a great car….but wouldnt you get a peugeot 508 instead for that price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • Volkswagen, had u solves your complaint issues? just saw your facebook site, a lots of complaint, what is going on?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • intermilan on Mar 14, 2013 at 12:24 am

Boring car for boring people.. *yawn*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
  • Runyakhunta on Mar 14, 2013 at 12:40 am

Was seriously considering this car for my wife, an ‘upgrade’ from a typical C segment car from Sushi Land.. Though the price isn’t too bad, the missing specs that journalists rave non stop is really dissapointing.. The ugly rims is the final slap on the face.. Goodbye VW, will lookout for other cars instead..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
    • Henry the Hoover on Mar 14, 2013 at 2:04 am

Crz or ct200h? Alfa romeo guilietta, Mini Cooper? Might these be better options than the golf as a second car for your missus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Dyson on Mar 14, 2013 at 2:18 am

Boy oh boy. VW knows that the golf is not the only hatchback available here do they? Such a shame for the car of the year (geneva motor show 2013) to be stripped of most of its glory, only to be sold to people who should have known better. I hope VW hq in Germany sacks those in charge of their brand here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • also Citreon DS4, Ford Focus Hatchback, Ford Focus ST etc. or for this price D segment car. stylish and better equip Mazda 6

• guys, just keep your comment first and go for a test drive first….with the Golf, a test drive is all u need….go ahead & try and then comment ; )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • Wilson on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:37 am

Then you seriously have to test drive Mazda 6 as well, it’s not much different on initial acceleration/ pick up, but top speed range will definitely perform on par if not better.

• mr_em on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:16 am

I suggest just take a test drive of the Ford Focus. And use it purely to benchmark other cars that you may seriously buy instead.

Why? The standard Focus deserved at least to be test driven and not to be ignored, put aside the badge, RV and aftersales issues. Focus on the Car… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • focus? on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:43 pm

why so many focus supporters here? of course the focus is a good car, but the Golf is the Golf. just try sitting in both and touch and feel the interior. then try slamming the doors and hatch/tailgate. you’ll immediately know which one is better.

• With this prie and spec, better wait for new coming Honda Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
    • Blurry D on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:57 am

This is a bad comparison..you cannot compare an apple to an orange..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Michelin on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:54 am

Honda.. the “Puiiih” of Dreams..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • MadeinMalaysia on Mar 17, 2013 at 10:15 am

Will it have 4 speed too? brings back memories of my little hyundai of 7 years ago. this is going retro right? amidoingitrite?

• Henry the Hoover on Mar 14, 2013 at 2:14 am

Wow! As much as the mk7 gets praise and raves abroad, we seem to bash it here quite a bit. We Malaysians are a demanding bunch and rightly so. We pay over the odds for cars here so the very least we would expect is a top specced golf. VW is still establishing its brand presence in malaysia. The reason why it is so highly regarded here is because of the reviews from abroad. if the cars VW give Malaysians are sub-specced, we will eventually loose trust in the brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • ahmad loy on Mar 14, 2013 at 5:03 pm

..do agreed!Because of this (abroad got praise and raves but locally offer sub-spec. with higher price)), in near future we can see..slowly this newly established brand (just only 4 yrs.in popular) suffer and others rival brand (e.g:UK’s specs.KIA K3/Forte Hatchback/Ceed with turbo engine)took place..pricing strategy going failure..anybody knows the sales record of the ‘icon’ VW Beetle 1.2 TSi 2012 RM139K?

• NeoLover on Mar 14, 2013 at 2:22 am

I would fork another rm7k for Citroen DS4. can get better interior with leather upholstery, massage front seat, 18 inch alloy rim and more handsome better sculpted exterior. more features translated to money worth spent than this Malaysian under specced VW MK7.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Blaze on Mar 14, 2013 at 3:01 am

…what about the important part of the car’s suspension set-up, are we getting the torsion beam or the independent suspension… Because i read it some where that in the UK, both type is available depending on the engine’s power output… Or did i miss anything here or in previous article…

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:44 am

We get multi-link rear suspension. The torsion beams are only for models with 122 hp or less.

The Beetle follows the same convention, so the 1.2 TSI gets torsion beam, while the 2.0 has multi-link.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Ahmadfaris93 on Mar 14, 2013 at 6:00 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 445
  • Gavin on Mar 14, 2013 at 7:41 am

The centre console can be made so much more efficient, is there really a need for so much plastic gap between the buttons,radio, air vents?

And that 1 inch wide slot above the aircond knobs? what the hell is that? that probably goes way too deep for any hand to reach in once your mobile phone slides in.

Looks like they are reducing cost by making big spaces so easier to fit

• Well if only Navigation was standard, then the screen will be bigger like in top spec Golfs from overseas.

• In a pickle..need help.

Contemplating a Scirocco (188-12k disc) vs MK7 158k.

Always wanted a Scirocco but now expecting a kid in August..friends say 2 doors not practical..

Tech diff in MK7 vs Scirocco..would it be strong enough of a point for a vote on the Golf insteas of the Scirocco!!!???

• Michelin on Mar 14, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Go for other brand, MFJ..

• All4TorqueProDSG on Mar 14, 2013 at 7:29 pm

Bro, consider the PassatSportLine. Lovely. The only family car u ever need. Trust me. Strong contender to the Mondeo. Best selling family saloon ever! Period! I swear by the moon and the stars, Passat Sport baby!

• focus? on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:49 pm

follow your heart n get the sciroc..no problems with only 1 child or even 2..

• fredo on Mar 14, 2013 at 8:41 am

having driven most of cars within the segment, in my opinion i would think peugeot 308 is better value for money with similar fun in driving around corners.
    I was expecting both power and torque increase from the previous MK6. I this case, VW will just holding back many more potential buyers. Think a reconditioned Mini Cooper S for the same money

• suhairi shamsuddin on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:07 am

shud be cheaper…with lower spec….

• bystander on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:48 am

actually, it should be expected that this is the pricing level and spec level, afterall previous articles on Paultan and other Malaysian sites that went for the media drive in Europe already indicated that these features may not be available here.
    it is sad that, no matter how much feedback/complaints we make, things are unlikely to change, as this is based on the current gov policies regarding this industry, strength of ringgit, car manufacturer policies, Malaysian consumer behaviour and so many other factors. But guess what, ppl will still buy the Golf, just like how they buy a Toyota, regardless of price/spec. Maybe not you or me, but many others :(

• Amir Sufyan on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:54 am

Bland design..basic specs…stupidly expansive. Wont give a damn if this car passes me….spec n design doesnt reflect the price at all..this is not bmw or merc..its just vkwagen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Over price then go for Mvyi. Cheap and Good. Good resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • ahmad loy on Mar 14, 2013 at 5:12 pm

..you got the point or the other word is..the VW brand here “might think” they are so premium..likes BMW/Merc.

• longjaafar on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:56 am

Overpriced. Definitely. Even if one wants to stay within the VW stable, RM15k more will get you a Passat. And not considering the brilliant Mazda 6, Peugot 508 and several others. Overconfidence or ignorance?

• Amir Sufyan on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:09 am

Vw malaysia funny…example..the vw beetle they claim is a cult, then this golf is the legend…wtf, all this hype only..dah la mahal…peoples car campaign pon tak jadi sbb the supposed to be ppl car harga rm100k…nonsense mahal..now doin promo for jetta coz tak laku…y? Coz pricing la, the price tak beza sgr dgn ckd passat. U dont do research ke VW……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Add in insurance, you are paying over RM160k for a hatchback.

What a joke?! My friend chose Jetta and cancel the Golf order. Maybe Volkswagen Malaysia got too many pre-order for Golf…

• Amir Sufyan on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:22 am

Grandma car…not uncle or aunty car…but grandma car dude!! Wut yawn design is this…specs stripped off, boring design, pricey..this 3 criteria synonim wif one and only brand….volkswagen malaysia. Just remember.. low spec, boring design, pricey…ingat vw golf. Might consider this for my grandma, but first i have to be a very rich grandchild

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Grandma drive this will kena heart attack, sure die on the spot. Grandma drive Waja better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Amir Sufyan on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:26 am

VW malaysia try to place themself at premium level..if we accept this, then theyll sell car pricey2

• Amir Sufyan on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:30 am

For the price range..wud consider pug 508, mazda 6 or the all new crv even they all in other class, if u park this car infront hilton pun, ppl think its a caddy car

• valjean on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:31 am

Boy….. there us quite a lot fo Ford CyberTropper here. Hihih

Anyway, VW is really doing them a favour with this kind of spec and price. Don’t they know most VW buyers are Car enthusiast? So they will def be picking on what makes Golf a Golf. Those Sport mode, power, torque, etc are what that matters

Good luck VW ya….

• Baldwin on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:32 am

IMHO, generally the MK7 is too low spec to be selling at that price and given that now Malaysians have more choices and are well exposed and informed of the choice that they have for this price range, going for the MK7 is really quite a rip off…not forgetting the fact that it’s the ‘people’s car’ and not a high end luxury model.

• wazizi on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:33 am

It sounds a bit like an advert piece for VW. With lots of regurgitation of spec sheets and If you omit ACT for the local maret, one should not quote mileage because great fuel economy attributed to this petrol engine is attributed to this technology. The writer should be more forthcoming and maintain his integrity for his and his reader’s benefit. It is good to read this write up ,along with reviews from other country online, where a slightly different 1.4TSI Golf Mk7 model is sold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:49 am

As stated in the article the non-ACT 1.4 TSI, which is what we get, returns 20.0 km/L. With ACT equipped it will get 21.3 km/L.

Not exactly a huge difference, and even in Europe the inclusion of ACT is predominantly used to reduce the CO2 emission for lower tax benefits, not for fuel economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • Paul Tan on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:54 am

Wazizi, since for some reason you think this is a review, let me clarify that this is not a review.

The local review story is still in the works. Our writer Jonathan James Tan is on the review program and its still underway (yesterday and today).

This is just an announcement of specs and price story. I think it is quite clear. Don’t confuse us with some other Malaysian websites :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 15
      • valjean on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:16 am

Paul,

Not sure about whether is this a review and or spec sheet anouncement. But one thing is pretty clear. For every reduction/setback, Hafriz has a explaination or justification. Like no ACT but then our “petrol quality is bad …”, then for power drops from 160ps to 140ps hafriz explaned is the car is lighter mah or driver wont notice the differenceetc…

why defend if not a review.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 69
        • Paul Tan on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:27 am

Now that we’ve expanded our editorial team and everyone is less overworked we are making it a point to interact more in the comments for launch and test drive stories. So when readers ask any questions not clarified in the story we will call up the car companies and try our best to get an explanation. You can expect this to happen more from now on for all local launch and review stories. Not just Volkswagen Golf :)

As for the power part, Hafriz has driven the Mk7 Golf during his time at his previous publication so he may be sharing his personal experience in relation to whether the power difference is significant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
          • ProDSG on Mar 14, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Dear Paul, just wondering what car are u currently driving now? Being an experienced driver and car enthusiast like you, what do you personally look for when it comes to buying a car.
            Price?
            Handling?
            Ride?
            Safety features?
            Looks?
            Prestige?
            Leather seats?

Best regards.

• Jimmy on Mar 15, 2013 at 12:03 am

Just let me answer PorDSG’s questions.
            When you have money, you buy the cars that you like and the act is emotional a lot of time. One day you feel sick/bored about the car, you just sell it or just give it to your relative. It is very straightforward.
            The not straightforward time is when you have limited resources, then in that case I always suggest ‘safety comes first’.
            Otherwise you might as well buy a very good motorcycle to ride, definitely more fun, entailing more adrenaline.

• Golfer on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:00 am

If i am not mistaken the new Golf price in Europe is cheaper than the previous model, why here is the same price ?As usual VW malaysia is trying to milk us and sucker the Malaysian ppl again !And this Golf is just a normal transportation in Europe not consider a luxury car mind you.

• mentari-o-korea on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:02 am

Expensive for boring car!! No wow factor, enuff said!

• Choy MP on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:21 am

looking under hood…its like…wow so neat

• What a beautiful car, but wait. … screwed up import duty/excise and other crappy taxation means this car will be considered “luxury” item in Malaysia. and as such most people who could benefit from a fuel efficient and safe car would not be able to do so. thus, it is back to Proton, Perodua, Vios and Almera….

• Peter on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:27 am

The features & technologies are exceptional in its class. But for 158k, I got many choices. As usual, like other brands, in Malaysia we just can’t get the same advanced configurations as it’s on western countries but pay equal if not more then them! This really piss me off!

• Sam Loo on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:59 pm

At 158k, get a D segment car instead.

For a small rat B segment at RM160k is absurd

• chan kam nam on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:52 am

Thought the Jetta which is even bigger and similar engine is cheaper at about RM150K. Don’t understand the pricing.

• Polo Saga on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:55 am

Still, overprice because of high tax imposed by Be-Ended. When could we really enjoy good cars with reasonable price, like other countries?

• umnokakipitnah on Mar 14, 2013 at 12:29 pm

waiting 2015 for lower car tax..but isnt someone saying that our nation will bankrupt if we lower the car price?..hmmmm

• stealth on Mar 14, 2013 at 12:58 pm

its time the government should extend the reduction of import tax to other country made besides Japan / Aust.

Turunkan Harga Kereta campaign by Rafizi Ramli seems feasible, everyone in the nation sufferes to pay more for the car just to benefit the local car industry and to enrich a few. Total nonsense…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • what is the button “P” beside the cup holder? it is auto park?

• All4TorqeuProDSG on Mar 14, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Bro it’s the Park Assist sensor. U an switch it off whenever u like. But it does help!

• I like the MK6 and MK7, but i hate it when the price doesn’t match the so called “people’s car”, especially entry cars like Polo TSI.

To me, VGM makes us pay the luxury price for not so luxury goodies.

• tedazhar on Mar 14, 2013 at 2:09 pm

would be interesting if you guys can come up with review of new ford focus and this new golf side by side

• unforgiven on Mar 14, 2013 at 2:35 pm

I wonder which cars are not considered as premium in M’sia… I’m guessing every car except P1/P2…

We will never be treated equally in Global perspective, because we ourselves created that with the current Gov…

If we have an International airport and Domestic airport, which should be made it nicer? For our own ppl first or what? The mentality…

• Das Motor on Mar 14, 2013 at 3:02 pm

I think the reason why people would fork out Camry prices for a hatchback such as Golf is because of the technology, quality and specs offered. But sadly, the Golf 7 in Malaysia is not giving us the specs and partly therefore, the technology. If everyone knows VW has the technology such as adaptive cruise and autopark but none is available here, it is right for us to reconsider our purchases. I own an MK6 and wanted to get the MK7 but guess I’ll hold on to my car longer now.

With the MK7, I have a feel that VGM is planning to start resting on its laurels now.

• RM158k? man, VW its a rip off la. lower HP, slower. at least charged at RM150k still reasonable. But overall its still a great car from overseas review. Not sure bout local specs on this man.

• I guess to get around the high price is to just wait until VW does year end offer and slash off RM20k from the car price hehehe

• nones on Mar 14, 2013 at 6:07 pm

finally, VW hatch over than 150k. Why, most germans car being sold here are classified premiums’ car. Even Polo Sedan sold around RM99,888, without registration and insurance.

• mata² on Mar 14, 2013 at 6:15 pm

hi Paul Tan team,

good job all these years on educating our fellow Malaysians about the latest car news that is relevant to Malaysians.

but the dissapointing thing is, even when we have all the resources to look up any information on any recent car, we still have a lot of people who are confused on a few things regarding cars. considering we have magazines, websites, forums and even “teh tarik” sessions, so its quite puzzling to read all these comments like the one people posted for the VW Golf Mk7.

– why do Malaysians love to compare cars based on their pricing? it should be judged against the car’s respective segment, its being done everywhere else in this world except Malaysia
    -the difference between a review and press release
    – (this bugs me the most as i read a lot on cars especially in Malaysian scene) the never-ending argument about re-sale value and after sales-service because firstly its a known fact in Malaysia that you can just have either a Toyota or a Honda if resale value is the highest criteria in your decision making. and for after-sales service, unless you are buying a Lexus, all service centre sucks (thats how they operate, they are a business remember). i just feel that for resale value and after sales service, it should be saved for your local forums or online car community/club.

Just my opinion, its quite sad for such a good website to have such boring/unhelpful/irrelevant comments.

Keep up the good work, and please use this space to comment solely on the car. Thanks people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 8
    • Astroguy on Mar 14, 2013 at 8:51 pm

yes for msia resale value is important.. at least for me.
      becoz of high price (due to tax etc). so most people took 5 to 9 yrs car loan.. of coz car is a depreciating asset, everybody knows that you dont need a PhD, but I want to minimize the financial impact when i want to trade in my car maybe after 3-5 yrs..
      for. eg. some guys bought 308T peugeot and after 3 yrs, almost no 2nd hand car dealer want to take/buy it.. and some will make ridiculous offer..

VW with troublesome DSG problem.. who wants to buy 2nd hand even with 5 yrs warranty… so wasting your time for workshop visit… pathetic..

a car not supposed to trouble you with maintenance issues.. it is just supposed to take you from one point to another safely.. thats all..

now with potential of further reduce in tax structure, new cars might be cheaper… so what will happen to the 2nd hand value of earlier cars sold at higher prices… it will plummet maybe to 50% for 1 yr old car… sucks! yes it will affect all cars.. so problematic cars will suffer more..

i would definitely prefer less car tax and NO fuel subsidy..
      since everybody so passionate about cars, then they can afford to buy continental cars .. the most fuel efficient…. and buy petrol at maybe Rm5/litre..

the poor gets poorer and the richer gets driving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • jerung on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:19 pm

when u talk about problems with DSG, is this from your own experience of owning a VW or something you hear (hearsay) from people?

• Jimmy on Mar 15, 2013 at 12:20 am

If we want we can make 50 avatars of ourgoodselves using different names in different facebooks and blogs, making comments to our motives.
        BTW, when we buy one house to stay, we always don’t want to go beyond four years of our annual incomes. And when it comes to buying cars, we should not buy any single car that costs more than our one-year income.
        Car loan is best kept to within 3 years.
        And if you are still concerned about a lot of issue in this Golf (specs le, price le) then you are not ready for it yet. Other than the positive comment on knee airbag (the 7th in Golf), I don’t comment much on the price and specs. To me, those are pretty reasonable. One day, you may feel wow this Golf is cheap (economical) and yet you don’t feel like buying it.
        We want safety for everybody, not just us who are conscious about it.

• Astroguy on Mar 15, 2013 at 8:30 am

Hmm maybe i shud be aiming for the new 5 series then…
          Nah! Waste of money, better add my property investments scheme

• Pelar on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Dear mata,

While I agree with most of what you mentioned. I beg to differ on umw & toyota service centres I go to. The staff attitude is good.

• Niadruob Ynohtna on Mar 14, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Hey Paul Tan,

With so many features omitted compared to the euro version, I guess our variant will not come with rear tow (ball) hook as well?

• Niadruob Ynohtna on Mar 14, 2013 at 6:21 pm

Nvm, I just noticed from the photos that the tow hook release lever is not even present.

• Joetheman on Mar 14, 2013 at 6:26 pm

Perhaps it might be a good thing that the Mk7 does not have ACT and Adaptive Chassis. This means the car won’t be so complex and therefore lower and easier maintenance for owners. I only wished that it had come
    with powered leather seats and GPS though.

• Astroguy on Mar 14, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Lexus CT200 is a much better buy
    They will deliver you car to your door step via lowloader
    1st class customer service at service centre.
    no gearbox issue..
    all for about the same price…

• ahmad loy on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:25 pm

..lower PS/Nm with higher price because of “lexus” brand..offer the lux.interior for “specific” market.

• Sam Loo on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:07 pm

Lexus will give you peace of mind motoring.

No need to worry about break down in the middle of nowhere

• Joseph on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:04 pm

price is kinda unexpected to be same as previous mk6 in bolehland.

yes supercharger is removed but don’t forget for the weight reduced and after all it’s still a fast car and with better FC.

this is bolehland, ain’t europe

• Proton Saga Kejayaan Malaysia on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Ok, ok, forget about the crappy spcs etc. Can they at least get some decent looking rims? Goodness, Perodua also won’t come out with such ugly things. Use back the 17″ rims from the MK6 Golf SE laa.

• Proton Saga Kejayaan Malaysia on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Sorry, another comment. VGM, when you bring in the MK7 GTi, pls pls pls bring in nice looking rims. On top of the specs lah, of course.

• Sam Loo on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:51 pm

Those sorhais that compare Camry with MK7, they must be retards.
    D segment vs B segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Mar 15, 2013 at 12:28 am

Yes, I am. As I ask people to compare the interior of Golf vs Camry.
      I like to read your comments, open or hidden.

• interesting on Mar 15, 2013 at 10:29 am

I tot MK7 is a C Segment hatch

• jerung on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Seems like most people ignore the much improved fuel consumption and other improvements for the Mk7, and harp on the omitted ACT & DCC. I would anytime opt for the XDS over ACT & DCC. XDS does wonders on handling (and safety). If one, intentionally or not, takes a sharp corner/turn at high speed, the XDS matters more than DCC. And lets not forget, we Malaysians, as the fattest people in South East Asia, should be thankful VW shaved 80kgs of the Golf which can compensate our fat Malaysian a** :)

• VW German = The People’s Car
    VW Malaysia = The Discount Car

Guys just wait. Later this year VW will give rm50k discount for us. Then we can all enjoy the Golf Mk7

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • vw sells too many pre-registered units every now and then, just to increase sales units, much to the detriment of those who buy brand new which in turn affects the resale values of the vw cars. market demand induced resale value is fine with me, but the effect caused by the pre-registered units and the big discounts given every so often is the part that is I am not happy with.
      then in the 1st place price your VW at a more reasonable range so you do not need to resot to pre-reg and discount to move your stocks.

• mata2 on Mar 15, 2013 at 12:55 am

Hello pelar,

When I was mentioning about sales centre, I was referring to the cost of maintaining a/the car. Since itwas the 2nd biggest concern for everybody.

I understand that everybody’s approach when it comes to viewing cars are different, I M just saying theres a better channel to discuss about resale valueand things like that. When I read paultan.org,I want to know about the car and only the car. You can discuss about resale value with bankers, not car enthusiasts…

• interesting on Mar 15, 2013 at 10:27 am

Somehow I find that VW looks stunning when new but the looks aged very fast.

• Rukawa on Mar 15, 2013 at 11:15 am

No mention of safety equipments?
    Does this reflect the mindset regarding the importance of a car’s safety in malaysia?

• hippo on Mar 15, 2013 at 1:17 pm

Hi;
    I’m not anti VW or something, but my bro is working in VW service center and he told me that there is a lot of reliability issue with VW. He always work late and even on weekend, seems to be lots of issue on engine and transmission portion. Please do read other reviews before committing yourself.

• bro,

what is the defective rate?

• azis kemaman on Mar 17, 2013 at 1:05 am

Agreed…
      To those who really wants to know about reality just check to any continental car service centre & u will found that most of their mechanic r not driving those cars,,not just bcoz of their price but due to maintenance!

• KingPin on Mar 16, 2013 at 3:57 am

I don’t see how ppl say its sheer driving experience wen it feels so unnatural and disconnected from the road with all those electronics. Golf is a sorry excuse for uncles who don’t appreciate driving a manual and yes ford focus, mazda6 are better choices. Pricier car don’t mean better and fyi golf is the peoples car alright cuz it reflects the general population i.e. generic or rather just nice. Real enthusiast would know the real driving experience and no its not toyota or honda either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Fahmi on Mar 16, 2013 at 9:31 am

Good car, but I prefer its platform-mate, Skoda Octavia…. More interior and boot space, although suspension its a little bit lacklustre, (Torsion-beam for all except the 1.8TSI, the Golf have multi-link suspension for 1.4TSI and 2.0TDI)… The old Mk2 Octavia is a good used buy (2.0FSI 05-06 for under RM50K, compared to Vios 1.5 of the same year) though lack of service centres may put off some buyers…..

• Opinion only on Mar 16, 2013 at 6:30 pm

Do all those pro talk fellows really test the car before saying it’s under power, it slower or whatever else related to the car performance? I personally tested it, the Mk7 and Mk6, the mk7 improved a lot. Come on, 0.3 second doesnt make big difference. And VGM brought the Golf GT which selling minimum 22k pounds in UK, of course cut off some technology, if not 158k rugi lah because those excise duty. Btw, i dont think ppl will buy 122PS golf even it had all the technology lorh.

Thats why vote pakatan hahaha. Just my opinion

• azis kemaman on Mar 17, 2013 at 12:58 am

I myself own a Peugeot 308 turbo, its been 3 1/2 yrs now, my opinion about western car;
    1- u can buy it if u r willing to spend a lot of money on maintenance..
    2- for every parts u hv to get it from their service ctr, even for a wheel screw.
    3- just imagine; rm300 just to change the the wiper strip!
    ..just 4 info, I also hv Toyota Wish which do not hv much problem like my Pug,,so think & do research b4 buying any western cars!
    #to me; I will nvr buy continental car again unless I hv a lot of money to be wasted of..#

• Test driven the Mk7 today. I guess I had high expectations so there was a bit of a mismatch especially since I have driven the Mk6 before after reading / watching positive reviews everywhere.

I think the Mk6 is more engaging & the steering wheels are more heavier giving somewhat a sense of better handling / control. The Mk7 is indeed lighter and you can feel it. A bit too light as when I accelerated I felt some body roll/didnt grip so firm on the road as opposed to reviews.

Pickup without S mode, you feel a bit underpowered but as soon as you switch to the S mode, the boost is there. Interior improvements are a huge plus point vs the Mk6 but (why cant they give us the NAV? Would it really cost that much?Garmin <2k can get). Agree with many, the rims, not so nice and the fabric seats is a turn off as the premium price you pay doesn't match the fabric used.

Despite all above, the fuel economy is the biggest strong point, full tank 1000km? Because of this, I am seriously considering Mk7, top of the list so far (also considering same price range cars – Mazda 6, Jetta, S40, – currently driving an old audi b5 1.8T so the new car must be better !)

• All4TorqueProDSG on Mar 17, 2013 at 3:56 pm

I agree. The rims and fabric seats are a letdown for me. At least give it 17″ and nice leather seats, it will be more complete. Otherwise a nicer car.

• ahmad loy on Apr 10, 2013 at 11:36 pm

..also the same story with Toyota Altis/Camry Dual VVTi 1.8G/2.5.. The previous model Altis/Camry 1.8G/2.4 VVTi got more power compared to the current dual VVTi. For comparison, the performance of Altis/Camry 1.8G/2.4 VVTi on par with 2.0/2.5 Dual VVTi but the price hike to almost 15K. That means..for future model, the manufacturer offer you “FC brilliant car” no longer the car likes Golf MK6 or Altis/Camry 1.8G/2.4 VVTi or Camry 2.4 VVTi but the price is so much stupid higher..because of..they said so called..”FC Brilliant Technology” ..e.g: Toyota NA engine with “dual VVTi”, the turbo one start with Ford Focus on TDCI, VW on “bluemotion technology”, Audi on “Hybrid TFSi”, KIA’s “turbo-GDI” with dual clutch and incoming Honda’s so called “double clutching’s turbo engine hybrid”..for current user of Golf/Polo MK6/MK5 or Altis/Camry 1.8G/2.4 VVTi or Honda Civic 1.8/2.0 IVtec (not current model)..don’t sell your car! BTW, for this advanced technology on FC + performance..try the premium Audi’s A6 Hybrid if you can afford.

• gerald on Mar 17, 2013 at 2:01 pm

buy ford focus better

• Cheddy on Mar 17, 2013 at 5:35 pm

I own a MK6 Golf 1.4TSI. From personal experience, the MK6 is indeed excellent when it comes to handling and performance. I seriously would disagree with people who compares a VW with brands like Toyota, Honda, Ford and etc. VW is way more superior than them technologically. The handling is way better.I guess this is why it is priced more premium. Merc and Bimmer are definitely in their own league when it comes to branding. But mind you, the performance of the previous 320i was inferior to that of the MK6 1.4TSI let alone the GTI. Even the build was less solid. I must say it was a disappointing test drive trip for me. And how much one needs to pay for a 320i? That’s the price to

• Cheddy on Mar 17, 2013 at 5:41 pm

I own a MK6 Golf 1.4TSI. From personal experience, the MK6 is indeed excellent when it comes to handling and performance. I seriously would disagree with people who compares a VW with brands like Toyota, Honda, Ford and etc. VW is way more superior than them technologically. The handling is way better.I guess this is why it is priced more premium. Merc and Bimmer are definitely in their own league when it comes to branding. But mind you, the performance of the previous 320i was inferior to that of the MK6 1.4TSI let alone the GTI. Even the build was less solid. I must say it was a disappointing test drive trip for me. And how much one needs to pay for a 320i? That’s the price to pay for powerful branding. So peeps, VW can be comHaving said that, I am quite disappointed with the new MK7. The MK6 looks better for sure. MK7 looks a little too boxy and I think dropping the twin charger may have really disappoint lotsa potential buyers. The MK6 was so well applauded for its speed and performance which unfortunately has been slightly downgraded in the MK7. As for DSG7, I had issue once and it has been rectified and I have not experience recurrence. I hope that VW has figured out the problem and fix it for good.

• Cheddy on Mar 17, 2013 at 5:50 pm

I own a MK6 Golf 1.4TSI. From personal experience, the MK6 is indeed excellent when it comes to handling and performance. I seriously would disagree with people who compares VW with brands like Toyota, Honda, Ford and Mazda. VW is way more superior than them technologically. The handling is way better.I guess this is why it is priced more premium. Merc and Bimmer are definitely in their own league when it comes to branding. But mind you, the performance of the previous 320i was inferior to that of the MK6 1.4TSI let alone the GTI. Even the build was less solid. I must say it was a disappointing test drive trip for me. And how much one needs to pay for a 320i? That’s the price to pay for powerful branding. So, VW can be compared to the likes of Bimmer and Merc when it comes to quality alone. Having said that, I am quite disappointed with the new MK7. The MK6 looks better for sure. MK7 looks a little too boxy and I think dropping the twin charger may have really disappoint lotsa potential buyers. The MK6 was so well applauded for its speed and performance which unfortunately has been slightly downgraded in the MK7. As for DSG7, I had issue once and it has been rectified and I have not experience recurrence. I hope that VW has figured out the problem and fix it for good. To be honest, with this price, if it comes with full specs like the European version, it would have been really sweet. Nevertheless, I nevert think VW is overprice. I’vue never regretted the 160k I spent on the MK6. The whole driving experience does make you feel it is well worth it. The quality is definitely more superior than the Ja

• shawal on Mar 17, 2013 at 6:26 pm

shud’ve fitted it with the 8 inch screen infotaiment system with satnav, better upholstery and sportier looking rims ,it wouldn’t have drawn so much criticism …

• Sky High on Mar 31, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Our 2nd car is the Mk 6 Golf 1.4 TSI. For kicks, I test drove the MK 7 a couple of weeks ago. True, some of the newbies are great, like the Bluetooth connectivity for the mobile and the push button hand brake. The bigger picture with the VWs rest with its engine & transmission. Both I found way more responsive on the MK 6. There’s a certain lethargy without the supercharger. I guess with the cheaper engine on the Mk7, you get the big screen, and other stuff but that isn’t nearly enough. Even the seats in this new model lack support, as the previous one was bucket style that gave you that snug feel.

Quite frankly, if you don’t already have a Mk6 1.4, go buy the outgoing model at a discount. If you already have one, hang on to it and wait for the Mk8, there’s really no point trading in your older model as it ain’t a trade up

• the exterior and interior design really outdate. Bad design.

• the interior and exterior design look outdated. Poor design.

• samlok on Apr 07, 2013 at 12:43 am

For me, the design, let it be interior or exterior is not only dated but obsolete. I don’t know how good this golf can handle compare to other sushi’s car, but it will satisfied me if it can handle like swift.

• paul tan,hafriz,i like your review about cars.I have a mk 6 golf tsi with DSG gear problem after slightly over a year.although repaired ,apparently with software update,my question is :Is the gearbox issue completely resolved with just the new software? Is the new MK7 golf tsi free from DSG problem? I am planing to buy a new golf mk7 .It is a nice car but I am worried about gearbox problem again.please advice.TQ

• most german don’t have this DSG gear issue bcos they prefer to drive manual car, according to them auto gear only for old peoples and ladies only. Agreed with samlok…obsolete machine.

• Walked into VW showroom. They don’t bother look or serve you. Why should I buy your car? You can’t seem get it right from the beginning.

• Malaysian People on Jun 12, 2013 at 7:31 am

Cool,, Normal price is at RM158k? (RM157,888, without insurance)- on March

How come the UTUSAN said got reduce 7.1% by GOV?
    RM169,888 -> RM157,888 (Starting MAY 2013)

• Revisit the page to check the price before GE13.
    Launch in March 2013
    How they got the price for Jan 2013?

• yahooooooo…… our shadows minister has reduced the car price back to the price before dinosaur age ….. double thumbs up