BMW TwinPower Turbo filters down to 4-cylinder range

BMW’s TwinPower Turbo tech has filtered down to its four-cylinder engines, and the X1 xDrive28i that will be shown at Geneva to Europeans for the first time will be the first model to receive the motor. Munich wasn’t known as proponent of forced induction until recently, but since adopting turbo, the firm’s blown six-cylinder 3.0L that powers variants with ’35’ in their name has been a serial winner of engine awards.

BMW is now trying to replicate the success of that 306 hp engine with its four-pot engines. The recipient is a 2.0-litre direct injection petrol unit with an all-aluminium crankcase including a motorsport-derived bedplate. With 245 hp at 5,000 rpm, it has 74 hp more than the previous highest powered BMW 2.0L petrol unit. By the way, the 320i sold in Malaysia makes only 156 horses – can you imagine the quantum of improvement at play here?

This Valvetronic (latest gen is faster acting thanks to an optimised stepper motor with integrated sensor) and double Vanos unit also makes 350 Nm from just above idle at 1,250 rpm! BMW promises “vigorous power delivery” and that could still be an understatement. With all that firepower, the X1 xDrive28i sprints from 0 to 100 km/h in 6.1 seconds or 6.5 seconds with an 8-speed automatic transmission. Top speed is 240 km/h.

How fast is that? If you have not experienced it, do a standing start acceleration run in a Golf GTI, then imagine a BMW X1 pulling away beside you. It’s quite something.

The efficiency department is covered by a computer-controlled oil pump and an on-demand electric coolant pump. The six-speed manual comes with Auto Start-Stop as well. The X1 xDrive28i has an average fuel consumption of 7.9 litres per 100 km (12.7 km/l), 16% better than the old NA engine, so it’s a gain on all fronts.

There’s clearly more performance and efficiency here than in BMW’s base six-cylinder engines. Would you prefer this or the “bragging rights” and sweet revving nature of Munich’s naturally aspirated straight-six?

[polldaddy poll=4549724]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• antaras on Feb 14, 2011 at 3:26 pm

my male hormones are screaming for the sweet revving straight six but my pocket is looking at the TwinPower Turbo… well, actually it’s looking at my 6 year old SOHC i-dsi engine… SAD.

• BMW Fan on Feb 14, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Now I know why BMW has been promoting diesels past few months and expressing concerns about the environment and want Malaysians to have more milage.

Its because the new X3, most of the models are all diesels. The X3 performers are all diesels. And they know Malaysian diesel is still not at par and this will affect their sales of the X3.

Just like the X1, you hardly see on the road cause the true performer is the 20d. So nobody is wanting to buy the the petrol version but is at the same time reluctant to buy the diesel due to our dirty sulphur diesel.

And all this while I thought BMW was really concerned about the environment!

• dodgeviper on Feb 14, 2011 at 6:36 pm

It will be a bit naive if one thinks that BMW are really concerned about the environment. Afterall it is still a company that wants to maximise profits.
      There is a shift from petrol engines to diesel engines (and it’s not just BMW) as it is more economical in terms of fuel efficiency plus it has more torque than petrol engines. BMW in a way wants to sell their diesel engines as they’re more economical and to give a perception that their running costs are low. The only downside is I guess you would need to service diesel cars more often. Any BMW diesel owners care to give any feedback?

• BOYRACER on Feb 14, 2011 at 4:21 pm

I always like BMW six-cylinders engine.Super smooth.

• will be a winner in waiting for engine of the year again….

• droll on Feb 14, 2011 at 8:50 pm

this is what i call vorsprung durch technik!

• inline 6 on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:32 pm

inline 6 !! soon to be waive~~

• mirror mirror on Feb 15, 2011 at 6:42 pm

And I thought I am the only one who is being difficult for wanting an inline 6, not having an inline 6 is as good as not having a BMW.

• Finally they heed to volkswagen audi group (VAG) strategy of turbo 4 potters. VAG cars have been embarrasing proud owners of 3 and 5 series with fake m badges on the roads. At least now the bm lovers hv something to to defend their egos. My favourite bunch of losers are the four door e46 m3 haha. Sticker engineering!

• Lim Kopi on Feb 16, 2011 at 12:39 pm

Danny …

Think the question remains whether this new 4 potter can be used on Msian roads? ie is our petrol quality (with high sulphur) be suitable ?

Just like the N53 case of the new 5 series.

• Lim Kopi on Feb 16, 2011 at 12:45 pm

Danny,

The question remains whether we could get this engine to be used on Msian roads? Does our petrol quality support it ?

Just like the case of N53 of the new 5 series.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 16, 2011 at 1:40 pm

Well, BMW Malaysia does sell the 135i Coupe, 335i Coupe and 535i saloon/GT with the six-cylinder TwinPower Turbo engine here, so we presume that this engine should face no problem.