Ford’s new 1.0 litre EcoBoost engine – which debuted in Frankfurt and was officially launched in November last year before making its market debut in Europe in the third-gen Focus C346 earlier this year – has been named the 2012 International Engine of the Year, beating Volkswagen’s 1.4 litre TSI twincharger and Ferrari’s 4.5 litre V8 to the title.

The turbocharged three-cylinder mill also hauled in two other awards – Best New Engine and Best Engine Under 1.0-litre. Aside from the hattrick, the little lump has the honour of giving the Blue Oval its first International Engine of the Year win in the award’s 13-year history, in the process garnering the highest points total ever in the competition – 401 points to the second-placed VW 1.4 TSI’s 288. Voting was cast by 76 journalists from 35 countries around the world.

The innovative engine – small enough to fit on an A4 sheet of paper – was designed at Ford’s technical centres in Dunton, UK as well as Merkenich, Germany, and is built in Ford’s plants in Craiova, Romania, and Cologne, Germany.

Available in two output forms, 100 PS and 125 PS, the engine will next be offered in the C-MAX and B-MAX later this year, and globally will make its way into Ford models in the US, Africa and Asia Pacific next year. Those expecting to see it in the Fiesta and upcoming Focus here will have to wait a good while, as it stands – at the ASEAN launch of the new Focus in Thailand, it was mentioned that there were no plans as yet to introduce the unit anytime in the near future.

Meanwhile, in Europe, Ford plans to triple annual production of vehicles equipped with efficient EcoBoost petrol engines to approximately 480,000 by 2015, from 141,000 in 2011. The company projects that more than 300,000 of those vehicles will be equipped with the 1.0 litre EcoBoost.

The 2012 International Engine of the Year results:

1. Ford 999cc three-cylinder turbo – 401 points
2. Volkswagen 1.4 litre TSI Twincharger – 288 points
3. Ferrari 4.5 litre V8 – 224 points
4. GM 1.4 litre range extender – 212 points
5. BMW 2.0 litre turbo four-cylinder petrol – 199 points
6. BMW/PSA 1.6 litre turbo petrol – 162 points
7. BMW 3.0 litre turbo six–cylinder gasoline – 160 points
8. BMW M 4.0 litre V8 – 128 points
9. Audi 2.5 litre five–cylinder turbo – 126 points