Ford B-MAX – 1.0L EcoBoost, B-segment, no B-pillars

You might have seen the Ford B-MAX on this website before, since it was shown at the 2012 Mobile World Congress in Barcelona last month, but the B-segment MPV is making its motor show debut at Geneva.

Based on Ford’s global B-car platform, which of course also underpins the popular Fiesta, the B-MAX is billed as a premium compact multi-activity vehicle (MAV). The MAV is just over four metres in length, only 11 cm longer than the five-door Fiesta and a full 32 cm shorter than the C-MAX MPV.

Ford reckons that it’s perfectly placed to meet the fast-growing demand for downsized cars, suited to congested urban conditions without making any compromise on space or passenger comfort.

One of the main highlights here is the Ford Easy Access Door System. Entry and exit is made easy with hinged front doors and sliding rear doors integrating the central body pillars. Note the lack of traditional B pillars. When both front and rear doors are open, there’s a clear aperture of more than 1.5 metres wide. This is around twice the width offered by competitors with alternative door concepts, Ford says.

Also highlighted is the B-MAX’s class-leading fuel economy and the lowest CO2 emissions for both petrol and diesel engines with ECOnetic Technologies. It groups Electric Power Assisted Steering, Gear Shift Indicator and Ford Eco Mode driver information system. Smart Regenerative Charging, which charges the battery at the most economical point in a journey, also features on selected engines.

The petrol engine line-up is led by the three-cylinder 1.0L EcoBoost, available in 100 PS and 120 PS versions. Equipped with Auto-Start-Stop, the 120 PS unit achieves class-leading CO2 emissions of 114 g/km and fuel consumption of 4.9L per 100 km. Two Duratorq TDCi diesels are available – a 95 PS 1.6L (104 g/km, 4.0L/100 km) and a 75 PS 1.5L delivering 109 g/km and 4.1L/100 km.

The B-MAX is the first European car to offer SYNC, Ford’s voice-activated, in-car connectivity system featuring Emergency Assistance, which is designed to assist occupants in the event of a crash.

Besides that, users can connect to mobile phones and music players by Bluetooth or USB, make hands-free calls and control music and other functions using voice commands. It can also read text messages aloud from phones.

Finally, the B-MAX also the first vehicle in its segment to offer Active City Stop. This pretty much works like Volvo’s City Safety system that helps prevent low speed bum kissing collisions.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• for me, i like ford fiesta than this

• blackbox on Mar 08, 2012 at 5:55 pm

Wow, small MPV pack with decent feature and power. Nice FC figure. If the diesel power variant can reach our shore at Fiesta price. I definitely going to get one.

• Grandpatrucker on Mar 08, 2012 at 6:19 pm

too much small buttons on the dashboard

• i.see.slow.people.on.the.fast.lane.doing.50kmh on Mar 08, 2012 at 7:33 pm

How big of a button do u need? unless your fingers r as big as your toes. or else u can wait for another car with buttons as big as what you’ll find in 1st gen non SE no 2-din myvi.

• ahlee bin ahtan on Mar 08, 2012 at 6:29 pm

come lah to malaysia with or without paddle shift.

• nebula87 on Mar 08, 2012 at 7:30 pm

lol…SONY music player??? =.=

• without b-pillars, i wanna see how much stars can it earn in euroncap. usually b-pillar is the strongest ( and thickest ) steel in car skeleton to prevent side collision.

• kadajawi on Mar 09, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Well, Ford expects 5 stars. http://ae-plus.com/news/ford-wants-five-star-rating-for-b-max I too expect no less, after all they want to sell the car.

• works on Mar 09, 2012 at 9:08 am

No torque figure? this type of car need a good torque figure…

• NISMO-X on Mar 09, 2012 at 9:30 am

plate no 181!!
    must be belongs to the member of Hai-O group 181

• ong chin aun on Mar 09, 2012 at 11:21 am

Personnally I hope if Ford B- Max come to M`sia, should be either 1.5L or 1.6 L for petrol and with option of manual transmission. 1.0 L maybe underpower.
    The Diesel price in M`sia is not encouraging. only very slide different . Prefer petrol la, of course, cleaner and power.

• i_swear on Mar 09, 2012 at 1:49 pm

My dear,
      Ecoboost from Ford is turbocharged engine, where 1.0L Ecoboost = 1.6L petrol

Read up here for more information:-
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ford_EcoBoost_engine

• i.see.slow.people.on.the.fast.lane.doing.50kmh on Mar 09, 2012 at 3:48 pm

WOW.. just WOW.. you sir are so wrong at so many levels.. I’m amazed and sad at the same time for people like you.. obviously everyone will say 1.0L is underpowered for a car that size.. except if it is an ECOBOOST engine a.k.a turbocharged.. what an old school mentality you have dear sir.. big engine means more power.. oh you don’t really care about the road tax do you?
      And petrol is cleaner and more powerful than diesel? really? in current standard or your old standard? WOW.. just WOW..

• kadajawi on Mar 09, 2012 at 9:01 pm

120 hp underpowered?

• Seriously on Mar 09, 2012 at 6:41 pm

B-pillarless MPV? Hmm.. a point for practicality but a point minus for safety.

• b pillar at the rear door..

• You should perhaps get your facts right. It has a 5 Star Euro NCAP rating. http://www.euroncap.com/results/ford/b_max/481.aspx

• temakol on Mar 10, 2012 at 8:42 am

where got MPV? this is 5 seater only right? Malaysian gov already set MPV term only for 7 and above seater. Nice design…practical with good engine…economical…