Ford Fiesta officially launched in Malaysia – and it’s cheaper than expected!

fiesta1

It has arguably been the car with all the pre-launch publicity this year, having had a good seven months plus of doing so in various forms up to this point, but now the wait is over and things are finally rolling for the Ford Fiesta. The car was officially launched this evening in Malaysia at the Opera in Sunway Pyramid, and the neat surprise is that the pricing has improved on that bandied about before pre-launch.

Before today, the indicative pricing for the Fiesta, which is of course available in three variants – an entry-level 1.4 litre hatch, a 1.6 litre sedan and a range-topping 1.6 litre Sport hatch – was RM73,888, RM79,888 and RM84,888 respectively, all on-the-road with insurance.

fiesta4

The wonderful news for those looking at the B-segment offering is that the 1.4 LX manual’s price has dipped under RM70k, in this case RM69,888, while the 1.6 LX sedan goes for RM78,888. As for the 1.6 Sport, it’s two thousand cheaper than expected, rolling in at RM82,888, again all on-the-road with insurance.

Our earlier test drive report, filed by my colleague Danny Tan, already explains the Thai-made car wonderfully in great detail, but to recap, you’re certainly getting a lot for your money with the Fiesta. At the top-end, here’s a hatch with plenty of snazz about it.

fiesta6

There’s that new Duratec Ti-VCT (Twin Independent Variable Camshaft Timing) 1.6 litre pot for starters (which is also to be found on the sedan), offering 118 hp (or 120 PS, if you prefer) at 6,000rpm and 152 Nm of torque at 4,050rpm, and the Fiesta is the only car in its price range offering a six-speed Powershift twin-clutch tranny on both variants. Meanwhile, the 1.4 litre Duratec pot on the entry-level LX hatch turns out 94.5 hp (96 PS) at 5,650rpm and has 128 Nm at 4,050rpm, mated to a five-speed IB5 manual box.

Other items on the equipment list includes ABS with Hill Launch Assist, ESP and TCS, EBD, emergency brake assist, a six-speaker audio system offering Bluetooth/USB/iPod connectivity and Voice Control, dual airbags, Easy Fuel capless refuelling system, Isofix mounting points, power folding side mirrors and 195/50 series rubbers riding on five-spoke 16-inch alloys.

fiesta2

The kit listed is for the 1.6 Sport, but on the whole the two other variants have a decent spread of features. In terms of boot space, the sedan offers 471 litres of cargo space, while the hatch has a 281 litre capacity – getting more naturally if you fold down the 60:40 split rear seats.

A wide colour palette is available for the exterior, with Cool White, Mica Black and Metropolitan Grey common to all three models. The manual gets a fourth shade, True Red, while the rest of the sedan’s six colours are made up of Phantom Blue, Sparking Gold and Highlight Silver.

fiesta3

As for the 1.6 Sport, eight’s the total weight in this case – besides five of the colours listed above (save Sparkling Gold and Phantom Blue, which are unique to the sedan) the Sport gets two exclusive shades – the designated hero colour called Chili Orange and Aurora Blue. The eighth body colour, which I believe will only come in at some point in the future and will have a slight premium attached to it, is a very distinct looking Phantom Purple (maybe you can name your Fiesta Barney?)

The Fiesta range comes with a three-year/100,000km warranty, and to sweeten the deal further, buyers get the Ford Extended Service Plan thrown in for good measure – the three-year or 60,000km free maintenance plan covers parts and labour, and included in the list are engine oil and filter changes, multi-point inspections, engine belts and hoses, spark plugs and wiper blades.

fiesta5

Sime Darby Auto ConneXion says that more than 500 bookings have already been taken in the Klang Valley alone (the nationwide numbers are still being compiled), with the first customer deliveries going underway now that the car has been launched. Nonetheless, the waiting period for the Fiesta currently isn’t that long – with a steady stream of stock coming in from Rayong, if you book a Fiesta now you’ll likely get it in January, which really isn’t too long a wait.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Anti Proton on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:56 pm

good job ford.

• inspiralgiok on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:52 am

huh….depan designnyer memang lawak…..hodoh… inspira lagi sporty…..
      interior biasa jer…takde yg specialnyer…

tapi 1.6 cannot compare to inspira 1.8…80k for 1.6….get persona lagi okey…. design persona lagi cantik….

basic car 1.6 for estimated 80 k……fuh..not value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
      • rickymartin on Oct 21, 2010 at 2:30 pm

inspira is good for u driving back balik kampung…kampungman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • artworkz on Oct 23, 2010 at 5:16 pm

just book 1 unit 1.6 sport hatchback with rm1200 cash rebate.
          compare to polo DSG, fiesta Powershift not that impressive but better than normal auto. when full accelerate, down shift take almost 1sec. overrall 82k is quite value!. for fuel eco, i running from tmn tasek to uda and then danga bay-hospital-larkin back to taman tasek with sudden accelerate, taffic light, etc , fiesta manage to do avg 6.5 L/100km.

• michelin on Oct 26, 2010 at 4:03 pm

good FC.. same as Persona..

• budakjb on Dec 14, 2010 at 10:45 pm

yo…since u also from jb…wondering what’s ur opinion on the servicing? later ok tak? coz i only know of one in Johor jaya…and that one not ori… they say send volvo also ok ar? how ar? can advise?

• mr_3m on Oct 21, 2010 at 3:33 pm

lawak to u but it may be CUTE to others…. anyhow, your brain on holiday ka today? why compare B segment cars with C segment?…. thanks to import & excise duties, the Fiesta from Thailand had to be priced as high as the Inspira… in UK for example you can get it for an equivalent of RM50k ajer… MyVi price category…

anyhow, Inspira/Lancer is not a bad car… but if u r a Proton salesman, pegi jual kat forum lain la yea… talk about the Fiesta je la kat posting ni…

by the way, this is Car of the Year 2010 for many countries… can a Persona or any Proton say that about itself????

• saki77 on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:54 pm

u tau ke kat UK insurans berapa kena bayar?….The price of the car is cheap…but yet u have to pay insurance every year…..

• osenn on Apr 14, 2011 at 1:45 pm

ade ke kereta yg x pyh pay insurance every year?…all car also have to pay insurance every year la…ape daaa~….

• pesona fan on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:22 pm

persona pun ada menang award jugak kan……

• dexter on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:43 am

yup, it won the “biggest piece of crap” award. runners up were viva, myvi and saga.

• Harris on Oct 23, 2010 at 12:30 pm

Hahahahaha…. Pesona.. Award….

• ttttp on Oct 23, 2010 at 3:53 pm

persona = prosty and sullivan car of the year 2008.

• Mat Gipang on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:25 am

frost & sullivan know nothing about cars…. maybe some chow kit stall owner also can get this award… for a fee?

• Civic1.7 RS on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:51 am

well done ford..Ford Fiesta was always got credited from their user in europe especially those from msia who working europe country..this car has complete package, and ford begin to re-strengthening their global market and this is what v want in mlaysia… hatchback is really awesome!!!!i shuld buy this car at the 1st place but then i can’t wait and bot other car….i’m regret lo…trust me, this car is really gud..almost perfect except size..but overall, 5 STAR for Ford.

• VWfan on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:46 am

cant afford VW but this one is tempting! really want 1 but dont have budget laa…lain tahun agaknya…huhuhu

• alldisc on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:01 am

priced head-to-head against toyota vios and honda city meaning they are wooing ppl in the same pool.

and just like mazda 2, the hatchback looks fabulous but sedan is ridiculously odd looking.

• jazzer on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:00 pm

even my name is jazzer but no doubt this is better buy than jazz..

• Facebook_User on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:07 pm

yes.it is,jazz is way too expensive,even in lkawi pun dah 75 78 plus insurance for such a small car.cbu of coz nonetheless.tp this is a great bargain

• theanswer on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:03 am

better buy polo 1.2 tsi compared to jazz.

• skatax on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:01 pm

godspeed on your sales survival in boleh-land. why? because ford’s after sales is still nowhere good. huh~

• loveit on Oct 21, 2010 at 6:51 am

that situation can only be change if your brain is put to ‘want to change’ it

• Kenny on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:26 am

I think as long there are many ppl going to buy it and if the car really reliable, durable and affordable, the after sales will eventually increase. same goes to MyVi.

whatever is it, if u ask me, i prefer good quality car instead of looking into after sales of the car. Most ppl will look into the after sales of car if they are rich to change it after few years. As for moderate ppl like me who can afford one car at the moment, i wont be thinking of after sales value.

• agreed with you… buying a car is not frequent commitment for some. so buying a car that is reliable is much more desirable. less maintenance would lead to low cost maintenance and longer lasting and durable car for some.

• sAM b on Jun 27, 2011 at 6:48 pm

bRO, I think you confuse after sales support with resale value la!

• viva elite on Oct 21, 2010 at 2:00 pm

Some people said ford after sales is suck… some people said it moderate… but for me.. it’s better than proton or the korean. Recently i sabotage my own headlamp to claim warranty from ford. Surprisingly… the ford’s bro just took the picture and i just sign a form. No ridiculous question from them .. then after one week my claim approve, walla… i got the my new headlamp free for free.

• ko malu saje... on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:07 pm

and your name is viva elite?

• bystander on Oct 22, 2010 at 1:10 am

never head of warranty for headlamp, it’s like warranty for accident…

• paanjang16 on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:29 pm

Ford replaced your lamp for FREE and with little hassle out of good faith and you say their service suck? It’s people like you who abuse the system that makes it more difficult for the rest of us.

Next time if you accident and want to claim it for REAL if Ford ask you a million questions padan muka.

• Scroll on Nov 10, 2010 at 2:21 pm

Monkey’s doing monkey thing.. sabotaging ur own car is the greatest monkey can do.

• coolstorybro.

• Tiadaid on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:01 pm

Now that’s a launch! Announce it high, then come in cheap!

• MoFaz on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:19 am

probably cheaper because they try to steal potential buyers of Proton Inspira?.. and toyota salesmen getting even more restless…

• tikus on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:27 am

No man, Toyota cant be beaten. Their r the world best car.”Toyota Wor” said Toyota fan boy…hee hee.

• dickybird on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:51 am

time to trade in your problematic city for this baby?!

• cockybird on Oct 21, 2010 at 4:35 am

new city problematic? so far…no problem, good fc, comfortable long distant drive & good after sales…& better looking, imho

• Tiadaid on Oct 21, 2010 at 6:48 am

Yes indeed.

• Firdaus Abdullah on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:25 am

“your problematic city”?? perhaps you are one of the unlucky one, have no problem with mine. Btw shouldn’t compare Inspira with Fiesta as they are in different segment.

• My cousin have to go customer court before Honda rectified his City’s gear box problem. Now, that after sales insight for you.

• letstorque on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:51 pm

You are talking about the new or previous generation City?

• 3008_bought on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:03 pm

less than 80k for a sedan, with 3 years warranty and 3 years free maintenance.

Very very very very good indeed.

Now, give me a sedan with 2 airbags, and i’ll buy it immediately

• alldisc on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:03 am

there is no such thing as free maintenance. it has been included in the purchase price which means – owners are paying instalment for the 3 year services. bad new for those who opt for 5 or more loan tenure.

• Agree, there is no such thing as free, especially in Boleh Land.

• Not agree, there is no free products or services in everywhere..what wrong with boleh land..and where u came from actually?? For me every product has an advantage and disadvantage..no product is perfect..then choose what is the best for u..right??

• pulge on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:04 pm

excellent! the manual is cheaper and within my budget.. i think (i had a car already :/)

• andymervingeorge on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Damn sweet deals SDAC is offering! So long the Vioses, Cities and Mazda2s.. I cant wait to see the Fords come storming the roads again.. so that I can expect the new Ranger to come in too! hahah..

• theanswer on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:07 pm

hurmm..the higher spec is good..but the 1.4 got no auto..i think if ford can provide even with 4 speeder for 1.4 then it should be ok.

• pulge on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:38 pm

the manual is a joy.. forget the auto.. trust me, i drove it

• yah…enjoy before massive traffic jam

• saki77 on Oct 21, 2010 at 6:28 am

not everywhere in Malaysia suffers massive traffic jams, thats why there r varieties of spec….depends on how u drive and where u live….there r still drivers who prefer manual than auto….so let them be… :)

• Denise MIlani on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:56 am

Lazy asians always wants auto. No wonder you are so fat!

• theanswer on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:38 pm

most rich sportsman use luxury car with automatic transmission..and i bet they’r lot fitter that u…hahaha.

• Harris on Oct 23, 2010 at 12:38 pm

Its because offer traffic is terrible… Evryday there is traffic congestion….

• adlanar on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:03 am

fortunately, not everybody lives in kl/klang valley. at these prices we can expect to see them in smaller towns…

• suitble for me,,,coz i m live in kampong…..no trffic jam.

• alldisc on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:04 am

then the left leg will become bigger than the right…. (stressed muscles!!)

• junaidi on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:22 am

whats wrong with traffic jam?

not like the clutch is so heavy. no wonder malaysians are so skinny. no effort at all.

• Kambing Gurun on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:30 pm

No problem. I get used to it. Probably you shud get more exercise. Manual is way better even during traffic jam.

• Gaban on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:33 pm

Only “Pondan” wearing auto..

:D

• theanswer on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:59 am

i agree manual is a joy. but what i’m saying is if ford provide the auto for 1.4..they will create more market. young working female can look forwd to buy this car(event my mom loves small hatch car but must auto..she spend 20years driving manual..but after 4 yrs driving auto..no longer knows how to drive manual lol).

• squawk on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:31 pm

Those who switch to auto from manual and forget how to drive manual has just lost a skill. That’s a disadvantage (with exception for your mom and other senior citizens who have spent years driving stick and can now relax with auto).

I drive stick in traffic jams. I don’t have a problem with it. You never do, if you are used to it. I think my awareness, coordination and reaction times are better than auto drivers in general.

• Paul Tan on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:32 pm

I drove my E39 with the new manual transmission installed for the first time yesterday and found myself stuck in the Taman Connaught pasar malam traffic jam. It isn’t really that tiring la, I guess people are just scared of the idea and don’t want to take the plunge.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:41 pm

Uh, yeah, okay. Come back to me with that cheesy smile when you’ve had your hundredth in-a-jam-for-the-second-hour-now. :p

• Paul Tan on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:44 pm

There are other cars to take! :P Anyway I’ve had my fair share of that – first two cars were manual!

• amirad on Oct 21, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Its okay to be stuck in a jam with a manual car once in a while but not everydaylah. Best use the auto for that. My choice of transport depends on weather and traffic conditions.

Now back to the car, if SDAC can price the fiesta similiar to vios, then can we expect the new focus to be priced same as civic and altis? If that happen, then I’m sold.

• yes…AT are more prone to accidents.

• 4-speed auto for a 1.4 liter engine?
      The FC will be out the window bro. Makes no sense at all.
      Anyway, people outside the Klang Valley still like manual cars.

• theanswer on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:41 pm

no sense? then how abt blm n myvi auto? 1.3 somemore. i’m not talkign abt fc, performance or fun to drive..just give my opinion in order to gain more sales for fiesta. not every young women can afford to buy the high spec 1.6 hatchback. even vios j got auto rite?

• bobdbilder on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:32 pm

There are 2 kinds of cars. They are for drivers and non-drivers. They don’t make cars for drivers anymore. They make cars for commuters. I’m a driver. I’m hardly a racer. I clock 270 thousand kilometers in 7 years in my manual Waja. Its the nature of my work. I happen to detest driving an auto. You just can’t get the best out of the car that way. I can accept a manual that doesn’t have a 2.0/180hp engine on it. But limiting that option (in Malaysia at least) to a paltry sub 100hp engine, now that’s a sin. Can they do a special? Just for me? A Zetec S 3 door 5 speed manual. Please. Pretty please?

• BeemerFreak on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Wow good deal…… Keep up the good work Sime Darby, pls bring in the new duratec 2.0T Mondeo also, that would be great replacing the current 2.3L

• bobdbilder on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:37 pm

No. Not Duratec. Zetec. 6 speed manual. Blue with white stripes.

• tming on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Good Job … booked 1 and waiting to drive it back home !!!

• speed_lover on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:09 pm

I like the revised price! :D

• so so only on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:10 pm

Nothing special, doesn’t have enough room for big people. With that money, I think I can find something spacier

• umnosukapitnah on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:40 pm

yup…go buy nissan liteace!!

• fazron80 on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:02 pm

hyundai starex maybe

• toyoottt on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:30 am

ya ya,, nissan vanette panel van is perfect…

• Izhar on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:20 am

yeah dude…2 years ago i’ve own a 25 years datsun 120Y and install with vanette engine…superb dude…hahahaah…vanette engine was really2 good….long lifespan…

• gonggok on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:25 am

Yes, a nissan vanette panel back with a matress in the back…lot’s of ‘fun’ to be had…

• yeah rite on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:26 am

This is a B-segment car, if u r big/fat/lamp post, shut up and go to read larger car launches!

• Derick on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:44 am

Big people shouls take “Transformer Optimus Truck” is also very special, 1 unit available for big people.

• artworkz on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:59 pm

perodua rusa!!!!

• Very Attractive car……..~ price and spec ~

• Commoner on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Wow, tempting. I want one!

• Finally its here after on Facebook for a damn long period! Nice one, Ford!

• nighttrain on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:17 pm

Danny’s car of choice.. Nice.

• Jimmy on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Very reasonable price from Sime Darby Auto Connexion (same mother-company as Hyundai Malaysia??), esp the 1.6 Sport. Why is Hyundai cars so overpriced by this Sime Darby? And this shows that Latio Sport is really very very overpriced.

• It is quite ok for the Hyundai car price now, at least a little cheaper than the T and H …

• Johndeep on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:40 am

No, it is not cheaper. Please compare the latest 2 lit Sonata vs Camry/Accord

• theanswer on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:00 am

yeap..especially lately hyundai show some quality in ride and handling..especially the i10 and i30.

• hyundai car is from korea . ford car is from thailand. that why price higher.
      anyway all better than overprice vios and city.

• shawal on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:22 pm

I want the sport, in orange please…

• not-quite-the-auto-junkie on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:25 pm

woooo hoooo !!! can save for manual already….

this could mean 1 thing… they know the single airbag is killing them, hence lower price, so the improved batch with dual SRS and some other items they add will justify rm5k price return.

yyaayy!!!

great value!! or maybe they ditch the contis to some simple thai tyres. :( saw the 1.4 manual was AA-rated traction!

thanks also to SDAC and driven for the extended test drive.

• Mcdonald on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:28 pm

Wow,the market is getting more and more competitive.Hope Proton is aware of this.Proton don’t think you can sell your expensive car just because it’s 1.8.

This Ford is a nice car.Quality looks good and it’s made in Thailand.

• Jimmy on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:49 pm

If the quality/reliability of Inspira is like the original, then the indicated price range is still worth, because Lancer is a better and different class car from this Fiesta. No doubt this Fiesta’s pricing is very reasonable, and it is VERY CUTE. If the after-sale service is convincing, I can buy the 1.6 Sport as one of my toys. You know, if the after-sale is not good, they can suck your money (cheat) through your car.

• Jimmy on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:50 pm

And you get a lot of other headaches also.

• timmy on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:12 am

Let’s hope that Proton Inspira quality is the same or better than the original Lancer. The Wira was based on the Lancer too but the quality is soooo bad.Of course I should’nt be comparing this but we all know that Proton After-sales service is rubbish even if you drive a new Perdana unless your a Datuk.

Anyway,will put the Fiesta in my list of choice for next year. Honda City is my current choice :D

• normal_user on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:06 am

Even the original Lancer’s interior quality is not as good as Civic or Altis. Hard plastics everywhere. So don’t hope to much on the Inspira’s quality.

• freeze_sr on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:47 am

If you rearrange the letters of Inspira, you get Aspirin. Which is something owners of Inspira will need.

• farghmee on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:58 pm

then if u a buy a ford…it’ll be dorf?

• scgtimk1 on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:36 am

FORD = Fix Or Repair Daily

• Tiadaid on Oct 22, 2010 at 4:41 pm

TOYOTA = The One You Ought To Avoid
            HONDA = Had One Never Did Again
            BMW = Broke My Wallet

and the one I like most…

PORSCHE = Proof Of Rich Spoilt Children Having Everything (ain’t that the truth!)

• I think Ford wanna to enter this market, or regain the market in asean, so the after-sales will getting better… my fren happily own his focus for a year now.

• Tiadaid on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:52 pm

Inspira’s a different class than the Fiesta, so not comparable. Inspira’s in the same league as Civic & Altis, hence its price is still reasonable compared to those two.

• MoFaz on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:26 am

again, people comparing inspira against b segment cars. it’s like banana vs papaya!.
      try sit or better test drive both cars and you’ll know what ‘class’ is all about…

• kia forte is better than inspira? 6 airbag.

mofaz you can cool down on proton matter. mofaz is about fast and expensive car, no?

• TingDK on Oct 21, 2010 at 3:32 pm

I tried to believe in proton, currently I own a 2004 gen-2 which I’m so fed up with, as the maintenance are getting higher and higher. Everything become loose as the car ages. The front bumper, the rear squeaking sound starts to annoy me, roof leaking, exhaust rusty only after 60k+ mileage, and even the engine bracket falls apart and the replacement part cost me a few hundred ringgit. To my opinion the first batch gen-2 are the worst car to get.

Well, Proton cars really don’t age gracefully. Then again I continue my support towards Proton by buying the Exora, in which after a few months started to be plagued with problems. Air-cond problem, cd player problem, belting loose (only after 20k mileage), squeaking disc brakes, the interior trims are easily scratched and Proton SC are very poor in handling the warranty. It took me almost one month for every warranty changes.

Well now, I’m holding on to my Exora a tad longer, however I’m disgusted to keep my Gen-2 any longer. I will welcome the Ford Fiesta to my family when it reaches East Malaysia shores. And I know I’m making the correct decision.

• Ash Menon on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:58 pm

You sir, are one of the few people on this site who have true right to bash Proton!

I’ve got Proton problems too, but mine is a 11-year old Wira la, so cannot expect much. How much surgery oso, old lady is old lady, will have problem.

Hopefully you manage to sort out your Exora problems!

• artworkz on Oct 21, 2010 at 2:02 pm

proton never scare 1. if their car cant sell well, juz rayu/ merajuk kat gov, then tax ll increase again.

• Theophilus Chin on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:30 pm

The first photo is a great profile shot.

• Denise MIlani on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:01 am

That is because it was taken by the Thai Ford people, early this year.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:28 am

Actually, that would be my shot, from Thailand. Danny’s one is in his story.

• Denise MIlani on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:28 am

Many apologies!! The background was the same as the Thai PR pictures.

• rosdi on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Good price but how is Ford’s second hand value? I personally don’t like the styling (especially hatchback) but to each his own.

Too bad the Golf isn’t priced at this range…

• Facebook_User on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:08 pm

be serious.Golf?this price range?

• Then you better say Benz in this range lol… different thing what!!!

• Johndeep on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:47 am

Ford in Europe is in the same class with VW, similar to Merc that is comparable with BMW.

• Amriji on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:24 am

Ford is not same class as VW…. even in Europe. Check your facts. Ford Focus bersepah in UK. The availability and brand ranking is quite similar to Wira in Malaysia. Fiesta is a budget car… same as Vauxhall Corsa, Peugeot 206/207 and other cars sewaktu dengannya.

• downs on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:23 pm

with 3 years free maintenance and a low price-point, I think questioning second hand value doesn’t hold much ground. Of course, a toyoto/honda at this price will probably catch a higher price, but I’m guessing the price difference won’t be significant. But as u said, to each his own.

p/s: if the Golf was priced like this, it wouldn’t be as desirable as it is. Part of a pricing strategy.

• if Polo priced like this who want to buy Proton n Perodua. bankrupt lah ;) It’s worth the money already. why malaysian just thinking about the sec-hand value. It’s only in place at the day you want to sell your car. Apart from that day, you’re enjoying it, rite o not??

• Denise MIlani on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:49 am

lol ‘enjoying’ is a very optimistic word. With P1 still alive, a lot of people are forced to buy cars which they don’t like, though it’s the only one they can afford.

• umnosukapitnah on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:36 pm

that should be the price!..under 70k for a small car was certainly fair…very tempting to buy 1.4 manual!!!!

• Hanif on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:41 pm

much.. much.. much more affordable than VW Polo!!!

• yeah!!
    yoohoo~~
    hurraaay!!

• Well let see which car model can offer better price & incentives to the buyer.
    The more car in the make the competition even better for the consumer :)

• Price NOT judge everything. we not talking buying veg or cheese in the pasar.

• becos you are not buying cheese and vege, so price counts.

second largest investment in your life, second to your house, so yes, price counts.

• iamisiamwhatiam on Oct 21, 2010 at 3:46 pm

Since when car is an investment? With car value halved right after you bought it and then the maintenance, I rather say its a liability.

• bobdbilder on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:22 pm

Buying a car is not an investment. Our company used to have 2 company cars. Now we lease them at more than their alleged monthly installment if we bought them. But the company does not own them. The cost goes under monthly operating costs. The company doesn’t have a depreciating asset. My GM buys his own E90 5 series and sold of the company E46 3 series. We fly Air Asia wherever possibly can. Our EBIT is better than the whole region coz we manage our costs intelligently. But then again we are not your typical Malaysian company.

• so true! biz people normally see to lease photostat machine..

• artworkz on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:15 pm

E90 IS 3 SERIES LAH. buying a better car is juz same as buy insurance. better car, higher safety is a investment on ur own life, family n friend.

• do you talk like that? you sure do type like one. Like talking in “pasar”

• pcnuts on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:46 pm

Yea, the missing airbag is a big let-down, especially for parent-to-be like me (1.6S is my preference but i don’t think the boot even fits a baby stroller). :(

• onthefence on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:47 pm

You’ll be surprised! The boot is actually larger than it looks from the outside.

• This ford fiesta and VW polo where is value for the money?
    What about after sales of ford?
    Ford is regain their popularity again!
    Beware T and H. Your price is rocketing high!

• Yes, that’s why i switched from vios to 308! much more features… Also, great challenger to the ins~~pira~~~ (by Mitsubishi)

• alldisc on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:17 am

VW polo has it own specials like direct injection, turbocharger and 7 speed DSG with auto & manual mode.

its only 1.2 but believe me, its capable of doing 190-200 kph. good on an empty highway though.

• RedLine on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:55 pm

Is it just me, or does the interior dashboard looks very much like a Hyundai?

• Cowabunga! on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:12 am

I doubt so,for me recent Hyundai car interiors are getting way better than Honda/Toyota/Nissan plastics…

• ah yat on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Ford is my choice, but not this one, used to Ranger already, common Ranger 2012…

• kimi_ on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:06 pm

The cheaper price is due to INCREASING rate of ringgit lah….Nothing to do with the dealer!

• How if the ringgit go down, then the price up?? do you saw Benz cbu drop their price?? pls think n keep thinking…

• taboo on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:20 pm

This car is really what i’ve been eyeing for:-

competitive pricing, great array of features, nice engine my only gripe here is the space, if it can make it look like the honda city…man i can bet my balls into the chopping board and say its gonna be the most sellable car in msia… forget the knee-airbags ,forget the low resale value,,,all i hope is the car to be a lil bit more spacious but that’s not gonna happen and i think me gonna get the city which sucked comparing price-to-features given.. :(

• Chris on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:02 am

That’s only your opinion man…. don’t ever say things like make it looks like a City and it’ll sell good. I’m pretty sure there’s a lot of people out there prefers Fiesta’s looks, as it is gorgeous. Plus, we need variations, if it doesn’t suits you just move on, get a City.

And leave the chopping board alone, it’s innocent!

• Proton habis on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:25 pm

Why not 1.6 manual~~?? izit enough for 1.4??

• The Loner on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:59 pm

With manual transmission for 1.6 Fiesta, we can go crazy like Jeremy Clarkson.

• Cowabunga! on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:10 am

the letdown is that the auto does not have “shiftronics” or “tiptronics”, that will allow driver to easily drop the gear for overtaking.

it would have been good to have that at least on the gearbox console. Even Hyundai 6-speeder has that…

back seat passengers are only for kids…not adults…can’t fold fully and the boot space isn’t something to shout…

hence, aimed for specific people only.

• rossi46 on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:13 am

frankly speaking….i only used my soo called “shifttronic” or “tiptronic” during the 1st month out of curiosity…but after that just stick it at “D” most of the time & if need to go faster at winding streets just put it in “S”…agreed wt Ford researcher, most ppl dun bother to change gear…if u like, just get the manual

• nighttrain on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:06 am

Agreed, it,s the twin clutch that counts.

• Geronimo on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:30 am

Yeah, what a bummer. No manual override.

Knew this was coming when the journalist drive in Thailand had none.

Ford is about driving dynamics. The small car may be targeted to certain market but putting an override will probably win some hearts over from higher segment.

Nowadays, most of the cars are automatic and I can say it’s boring to drive.

Hope they will introduce it later but even then there will be a price revision.

:(

• boy, go buy inspira 1.8 manual la. talk wat here?

• huiyoo on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:26 pm

go ford!! hope this pricing will make the other competitor think twice of their current price

• Definitely the true “Wear & Tear” car. Worth buying to use till ages…

• Bukit Kayu Hitam on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:43 pm

Made is Thailand again

• John Doe on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:06 am

Better buy than VW Polo. VW should really start revising their prices. No point having a fat profit margin if you’re not selling enough cars.

• i think you really don’t understand how good is that polo, n their technology. you better buy ins~~~pira~~~ (by Mitsubishi)

• rosdi on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:35 am

Wait until VW CKD their car here.. we will see prices like these too!

• SeriuosSAM on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:14 am

6 months time after buy sure got recall..
    better wait lah after 1 year meh

• Maserati on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:36 am

boring boring Ford.RM 82k for a tiny little car…aihhhh…

Anyway,let the sales figures do the talking ..

• rossi46 on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:09 am

Jazz & Yaris at more than 100k for a same tiny car?…so??

• so what??? did anyone mentioned anything about the size of Jazz / Yaris worth their price? Just because small cars like Jazz / Yaris were overpirced doesn’t make Fiesta any bigger

• Tiadaid on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:24 am

Paul placed the Fiesta in the same league as the VW Polo.

Which is more than can be said for your beloved, old technology, soggy handling Toyota Vios.

• artworkz on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:19 pm

u are the the person use RM50K for a van for daily transport!!!!

• bystander on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:41 am

way to go!!! easily the most reasonably priced car in our market! this is what a smart guy should get! got manual some more, hopefully will b getting the taiwan 1.6 six speed manual too in future! 1 question, is the 1.4 manual NVH the same as 1.6?

• jolly_idiot on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:44 am

The Fiesta sedan looks like Mazda 2 sedan. Are they sharing the same platform?

• did i read wrongly?
    195/40/16 rubbers???
    i wonder how the ride will feel and who sells this kinda size….

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 21, 2010 at 3:03 am

Whoops, my bad! Too many numbers being done in a day today. Profile is 50. Corrected.

• mr_3m on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:43 am

the Fiesta 1.6 Sport 195/50R16.. same size as the Suzuki Swift Sport….

• alldisc on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:27 am

finger stuck in keyboards, i think. he he

in europe the trend has been there for the past 10 years for small hatch to wear 16″ wheels but with skinny tyres. therefore, the handling is improved while not affecting performance with the excess weight.

• The Loner on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:08 am

Better grip and stability. My father’s old Wira uses similar wheel size, except its diameter is 15″.

• pomen_gtr on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:59 am

quite cheap..

i tot it would fetch more than 100k mark….

nice one…

• type-x on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:36 am

nice.way better than myvi

• taboo on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:43 am

of course!! with this price, you can prolly buy two myvi’s with it.

• Hope to see more conti car on road… ins~~pira~~~ tepi tepi…

• Totally excited! Getting one tomorrow! :D

• rossi46 on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:08 am

wow…great pricing by Ford auto connexion….shows how much greedy is Honda & Toyota here in Msia wt their Jazz & Yaris also made in Thai…..

in the UK, these Fiesta (the top of the range hatchback) pricing is almost similar to both Jazz & Yaris but here…Guys, go figure

• Denise MIlani on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:53 am

Eh no hi-res pix? Photography FAIL :(

• apexg2 on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:56 am

erm, good price…cant wait the test drive and wonder fuel consumption….is it better for money compare with swift?

• azrai on Oct 21, 2010 at 7:58 am

1.6 of the price of 1.5!! Good things to come. bye bye Vios.

• azrai on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:02 am

Paul, no story on Bung Mukhtar says in Parliament that Proton going backwards by rebadging Inspira? pity him. Do not have good sense of business.

• Izhar on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:13 am

for me..it’s ok with the offer and price….want more….choose polo or jazz….
    didn,t see it live yet….hope the finishing detail still maintain like other previous ford model. design…subjective…..but i like the hatchback….

• Kudos Ford for their effort to please their customers to be. Thai’s Fiesta got very decent reviews from motor-journalists. Never any distributors were lowered the price due to appreciation of Ringgit; only when RM depreciate they’ll increase it.

Perhaps, if not because local brands easier for SDAC to price it cheaper than already cheap 1.4 version. Remember that P2 Myvi 1.5 ? How they can priced their bigger engine if entry level Fiesta is RM60000?

We must support

• Haidir on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:31 am

very impressive, interactive, you name it. the only thing worry me is Service center.

• Consumer on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:06 am

Agreed, if Autoconn. has real intent in competing with the current market leaders, they’ll need to improve and expand their service networks.

• that rght..its become dfclt to user when gting prblem.ofcurse the equipment bcme xpnsve

• Commoner on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:36 am

More tempting if they have Fiesta Hatchback 1.6 Manual since they’re targeting this for yuppies. Auto is for sissies, uncles and unties.

• auto tranny also for Ferrari driver, lambo driver.

you can go ahead with your 1988 proton saga manual 1.3

• go buy 1.8 manual inspriah, you old man

• bobdbilder on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:49 pm

There’s a whole lot more sissies on the road. Yuppies are sissies you know, if they’re not fa6go+s. Or haven’t you noticed? See, that’s why they got it all screwed up. They were targeting the yuppies who can afford it. Who else would get a twin clutch and NOT have manual override. They freaking care how big your balls are.

Its ok, Darwins says they’re going to wither and die anyway while we trudge along with our gilded chromosomes.

• cool white is solid or metallic?

• sgate on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:42 am

we hired 1 while on holiday in italy. it’s poorly designed – hard to see the front edges of frm the driver’s seat, the edges of the dashboard curve in, i kept on knocking them as i get in & out of the car. the plastics on the edges are worned (it’s a very new car), i guess others oso knocked on them.

• rossi46 on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:46 am

have u driven the Jazz….the pillar soo thick = blind spot…neck to crane yr neck to look before u come out of junction

• Johndeep on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:34 pm

Ahhh, same to the previous accord model. The best view during cornering is old type of van such as vanette, liteace, econovan…

• Anti fer on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:50 am

estimate fuel consumption of 5.9L to a 100 kilometers<- sounds great!

• lets hope they won’t revise upwards the price later if the sales is good

• Ford trying to emulate VW in having double clutch however their engine is no performer compared to VW.

VW is still the leader in engine technology …..can’t beat them as they have AUDI, Porsche & Lambrogini – all under 1 roof – super car companies.

And now FORD Fiesta has to fight with PROTON LANCER in the market. Definitely Proton will win in this market segment.

• Vincent on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:04 pm

VW owned mostly those high end car company..Bugatti also under them… dasak ler..

• cyclopz on Mar 05, 2011 at 1:03 pm

r u sure inspira won?? barely seen any on the road…
      i tot it will easily outsell vios & city ..but i was proven wrong….

proton….enuff is enuff…..

• CatmaN on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:34 am

Guess after this..there’ll be few OTR with Ken Block’s Monster Energy livery/decals..especially for the hatch ones.

• ABTguy on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:39 am

In terms of sales no in Europe, VW polo 1.2 TFSI (7G) is definitely the no.1. Fiesta no.2 with 6 spd manual. That is mainly due to the fact that their price is similar in EU. And VW wins on quality especially the interior soft dashboard etc.

But in term of the ride and handling, Fiesta wins hands down.

Vios / City no where to be seen. Jazz yes.

• mitlanevo on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:18 am

only dumdum will worship City + Vios

anyway, 2 thumbs up for this fiery Fiesta!!!

• nighttrain on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:49 am

we don’t get all the quality stuff and fancy features for the local Polo. It should be priced the same as Fiesta.

• mr_3m on Oct 21, 2010 at 3:44 pm

they could have price Polo the same as Fiesta, if only VW had assembled the Polo in ASEAN…

in this instance, Ford is better in planning their product manufacturing base than VW, hence they roll out the Fiesta from tom-yam land and take advantage of whatever FTA is in place between ASEAN countries….

• Powershift on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:44 am

Powershift rule! Pricing nearest to oversea price if you ever compare T&H oversea pricing

• lolzz on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:45 am

gymkhana on the way……haha….

• bryan.jones on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:46 am

good job Ford, this is what we need. screw up Vios & City!!

• sbanboy on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:53 am

Man I wish I had more money …. the Fiesta Sports is looking mighty tempting for the price and features.

• fiestafan on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:58 am

I saw the blue fiesta in Shanghai. Looked awesome. I might just get the blue fiesta hb..

• cybermaster98 on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:56 am

But taking a 2010 manufactured car is not good news at all. Come early next year, your car is already considered 2 yrs old.

• tak nak potong on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:58 am

the goes proton sales

hahahahaha

• revolver on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:15 am

best value for money

• when ford bring in s-max mpv……

• mitchy on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:01 pm

proven in WRC…!!

• bobdbilder on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:03 pm

OMG! I could afford a Ford! Even though I’m like 20 years older than the target market… Welcome back Ford! Its been a long while.

• elite on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:09 pm

looks like all the stock will be driven down from Thailand

it will fail like naza forte despite the GLC pricing

• Ash Menon on Oct 28, 2010 at 7:59 am

err, the Forte consider fail? I see it all over the place, dude. For a Kia it’s got a pretty damn high market penetration rate so far.

• brav0 ford…better than polo..huhu

• bobdbilder on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Whoa. Hang on. That’s a 6 speed Automatic. While the brochure, taken from Ford UK says 9.9s to 100km/h is on 1.6 Manual 5 speed. They don’t say Powershift on the Fiesta is user selectable like AMT. Neither does the Ford gallery pics show that it has those +/- gates. Gotta go see myself then.

• Kingdom Hearts on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:53 pm

If only, they do have a 1.4LX Automatic Varient, price at RM69+++, I’ll surely grab one.sigh…..

• dexter on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:41 am

no you wont! if they did have a 1.4 auto at RM69k, you will be saying “if only the have 1.6 auto varient at RM69+++, i’ll surely grab one. sigh….”. you will probably driving your rust bucket for the rest of your sad life.

• takNakBN on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:55 pm

1.4 can fight the swift market

• Maserati on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Hello Tiadiad, yaris n jazz Cbu from Japan la tht why mahal. This boring Ford cbu from thai, of cuz cheaper la.

After 1 year, everybody will b bored of this car. Fords are generally known for this.

New tht time, all hyped up. 1 year dwn the road, ford is equivalent to hyundai and kia.

• McKay 1 on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:53 pm

I beg to differ on your remarks…have you driven a ford before?..the focus mk1 is the best for drive & handling..the mk2 is better..if AutoConnexion bring in the RS or ST, I’m sure you will eat-up back your words…V

• mr_3m on Oct 21, 2010 at 3:54 pm

i agree… ford’s ride & handling on the focus mk1 & 2 and now the new Fiesta are excellent…

somehow, in Malaysia, not many people appreciate those qualities, as they rarely see anything beyond the badge… even if the product is crap, if the badge is good… they will still queue to buy it…

• hello, jazz cbu from Thai lah

• Johndeep on Oct 21, 2010 at 2:46 pm

Yes Jazz is Thailand CBU . What the heck you need to pay 100K+ for such a small car like Jazz and who care if it is assembled in Japan. 30K+ different is alot of money!!

• Tiadaid on Oct 21, 2010 at 3:17 pm

Still don’t want to admit defeat, Jap-worshiper.

• heyy…looks who talking…a sad jazz owner…hahahah

• scottloeb on Oct 21, 2010 at 4:42 pm

Kawan, both yaris & jazz CBU from tomyamland.

• hanafi on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:40 pm

a killer for proton..

• edward on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:49 pm

Kudos again to Sime Darby.. finally u made it right after Focus TDCI and Mondeo. I can say this Fiesta is sexier than it’s sushi brother madza 2 hatch. I so need to trade in my myvi to this baby….

People with money has the right and option to buy the car his/her preference, no one can forced them if they really dont want to. But i got some nice facts and jokes to share.

1. Thai CBU “RANGE TOPPING” fiesta sport is let me see around 10k cheaper than TRD le!!!!! vvti and trd goodies worth more than 6spd dual cluth tranny with lot of equipment???

2. It is also cheaper than the Citi wor.. how come ge? assemble at malacca need to expensive?

3. if you are a smart guy, fiesta sport or Inspira?

Joke of the Day:
    T: aiyo.. 1.6 sedan 1 airbag only ar..where got a ppl will be smart enough to buy it and crying after 3 yrs begging ppl to buy it since no reslae value…..

F: Better than some smart a** pay the same amt of installment per month for a car which has 14″ wheel cap, waterfall washing machine dial, 1 airbag, 4 spd and thinking ppl will still buy his car after 3yrs with a better resale value…..

t: !@#$%^&*()

——————————
    Ah Beng broke up with his gf Ah Lian 3hrs ago after reading this launch post and went to SDAC to place a booking for the new Fiesta Sport to replace his 10 year wiralution.

Here is the reason why:

Ah Beng: walao eh, baby.. u see la… full spec cheaper than jazz la swift sport la.. blah blah blah.. i want to change my car..

Hence after placing the booking fee,

Ah Lian: Beng, we sudah habis cerita la, we break la…..

Ah Beng: why?

Ah Lian: coz i finally know you are not a smart guy…

Ah Beng: i am smart le.. initial wan to get J and make it look like TRD de le but i didnt :)

Ah Lian: if u are really that smart then u should be driving malaysia new lancer jor.. didnt listen what they say meh ” only smart guy own it”

• Hyundai Fan on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:56 pm

Compare to Honda Jazz, it is much cheaper & more attractive. Honda Jazz is overprice & scare away many potential buyers which can now look for this Ford Fiesta as an alternative. Wondering why Sime Darby Auto ConneXion can do such a good pricing strategy but its counterpart for Hyundai could not do so & ending up giving discount now for Sonata & Tuscon? I foresee the sales figures will be double up in a month.Well done to Sime Darby Auto ConneXion!

• what sonata got discount?! where and how much. i also want to know. eyeing sonata but feel price too close to jap equivalent.

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:30 am

Ford CBU from Thai get 0% import tax. but Hyundai is CBU from Korea right? not under AFTA, so import tax is depending on cc or something like that. refer to MAA for more accurate info.

• tripvire on Oct 21, 2010 at 2:06 pm

if the sales of Ford Fiesta goes up, probably they will have some tuned up specs for it :)

who knows, since Ford is coming back here again.

Well done!!!

• shiftSpank on Oct 21, 2010 at 2:16 pm

Seems like Ford did deliver on their promise in terms of vehicle specification. Being the only car (I think) in the segment in our market with a dual-clutch system and priced so well will make this a true hot-seller. In terms of pricing, I think it’s spot on to take advantage over the competition. All the best to Ford.

When are we going to see a ST version? :)

• Wilfred on Oct 21, 2010 at 2:22 pm

Just when to see this car…first look very impressive on the exterior but the rear seats doesn’t impressed me so much.

• what is the kerb weight of this car? the torque at 4050 rpm consider late……

• About the Fiesta’s kerb weights.
      According to the Thai Ford website…
      1.6 Sport Powershift is 1153kg
      1.6 Trend sedan Powershift (similar to the 1.6 LX) is 1153kg

For comparison:
      Jazz 1.5 V is 1120kg
      City 1.5 S is 1140kg
      City 1.5 E is 1160kg

• alpha999 on Oct 21, 2010 at 2:28 pm

cant wait to test drive the hatch version……..

• apooo samy on Oct 21, 2010 at 2:34 pm

this ford compete head to head with vios, mazda 2, city sand swift…in term of horsepower and cc ford win…

but all those cars cant compete with inspira 1.8 – power , cheap, spacious, macho, Evo DNA and alot of part can upgrade….

• oomph on Oct 21, 2010 at 3:09 pm

it takes so long since the teaser started to it’s launching, the flame is out already. Next please!

• startrek on Oct 21, 2010 at 3:27 pm

in europe…fiesta and polo go head to head. how come polo is 30K more than fiesta?

ford is so underated here. People still thinking of econovan..ford sampan etc..

Everytime they say its either vios/city better than ford…

• taucu on Oct 21, 2010 at 3:32 pm

suka hatchback, yang sedan tak suka quite odd for me

• anti-first on Oct 21, 2010 at 4:02 pm

OFFTOPIC but somewhat related:

NASIM, you guys better note the price point of Fiesta 1.6 (auto) – RM79,888.

otherwise, the 207 would suffer the same lagging sales as the 206/bestari.

everybody else, it’s time for some interesting price wars and choices for the 1.6 market….!

• nabill on Oct 21, 2010 at 4:03 pm

why u guys comparing it to the jazz , that price range u can compare it to so many cars dats why its an attracive package….it doesnt have the badge though , and the worry remans about depreciation and after sales service and overall reliability….my opinion is if u want to buy it , dont be the first , wait 6mnths and atleast have some feedback from other owners first

• hey! i want the one jeremy reviewed on topgear. 1.6L manual and chased by baddies in a corvette in a shopping mall. yumyum

• They’re actually building the 1.6 Manual in Thailand too, its part of the new Australian Ford Fiesta lineup (Ford Australia is shifting to the Thai made Fiesta).

The model and parts exist, I guess Ford is just waiting to see if there’s enough demand for a 1.6 manual model in ASEAN markets.

• kenapa la aku tak keje lagi? kalau tak mesti dah boleh beli kete ni.

haih~

• Lim Kopi on Oct 21, 2010 at 6:54 pm

PROS :
    Well speced car with good price, handling should also be good (Ford track record)u

By right VW POLO should be priced like this

CONS:

Brand perception , and resale will kill u :)

• Hayoo Ford Fiesta might be cheaper but maintainance just like VW damn expensive better get New Vios Sporty Version easy to get spare parts some more cheaper maintanance.

Long term you saves alot of money plus Vios second hand value more demanding than this Yaris&Jazz Wannabe. Think wise man!

• JeffLim on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:07 pm

Vios owner = NO LIFE! The 1980s “TORSION BEAM” rear suspension already turned me off… Floaty >130km/h, NVH Sucks. My cousin has one and it’s DULL TO DRIVE. You just pay for the “TOYOTA” badge only, nothing else.

• E Bear on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:44 pm

Got so many many Vios owner……can it be so many people got it wrong?

Our speed limit only 110km/hr………

Overall ok lah.

Of course, it would be better if the price was 10k less.

Ford…….1.4 manual……auto would have better chance. 1.5 would be better.

• Tiadaid on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:21 am

1. Yes, so many people got it wrong.

2. Our speed limit maybe only 110 km/h, but how come Vios owners drive like hell in a car that’s not that good at high speed?

• agreed…vios buyers know nothing but only bother about resale value. (KIASU)

paying premium price for so called quality (bad) and after sales.

Fiesta’s 3 yrs free maintenance and warranty already 100 times better and more value than UMW’s so called after sales service. lets not talk about the design and feature.

• ViosUser on Oct 22, 2010 at 1:37 pm

Ya I admitted it am Kiasu and pround of my Vios. I am also very proud of my NOKIA 1208. The reason is I only buy cheap and reliable staff. And of course, the car can only worth one-tenth of my net worth. After banging the VIEOSSS (or whatever you call it) for a few years…..sell to some dumbass lah :)

How bout you king , owning a 5 series? YOU MEAN YOU PAY YOR CAR BY ‘ANSURAN BULANAN ‘ ah ? HOW MANY YEARS HUH ?

• Salamander on Nov 05, 2010 at 12:37 am

LOL a butthurt comment. This blog is for enthusiast. If you care so much for your second hand value go post a comment at some economic forum.

• Dude, you r seriously preaching to the wrong crowd here. The Vios has/had lotsa good selling points (badge or othwise) but the Fiesta is a genuine contender.UMW and Honda has got some work ahead of them to stay ahead.

We shld welcome the competition, cuz the consumer/US/WE will benefit ! ! !

Btw, I own a Vios myself, No Regrets what so ever !
      & No, I didn’t go for the badge !

• Dude, you r seriously preaching to the wrong crowd here. The Vios has/had lotsa good selling points (badge or othwise) but the Fiesta is a genuine contender.UMW and Honda has to throw more goodies our way ! !

Btw, I own a Vios myself, No Regrets what so ever !
      & No, I didn’t go for the badge !

• Lim Kopi on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:19 am

Its just a matter of whether u want a car at that price with good Conti feel , or just plain DULL and boring drive (but very safe resale) ….

• Salamander on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Anyone have book this car? Any news on the interest rate?

• nelson on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:16 pm

2.8% for affin bank
      10% downpayment.
      book now n will get it on january.
      if u’r lucky enough, december maybe.
      i have to 4get bout it coz i need it end november but they cant do that for me

• i2iman on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:14 pm

Anyone noticed that the position of what gear the vehicle is in is on the wrong side of the gear shift? There is an indicator on the instrument panel, but during driving the ‘spokes of steering wheel obscures this.
    Btw its definitely the best in its class currently.

• autojohndoe on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:52 pm

Ooopss! T did again… the recall…. 1.53mil cars affected around the globe…

• Toyota’s president did admit their mistake.
      They tried to expand fast so they could be the biggest carmaker, but their quality went down.

• autojohndoe on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:53 pm

link… http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20101021/ap_on_bi_ge/as_japan_toyota_recall

• off road user on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:05 pm

dam smart!

• kuhan80 on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:33 pm

That why ford use a slogan ‘The way to foward’… this is one way to make profit n bring vechile around the world… Cant wait for New Ford Ranger”T6″ coming to Here.. Malaysia…..

• nelson on Oct 22, 2010 at 3:21 am

just to share with everyone here…
    i’ve been thinking to get the hatchback few months back.
    after a serious consideration, i think, i said i think, i better pull back.
    let’s c what will ford do in future 6 months. or 2 3 yrs maybe.
    it’s all because of the spare parts and resale value.

around 5 yrs ago, volkswagen planted a bomb here with their golf gti.
    glad that they’ve make it. they created their reputation here and today, volksawagen begin to have lotsa potential buyer here in our bolehland. more n more showroom open.marketing doing great and service center is able to attract car buyers. but still, me,”mr. not so rich’ cant afford 1 :(

so, hope ford can make it just like what vw did. even better if shorten the period than vw. i don have the pocket to bet my luck to get a fiesta which might loan 7 or 9 yrs hoping they can make it a popular n demanding badge here.

just to share my thought. happy automobile shopping or surveying.

• MBX Boy on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:43 am

Good car, great deal!

• Thiyagu on Oct 22, 2010 at 1:42 pm

Does malaysia model use duratec 1.6L Ti-VCT engine with dual VVT

• briangtr on Oct 22, 2010 at 2:40 pm

expect Ken Block Ford Fiesta Version coming to malaysia

• still expensive…… :(

• hetfield85 on Oct 23, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Now we can see how T & H suck Malaysian’s money hard

• 11-second man on Oct 23, 2010 at 6:37 pm

My opinion is that when a proven particular model (say, very good sales in Europe, US etc.) is at such competitive price, it will likely be successful in our country.

So we jump into City, Vios and Swift. They are commonly seen on our roads because they are alternate models to national makes. These models have 1 thing in common, returning very good fuel consumption. City and Vios fit into the right size of being family sedan. City and Vios have good resale value. City and Swift look beautiful. But only Swift gives you good handling. Only Swift is global car. However, these 3 models are no where cost effective when send for servicing.

Now we have Polo, Fiesta and Forte. Polo is less affordable. Polo and Fiesta are small sedan cars. Forte is the biggest of all 6 cars we are discussing here. Forte and Fiesta have very competitive pricing. Polo, Fiesta and Forte are all global cars.

Let’s move forward to have a fair comparison of all models. Now Malaysians have more choices for the money they can afford to part!

• FF fans on Oct 23, 2010 at 10:46 pm

We have an option from now, if can’t afford to spend hundred thousand to get an altis dual vvti, you can choose this B-segment dual vvt car

• rickyll on Oct 24, 2010 at 8:28 am

Bravo! With the announced prices and packages, it would attract a lot of bunyers. It’s a good car. The only draw back is that the 1.6 sedan comes with no airbag. Iit’s a big let down when safety should always come first.

• BSLee on Oct 24, 2010 at 10:43 am

Good specs and attractive package aside..how about build quality ..err eg. noise and vibration inside cabin?

• toomba on Oct 24, 2010 at 3:39 pm

in Thai the top of the line model only cost arnd rm 69k

• Just to share my feeling after test driving the Fiesta 1.6 sport hatch. Overall the build quality of the car looks very good, the seat material also feel very good and the front seats are bucket seat to support the driver and front passenger during cornering, however, I don’t really like it, not comfortable as it is quite narrow. The equipment for this sport hatch is better than the sedan, full specs provided.

The engine start with quite a nice sound, very quiet, thanks to the excellent sound proofing of the car, I have the same feeling on the road, low noise from the road. The steering feel really light at low speed, normal for EPS but the road feel is not too bad on the move, responsive and good handling. The gear shift is quite smooth, didn’t feel any jerk during gear change, but the engine sound sound weird when changing from 1st to 2nd gear (the rpm go up and down suddenly). 1st feeling on the road is the suspension is quite hard, of course that contribute to the good feeling but the comfort level is not that good. Even though the new test drive car has no rattling sound at all, I will be worried with the hard suspension, the interior parts will get loose soon. Of course I don’t know the tyre pressure though.

I have a good opportunity to test the power of the car because the test drive route is going up hill and with some humps on the road. My feeling is the car is about the same power as stock myvi (maybe myvi even a little more responsive), no where near a Civic 1.8 in the pickup response going up hill. Quite disappointed in fact.

Personally I will not buy this car, mainly because it is less spacious than myvi, a little lack of comfort and engine not responsive enough. Just my personnal feeling.

• s3p3rn on Oct 25, 2010 at 9:35 am

Wow myvi beats ford focus. Good for u man

• Thiyagu on Oct 25, 2010 at 12:31 pm

Can i know where you tested the car?

• artworkz on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:00 pm

maybe u dunno how to push this car. this car is equip with drive by wire. simply floor down gas pedal. powershift will down shift gear n u can get 120hp!. u no need think too much. just floor down the pedal, the thorttle body will not full open b4 gear downshift.

• UmnoSUX on Oct 25, 2010 at 2:16 pm

looking at the gear , i notice only PRNDL

no D3

is this car equipped with OD button?

anybody?

• RinaR on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:22 pm

I think most of us aware Fiesta is somehow smaller than Myvi but my concern now after I hear this from you Ivan regarding the engine is not responsive enough make me think twice to get this car. Thanks for sharing

• I need to clarify some concerns over my test drive review above. Please don’t be too concerned about the Fiesta engine responsiveness that I have mentioned. I think a lot of peoples know that myvi is very responsive due to the light weight, just for eg. the kelisa beat most cars in pickup.

Of course I’m quite sure on the different in performance as compared to Civic 1.8 as I have been driving on the same road quite often. But again we can’t really expect the same level of performance as compared to Civic. Also bear in mind that I’m only comparing the performance going up hill, passing thru road humps on the way and speed up again with 3 persons in the car. The pickup on normal road was quite good. And my comment is pure personal feeling and expectation, it can be quite diff from others.

If you are interested in the car, please go and test drive yourself and make your own judgment.

• 11-second man on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:51 pm

The need to correct the situation here so that readers get a fair view of Fiesta performance. Let’s talk about performance. Aesthetical wise is to individual preference,

Test drove Fiesta 2~3 weeks ago. Sat in 4 adults. When pushed, feel torquey, faster than Vios (also with 4 adults). In my humble opinion, anything up to 120km/h, it would give 2 litre Civic and Lancer a run for their monies. Needless to mention other common models plying on our roads – CPS 1.6, Forte 1.6, Civic 1.8 etc. I wanted to include Swift 1.6, unfortunately I haven’t driven one, so I better be honest here.

Those who have test driven Fiesta, what do you think? Thanks

• Fiesta Nut on Oct 30, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Finally managed to test drive the 1.6 sport hatch today at the PJ showroom. Firstly the bad news. Yes, the the dashboard is made of hard plastics. But then again, you not going to sleep on the dashboard are you? Second, the rearview is by my standard, small.

Now with the good news. Ergonomics wise, i would say its good. I’m 175cm tall, with uhm…slightly wide backside….The seat fits me just nice. Front and side view from the driver side is good. The side mirrors covers the blind spot well. I have my reservation at first as it reminds me of Gen2/Waja side mirror which looks good but have big blind spot.

Ford done a very good job on sound insulation. I rev the engine to 5k rpm, not much sound coming to the inside. Speaking of the engine, the engine really responsive. Rev it and the power is there when you need it. Gear box wise, i don’t know about VW DSG, as i never try it, the Powershift is quite smooth, it is waaaayyy better than the auto tranny, without the rubberband feel. Yes, there is no manual overwrite in the Powershift, but then again, i’m no F1 driver. As long as its smooth and give me good mileage, i’m sold.

In terms of handling, Ford have done a good balance. Not too hard, not too soft. Body roll is minimal.

Last of all, the so call space saving spare tyre is actually a full size 14 inch tyre. Not the skinny type which you usually see on P1 cars.

Thats my 2 cents worth on my test drive on Ford Fiesta.

Peace!

• asray on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:30 am

cuba teka…mana spare tayar?

• lim seang joo on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:07 am

For Fiesta owners or future owners,

I placed my booking 2 months ago of the 1.6L Ti-VCT 5-door version! I am to take delivery of the car in Jan 2011, after about 5 months from booking.

I was attracted by the many safety features, 6-speed powershift , Ti-VCT, fast acceleration, fuel economy and great exterior design.

And I already bought the armrest from UK. I checked out the fitting last week with the actual car. It fitted perfectly. It costs me about GBP100. check it out at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Armster-Centre-Armrest-Ford-Fiesta/dp/B002P2QTNI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=automotive&qid=1285914666&sr=1-1 or contact Dave Rigby [[email protected]] directly.

regards,
    SJ Lim

• thai fiesta on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:25 am

URGENT !

At moment Ford Thailand is checking problem of Continental tire which produced from Malaysia. It is problem of torn at its edge. Ford has already completely hold delivery Fiesta to dealers and may be for other countries, also.

Please check for sure with your local dealer about this problem.
    You can see picture of defected tire here : http://www.pantip.com/cafe/ratchada/topic/V9848796/V9848796.html

• Soon To Be Fiesta Owner on Oct 27, 2010 at 3:26 pm

Thank you for the information.

When I test drove the car the other day, to me the tyre was the weakest part. It was noisy didn’t complement the car that well.

• thai fiesta on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:06 am

Lastly, Ford explained in FaceBook that they will let dealers to check tire before deliver car to customer.

You can see here : (in Thai) http://www.facebook.com/notes/f-xrd-feiysta/kha-xthibay-keiyw-kab-kar-thdsxb-laea-trwc-sxb-khunphaph-yang-rthynt/467095519920

• Feisty on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:56 am

Damn cute car. The problems are:
    – rear seat headrest is uncomfortable. can’t figure out how to adjust and lock it to a different position.
    – front seat’s sliding rack protruding to the legroom of the rear passenger, may hurt the rear passenger’s toes.
    – air-con adjuster comes with the red zones. Why do we need a heater in Malaysia?
    – can’t direct the air-con to the waist. At most, the chest.

Everything else is good.

Anybody else feeling the same way?

• Thiyagu on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:57 pm

how about the door? I found problem in close the door smooth. Need to slam a bit to cloas the door.

• Feisty on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Yup, we need to slam it a little bit more, like Gen2. However, its not a problem for me. Sometimes when we are not in a good mood, we tend to slam the door. If the door is too light but we exert too much force, the plastics will break like what I did too a taxi before. :p

The driver’s seat is adjustable so I can lower it to make room for my spiky hair.

• The thing that i don’t quite like is the door lock! I was told that it’s the standard european car feature that there’s no lock on each door from inside, unlike the japanese cars that i’m familiar with. Even if you lock the car from inside, passangers can still open the car from inside, but not outside! I found that this feature is crap!! If kids are to sit behind, the child lock has to be ON all the time or else they can jump out of the car when u’re driving!! And there’s no way I can put my baby on the passanger seat in front either!
          I’m thinking of buying Fiesta for its price, performance and space inside is slightly bigger as compared to Mazda 2. But fiesta’s door hinges do feel so ‘plasticky’ and fragile, and can break anytime if u put a bit more effort opening the door!
          *sigh*

• Feisty on Nov 03, 2010 at 6:35 pm

If kids are smarter, they would have been able to flip those lock-switches to open the doors anyway. Just use the child lock.

• lim seang joo on Nov 01, 2010 at 2:13 pm

I tested the Fiesta Sports car last Saturday.

Positive: acceleration and gear change was GREAT, eventhough car only 245km used; I pushed the car to change gear at 5,500rpm, not sluggish at all, it was great!

Negative: this particular test drive car EPS set up was too sensitive. When stationary, steering turn was VERY light (the lady would love it). but when even at about 60 to 80km/h, a very slight turn on the steering wheel caused the car wheel to response; at 80 to 100 km/h, responsiveness remain light and caused an uneasy feeling of tediousness of having got to keep a very steady hand on the steering wheel. Otherwise, the car is NOT going in straight line.

I called the manager of Ford dealer in Penang to let him know the EPS setup of this the test drive car need to be further optimised.

I hope when I receive my car in Jan 2011, the EPS setup would not be so sensitive.

regards,
    SJ Lim

• west meets east on Nov 03, 2010 at 6:58 pm

The Ford Fiesta has regional lockouts… for example:

the 3 door hatch version is for europe and singapore, while 4 door sedan is sold for USA…
    there is also a Fiesta van, but only in europe.

Styling is also funny. the 5 door hatch is normal, the 3 door hatch looks like a mini mpv, while the sedan looks like a fastback sedans… hahahaha…

4 varitants, include 3 door and 5 door hatch, 4 door sedan, and 2 door van, which would you like?

• future buyer on Feb 15, 2011 at 11:32 am

i have questions for the fiesta 1.6 sport,
    1) anybody knows the loan interest for 9 year loan with 10% downpayment for this car?
    2) is there any banks that gives full loan for this car? as 10% dp will effect a small diff only.
    3) how long is the waiting period for this car?

• Dear future buyer,
      just test drive the car today…lokng fwd to book one by tade-in with my 2005 wira…
      just ask the salesman, normalinterest rate for 9years is 2.6-2.8%…only bank islam / bank rakyat have full 100% loan..however, it will only be applicable to govt staff + the % will be higher i.e. 4.1%….

have u been inside the car? did you notice the greenish shade on the door panel…? its quite weird to me…the design & everyting else is so stylish & cool except for the “quite-ugly” rims and the oveal blue logo…

• cyclopz on Mar 05, 2011 at 8:46 am

wah how cme already quiet

• SaveTheEARTH on Mar 13, 2011 at 7:32 pm

Is that really EURONCAP 5star. I see we have just the max 2 airbag, how come they put this logo in the brochure. We want the real EURONcap 5 star not the fake one. Malaysia tak boleh at all. Cheating

• tehtarikdrinker on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:55 pm

bought myself one 2 months ago and did a small review on the car here:

http://www.tehtarikmemoirs.com/2011/02/introducing-tehtarikmobile-phantom.html

best thing I ever bought in my life, seriously.

• Hi all,

I’ve read with craze that this car is the hot hatch for 1st time car buyers. Also it can be the intermediate car for next big car upgrade.

However somehow deep inside my heart, this car is ‘not enough’. Even with the FIesta sport+ is still insufficient. I want more. more more…

Hence I found out somewhere the fiesta RS boasting the 1.6 ecoboost engine would be introduced next year. When will it come to Malaysian shores? It would really cause some great excitement in the performance hot hatch market.

Can our fellow motorsport contributor tell us when? Any hints?

• william on Jun 21, 2011 at 2:44 pm

I looking for new car and shortlisted Vios and Fiesta in my list. i love fiesta design more than vios and worry about service centre. how abour performance? fuel comsumption?

difficult to choose. anybody can assist?

• Just ordered my new Fiesta S 1.6 and waiting for the collection of the car now…. Happy with its’ performance & design….. I like Ford….

• Maurice on Oct 01, 2012 at 4:00 pm

I test drove the Fiesta 1.6L, excellent. Double clutch and 6 speed transmission give it a smooth ride. Much better than the Mazda 3, when I accelerated, I could feel some jerking..not so with the Fiesta. Handling is excellent.

My only question is the resale value? I can’t compare the resale value. Does anybody know? There’s not a lot of second hand older versions of Ford Fiesta around. Understand that Honda and Toyota has the best resale values (but wanna know if Ford can be around the 4th place behind Nissan?)