New national car project a regressive move – Khairy

Just a few hours after prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad revealed that Malaysia has aspirations to start a new national car project, Khairy Jamaluddin has shared his thoughts on the matter on his official Facebook page.

In a posting, the politician said that such a move was a regressive one after the government put an end to the Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit Line 3 (MRT3) project.

He added that a new national car project would not be environmentally friendly from a carbon standpoint and would come at a substantial cost to the government. These resources should instead be channeled towards projects that enhance the public transport system, he noted.

According to Khairy, since 1984, the government has been handing out various financial assistance and grants amounting to RM15.3 billion to Proton. A (new) national car project will also make it more costly for customers who wish to purchase a non-national car due to excise duties that are as high as 105%.

“Unless the new national car project will produce a fully electric car, I do not see the benefits to the people, the country’s economy and the environment. It also relies heavily on the ability to achieve economies of scale. If the scale of production is small, the desired economic impact targets may not be achieved,” Khairy said.

He advised the government, through the Cabinet, to thoroughly assess such a project before following through on it. “I hope that time and resource priorities are directed to the enhancement of public transport systems like increasing cooperation with the private sector in improving last-mile connectivity,” he said in his Facebook post.

Looking into e-hailing services via vehicles and motorcycles, a comprehensive feasibility study including how to reduce the costs of the MRT 3 project so it may be revived in the future were among his suggestions. Khairy also said considerations should be made to implement more cost-effective systems such as Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) that aren’t just focused in the Klang Valley.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• M’sian wont miss National car project.
    https://paultan.org/2018/02/05/proton-will-not-be-allowed-to-sink-najib-tun-razak/

• Rajoo Selvam on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:56 pm

What did Khairy do when our debt became RM1 trillion? At that time he did not make any comments.

Now, everyday got so many scandals exposed. Khairy did not voice out against any of them at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 34
      • Mikey on Jun 11, 2018 at 5:26 pm

KJ cannot expose anything bcos his own ministry was missing 100 million too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
      • Izham on Jun 12, 2018 at 1:45 am

Before elections, PH politicans said they had ample ‘evidence’ of corruption and wrongdoing, especially on 1MDB. But now? Need to investigate this and that. Obviously to appease their naive electorate, which frankly isn’t hard to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • 2 years max to breath on Jun 11, 2018 at 5:49 pm

Enough misery of Malaysian after Proton was created.. Enough!
      But I don’t think this old fox have time to start a new national car.Time is running out for him.. I give him 2 years max before stop breathing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 50
      • kepala bapakau on Jun 11, 2018 at 6:36 pm

who are you to judge? Only God can give or take a life. Maybe in less than 2 years, YOU are the one that stops breathing. And if that happens, we will all be happy there is more air for us to use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 17
      • Mohd Rusdi on Jun 12, 2018 at 12:11 am

Woi.. bahlul bagang bodoh , apa punya sial…eh.
        Screw you … hope your family stop breathing…
        Btw uneducated idiots like you don’t understand the fundamentals of economy for such a projects.

• Adab Kat Mana on Jun 12, 2018 at 10:15 am

Another unwarranted komen from Red Shirts in this holy month of Ramadan. Forgiveness and blessings upon all M’sians..

• More like Red Herring from PH trolls thats non-aligned to him.

• Anonymous on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:25 pm

Agree… cancelling to fund public transportation projects but willing to spend on car manufacturing… how genius is that…? How does that benefit the people already needing better and eficient connetivity thru public transportation…?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
    • Khairy Oh Khairy on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:51 pm

When ECRL cost RM29 billion and suddenly became RM55 billion…..Khairy just kept quiet. Very quiet.

That is already double the cost.

But he kept super silent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 12
      • Eddie65 on Jun 12, 2018 at 10:25 am

His pocket was already loaded from the ECRL project. I’m sure he got his cut at the rakyats expense.
        Anyone will keep quiet.

• Banana on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:27 pm

This.time support Khairy, dont start National Car project ahain, last 10 or 20 yrs yes, but now is very hugh investment and our market is very very small only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • Mikey on Jun 11, 2018 at 5:29 pm

KJ should have took this opportunity by “supporting” Tun M. Tun did support(tongue in cheek) KJ to be the president of UMNO just days ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Pls... on Jun 11, 2018 at 8:37 pm

Just rebage and give us affordable car with full safety n technology, good enough..

• Anonymous on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:34 pm

I can’t disagree with the opposition on this issue. What has proton brought to the benefit of consumers here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • What has you brought for the country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
      • Bernard on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:57 pm

Poor English my friend!

• Joe blag on Jun 12, 2018 at 12:03 am

Move on….lots of other thing to be done than just manufacture car….anyway i have owned proton since day 1….and recently purchase another proton…work on other thing rather than new car

• rightwinger on Jun 12, 2018 at 9:07 am

“ask not what the country can do for you, ask what you can do for the country” – John F Kennedy

• Joe blag on Jun 12, 2018 at 12:01 am

Move on….lots of other thing to be done than just manufacture car

• drMpower on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:39 pm

Khairy nobody asking you and to be really clear, your opinion doesnt count. Your track record on voicing opinion doesnt help. Terrible ge14 result testifies that.
    As usual, you failed to look at bigger view. And badly selective angle as well. Money pumped into proton is nothing compared to what been pumped into the government coffers. The problems with MRT ECRL are clear, lopsided contracts and very bad planning. Thats why u need to learn more.
    And ah electric cars. You like to be heard clever, isnt it. Read more khairy. Its better than everything you ever does.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 68
    • Khairy Oh Khairy on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Khairy, when he was just 27 years old already had few hundred million ringgit already.

Investigate this first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 27
      • S.Ibrahim on Jun 11, 2018 at 6:02 pm

3 anak jadi instant billionaire sebelum cecah umur 40 tahun tak heran pulak. Pelik orang-orang Malaysia ni….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • We do not need another PROTON 2.0

Japanese is NOT the centre of excellence for cars .
      Europe is the centre of excellence for cars . China is looking to Germany,Sweden, England for car technologies and totally ignore japanese technology.

We Malaysian wants second chance to get japanese obsolete and dinosaur technologies for cars ??

Forget about Proton 2.0 and if Proton 2.0 vehicles cannot sell later, we rakyat had to pay heavy taxes again for imported and ckd vehicles. Then becomes Malaysian proton 2.0 dinosaur models again.

What sort of logic is this??

Better spend wisely to create better public transport system in the cities and suburds .

I had to DISAGREE with TUN on setting up another Proton 2.0 this time. Cars technologies and designs changes so fast and we malaysian still depends on JAPANESE ALWAYS TO MAKE THE CHANGES.. CRAZY

So where is the Malaysian Pride that always depends on Japan once again??

Forget Proton 2.0 , just forget it and Malaysia do not wish to be suck into massive losses again in getting the rakyat donation monies to bail it out again if happened.

Proton 2.0 is not under HARAPAN manifesto at all..and we just had to accept the reality that Malaysia is not a world class car manufacturer ( 10 to 20 years behind times technologies) that had to depend on japanese technologies without our own technologies breakthru.

not viable at all !!! period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 12
      • Honda, toyota, mazda, datsun would like to have a word with you

• SAM Savarimuthu on Jun 12, 2018 at 7:22 am

No need proton 2.0 its another waste of money. Even stopped general motors. Why should we start another national car project?

• Zamri on Jun 12, 2018 at 8:10 am

His vision limitless, don’t compare with ur brain. See first don’t make conclusion

• Kelvin on Jun 12, 2018 at 1:38 pm

PROTON 2.0 vision , Malaysian does not need to know and understand.

Better, efficient and improve public transports and feeder buses are what the rakyat need Most now.

Tired of traffic jams and putting debt burden on Malaysian for failed new car project again

• I hear the new car brand is PAKATON

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
  • vedder on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:48 pm

Electric cars are so 2016. It’s time to go fuel cell!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • No la fuel cell is so yesterday, we should fly

• Nope, fuel cell is so yesterday. We shud be using Mr Fusion and use it to go back in time. Oh wait, Bapak alredi brought us back in time….

• Ruslan Bahari on Jun 11, 2018 at 5:02 pm

Even if it was an electric car, why a new company? It just does not make any sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • proton perodua inokom naza bufori dll on Jun 11, 2018 at 6:47 pm

Later Tun M may claims the press miss-quoted his statement or self-claim its just his own personal opinion no big deal LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Bapak: “saya mudah lupa, eh eh eh salah cakap, maksud saya Malaysia mudah lupa tentang apa yang saya ada cakap”

• Good time Khairy, not for regressive, but a forward looking.

• Rita Valberg on Jun 11, 2018 at 9:26 pm

Proton was once Malaysians Pride & Joy tats why Tun Mahathir wants to bring it back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Victor on Jun 12, 2018 at 4:50 pm

IT IS A VERY DIFFERENT SCENERIO NOW SINCE CHINA CAR MANUFACTURING CAME TO THE LIMELIGHT THAT STARTED FIFTEEN YEARS AGO.

WHEN PROTON FIRST STATED IN LATE 80’S countries like CHINA, KOREA AND TAIWAN WITHOUT THAILAND WERE ON INFANT STAGE AS MALAYSIA .

NOW THAILAND IS DETROIT OF THE EAST , VIETNAM , TAIWAN AND INDONESIA ARE MAKING THEIR OWN NATIONAL CARS TOO..

THE ASEAN MARKET OR CAKE IS JUST GETTING SMALLER FOR P3 TO SURVIVE LET ALONE CHINA , KOREA AND JAPAN WHICH ARE INCREASING DOMINANCE WITH THEIR WELL BUILT QUALITY CARS AND CHEAPER PRICE PURCHASE FOR ASEAN MARKET.

THIRTY YEARS AGO IS VERY DIFFERENT SITUATION FROM TODAY WHEN TUN FIRST STARTED PROTON FOR MALAYSIA

THE EASY AND GLORY DAYS FOR NATIONAL CAR IS NOT VIABLE AND LUCRATIVE ANYMORE AS THERE ARE MANY NEW ASIAN PLAYERS THAT HAD MUSHROOM SINCE.

IF FULL EV OR FUEL CELLS TECHNOLOGY CAR MANUFACTURING (P3) , THEN P3 WILL HAD A CHANCE AND WILL BE FINE OTHERWISE DIESEL AND PETROL POWER ENGINES ARE JUST YESTERDAY TECHNOLOGY THAT MANY COUNTRIES ARE BANNING THEM SOON.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:24 pm

i never ever thought umno would be capable of saying some sensible things

• Bernard on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:55 pm

Funny if Najib would have said it before, he would be the first one to support!
    Now he has found his voice…..a miracle just happened:)

• Johann on Jun 12, 2018 at 1:03 am

Not yet in progress but kj start druming the isue.His opinion is baseless.you re a loser anywhere.

• Malaysia need to have an industry. Anything.. cant rely on crude oil and palm oil as main source of income. If we think its IT, okay, shipbuilding, okay … Automotive also good since we are not starting fresh. Even is we consider Proton a failure, next project should be better .. if we learn one or two things from the past…

I failed to be engineer, ok lets try to be lawyer, failed too … lets try to be accountant then ….

maybe sticking to original plan would be better …

• Julie jojo on Jun 12, 2018 at 7:08 am

KJ, you first answer where is the 100 million went missing after that you can give your comment on Tun M idea of getting a new project for national car

• Since our beloved PM is in Japan. I hope he will study a bit on JAPAN public transport. I heard their public transport is very sophisticated and more importantly very punctual. Will arrive on time. We malaysian so eager to have a such wonderful public transport here. After improve the public transport then we can consider bout
    National car. But government must make sure that all imported cars are as cheap as in other Asian countries. Dont simple put higher taxes on imported cars so that our cars are cheaper. It will burden the RAKYAT. PH is doing a wonderful job so far . Hope it will b continue…..

• AliBarBar on Jun 12, 2018 at 8:54 am

We should not support an egoistical move by one person to bring back his ‘pride’ and joy. TDM was kicked out of P1 hence the plan to start a new P2.0 and then slowly impose huge tariffs on P1 and make them suffer. We should not go down that road again..org Malaysia mudah lupa ke..?

• AZAMIRUDDIN on Jun 12, 2018 at 9:00 am

I’m sorry to interrupt. What is the different between project announcement vs project ambition. I believe i heard clearly Tun M said in the talk show at Japan, new or another national car brand is project ambition.

• G.Kukananthan on Jun 12, 2018 at 12:17 pm

This is the kind of intelligent and constructive challenge that the Opposition can contribute for a better Malaysia. Don’t revert to manipulative politics that pits Malaysians against Malaysians.

• Mohd Paudzi on Jun 12, 2018 at 12:53 pm

Should never re do a national, but rather Asean car, co-developed by Thai-Indo-Malaysia. Together the market TIV is about 2 million per year. 20% of this would be viable

• Better than HSR. i support new national car project. HSR TO COSTLY..

• intermilan on Jun 12, 2018 at 2:05 pm

If its true, proton is so f up. If its happening, either P1 national car status will be revoked and thus taxed higher or simply reorganise tax structure to tax them higher.

I believe all the rakyat want is lower car price or small price gap (between national and foreign brand) made possible though lower taxes and duties particularly to foreign car brands. The price gap only reflect genuine factor (not artificial factor e.g. protectionist taxes).

Tax foreign/imported car fairly… and..

Just like what we have shown you in PRU14/GE14…. let the market force (rakyat force) decide.

• #notetaken on Jun 12, 2018 at 9:29 pm

Yes. Let’s make Malaysia’s Tesla