Government pulls the plug on MRT Line 3 rail project

The KL-Singapore high-speed rail (HSR) isn’t the only rail project that has been called off in a bid to save money – the government has also decided to pull the plug on the proposed Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) Line 3, according to The Star.

The announcement was made by prime mnister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad earlier today following a Cabinet meeting. He said that the government is reviewing all projects that were previously initiated by the administration of former prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

Also known as the MRT Circle Line, the fully automated and driverless rail system extension was to have formed the loop line of the Greater KL/Klang Valley integrated transit system. Originally targeted for completion by 2025, MRT3 was meant to provide coverage in areas surrounding Bandar Malaysia, Ampang, KL Ecocity, Bukit Kiara and Sentul.

This will leave the Klang Valley with two MRT lines. The first, the Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) line, was completed in two stages, with Phase 1 commencing operations in December 2016 and Phase 2 in July last year. Construction of the second Sungai Buloh-Putrajaya line has already begun, and it is expected to be completed by 2022.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Afeeq Hasan on May 30, 2018 at 2:07 pm

I support scrapping ECRL and HSG, but not MRT 3.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 7
    • Tido oh Tido on May 30, 2018 at 2:20 pm

No choice but got to do it. Cause hutang negara 1 trillion. Very critical.

We have to pay for the previous sins of those who are corrupted.

Pity us Malaysians. Now we won’t have MRT3 because there were maximum stealing and plundering taking place.

Luckily for us….we have a clean Government now. We now won’t become Venezuela…rich in oil but bankrupt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 69
      • Chavez on May 30, 2018 at 2:49 pm

If we weren’t heading to Venezuela then, we certainly are now, what with the reverting to SST and piling on more subsidies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 8
        • Shafiq on May 30, 2018 at 3:09 pm

Incompetent past gov doings.
          https://paultan.org/2018/03/27/mrt-needs-250000-daily-passengers-to-break-even/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Public transports have never been profitable anywhere, except when it cost an arm and a leg. So dun be daft. Without better public transports, the pipu will have less choices to commute and oso more cars means more pollution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
        • People are just in love with whatever Tun M does its getting a bit too much. Cancelling the MRT is such short term thinking and we will pay for it. How? Well expect the roads to remain congested. Expect more time, petrol, productivity wasted being stuck in trafficm Expect Tun M or his successor to restart the project but with their own contractors and the project will cost more later on. I lived in Jakarta from 1999-2003. I’m imagining KL’s traffic will be on par with Jakarta’s, and also Manilla and Bangkok.

We lose on this decision. (FYI we are not in bad financial shape. The credit rating agencies are mainting a decent rate for us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
          • Great Lord on May 30, 2018 at 8:48 pm

Improve the bus system, learn from the Lion City.
            And impose toll to enter City. Make the city more walkable with trees and pathway.

This measure is cheaper than MRT3, people would take the buses, and less traffic in the city. Win X3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Taib_Mahmud on May 30, 2018 at 3:32 pm

If hutang negara is so much, why abolish GST?
        If new government is assume to be more reliable on handling gov fund, why afraid to continue paying GST?
        With no GST, are you sure 100% harga barang turun? or gaji naik?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
        • https://paultan.org/2018/05/28/vehicle-prices-could-go-up-following-the-return-of-sst/

• Pakatan - Clean Government on May 30, 2018 at 2:31 pm

Of course got to cancel. Cause they may have found some strange thing.

Just like our ECRL and HSR. All became double the PRICE.

SO, they may have found out, MRT3 also became double the price.

Now time to siasat and reduce the cost. Time to eradicate all the kickbacks.

Clean Government. We don’t want kickbacks. We are against kickbacks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 42
      • U-Tun on May 30, 2018 at 3:19 pm

Should siasat also bnm forex scandal. Maybe can get back another 30 billions to settle out the debt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • DonkeyKong on May 30, 2018 at 4:12 pm

LOLLLL… If you don’t want kickbacks, why vote in a new govt? PH under Mahathir are stopping projects that benefits the previous govt’s cronies, so that they can reboot them with their own cronies. Don’t be naive, man…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
    • Meanwhile ECRL price revised upwards of RM11 Billion. Somebody in new regime gonna untung RM11 Billion atas angin. Welcome to “new” old MY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
      • Rob Mugabe on May 30, 2018 at 4:52 pm

Still trying so hard to stir trouble like how you have been doing the past 3 years. Sad dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Edwin L on May 30, 2018 at 5:40 pm

He’s just telling the truth. The trouble stirred is by those blinkered, ill-informed ilks such as you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Digidigi on May 30, 2018 at 5:39 pm

People here keep asking for lower car price but also demanding mrt…. u can never get both end, and should allocate some fund to build for Penang and jb, kl is too populated

• Bukan Najib on May 30, 2018 at 2:20 pm

This is just taking the easy way out. How can u distort the growth of the country just to save some money? We wanted the rot to be removed and the taxpayers money returned, not the good things removed that benefit the taxpayers! No wonder people are losing faith in this new government! What are they planning, everything just status quo? No progressive growth??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 24
    • Planning to go Back to the Future!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Mikey on May 30, 2018 at 3:59 pm

No pain no gain bro. That’s why PH have to Bite the Bullet so to speak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • We bitten the bullet for GST which helps us to rode out the oil price crisis. What PH doing is not biting the bullet but biting the cyanide capsule.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • 12yrsold john on May 30, 2018 at 4:04 pm

The some money U are talking is Not small $$$. That is billions we are talking here & we don’t have the billions NOW. To remove the rot, one must resort to STOP the rot from infection bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • raj banana on May 30, 2018 at 2:26 pm

Yeah. Just cancel it. Not a single one go to my work place anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
  • Johnson Amigo on May 30, 2018 at 2:33 pm

aiyooo….mrt the more better mah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Agong on May 30, 2018 at 2:39 pm

Create a congestion zone that is known as greater KL. Maybe borders at bangsar, cheras until kepong. To enter this zone during peak hours, pay a congestion charge of rm20. Unless you are driving KL plate car, a V plate.

So govt can start to reduce car prices unless one wants to have V plate, pay full tax and customs duties. Let’s talk about reducing half of excise duties of car price, and reduced loan period down to 6 years max.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • U decrease congestion by increasing prices, not reducing them. And removing the other alternative like MRTs just mean rakyat now stuck in hard place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Bunta Fujiwara on May 30, 2018 at 6:18 pm

That’d be a good idea. Adding more public transportations alone wouldn’t encourage people to utilise those facilities. Need some other way to limit traffic on city roads, thus encouraging people to use public transportations instead.

• MRT is good, probably the agreement include some portion of money to save the 1MDB

• vvvvvvvvvvvvv on May 30, 2018 at 3:04 pm

MRT line 3, 40km -> RM45 billion

• Jason on May 30, 2018 at 3:08 pm

Before you go bashing gov about abolishing MRT3, just look at the current MRT line, with the current pricing and ridership the developer is complaining they cannot earn and might need to hike price to cover the cost. If gov say no increase then.. Another hole in the pocket to pay to the company, they must hv foreseen the same issue with mrt3 thus decided to scrap first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Mr Hakim on May 30, 2018 at 3:24 pm

Yes, please cancel, doesn’t make any difference meh if got up to MRT 10 also. Jalan still jem macam tu jugak. Malaysian mana suka naik public transport meh semua nak naik kereta.

• NG SEE ENG on May 30, 2018 at 3:34 pm

MRT3 shouldn’t be called off. MRT3 being a circle line is to compliment both MRT1 & 2. The government should review the funding and project management. Furthermore, our engineers, contractors and managers have gone through the learning curve to be expects. Don’t waste it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Rizal on May 30, 2018 at 3:47 pm

I believed Tun M team had done their study prior to make the decision of scrapping the MRT 3 project. They might find it not a cost effective or rather will be redundant with the current MRT & LRT line and future LRT & MRT 2. Furthermore the usage is burdened during weekdays and you hardly see good traffic on Saturday and Sunday. People prefer self driving or take GRAB to downtown KL on weekend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • DonkeyKong on May 30, 2018 at 4:17 pm

The new govt has not done any studies! In fact, they’re not even gonna fully abide by the recommendations of the CEP. Their priority now is to inflate debt figures to make it look like we’re in dire straits (Congrats, Malaysia, we are now the only country in the world that has a finance minister who doesn’t know what are the IMF guidelines for calculating national debt), and eliminate Najib-initiated projects, and then do something similar with their own cronies.

We have plenty of reserves (over RM440 billion) and a tiny budget deficit (only 3% of GDP). We are far from going bankrupt. But you know la.. by spinning stories that the country is going bankrupt and that our debt is over RM300 billion higher than the IMF-recognized debt figures, this just makes it easier for them to make more money disappear without the rakyat questioning… they are robbing the country in broad daylight while the foolish rakyat say “Negara bankrap pasal Najib”..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 16
      • Hehe. When the country DO go bankrap becoz of their thievery, then they will point the finger at Najib at shout “Heres the prove that Najib DID bankrap us”. Higher ed did not make them smarter, it just made them more gullible.

• Mrt3 is essential and the main conectivity to mrt1 and mrt2 which will bring about better inyegration of the system. Otherwise,it will be like a chicken without head running aimlessly and will not serve the commuters requirements of travelling seamlessly without any hassle of inconvenience

• Done study? U mean 2 weeks of “study” can counter the 1 year worth done by MRT Corp, including the station locations? Is this the same kinda study that says MY is going bankrap but now suddenly we r economically sound?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • this new government lack of idea. MRT already proven benefit to rakyat. 1 trillion debt is misleading, another excuse to ditch their manifesto. Share market jitters, Ringgit keep tumbling. Please get the right people to manage the crisis before everything turn upside down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 17
  • Ben Yap on May 30, 2018 at 4:30 pm

good idea to scrap it off. The property market there will be stagnant and malaysians can consider buying at these places.

• Anonymous on May 30, 2018 at 4:33 pm

I just wonder those who bought the properties near MRT3 Line thought the price would increase in double after completion. Now they might be regretting to make that decision. Lol

• Imelda on May 30, 2018 at 4:38 pm

The ministry of transport must installed more feeder bus services with efficient networks more trips, more routes , more time conscious schedules and educate bus drivers to be moral and ethical in providing a good and timely services ( less stops for cheap teh tarik everything.)

Lastly increase the pay of bus drivers who are having good KPI and replace the bad ones instantly .

MOT should works towards efficient feeder bus services just like Singapore and HK and not sleep on the job later.

Public is watching MOT always.

• First of all, can MOT pay our bus drivers same living salary as SG & HK does, & gip them the proper training?

• JackLam on May 30, 2018 at 8:40 pm

Can’t wait for Anwar to replace this old man

• I m sad of such things, cancelation on MRT3.

• BullsEye on May 30, 2018 at 8:51 pm

Reduce reduce reduce hutang keliling pinggang…i support TunM decision. Next apply CBD charges to ease congestion in the city. Increase revenue, reduce expenditure especially those mega projects until we are financially strong again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • MRT3 is good to on-hold until we can afford.