Phase two of the Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) MRT line will be completed in one week and begin serving areas previously underserved, according to a Bernama report. The SBK line – the first of three planned MRT lines in the Klang Valley – consists of 19 new stations, of which seven are located underground, said MRT strategic communication and stakeholder relations director Datuk Najmuddin Abdullah.

“Fourteen of the new stations are strategically located in densely populated areas which have never been served by any urban rail services,” he said. The 14 stations mentioned are Muzium Negara, Tun Razak Exchange Centre, Cochrane, Taman Pertama, Taman Midah, Taman Connaught, Suntex, Sri Raya, Bandar Tun Hussein Onn, Batu Sebelas Cheras, Bukit Dukung, Sungai Jernih, Merdeka and Taman Mutiara.

The stations are also built to integrate other rail services for better rail connectivity, including KTM Komuter, LRT and Monorail services. The pedestrian linkway between the Muzium Negara station and KL Sentral was built to integrate the service in that area, said Najmuddin, who added that connecting stations also played a crucial role.

The second phase of the MRT SBK line is scheduled for launch on July 17, thus completing the full 51 km train line stretch from Sungai Buloh to Kajang. The first phase spanned 21 km, running from Sungai Buloh to Semantan with 12 stations along the way, and became operational last December – our man Danny Tan has given it a go on its opening day.

Meanwhile, MRT’s second line, the Sungai Buloh-Serdang-Putrajaya (SSP) line is work in progress and slated for completion in 2022, while the third line is still in the drafting stages.

GALLERY: MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang Line Phase 1