MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) Line Phase 2 – Semantan to Kajang section to be opened on July 17

July 17 will be the day that the Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) Line will be up and running in its entirety. That’s when Phase 2 of the project – which connects the operational Semantan station to Kajang – will be launched.

The specific date (17/7/17) being chosen for for its uniquenes, according to prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak. He said that when the full line is up and running, the service is expected to benefit more than 500,000 passengers daily, The Star reports.

Najib added that the MRT and other similar public transport projects will help spur national productivity and growth. “It is a necessity to implement an efficient public transportation system that will connect cities to towns and rural areas,” he said.

Last year, Phase 1 of the project became operational on December 16, and the route currently travels across 12 stations on 21 km of elevated tracks. The stations are Sg Buloh, Kg Selamat, Kwasa Damansara, Kwasa Sentral, Kota Damansara, Surian, Mutiara Damansara, Bandar Utama, Taman Tun Dr Ismail, Phileo Damansara, Pusat Bandar Damansara and Semantan.

Phase 2 will see 19 stations become operational, running from Muzium Negara and then on to Pasar Seni, Merdeka, Bukit Bintang, Tun Razak Exchange, Cochrane, Maluri, Taman Pertama, Taman Midah, Taman Mutiara, Taman Connaught, Taman Suntex, Sri Raya, Bandar Tun Hussein Onn, Batu 11 Cheras, Bukit Dukung, Sungai Jernih, Stadium Kajang before finally ending in Kajang station.

While the finalised station names were announced in November 2014, there have been a few stations that have been renamed, changed from the working titles given then. These are Batu 11 Cheras (formerly Bukit Dukung), Bukit Dukung (formerly Taman Koperasi Cuepacs), Sungai Jernih (formerly Sungai Kantan) and Stadium Kajang (formerly Bandar Kajang)

As announced last November, the fare for the MRT starts at a nominal fare of RM1 for a single stop, on a cashless structure, and RM1.10 on a cash basis, the rate being for a ride between the Pasar Seni and Merdeka stations.

The maximum fare, meanwhile, will be RM6.40 based on the cash fare structure, and RM5.50 based on the cashless fare structure, the rate covering the full 51 km distance across the 31 stations on the line.

GALLERY: MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) Line Phase 1, Sungai Buloh to Semantan

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sohhai on Jun 08, 2017 at 6:49 pm

Bravo so high fares

M’sia truly so high income nation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
    • Well, we r hitting towards that target soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Mikey on Jun 08, 2017 at 8:51 pm

If U practice – Shoot the arrow 1st & then call that a target, U will definitely hit the “Target”.

What target U are referring to john. High income or high in debts. U decide.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 08, 2017 at 9:28 pm

Ministers should show by example. Any Ministers take the MRT to work in Msia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
          • kuntatokkok on Jun 09, 2017 at 5:50 am

Hi big mouth, do you take MRT too? You should show example first BEFORE questioning pipu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Thanks Najib for gud public transport system. I hope he will next raise car duties to reduce traffic congestion problem

• According to EPF statistics, 78.3 percent of its contributors earn RM1500 and below. Costly transportation expenses eating up big portion of their pay.
            And public transport system supposed to be affordable to general public.
            Raise car duties? Harga kereta diturunkan 30%, No?
            i love pm

• Which sustainable hi income nation that has no debts, hmm?

• Mikey on Jun 09, 2017 at 8:40 am

Since U asked. Read more about your neighbor SG with 250% net CREDITORS. U know ONLY about COE isit? I suggest U stay there just to see how their Work culture. It is GUD 4 U to learn more.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 09, 2017 at 10:28 am

u , john n kunta should learn more how to understand n interpret info correctly..

• Why don’t you try driving from sg buloh to kajang and see how much in tolls you’ll get charged?

RM6 (thereabouts) for 51km is reasonable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Bash for the sake of bashing. Rm6 for 51km pum bising.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Mr. Octopus on Jun 09, 2017 at 8:47 am

It’s not the RM6 for 51km problem. It’s more like every stop RM1. Short distance travellers will feel the pinch.

A person travelling from Bandar Utama to Pasar Seni pays the same fare with a person travelling from Sg. Buloh to Kajang.

• Mrs Octopus on Jun 13, 2017 at 3:39 pm

Baca malas tapi nak kuat tipu je! Sg Buloh tu Kajang is RM6.40, whereas BU to pasar seni is RM3.50. All this information is readily available from mrt website, one only needs to look it up!

• Maynard James Keenan on Jun 08, 2017 at 7:50 pm

Public transportation, including the MRT will only work if motorcycles less than 200cc are banned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • Yeah. Its the only way to force MY to stop procrastinating and get used to public transports, instead of stuck in jams and complaining why so many cars on their roads.

• Mr. Octopus on Jun 09, 2017 at 8:51 am

Why on earth would that be so?

So many other countries with good public transport does not ban small bikes. Heck even their cars are much cheaper to buy but still, their public transport is good.

So is it because of bikes, or is it the peoples attitude?

• Jibby on Jun 09, 2017 at 10:54 am

What does motorcycles have to do with this tard?

• Taraguna on Jun 10, 2017 at 5:37 am

Ban small bikes? What? You should jadi menteri u know..

• Jaguarman on Jun 08, 2017 at 11:25 pm

The right time for cheapskates to leave their comfy private wheels at home & stop endless complaining on escalating petrol price & city parking fees. Comfort come at premium price.

• I think the bigger problem is that no promotion of its connectivity is ever advertised by the operator, Prasarana. I was browsing a friend’s FB the other day and I saw that the MRT Line 1 is actually connected to the LRT Extension Project via the MRT feeder bus service. This connectivity allows someone to get off at Surian MRT Station, take a feeder bus (RM1.00) to Lembah Subang LRT Station (15 to 25 minutes depending on traffic), and get on the the Kelana Jaya Line. This links you to Subang and PJ with nearby shopping such as Subang Parade, and of course on to KL Sentral.
    Some will say wahhh so susah, but in the end if you want to make a change it has to begin somewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • kampungEGGpower! on Jun 09, 2017 at 9:53 am

Some said these new train come with hidden airbag and aircond with multiple climate zones for customers to adjust through new app launching soon? Pls confirm features paultan!