Tesla Roadster to get optional SpaceX rocket thrusters

Tesla is at it again. Last month, its CEO Elon Musk said the Tesla Model 3 will get a high-performance all-wheel drive version that accelerates faster and handles better than the BMW M3. Big, bold claims there, but the billionaire isn’t done.

Apparently, the Tesla Roadster will get a new ‘SpaceX option’ that literally adds rocket thrusters to ‘dramatically’ improve acceleration. Musk tweeted that the “10 small rocket thrusters arranged seamlessly around [the] car” will “improve acceleration, top speed, braking and cornering.” It all sounds probable, but he also added “maybe they will even allow a Tesla to fly…”

Now, at this point it might start to sound a tad unrealistic, considering that the second-generation Tesla Roadster is targeted to sprint from zero to 97 km/h in 1.9 seconds without the thrusters. That would make it the fastest-accelerating production car in the world, and it also claims to have a near-1,000 km electric range as well as a 402 km/h top speed.

Musk later clarified that the thrusters on the Roadster will be ‘pure electric’, ruling out any fuel-based boosters in the all-electric sports car. It will apparently utilise composite overwrapped pressure vessels (COPV; designed to store fluid under pressure) to store the compressed air, and an electric pump will be employed to replenish air.

The Tesla Roadster will make it to production in 2020 with a base price of US$200,000 (RM798k). If you want your name to be on the waiting list, Tesla demands US$50,000 (RM200k). In any case, the electric sports car won’t be cheap, and currently only 1,000 slots are available. As for the rocket thrusters, what do you think? Is it at all possible? Leave your comments below.

GALLERY: Tesla Roadster

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Mikey on Jun 12, 2018 at 1:39 pm

Elon Mask, the maverick, billionaire, a qualified engineer, Big time entrepreneur & an Icon. With great Vision & DARED to dream.
    He is now thinking of making the Tesla Roadster with 10 small rocket thrusters. I guess when U have confidence & tons of $$$, U can speak like God & many will believe him. He(EM) will be remembered one way or another for his invention’s & daring enuff to make a point.

• This is like the Pacific Rim of cars. Soon elon will equip it with plasmacaster to remove anoying drivers

• Teslaaaah ! on Jun 12, 2018 at 3:03 pm

Tesla 3 already having so many problems why start another car that you know he cannot deliver!Cakap pandai buat tak boleh!

• Elon has seen how effective it is to promise 1st then see how to find excuse not to deliver it.

• Probably just a fun publicity stunt…. No need to get your panties in a bunch. Whatever it is, Elon will always be remembered as the man who dared to dream electric dreams and kick in the shut doors of the petrolheads club too afraid to think beyond IC tech. Onwards Elon!

• sampan 250kmph on Jun 13, 2018 at 4:39 pm

No rocket thrusters please!
    Do you know rocket fuel is highly toxic to our environment?
    Elon Musk should gets Tesla to start R&D into UAV drone that can carry passengers and not stuck a few rocket thrusters onto car to make it fly ok!