Tesla Roadster – second-generation debuts; 0-97 km/h in 1.9 seconds, 402 km/h top speed, 998 km range

As it turns out, Elon Musk is a big fan of surprises, and here’s another. This is the second-generation Tesla Roadster, the successor to the Lotus Elise-based, battery electric sports car that was first introduced in 2006.

Unlike the original, the new Roadster rides on a completely bespoke platform, and as you can see, has a design that screams, “look at me.” The front end does not downplay on the aggression, and incorporates slender LED headlights that link up with slim intakes at the corners of the bumper.

The sculpted bodywork features heavily-flared fenders, along with cues like an air outlet just behind the front wheels. As before, there’s still a targa top that you still have to fiddle around with, as there doesn’t appear to be a powered mechanism for the roof.

At the rear, you’ll find a small active rear wing tucked just above the ultra-thin tail lights, while the lower section is taken up entirely by a prominent diffuser element. The overall package isn’t just aerodynamically efficient, it also makes the Roadster quite stunning to look at, even from the back.

Of course, you might be seeing more of the Roadster’s rear, as Tesla claims the Roadster will deliver record-setting acceleration, range and performance. Full details on the electric powertrain aren’t released yet, but the car will have all-wheel drive and wheel torque is an amazing 10,000 Nm.

Performance-wise, the zero to 97 km/h (0-60 mph) sprint is said to be completed in just 1.9 seconds, and zero to 161 km/h (0-100 mph) takes 4.2 seconds. The top speed is claimed to be over 402 km/h (250 mph), while a quarter mile sprint is done and dusted in 8.8 seconds.

Should you prefer to focus on aspects beyond outright performance, like the all-electric range, you’ll be glad to know the Roadster’s 200-kWh battery pack is capable of 998 km, or 620 miles on a single charge. It’s also practical too – there’s seating for up to four people, so three of your friends can experience the brutality of the car’s performance together with you.

While inside, passengers can also tap away at the large, portrait-format touchscreen for the car’s infotainment system. However, only the driver gets to get his/her fingers on the racing-style steering wheel in the otherwise minimalistic cabin.

Tempted? Well, the car’s base price is US$200,000 (RM832,600), and if you want to be on the waiting list, Tesla will want US$50,000 (RM208,200). Also being offered is something called the Founder Series, which costs more at US$250,000 (RM1,041,000), and could come with more goodies. To reserve one of those, the full amount is required upfront, and only 1,000 slots are available.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ben Yap on Nov 17, 2017 at 5:14 pm

By the time you finish saying “hello”, you’re already at 100 kmph.

• “Performance-wise, the zero to 96 km/h (0-60 mph) sprint is said to be completed in just 1.9 seconds, and zero to 161 km/h (0-100 mph) takes 4.2 seconds. The top speed is claimed to be over 402 km/h (250 mph), while a quarter mile sprint is done and dusted in 8.8 seconds.”

“Well, the car’s base price is US$200,000 (RM832,600), and if you want to be on the waiting list, Tesla will want US$50,000 (RM208,200). Also being offered is something called the Founder Series, which costs more at US$250,000 (RM1,041,000”

And that is how to properly rub onto people who have bought the holy trinity (P1, LaF & 918) each costing more than a US$1mil. Wow this week with the Myvi and this is all about bang for bucks

• Geely dun allow Elon continue use Elise platform

• how to sit 4 in this roadster with that sloping rear? With the rear panel removed?

• Yeast Lump on Nov 18, 2017 at 12:12 am

10,000nm wheel torque can easily tow a tanker along!

• 12yrsold on Nov 19, 2017 at 11:26 am

Wow. All the figures looks Astounding if Not Amazing. 1.9 sec to 60 MPH & 4.2 sec to 100 MPH !!?

The Best part is this car have all-wheel drive & torque of 10,000 Nm. My God, 10,000 NM !!! This must be the 1st car to have this kind of figure.

The SAD part is with all the $$$ in the world, U have to WAIT even if U are the President of America & that is if U are still alive when they deliver the car.

• Bernard on Nov 19, 2017 at 10:51 pm

Can I trade in my black bumper kancil for this?

• Tan Ah Biao on Oct 15, 2023 at 4:19 pm

If this car come to Malaysia I will guarantee buy it. If not I follow your surname.