2019 Volvo S60 teased – official debut on June 20

Volvo has released a teaser of its upcoming S60, which is set to debut on June 20, 2018. This comes after a recent announcement that the sedan will be the first model to benefit from the new Polestar Engineered upgrade programme.

The brief video gives us an overhead view of the S60, allowing us to see the differences from its wagon sibling, the V60. The most obvious is the rear, which follows a standard sedan design with a large rear window.

It isn’t too far-fetched to assume the S60 will closely mimic the larger S90 in this area, a theory supported by spyshots and leaked photos. This new shape also requires new windows to be fitted, including the glass on the sunroof. The roof rails that were present on the V60 are also omitted on the S60.

As for the face, this S60 has undergone the Polestar Engineered treatment as the badge on the grille clearly indicates. It looks rather sporty too, with a bumper design that is close to the Polestar 1 plug-in hybrid rather than the V60 – note the size of the corner inlets and lower apron. Yes, the brand’s Thor’s Hammer LED daytime running lights are present here as well.

Based on the details from the Polestar Engineered announcement, the T8 Twin Engine powertrain will be available for the S60. The line-up should also include other petrol options like a T6 and T5, but Volvo has said the new S60 will not come with a diesel engine.

We’ll know more about the BMW 3 Series, Audi A4 and Mercedes-Benz C-Class competitor when the S60 makes its debut next week. For now, do you like what you see?

GALLERY: 2018 Volvo V60

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Osaka boy on Jun 14, 2018 at 6:09 pm

Cx3 can any time feel more premium than the chin car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Disillusioned boy on Jun 14, 2018 at 6:39 pm

I actually own a CX-3, an Audi and a Volvo, you’re dreaming.

• Hilter on Jun 15, 2018 at 10:41 am

Audi> mazda > volvo. Please bring in new A6.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 20, 2018 at 9:16 am

audi go into workshop much more than mazda and volvo. hence, audi > mazda > volvo

• Abu Bakar on Jun 15, 2018 at 1:53 pm

But john the dedak say Proton got Volvo technology now !! How??

• John May 9 Nangis on Jun 15, 2018 at 2:14 pm

I still like the XC90. My dream car!!!

• Sushi Sucks on Jun 15, 2018 at 7:16 pm

CX3 is a LONGKANG CUV..

More premium compare to JAPANESE LONGKANG !!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 16, 2018 at 10:07 am

u say cx3 more premium than merseelee GLA or A class…yes la…but sorry la…volvo…u should really try new volvo interior…sibeh avantgarde

• Anonymous on Jun 14, 2018 at 6:49 pm

Finally, after so looonnnnnngggggg………

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 15, 2018 at 11:21 am

Finally the 3 Series contender is here but I think we all can expect it to do well in the interior quality and exterior design as well as the comfort orientated driving.

• Quattro on Jun 15, 2018 at 11:08 pm

The Audi A4 still class leading in the interior quality and exterior design as well as the comfort orientated driving.