Tun M impressed by Proton SUV’s quality and build

Prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad recently got behind the wheel of a right-hand drive version of Proton’s new SUV, and the premier gave it the thumbs-up. According to The Malaysian Insight, the 93-year-old test drove the prototype car last week and was impressed by its good quality and make.

“I was testing the car. It was very good. The quality is very high and I think it is a good car for the market,” he said during a press conference. The Pakatan Harapan chairman also met several Geely representatives to discuss Proton’s future, and said it should have more Malaysian representation.

“Proton may be managed by Geely, but we want Malaysians to participate in the supply. Malaysian manufacturers should participate in the process,” he said. Tun M also told Bernama that “we want to try and have locals supplying the components and also maybe set up a joint venture.”

Proton’s SUV will be heavily based on the Geely Boyue facelift, and the bright red unit that Mahathir sampled is clearly a proper right-hand drive unit. Based on previous reports, Proton will be launching its first ever SUV by October and in CBU (fully-imported) form. Local assembly is scheduled to begin next year.

The new Proton SUV, which has yet to be named, will get a 1.8 litre turbocharged and direct-injected four-cylinder engine, as hinted by the TGDi badge on the doors. It makes 181 hp and 285 Nm of torque, and the engine is paired with a six-speed automatic transmission. The SUV will either be front- or all-wheel drive.

From what we know, the kit list will comprise of smaller 18-inch wheels rather than the 19s introduced on the facelift, and will be available with brown leather upholstery. Other features include a large panoramic sunroof, 360-degree cameras (with a three-dimensional view function) and an eight-inch touchscreen display.

Also on is a camera at the top of the windscreen to enable the car’s driver assist systems. These will include features like autonomous emergency braking, lane departure warning and adaptive cruise control. If the SUV is good enough to impress Tun M, will it be good enough to impress you? What do you think?

GALLERY: Geely Boyue facelift

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Mikey on Jun 26, 2018 at 10:48 am

Comment(impressed) coming from Tun who pilot a Porsche Cayenne will auger well for this SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Hondaman on Jun 26, 2018 at 12:15 pm

By leveraging on Volvo quality and build tech. Will see P1 topping the Customer Service Index (CSI) Study

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Pipu buy P1 bcoz of patriotism, not bcoz of service. No need to improve service. Just like if we sapot BN, we will not sapot PH no matter how gud they are

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
        • And pipu buy P2 becoz its cheap not becoz its gud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
          • Cheap is OK. Dun sell expensive like P1 when u are cheap and no gud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • yawnz on Jun 28, 2018 at 1:00 pm

Pipu buy p2 coz it is cheap, not good

• Volvo is Geely on Jun 26, 2018 at 5:44 pm

Nobody will buy xc90 after this suv launch. Why pay more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • azrai on Jun 26, 2018 at 10:49 am

The title should read ‘Tun M impressed by China Geely build Proton SUV’s quality and build” instead because the only Proton here is the grille and the tiger badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 23
    • “We needed more than 1,000 Proton engineers working with Geely engineers together. Every month, more than 100 engineers worked in Hangzhou, so this (SUV) is jointly developed.” – Dr Li

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 17
  • Bapak just realised what an Everest his P1 2.0 must climb now to surpass P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 19
    • Hahahah real joker. enuff of your personal attack. Get real & sapott P1, Betul2 Onz wei

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
      • And you are real basher, hijacking other pipu names

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
        • my england is bad on Jun 26, 2018 at 4:09 pm

small h dgn big H mmg same pipu.

• Basher can’t tell the difference between small letter and capital letter. Must learn back ABC from kindergarten.

• Hahaha! Basher dah kena kantoied again for stealing other pipus nick. And somemore he refuse to read or comprehension problem. Theres no where what I said that attack P1. What a foolish person who cant read.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • I instantly gets the communist vibes as soon as I see the interior design. It is like the car that suit more on North Korean road instead of Malaysian road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 39
    • Do share how does the car interior tells u its komunis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • betui on Jun 26, 2018 at 12:34 pm

Interior design – communist?
      Suits North Korean road?
      Care to explain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Anonymous on Jun 26, 2018 at 6:26 pm

Yeah. I get that capitalist vibe when I first test drove a Chevrolet, felt like the car was in control. Japanese cars have a socialist feel to it, very involving and everyone in the car with me agreed.
      (What the h*** am I talking about?)

• Why have you not become a communist with all those communist energy around you? Almost everything you use nowadays come from communist China. Clothes, electronics, tools, heck even the banners for the past general election mostly came from China. It’s really a wonder you can still retain your capitalism.

• tokmoh. on Jun 26, 2018 at 11:13 am

Tun M Power approves! All hail Proton! All hail Geely!

Proton, Geely > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • like suv on Jun 26, 2018 at 11:14 am

Great choice to to bring in the car with full-equipment. Others car brand should do the same to compete and goverment should reduce duties on car with latest/extra safety feature.

• applegreen on Jun 26, 2018 at 12:27 pm

I will buy this proton suv if overall quality is very good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • kenot on Jun 26, 2018 at 1:11 pm

malaysian and cronies has a different meaning. proton had suffered a lot due low quality part supplied by cronies company. i hope geely not compromise.

• No worries. All the compromised cronies now runs to new P1 2.0

• Yeoh B L on Jun 26, 2018 at 1:12 pm

What is the estimated cost of the full specs of this SUV?

• Bernard on Jun 26, 2018 at 2:27 pm

If below RM50k , maybe can sell…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • Not Toyota Fan on Jun 26, 2018 at 3:13 pm

Brader, Wira 1.6AT (high spec) launch price was RM 54,306 in 1993. Waja (high spec) launch price was RM 63,000 in 2000. Preve (high spec) launch price was RM 72,990 in 2012.

You think Boyue be below RM 50,000? That’s some good weed you’ve got there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Kilingkiang uu uu on Jun 26, 2018 at 3:47 pm

Proton says no to gila people like u

• This below 50k troll again…

• Not this ‘sell below 50k’ troll again…

• kzm (Member) on Jun 26, 2018 at 2:58 pm

better ask for free lor…why settle for RM50k?

• Ollie on Jun 26, 2018 at 3:45 pm

Just don’t shove this garbage down our throats. Proton fanboys can ejaculate all over this piece of scrap as long as the free market is upheld. Duno what is with this M and his obsessions with cars and Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • If this is garbage, then ur toyota junks r rotting waste.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 26, 2018 at 5:57 pm

Back in the 90s, when you’re nary even a sperm cell, we oldies had no choice, it was either a Proton (Saga) or Proton (Wira).

Today, you lot can have your choice of cars. Your money, your pasal. So why you say shove down your throat? You buy what you like lah. Don’t like Brand A, don’t buy. No need to disrespect others who maybe can’t afford what you buy.

Sure, sure, you want to show off that expensive car but realised that there are many others who aren’t as rich as you & can only afford Proton or Perodua.

• Free market? Hahaha, there is no such thing as free market in this world. Every country- even the USA- has some form of protectionist policies in place to protect local industries.

• bobacker on Jun 26, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Can’t deny China quality is going up. Prices too.

• In China u get what u pay. But MY pipu expectation is kancil prices for Mesidis quality. Manada logic.

• Mr Hakim on Jun 26, 2018 at 8:29 pm

I’m curious about the price mey…give me the numbers!

• Ross Lee on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:13 am

Paul Tan; and you can tell what is in Tun Mahathir’s mind? I would differ with you as the first thing that has happen to Proton is the Chinese implant Chinese Directors at all department both technical and non-technical throughout. They no better than us Malaysian and in fact in their 30s can’t speak English, not that qualified and most don’t have the credential and experience and salary paid in China! You seem to be proud of Geely when in fact they are not friendly and don’t care about the local laws. Is the model much better than before or those on the street? I would say, it is not. So, yeah, I guess a second look at it should be good i.e. including the management of proton and what benefit does it bring to Malaysia.

• stastasta on Jun 27, 2018 at 2:16 pm

mahathir said “we want Malaysians to participate in the supply. Malaysian manufacturers should participate in the process” . but i dont think geely will follow his wishes. i am sure geely will prefer to retain their existing suppliers . doubt that malaysian vendors can compete either on price nor on quality.