Proton SUV to get Autonomous Emergency Braking

It has been a week since Proton released a teaser video of its first ever SUV. In the video, several key features of the SUV were revealed, and they’re rather high-end, including voice command, adaptive cruise control and 360-degree 3D view (park assist).

Now, Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) has also been confirmed by Proton. Pair that with adaptive cruise control and active lane keep assist that were teased in the video, and Proton’s new SUV looks set to match the Honda CR-V’s Honda Sensing suite.

Other than the Perodua Myvi, which has a low-speed AEB in its top model (works at up to 30 km/h), the next cheapest cars to have AEB are the Hyundai Ioniq (RM114k), high-spec Mazda 3 (RM125k) and high-spec Peugeot 308 (RM128k). The Proton SUV should undercut the three comfortably.

As a recap, Proton’s C-segment SUV that’s based on the Geely Boyue has been described as the “first premium C-segment SUV produced by a Malaysian automotive brand.” It will even come with “features usually found on more expensive rivals” including a “long list of passive, active and cognitive safety systems.” The It will be launched towards the end of this year.

So far, no details pertaining to its powertrain have been revealed, but it will likely come with a 1.8 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine. It produces 185 PS and 285 Nm of torque, all of which are routed to the front wheels via a six-speed automatic transmission.

Apart from the above-mentioned features, the Chinese-market Boyue is also available with kit such as an eight-inch display screen with Apple CarPlay/Android Auto compatibility. Interested? Read our first impression of the Geely Boyue and watch the video review below.

Proton's 1st SUV Naming

Together, let’s create history! Your vote matters!Vote here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/Proton1stSUV_Eng Undi disini: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/Proton1stSUV_BM????: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/Proton1stSUV_Mand

Posted by Proton Cars on 4hb April 2018

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• lilytan on Apr 11, 2018 at 3:42 pm

“first premium C-segment SUV produced by a Malaysian automotive brand.”

Premium? If you consider geely boyue a premium model then it really shows how low u have become.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 109
    • Kilingkiang uu uu on Apr 11, 2018 at 4:45 pm

Why not? Chinese HSR, smartphones, carrier rockets, satellites, tanks, fighter jets and ballistic missiles are already world class, and u still thinking they cant make a world class car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 8
      • lilytan on Apr 11, 2018 at 5:27 pm

Kowtow all u want. That does not make potong any greater. 30 years plus yet still no brain and no brawn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 69
        • Kesianbetul on Apr 11, 2018 at 7:24 pm

Autonomous braking ? Eeerr…. I think the new MYVI beat Proton to it .. Always a step behind even with China now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 52
          • P2 punya is tipu AEB. Only works up to 30kmph. Like that, Aku Brek Sendri better. P1 is real AEB with ACC function. P1 no tipu customers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
          • At least P1 already offer the cruise control since their introduced 2002 1.8X Proton Waja and now P1 will introduced the adaptive cruise control in their upcoming SUV. Unlike P2 until now they didn’t offer even a cruise control yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
          • Why buy a China car when you can buy a Subaru Forester for nearly the same price??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
          • What?? on Apr 11, 2018 at 9:31 pm

Myvi ASA is primitive compared to Proton SUV system. More of a hype generator than something genuinely useful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
        • Soon name Proton will be dead. 5 yrs from now, no more Proton cars, only Geely cars in Malaysia

Proton cars will be collector items

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
          • Phaser on Apr 12, 2018 at 6:44 pm

Ye ke? Well, 100% of Perodua cars Daihatsu cars. Is the Perodua name dead?

• World class doesn’t mean premium.If you don’t know the meaning of premium, pls find out first before you start talking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • Cepat Brake on Apr 12, 2018 at 6:34 am

Yes Proton needs Autonomous Braking ! otherwise it will run out of road soon – the drivers are still fast asleep

• 12yrsold on Apr 11, 2018 at 5:20 pm

If they can call the P1 Iriz 1.6 as Premium, anything can be called premium by their standard I Guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 44
      • 7yrsold on Apr 11, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Premium here means the highest variant in a model line up. Pls kid, read more, learn more, ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
      • When its DRL, auto headlights, keyless entry & start, 6 airbags, ESC, TC, hill hold assist, better driving dynamics, better NVH, better perf, as compared to pisspoor Mivi with only 2 airbags & none of everything else?
        Yes, very PREMIUM alrite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • P2 call its top spec Advance. So, do you really expect an Axia Advance to be the most advanced car? Stop being pedantic, pal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • 12yrsold on Apr 12, 2018 at 8:49 am

Hehehe. Thanks for your reply guys. To Well, john & 7yrsold, thanks for confirming my point(anything can be called premium) in your version.
          I can accept your reasons knowing different people have different “taste” &/or standard. Cheers…

• rally_fan (Member) on Apr 11, 2018 at 5:25 pm

no.1 chinese car manufacturer and top selling suv in china vs all other brands proves geely isn’t just another chinese brand. will be interesting to see this SUV in the flesh when it launches here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
      • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 11, 2018 at 6:48 pm

Please get your facts right. Haval is the top selling & No 1 brand & manufacturer in China.

• Chock on Apr 11, 2018 at 10:25 pm

The Chinese in china love to support their own country product. Look at paultan here. Everyone hates proton and wants it to die. That is the difference!

• stastasta on Apr 12, 2018 at 2:24 pm

haval and geely got beg 1.5 billion soft loan plus billions of R&D grants from taxpayer ? thats the difference between proton and haval/geely.

• Imagine msian calling thai durian “premium”. That wld be blasphemous.

• ini kali lah - game changer materializes on Apr 11, 2018 at 4:50 pm

If the top specs Boyue with every damn thing “under the sun” thrown in goes for RM99,900 OTR, I think this time the Japanese competition will indeed feel the pinch.

One cannot compare Boyue with other chinese makes available in Malaysia i.e. cherry, alado, haval, etc. I strongly believe that what have been putting off the potential customers for these were worries about unreliable quality, long time need to get spare part, relatively few service centre and insanely low RV.

But the Boyue being a “proton car” (rebadge) with proven track record on quality & reliability of Geely, we cannot be compare with the above case. Proton has plenty of service centres (not to mention the new higher end renovated SCs), immediate availability of spare parts and “boleh tahan” RV (of course don’t expect T & H values), I feel that proton has finally got a winner this time!

Let’s keep our fingers crossed!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
    • What?? on Apr 11, 2018 at 6:24 pm

Haval H2 can tapau already. Proton SUV sold in the same price bracket but with more equipment and easier to maintain and find spare parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • They can put a mother box or a tesseract for all the people care. It won’t help if the car is still unreliable and the people still with bad attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
    • P2 is not that reliable nowadys, even P1 has surpassed P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
      • Bla bla bla…. another problem with Proton is that they don’t seem to hire people with intellect that can talk with substance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
        • Bobby on Apr 11, 2018 at 7:08 pm

Proton paid peanuts to workers and they get peanuts in return while the rest high up get solid meats for doing nothing . but just blah ,blah ,blah only on how to drain the coffees.

pay well and you get good , knowledgeable , hard working, qualified and dedicated .people with good talent then

once short change people , the desire to perform at best becomes sunset always

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • VitaraSwift on Apr 11, 2018 at 5:07 pm

So no proton vitara kah?

• Forget Vitara SUV that ride and handle like a SAMPAN that make passengers car sick

• Its still made in CHINAAA!! on Apr 11, 2018 at 5:37 pm

Pls buy and buy lots fast…i will look into it in 12months once the dusts sets ..i mean no parts falling off…no breakdowns in middle of roads…service is good…parts no need wait like ford or vw..do come bck here and share u experiences k..till than no way m touching this ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • Does ur ipongx parts falling off breakdown in middle of use, service not good, parts need to wait long long?

• Hehehee on Sep 11, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Aiyyohh.. Audi, mesedis, bi-em oso breakdown in middle of the road lahh

• Richard Tido on Apr 11, 2018 at 5:38 pm

Well done Geely

• Tell this to Tengku Mahaleel, he can shove his product renderings up his behind. Him, Mahathir and their legion of cronies are someones Proton can do without.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Good to know that…but still, i don’t want to become the 1st batch buyer.

• What?? on Apr 11, 2018 at 6:21 pm

Boyue has been around in China for 2 years now, so there’s no first batch worries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Khoo Kok Heong on Apr 11, 2018 at 9:05 pm

Geely may be just the strategic partner to redemp and revive Proton. Given Geely’s good track record, technological expertise and half ownerdhip in Proton, Proton is going to see a new lease of life. Geely’s serious involvement and its culture of manufacturing good cars into Proton, chances are bright that Proton may scale greater heights in the near future. I have confident Geely will make Proton great again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Ppl always thought tht proton problems is always on the technical know how. No, It is not. Their problem has always been their business side. Their business have never been sustainable and the biggest mistake is treating msian customer like guinea pigs. U can slap proton badge on a Rolls if u want but forgive u we shall not.

• Welcome to the 21st century Proton! And Malaysia as well.

• John L on Apr 12, 2018 at 3:47 am

Wow cool. Hopefully this technology will also be incorporated in other models, like the Iriz.

And hey, Paultan.org, you should really consider moderating the comments section. Whenever there’s a Proton or Perodua article, you can count on the same old trolls posting the same old comments over and over again. It really drowns out sensible comments from other readers.

• John L. on Apr 12, 2018 at 11:13 am

If this time you wanna bash P1, just make sure you don’t owned a China brand hand phone.

• John L on Apr 15, 2018 at 12:41 am

Oi.. Why you steal my screen name? Looks like I should register an account with Paultan.org…

• sompua on Apr 12, 2018 at 1:45 pm

tak beli dah proton, benci deal dgn attitude orang proton especially service center, tiap kali hantar kereta complain mesti ada yang menyakitkan hati

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 12, 2018 at 3:06 pm

Start realising that we are stuck in a time warp, living in past glory, stubborn to accept the new reality.

The new reality is that China has today overtaken us technologically. Yes they buy tech cos they can afford it but at the end of the day, they’re able to build cars, planes, helicopters, rockets with a certain degree of success.

Think of this Boyue as a Geely SUV, assembled by Proton. It surpasses anything currently available by Proton. This Boyue has been developed with a lot of help by Volvo (rumoured based on first gen XC90), the 1.8T engine share approx 50% common parts with Volvo, the active & passive electronic safety system (ESP, ABS etc) are sourced from Bosch, gearbox is Australian DSI (bought by Geely in 2009). Chinese cars have to be able to withstand wide ranging temp from ultra cold Tibet to tropical heat Hainan, superhighways of Shanghai to muddy potholes in rural areas. What impressed me with Boyue was the promotional tour 5D4N in the Urumqi desert; sand, high temperature, rough trails without a single breakdown. Even the air-conditioning worked nicely.

Yes, China can build good cars (with a lot of help from outside) & they’re actually better than what we imagine. Chinese consumers are a demanding tough lot to please, even worse than us demanding M’sian and this Boyue has managed to win them over (monthly sales almost Proton yearly sales). This SUV has NVH levels that’s surpasses anything we know today (even the T&H available here). The safety technology is beyond what P1 & P2 have today, comparable to what’s available in high end European cars.

Buy or not, at least do your own due diligence. Many of the information on Boyue is in Chinese but Google Translate is your friend, it’s not 100% accurate but at least you get the gist of it. I used to hate Chinese products preferring to be ignorant till one day Huawei phone caught my intrigue. After researching the company & product, my perception changed totally. Dont condemn just because of our own perception & ignorance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Ollie on Apr 13, 2018 at 1:55 am

OK so? Why must you fanboys force this down our throats? All the other established carmakers from Europe, Japan and Korea are ahead of you, and can make a better quality car at a lower price point. Why must we settle for China junk? Just cos you’re a major fanboy salivating over China? Get a life.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 13, 2018 at 5:59 pm

You remind me of myself 20+ years ago; full of one sided opinion, arrogant and unwilling to accept the other side of the coin.

It’s okay to be like that. We go through different phases throughout this life.

If you re-read the last para, the first and last line, you’d understand what I’m trying to say. I’m not forcing anyone to buy nor was condemning the other more established manufacturers. Granted the established manufacturers are able to produce quality cars for a lower cost BUT reality here in Boleh-Land is that the crappy exchange rate, taxation and excise duty made it unaffordable for many. Sadly, our country has come to the point where we have to settle for “Chinese junk” as the Western manufacturers have shy away from purchasing Proton (for obvious reasons).

Not everyone is as fortunate to own those more established manufacturers cars. Those lucky enough, like yourself & myself, must also understand the plight of those not as fortunate as us. Maybe for you, nothing but the latest iPhone willmsuffice but for many Joe Average, a “Chinese junk” like Xiaomi is the best they can afford.

BTW, I’m not a Proton fanboy, just someone who study & analyse something & came out surprised with what I found. That was why I wanted to share with others here.

And I already have a life; lived through many ups & down, experienced sweet & bitter times.

• lilytan on Apr 13, 2018 at 9:07 am

Geely is what proton could and should have become. Kudos to them.

• mydragoon on May 31, 2018 at 10:11 am

have to say… the rear brake lights look kinda tiny. hope the local design teams can make it BIGGER.

• The price of new SUV proton?