SPIED: Geely Boyue SUV tested in Malaysia by Proton

The Geely Boyue has been spotted testing in Malaysia. These pics of the Chinese SUV were snapped by reader Mamu Penang in Putrajaya and on the Elite Highway. They show a white Boyue that’s uncovered save for black tape on the emblems, wearing ‘B’ trade plates commonly used by Proton. This mule is a left-hand-drive unit.

Of course, the Geely Boyue will be the base for Proton’s first ever SUV, which is set to surface at the end of this year or in early 2019. What’s taking them so long? Well, a right-hand-drive Boyue does not yet exist, and Proton will have to adapt the SUV for our RHD market. The eventual Malaysian-made “Proton Boyue” will also need to have local parts.

“Any products that we will bring from Geely and from elsewhere outside Malaysia, it will take time, because predominantly these products are left-hand drive, so to convert to right-hand drive will take some time. The level of the CKD programme that we are going to have for new products will also have to be detailed out, and this will include the RHD conversion and local components that are supposed to be produced here,” DRB-Hicom MD Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar said in September 2017.

“We will have three car clinics. We should understand what do Malaysian customers would want. Then we will, according to their needs, redesign [the car],” said Li Chunrong, CEO of Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Sdn Bhd. With the Boyue undergoing real-world testing, we know that work has started.

The Boyue sits squarely in the middle of the C-segment SUV market, size-wise. A five-seater, it is available with a range of engines, with the most powerful being a 181 hp/285 Nm 1.8 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, which is paired to a six-speed automatic transmission. The SUV can be had as a front driver or with AWD in China.

There’s plenty of available equipment in the Chinese-market Boyue, including a seven-inch digital instrument cluster, a panoramic sunroof, a 360-degree camera and an eight-inch infotainment system with WiFi, Apple CarPlay and voice control. It is also offered with a full complement of safety features including autonomous emergency braking and adaptive cruise control there.

Like what you see? Find out more in our first impressions review of the Geely Boyue.

GALLERY: Geely Boyue

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• old horse on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:05 pm

hope protong will add in their own design at least…just like the accordana..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 18
    • lilytan on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:24 pm

That would be a disaster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 18
      • Iskandar Che Wah on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:47 pm

Proton is banking to much on this to save them. But Proton must realise they are a low cost car seller.

According to Proton’s onw CEO, 75% of Proton’s total sales are Saga and Persona. So, we can guess that the balance 25% is Perdana…which is is 100% ordered by the Government.

Malaysians will never pay anything more than RM60k for a Proton. How are they going to sell Geely with an estimated price of RM99k?

Even Suprima and Perdana failed big time. Please Proton, please wake up. Malaysians are too scared to spend more than RM60k on a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 41
        • DownTubes on Jan 04, 2018 at 5:33 pm

What do you drive ? A Proton Boyue.I rest my case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • I rest my case? Nak tiru mat salleh konon. Sendiri tanya, sendiri i rest my case. Memang mentality proton. Gaya je lebih. Substance takda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • Anonymous on Jan 05, 2018 at 1:47 am

Malaysians expect so much and wants to pay so little just because it is a national car brand. No c-segment SUV with a high enough standard is sold for sedan prices. I’ve read comments about hoping it would be priced 70k? Ridiculous. Take away all the tax and excise duties, what is it that we can actually buy with 70k? Even the crv starts at almost 120k in Langkawi. To downgrade a CRV equivalent SUV to be sold for 70-80k would turn it into a “typical Proton”. Good cars are expensive, even the cheap ones. The Dacia Sandero for example, cheapest car in the uk at £6000. Have all the safety features like ABS, EBD, VSC, side airbags etc. For it to be priced at £6k though, aircond is optional, among other cost saving measures.

Also it’s not true that Malaysians won’t buy a Proton over 60k. I see many top spec Preves, and new Perdanas (the civillian version). The Suprima S failed because they took a Preve and made it less practical, and uglier. I can’t think of why it was made in the first place, it didn’t fit anywhere in the market. Should have saved that money for R&D of the Iriz.

The only thing stopping Malaysians from buying a 100k Proton SUV is that, it hasn’t been made. If the quality of the Boyue is as good as reviewed, and Proton’s chassis tuning gets in the mix, Proton can put up a fight in this segment considering the prices of the other alternatives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • Government department need SUV also.. Now they buying Nissan X-trail and Pajero sport. So Boyoue surely have market here..

• jonstagram on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:48 pm

can see Boyue go faster than Myvi. but slower than Axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
    • new horse on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:28 pm

Pls don do that. the accordana is damn ugly shit. Go and check out how many of ur friend or relative actually own one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
    • Iskandar Che Wah on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:29 pm

For 30 years, despite billions given to Proton, Proton cannot even do their own designs.

Infact, according to official figures by Mustapha, Proton has been given over RM20 billion of free money. These are official figures. Unofficial figures as we know is many times that figure.

Sad that after 30 years, we are only a rebadger. This Geely, we can only rebadge. We can’t even put our own Malaysian design onto it.

It is pretty disgraceful and sad that for 30 years, we also have only come out with just 1 engine, the Campro. Other car companies, come out with a few new engines every year

We have nothing to be proud of Geely. It belongs to China and the clever people of China have now found a way to sell it in Malaysia.

Sad, 30 years have passed, Proton has been protected so much, car prices have gone up by 700% because of protection to Proton…..and we only have this China made car for Malaysians

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 15
      • YB Albert Kunta on Jan 04, 2018 at 4:22 pm

Iskandar
        You know the Titanic is at the bottom of the ocean.What gomen is doing is pumping billions to do a salvage job on P1.
        Look at Mh 370…morally gomen tries to do something.But P1,I think Geely is getting gila looking at the immense amount of politics within and without.
        Salvage jobs take billions of taxfunding which could be better used for hospitals,schools,rumah yatim,drug rehab centres etc.
        Just a failed experiment…just let it fold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • P1 is like Black Pearl. Elusive but desirable by all, may look worn out but it has its secrets up its sleeves, the underdog in competition but alwiz comes out tops, unsinkable despite the odds, and even thou its capabilities is trapped like in a bottle, it only takes a right poke to expand it to its full potential.

Tis be the ship of ships, matey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
          • Geng Cukur on Jan 04, 2018 at 9:08 pm

Nice weed u have bro, care to share some ?? LoL

• Nah. Ur weed is stronger than mine. Care to share urs?

• Ghani Kamal on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:34 pm

i like to appeal to the test team members. can you all switch off the radio, your handphones and stop talking while doing work?

the reason is – ask iriz and persona Mk.II owners about dashboard noise. proton engineers has been testing the cars for many months and yet never detect the problem (which is very annoying and hit almost every unit).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
      • Pyraxle on Jan 04, 2018 at 8:07 pm

My Iriz had no dashboard noise problem so far, but i got this ‘krakk’ sound when I’m turning the steering at low speed. Strangely it also happened to my Honda City but with less noise than the Iriz. Is there anyone here know why (is it because of my driving style?) and how to fix it cause i already went to SC and complain but still no action has been taken. Both car are bought in 2014 btw.

• Just looks perfect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • Hyped on

• What?? on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:20 pm

Actually, there’s already a RHD prototype being made that was leaked to another site back in late 2017 but probably hasn’t undergone road tests as of yet. If it all goes to plan, we’ll see the final product around September I predict.

And supposedly an internal source claimed there will be updates done to the Saga and Persona coming in Q1 this year. I won’t specify what they are but expect changes in safety in the lower spec variants and equipment upgrades on higher spec variants.

One last thing, Geely’s new MPV is set to be ready by Q4 2018 so I expect an Exora replacement based on it in 2019.

All in all, some busy and exciting times ahead for Proton. Probably their busiest since 2016.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • thepolygonal on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:20 pm

I do hope Malaysia will become right hand drive assembly plant for Geely cars, meaning we get to export as Geely to the RHD markets like europe with marketing and sales all done by Geely themselves. This will really help boost our economy. Meanwhile locally we get the rebadged Geely as Proton. So we get both local + overseas market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • ex-VGM staff on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:38 pm

only 1 country is RHD like Malaysia, which is Great Britain. the whole Europe is LHD. there is a reason why Geely or any China make cars dont dare or bother to market the cars there.

firstly – China alone is a market as big as Europe.
      secondly – europe has many better and reliable brands, incl from VW group and Fiat group.
      thirdly – china make cars are lacking on image, and this will make it very difficult to penetrate the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
      • European car ≠ Reliability

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • iFacepalm on Jan 04, 2018 at 5:09 pm

Japan is also RhD (with some being LHD) . Goddammit can you at least google before you want to make a claim?

• YoDude on Jan 05, 2018 at 1:22 am

A lot weh RHD countries.

• Afeeq on Jan 06, 2018 at 9:35 am

England, Ireland, Scotland, Cyprus, Malta are all European countries that drive on the left. We don’t have to focus on Europe only, tons of Asian and African countries as well as a few South American countries drive on the left and have RHD cars. Also Caribbean countries like Jamaica, etc. 30% of the world drives on the other side, that’s a big chunk and its only growing….We can also export cheaper cars to poorer countries in the Pacific.

• YoDude on Jan 05, 2018 at 1:24 am

Apparently Indonesia have Geely in their market and it seems to be RHD?

• lilytan on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:27 pm

Hopefully it will be priced like a geely. Max price 90k fully loaded.

• What?? on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:55 pm

Sorry to burst your bubble but FMT got a report from a Proton official saying that the Boyue will cost roughly 70-75% of what the competitors cost. So for example, the base CR-V is RM142,400 so multiply that by the % and the base Boyue will be about 100-107k. A top spec CR-V is RM167,700 so a Boyue equivalent would be around the 120k range.

As I’ve said before, Proton can price it however they like as long as it’s lower than the Perdana.

• GUAN YIN MA on Jan 04, 2018 at 4:12 pm

I duno who is your ” proton official”, but trade minister ONG KA CHUAN already said it will below rm100k. The car AWD top spec only cost 150k yuan =95k ringgit.

• fzl.ahm on Jan 05, 2018 at 8:28 am

Can you feel something is not right when minister gave statement on behalf of private corporation?

• Dunno. US politicians seems to be giving statements about anything private under the sun. So…

• The hot keeps getting hotter. 1 million fans awaiting.

• Boateng is always shiok sendiri looking to get spyshots but being underwhelming with the final product.

Cheers to numerous spyshot posts talking about headlight design, grille design, door handle design, wiper design, handbrake design, etc.

• Wait, din fake jepunis oso shiok sendiri tease here and there their untested car https://paultan.org/2017/11/09/new-perodua-myvi-makes-public-debut-in-malaysia/

• GUAN YIN MA on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:41 pm

Boyue is now the hottest SUV in china.

• Boyue alredi hottest SUV in MY, and its not even on sale yet! Its gonna be like ipong on 1st day.

• Therealmaserati on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:48 pm

I rather trust Japan(Perodua) than China( Proton).

There is a reason why Japanese cars are legendary compared to junk from Korea and China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 63
    • With steelgate, QAgate, airbaggate, & axlegate, jepunis quality is a pale shadow of their reputation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
    • CaptainM on Jan 04, 2018 at 9:18 pm

No one trust Japanese cars at all now!!– period

If it was not because of USA , The world will still be thinking that Japs cars are still good and better than others . Hell not now!!

The japs had been concealing the air bags scandal ( Takata air bags) for years that eventually kill many drivers rather than saving lives ( one good example is a Honda car air bag erupted in Sarawak that had kill a driver ).

The engagement of non certificate car inspectors happening in Nissan Japan

The bull shit fuel consumption claimned by Mitsubishi car Japan

The Kobe steel scandal that uses the falsify data use to supply cold roll steel for japanese cars- hence , steel strength and safety issue are questionable.

Toyota engine talkabout reliability but actually drink a lot of fuel too ( high fuel consumption)

Japanese car is not legendary but legendary bull shit and fasification of their cars specifications only . Only stupid consumers in malaysia buy japs car ( even japs car in Malaysia had got bad RV nowadays )

Smart consumers buy continental and koreans . Koreans does not falsify and conceal datas like the Japs .

So far China , they are up and coming . Currently, China only takes the best and proven technologies from European( except for VW and Audi diesel gate scandal ) and Koreans to make their cars better for the masses . One way to say at least never heard of any china car bad scandals or falsification.

So how can you say japanese car are legendary but surely it is a legendary in making cars for the lower middle and middle class people then ( not for the rich and upper brackets) who could not afford to pay more for better and more luxury cars !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • Ollie on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:51 pm

Definitely need these kind of vehicle on the road to indicate the mindset of the person driving. Like how Alphard/Vellfire indicates borderline psychosis. Like how BMW indicates finger injuries that disable use of signal stalks. The Boyue would indicate zero knowledge on cars, basically informing the world on your lack of brain matter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 39
  • Bernard on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:56 pm

Sell it below RM50k for the top spec model and maybe just maybe some people might buy….

Anyway, the name Boyue sounds well……. Planning to change it to something nicer?

• I don’t think it is possible for an SUV to be priced under RM50k, even a small hatchback like Myvi priced at almost RM60k.

• 12yrsold on Jan 04, 2018 at 4:03 pm

All the testing & teasing is a waste of time. The Big question is – When will it be made available to M’sian. This looks like another Toyo CHR S L O W intro. By the time it arrive, most people already buy a Honda CRV or CX5.

• mendonan on Jan 04, 2018 at 4:17 pm

here comes Proton Bayu…!

Hehehehe…

• Problematic Iphone on Jan 04, 2018 at 4:36 pm

Listen up lads..hate to break it to you. Its MADE IN CHINA ! So buy at yr own risk. As you can see its been tested on our roads to see if any parts falls off k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
  • gti owner on Jan 04, 2018 at 4:51 pm

Finally the so call Boyue > all is here

• norman ismail on Jan 04, 2018 at 6:57 pm

With fuel prices heading north this guzzler will struggle. Its like turning up when the party is over – end 2018.

• Kuinosan on Jan 04, 2018 at 7:47 pm

The Boyue is too big an SUV and not suitable for the Proton line up. A Suprima based SUV would be just nice for Proton. Not this Boyue. Period!

• the only thing fix are
    make it lower and wider…even by a bit. then it ready for msia market.

• Price it wisely…. For sure P1 Bayu can boost P1 sales…..

• hope p1 input on:

1-ride & handling
    2-styling..bayou style really old school

• price it around rm80k-90k it will sell like hot cakes

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 05, 2018 at 10:01 am

Hi Proton.

Obviously your car clinics are not working very well or you are dealing with a bunch of YES men.

Judging from your recent product portfolio, your selection criteria for your car clinics are probably pretty screwed up.

Exora (with no ISOFIX). Suprima (why???). Iriz (equally why?). New Persona (OMG! that look). Accordana (good try but with missing safety gear).

WTF.

• Lyana on Feb 05, 2018 at 9:02 am

My last car from proton and d only one is Wira 1.5(M). will not buy again from Proton. Im still drive it untill now event i already have Nissan Sentra Nismo Sport 1.6 (M) The Engine, gearbox for my Wira… still ok.

Why proton not produced the brand like it nowaday? I think Wira was a ‘heroes car for Proton’ that time…right?