Proton Boyue SUV – why it’s only coming in end-2018

Back in July, it was reported that Proton’s new SUV, which will be based on the Geely Boyue, is expected to enter the market only by the end of 2018 or early 2019.

Speaking at today’s DRB Hicom and Geely joint press conference announcing the new board of Proton, DRB-Hicom MD Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar explained the reasons why the vehicle is still more than a year away from market deployment.

He said that a fair amount of work will be needed to localise the vehicle for series production, hence the somewhat lengthy timeframe.

“Any products that we will bring from Geely and from elsewhere outside Malaysia, it will take time, because predominantly these products are left-hand drive, so to convert to right-hand drive will take some time,” he said.

“The level of the CKD programme that we are going to have for new products will also have to be detailed out, and this will include the RHD conversion and local components that are supposed to be produced here,” he added.

The partnership will also be studying a number of other aspects, including what is needed to attract local buyers. Li Chunrong, the newly-appointed CEO of Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Sdn Bhd (PONSB), said that the most important for the company is to focus on customer satisfaction.

He added that the automaker will conduct a series of focus group sessions to determine market requirements. “We will have three car clinics. We should understand what do Malaysian customers would want. Then we will, according to their needs, redesign [the car],” he said.

Geely executive VP and CFO Daniel Donghui Li added that work on the new vehicle to ensure its prompt arrival was being pursued aggressively. “The team, including our Malaysian and Chinese colleagues as well as Geely’s R&D team in China will have a very intensive timetable to deliver the new product.”

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• The people only interested with what’s coming to store in the next few months. Not something so far away. Announcing something so far away won’t help. Just like TN2050.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 12
    • We buy Boyue than CX5, CRV, Xtrail blablabla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
      • Tidur Oh Tidur on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Proton is currently losing RM4 mil per day based on the RM1.5 bil loss they made the last financial year.

So, where is Proton going to get money to pay their 12,000 workers from now till end 2018???

Cause the RM1.5 bil and RM1.8 bil loan by the gomen aka rakyat, already finishing

Proton also only got RM170 mil for the 49.9% stake of Proton they sold to Geely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 86
        • Really? Which of ur fantasy dream that converted Rm470mil to 170mil?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 73
          • Khalid on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:44 am

pls show us proof that Proton was sold for RM470mil.

• Must give double salary increments to Proton & civil servants to double their productivity

• timbuktu on Oct 01, 2017 at 12:18 am

Kunta is right again!

Link – https://paultan.org/2017/06/23/proton-geely-fsp-deal-in-detail-what-drb-hicom-geely-and-the-malaysian-government-will-be-getting/

• Its in the news bub. Pls read instead of just bash from cave.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Sep 30, 2017 at 7:23 pm

2019 end also can. Rakyat never waited in the 1st place. Meantime, P2, H, T are destroying Proton market share. Tick tock tick tock!

• “It will be very difficult for me for the next 14 months, because we will have no new products. But we have some metrics to do something. For example, we can improve customer satisfaction, SSI and CSI. Then we can get more potential good dealers to come with us together,” said Li Chunrong

Why u no bash ETCM?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 39
      • john geli on Sep 30, 2017 at 12:02 am

Why u no bash previous P1 CEO?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Becoz previous P1 CE was remote controlled and had no say what to do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • john lalang on Oct 02, 2017 at 1:36 am

He is an adult, who can control him? Unless he is like u, a lalang. Oh wai…

• Khalid on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:45 am

We don’t bash ETCM because they work hard. Unlike Prootn, where all are goyang kaki and just losing money daily

• Tan Chong on Sep 30, 2017 at 12:57 pm

What got to do with ETCM, bodo?

Now go and lick your new boss…

• Peter on Sep 30, 2017 at 11:40 am

Call it realistic or cruel if U like, even introducing SUV this year end is late, moreover next year. We’re even talking abt crossover & mini SUV now. This market’s not yours, we got competition. What do you thing the result will be when you introduce that Boyue at 2018 2nd half?
      I think it’s only to help clearing off Geely inventories.

• pak Yo on Oct 02, 2017 at 9:15 am

jangan sembang mcm sume orang sama pikiran ko boleh x? sembang bikin bimbang

• Focus group meeting ...when? on Sep 29, 2017 at 4:28 pm

The focus group should include all of us here in PT forum ok..do sent out the invites to us asap…believe us we know wats best for the customers..just read the past 3 years posting is enuf to gauge our expertise ok..tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
  • New Proton CEO,
    Skip all those meetings and let me tell you what malaysian wants :
    1) Fuel Saving Vehicle
    2) Good NVH and Comfy
    3) 0-100kmh below 10s car
    4) Sporty design
    5) All the above at the price of peanuts.

Ok now less talk and launch the car already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 17
    • 1,2,5 yes it’s malaysian want ,but the rest are ah beng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Jimmy on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:44 pm

Reasonable quality/durability/reliability and good aftersales service.
        I am not talking about premium/luxury market, right now at this particular point.

• No 3 is not a strong point, in 12-13s is also fine.
      No 5, not really a peanut. We want reasonable & competitive price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Boyue suv
      1)9.5 l / 100km fuel consumption in realistic
      2)66.9db at 80kmh
      3)0-100kmh 9.29 second (2016 spec)
      4)floating roof design
      5)99k myr starting point

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Pls lah on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Malaysian want affordable price n reliable car, cheap to maintain

• You never heard of the saying: Pay peanuts and you only get monkeys? I would rather Proton do everything right at an acceptable increase in price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Rightwinger on Sep 29, 2017 at 7:00 pm

You pay peanuts you get monkeys…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Great! Next u will claimed all MY pipu demands RV higher than purchase price, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • fadzili Rahman on Sep 29, 2017 at 4:34 pm

every car maker/ assembler in Malaysia or other country can roll a new car basically immediately ass CKD and later go for localization. in this case its DRB plan to force their ideas on Geely, same way they made Honda to exit. Also to make sure the supply is given to their own DRB WARGA companies. by next years 2018 we are lucky if we see a GEELY-PROTON still alive if DRB wants to play their game again. Let Geely fully do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • Name which car that was immediately available here as CKD after international launch. Go on, I will wait. You forgot that the Boyue was not designed to be RHD from the start, so the amount of work to ensure the reliability and safety of the conversion is extensive. Most cars that launched here were designed to be RHD from scratch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • malldisc on Sep 30, 2017 at 10:52 am

wrong. most japanese cars are designed in both RHD and LHD form from scratch. and most of mass production european cars. reason – UK is RHD, and almost all commonwealth countries are RHD as well.

• Hmmm… Geely Malaysia or PON…. which one sounds better?

• Proton sounds best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • GeeNa on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:34 pm

Seperti dijanjikan, harga kereta akan diturunkan secara berperingkat hingga 2017.

• Cukurlah ada kerajaan prihatin rakyat. Rakyat wajib sapot PON walaupun harga kereta diturunkan

• Dun worry. Even Elon’s smartness, ingenuity and bottomless cash, too, requires 2 years to convert their OWN car to RHD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
  • Operation Manager on Sep 29, 2017 at 4:45 pm

SUV. Better late than never..

• tokmoh. on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:03 pm

Geely boyue > all

Watch out CX-5, CRV, tongsan is comiiing

• drillero on Sep 29, 2017 at 7:08 pm

Dont overtly confident, mate. Too soon to say. Another flop another Tiara-ra then Geely is gone case.

• Don’t understand estimate the Chinese
        China = can do wonders..
        Go China and see how advanced they are now than us..

• Still stuck in cultural revolution mentality though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • China can but Proton can’t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • P2 oso can do wonders. 1st car in the world with self-detaching axles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • john oh john on Oct 02, 2017 at 1:40 am

Nope, that honour will go to P1. Remember Preve with broken axles?

• Preve never had broken axles. Only P2 did

• pak Yo on Oct 02, 2017 at 9:17 am

MY pipu mostly noob in knowledge.. they only copy barking words from other pipu.. pippppuihhhh

• AkooIm on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:07 pm

Proton is always take time to produce a good product to their expectation…
    Meetings here and there, clinics here and there, discussion here and there, procrastinate some more…
    After few years, they launch their car and it will be outdated already… just like that silly accordana…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
    • RedBeanArmy on Sep 29, 2017 at 7:12 pm

Outdated just like your mind-boggling and horrendous English I suppose? Unsubstantiated allegation made by just another ah beng who knows nothing but to bash others while having no constructive comment to offer. Shame on you loser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 26
      • RedShirtPatriot on Sep 30, 2017 at 12:46 pm

You should learn English first before bashing others with your Nasi Lemak comment

• John Tongsan on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:14 pm

Here’s what we want from Proton cars:

1. Remove Campro, replace it with Toyota dual-VVTi engine. Minimum 15km/L fuel economy.

2. Remove Punch gearbox, replace it with Aisin Toyota gearbox.

3. Signal stalk on right-side of steering wheel, not on left side.

4. A 10-years car warranty + 10-years free service parts & labour (unlimited mileage).

5. New chief designer. Preferably Peter Schreyer.

Fulfill all the above and Proton surely can sell 1 million cars per year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 86
    • Here’s what we want from Proton cars:

1. No dinosar engine like Toyota dual-VVTi fuel guzzler.

2. No ancient noisy and selowpoke gearbox like Aisin Toyota gearbox.

3. Keep the signal stalk left, as its more intuitive.

4. Reasonable warranty & servicing unlike unrealistic & stupid basher demands.

5. New chief designer. Preferably NOT copycat Schreyer.

Fulfill all the above and Proton surely can sell 1 million cars per year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 86
      • john bushido on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:37 pm

Are these what we want from Proton cars?

1. Dinosar single VVT-i engine. Toyota is using dual VVT-i while Proton only came out single VVT-i recently, which is more dinosar?

2. Jerky PUNCH CVT. Aisin gearbox ancient? It is a reliable gearbox, even BMWs are using them. At least much better than jerky and unreliable PUNCH CVT

3. Left signal stalk. Don’t know about you but 9/10 people will want the signal stalk on right side of steering for RHD

4. Warranty period. I thought you very proud to have life time warranty on Proton’s power windows? Now you are saying unreasonable ah?

5. New designer chief? Why need new chief designer? You’re saying current design no good meh?

For a company that is losing money and using rakyat’s money all this while, Proton can sell 1 million cars per year is only in your fantasy dream

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 49
        • Are these what we want from Proton cars?

1. Toyota dual-VVTi which has lesser output and lousier response and need more grunt to get going than previous dino engine? Their dual-VVTi went backwards into Permian age.

2. BMW might use Aisin, but those Aisins in toyota is 20 years old tech. Slap it into Vios, the gearbox whine is even louder than engine noise and yet it doesnt go. Reliable? All GB are. But why want a lousy, outdated, noisy GB?

3. Dunno about u, but 9/10 that used left signal stalk now prefers it there. So why put on left side when majority is right hand that needs to alwiz hold steering?

4. Yes, for me its unrealistic & unreasonable. Nothing last forever. Them same as those stupid demands for lifetime warranty and free servicing for whole car. Isnt that unreasonable ah?

5. Designer for Iriz, Persona2 & Saga3 is gud. But the chief that did Perdana2 is lousy, so shud replace him. But not with Mr Copycat. Anybody but him.

I bash with facts when I need to and I praise with facts when I need to. Besides, I din say P1 can sell 1 mil cars. U did. So why get angry at what u said?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 40
          • Bash with Fact on Oct 02, 2017 at 4:01 pm

What’s wrong with the new Perdana design? it looks damn good compared to the Accord it was based on.

• Nazee on Oct 01, 2017 at 6:33 pm

2. Bmw uses ZF primarily.
          3. So all continental cars are unfriendly to 9/10 of drivers in Malaysia? No wonder majority never use signal light…BUT, it happens even to right hand stalk cars. So?

If you can learn to wank with your left hand, I’m sure you can learn to use signal light on left hand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 31
    • Nasi Ambeng on Sep 30, 2017 at 9:42 am

So, all technology copied. No local brain or talent used. As usual, drink air kelapa mudah and tidur.

• lilytan on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:32 pm

At least it will be proper CKD unlike the others who are only good at changing stickers.

• Powershot on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:36 pm

How do I sign up for these focus group sessions? ;)

• Start by giving useful constructive comments instead of blind bashing and shoving unrealistic demands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 22
      • Powershot on Sep 30, 2017 at 12:53 am

Where did i give un-constructive comments? Stop berlagak like u are the big boss that own this place. U are nothing but a macai paid to give distorted views here and hope that the sheep will listen to u

• Chock on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:27 pm

a 30 year old Malaysian company does not know what Malaysians want!

Comeone geely, you bought proton and proton have been around for 30 years and it doesnt know what malaysians want? THen you buy proton for what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Elise on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:40 pm

Its the lotus buddy…they good biz ppl..they got for a song..

• Because malaysian not too advance about the car technology, some of them not even know what is FC unit

• Rahmat on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:43 pm

Same talk when Honda appointed, same talk when Suzuki appointed and now geely. Next one will be that proton is closing down .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Nosushi on Oct 01, 2017 at 9:54 am

More like jepunis companies will be in difficilt times after this

• varblade on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:56 pm

end of 2018 is only one year away. One year is very very short in automotive time. Don’t look at the short term; look far. The world is going electric drivetrain. By end of 2018, a Proton SUV with electrification or at least a strong hybrid drivetrain (so what if China sourced? Your iphones internals are also China sourced what..), will be unmatched by the competition.

The competitors have less than a year to clear their stock.

• drillero on Sep 29, 2017 at 7:12 pm

OMG! Too little too late. 2019, it is obsolate model already.

• Kau yu on Sep 29, 2017 at 8:13 pm

Take time=lembab(musuh perniagaan)

• Bernard on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:14 pm

Since it’s a China product, sell it below RM30k….

• China don’t sell cheap products.. thousands of msian are buying Huawei P9 P10 for more than thousand ringgit… and eating up iPhone and Samsung market share..

Days of china only produce cheap products are gone… and Msia can’t even produce a proper smart phone..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • Nasi Ambeng on Sep 30, 2017 at 9:43 am

We produce nasi lemak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
        • And whats wrong with nasi lemak? The top 100 best foods in the WORLD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Not really. Go to China, u still find chockfull of cheapskate pongs from plenty of obscure brands. In China, u get what u paid. If u pay cheap, u get cheap quality. If u can pay, u get ipongX.

At least there, expectations is tempered by realism. In MY, pipu expects Mesidis quality at P1 prices. So how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Malaysian just want the car no need very much fuel, less monthly installment, can carry more family members, less maintenance and so on. Malaysian don’t bother safety features and car crash test result. So the car with light body weight c/w steering, 4 wheels, air cond, 5 seaters and HU will be hot sale.

• ayoyo on Oct 04, 2017 at 6:04 pm

i know one, can carry whole family, skip jam, no monthly commitment, no fuel, no toll, just pay when you need.

• suhaimi on Sep 30, 2017 at 12:27 am

Looks like there will be umpteen teh tarik , curry puff sessions, many2x late night buffet dinners and entertainment talk after that.
    Name sake local components but behind the scene its “what’s in for me” ?
    Take your time Proton , losing millions is nothing new so why rush ?
    If you were really serious then bring in CBU and then later the CKD units.
    Don’t think we can be hoodwinked.
    MITI can do wonders if you know how to negotiate with them.
    CEO and directors still get their fat pay cheques at the end of the month so relek lah bro.!!

• Topkek on Oct 02, 2017 at 7:42 am

Tesla oso takes 2 yeara to convert to RHD you tak bash pulak

Topkek

• Matthias on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:25 am

End of 2018 will be too late. Six months should be enough for those minor change.

• arowana on Sep 30, 2017 at 8:43 am

that’s the excuse given by an incapable local management

• jinggo on Sep 30, 2017 at 9:13 am

End of 2018? Cainis also lazy kah? Haiya..

• johnnas on Sep 30, 2017 at 11:37 am

john is a basher basher. while you’re always beefing abt bashers, what makes u any different from them?

you’re a Proton fanatic joker who struggles to see the truth. oh ya, and a stubborn mule too, just like Proton.

Tell me, if P1 is as great as how you have always defended it, then why is P2 outnumbers P1? Don’t blame on the people. You’re the fanatic, analyze professionally.

• Marieta on Sep 30, 2017 at 12:47 pm

How to participate this ‘Car Clinic?’ where to register?

• Ibrahim Ali on Sep 30, 2017 at 2:12 pm

Mana maruah melayu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Hanya wayang kulit dari itu orang utk rompak duit rakyat selama 22 tahun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:19 pm

The problem with Chinese cars is that most were not designed for dual (left & right) hand drive from ground up. All this while, they never expected to go global in a big way & thus, their cars were not designed with mountings & screw holes ready for both markets. That’s why the adaptation will take significant time because, hundreds of components will need to be redesigned & remoulded to suit right hand drive. The ready components in China will no longer fit & vendors will have to produce different parts.

• Jeevanathan on Apr 05, 2018 at 1:08 am

Awesome