LRT3 project goes ahead, but costs reduced by 47% – 6 stations axed, smaller buildings, less/shorter trains

The LRT3 project linking Bandar Utama to Klang will go ahead, but with final costs reduced by 47%, from RM31.65 billion to RM16.63 billion, finance minister Lim Guan Eng announced yesterday. Nothing is for free, of course, and the nearly halved costs comes at the expense of several stations and shorter trains, among other things.

Firstly, five of the planned 26 stations have been deferred, and they are the Lien Hoe, Temasya, Sirim, Bukit Raja and Bandar Botanic stations. Lim said that these stations have low projected ridership. The planned 2km tunnel including an an underground station at Persiaran Hishamuddin in Shah Alam will be cancelled.

Also, the stations that survived the chop will be smaller – based on existing Kelana Jaya LRT standards instead of MRT stations. Lim added that the timeline for completion of the 37 km line would be extended from 2020 to 2024, and this is to remove “acceleration costs” from the total construction bill.

Another sacrifice concerns the trains. The original plan was for 42 sets of six-car trains, but the order has been changed to 22 sets of three-car trains. The minister says that the reduced number of shorter trains is “more than sufficient to cope with the anticipated passenger demand until the year 2035 before additional three-car trains need to be ordered.” With less trains in service, the size of the LRT train depot will also be smaller.

“The savings of more than RM15 billion would not only mean a massive reduction in debt to be incurred, but also result in additional savings to the tax-payers of up to RM14 billion in interest cost over the period of the loan financing. The 47% reduction in cost demonstrates that the new government is walking the talk in securing significant cost reductions for excessively-priced projects caused by the poor governance of the previous government,” Lim said.

The LRT3 project will be restructured to a “fixed price contract” from the previous project delivery partner (PDP) model to prevent future cost overruns. A MRCB-George Kent JV is the construction partner for the project.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Dug Ong on Jul 13, 2018 at 1:21 pm

Massive RM15 billion savings!!
    Superb FM walking the talk to cut expensip projects caused by poor governance of the previous government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 87
    • This is interesting… Last year we have read in the news and articles that the cost of LRT3 is actually 9 billion. You guys may also a refer link from this portal, where it was stated the cost of the project:

https://paultan.org/2016/08/25/rm9-bil-lrt3-project-launched-37-km-from-bandar-utama-to-klang-26-stations-completion-in-2020/

https://paultan.org/2017/10/11/lrt3-alignment-from-bandar-utama-to-klang-shown/

But on July 10th, 2018 the gov said the cost is 31.5 billion. Then on July 12th, 2018 the gov said they manage to reduce the cost to 16.3 billion, and proudly announce they had saved 47%. 16.3 billion project is more expensive compared to 9 billion.

What happened? I’m confused! :P

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 9
      • rightwinger on Jul 13, 2018 at 3:44 pm

creative accounting, thats what happened.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
        • Akoolm on Jul 13, 2018 at 6:12 pm

LGE calculator rosak lagi. Lelong birkin, mahkota & cincin bley lg bikin 2 bijik stesen..

• Chris Lee on Jul 15, 2018 at 7:16 pm

LGE calculator tak rosak. It was Prasarana who make press statement on March 30 that cost has gone up from 9 billion to 35 billion.

March 30 and May 9 is big big difference. 2 different Governments

• Rakyat bersyukur sekarang ada kerajaan yang bersih dan tidak korup lagi

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 13, 2018 at 10:41 pm

For 60 years, we Malaysians have always been confused. Anyway, the fact that LGE can half the cost, goes to show that the old Government was always wasting money.

Contracts given to fren fren

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 32
          • Spin Too Much on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:34 am

Going from 9 Billion to 16 Billion is called cutting cost? Did you flunk maths in Std 1?

• Hahaha! That was during a certain 22 year period administration. Under previous PM, all the projects are rakyat based, and built to projected costs or even lower.

Now we redoing the “Contracts given to fren fren”, just like a certain HSR.

• Defending the indefensible. Very obvious you’re desperately earning your pay here.

• Rajoo is kunta kinte on Jul 15, 2018 at 9:04 am

Bro, find your life, stop being a KB warrior. Stop making and bring in poli talk. GE already over.

• Sathiabalan on Jul 15, 2018 at 7:03 pm

typical BN macai, always blaming the world. Now blame everybody for being Kunta Kinte. This is why BN lost badly. Flip flop and dedak

• Ibrahim Saad on Jul 15, 2018 at 7:05 pm

too many fake dupes by john. Too much of politics. This is a car blog john. Respect it. Talk about cars pls

• Dalam pilihanraya, rakyat Malaysia sudah pilih kerajaan yang bersih dan amanah

• Hamidi on Jul 16, 2018 at 8:53 am

We got nothing to worry. So many good thing coming with a clean Government

Look even our broadband kena upgrade 10X for free.

• Meanwhile Sabah broadband got Kawan to YTL. From 100Mbps Unifi per skool now go down to 4Mbps per skool. Gud for u, cuz less pipu now to hog Unifi bandwith and u can post bollocks faster now.

• topkek on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:30 am

Gila betul. From 9 billion can jump to 32 billion. BN oh BN!!!!

• Ibrahim Saad on Jul 15, 2018 at 7:09 pm

This is why BN lost badly. People are fed up of the corrupted DNA they have

• Chris Lee on Jul 15, 2018 at 7:19 pm

Pity LGE. Trying to clean up the mess by Prasarana.

Btw, those who cannot read, and English very bad, Prasarana is the one who says cost jumps from 9 billion to 35 billion

This was said on March 30 2018

• Jangan bimbang, kerajaan sekarang bersih dan amanah, bukan macam dulu dan sekarang ada duit berlebihan untung buat LRT4 dan LRT5

• Hamidi on Jul 16, 2018 at 8:54 am

Have to agree. Now got no more money disappearing. So, we will have LRT4 LRT5 LRT6 LRT7 LRT8

Rakyat only untung when money is not stolen

• Shamsul Annuar on Jul 16, 2018 at 9:03 am

If we save all the corruption the past Government has taken, we will be 10X more developed than Singapore is even

• Alex Chin on Jul 14, 2018 at 11:24 am

Dug Ong, you used the right word….poor governance!! No more korup for us!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Cerminlah who lebih korup.
            PHenipu, PHitnah, PHenyanggak. PHui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Saya amat bersyukur orang macam LGE Berwibawa dan handal. Lagipun dia cekap dan amanah

• Some claimed he is Menteri tahap tadika, and from the way he calculates things, I have no doubt about that.

• Abdul Ghaffar on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:18 pm

Prasarana in March 2018 said this…..long before GE14 also

“To recap, on March 30, 2018, Prasarana submitted the latest projected cost of the LRT3 project which amounted to RM31.65bil.

At the same time, Prasarana sought an additional financing of RM22bil in the form of government guarantees, on top of the initial RM10bil granted in 2015 to finance the project”

• Ibrahim Saad on Jul 15, 2018 at 7:07 pm

ha ha ha, I think all the BN Macais just failed maths. They got their dates wrong. It was Prasarana who announced from 9 billion to 35 b.

• Rakyat tak payah bimbang lagi. 60 tahun kami bimbang kerana kerajaan tak ada integriti.

Sekarang, kami ada kerajaan telus, berintergriti dan handal. Saya pun rasa rela.

• Kenny on Jul 13, 2018 at 3:50 pm

9 bil was announced on 25/8/2016 where the Harapan Govt not in power…….so when they took over and relooked at the agreement there are other hidden cost not reveals by the previous Govt and hence the cost should be 31.5bil.

Therefore the Harapan Govt cancels the LRT3 project earlier and after going thru with the projects delivery partners they managed to tune down the cost to 16bil and reapproved the LRT3. If you cannot and follow the development properly of the sequences that happened please do not confuse the public with your statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 62
        • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Every project in Malaysia like that before. That is why they say ECRL is RM110 billion because the previously highly corrupted Government will escalate the cost kaw kaw to line their pockets

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 28
        • cronies on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:35 pm

16.3 billion. another 7.3 billion will be given back to cronies. The project cost is still stood at 9 billion. FULL STOP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 12
        • Veyron Owner on Jul 13, 2018 at 5:26 pm

PDPs have typically fixed price contracts so there are no hidden cost, except those they created from thin air, or rather from the cigar smoke exhaled during backroom dealings by the new government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
          • Golfer on Jul 13, 2018 at 9:38 pm

MRCB-George Kent during golfgame dealings by the past government.

• There are never cancellation of lrt3… get your fact right.

• Tajuddin Ohwai on Jul 14, 2018 at 11:41 am

Kenny, there are a lot of frustrated BN Cybertroopers here. Unhappy they have lost badly, they try to confuse people here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 14, 2018 at 1:37 pm

The only one fruss the PH trooper here who can’t downlike the many, many, many comments that were dismissing PH for trying to hoodwink the people. We aren’t as dumb as you took us, just because we voted for you.

• P. Alyanna on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:46 pm

Inilah muka tembam PH. Yg memberi kritikan digelar BN Cybertrooper. PH tak boleh terima nasihat, hanya mereka saja yang bijak, hanya mereka saja yang benar. Yang lain hanya dicaci. Inikah muka New Malaysia?
            Renung-renunglah wahai rakyat Malaysia apa yang kita dah buat. Yang dikejar tak dapat, yang dikendong berciciran.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Finally we see Fake News Kantoi on Jul 14, 2018 at 6:43 pm

Many unhappy and frustrated people passing rumours here. But the truth is, Pakatan had nothing to do with cost going up to RM35b. This was during the previous Government time

• Ibrahim Saad on Jul 15, 2018 at 7:08 pm

All the macais cannot read properly. Prasarana announced on MArch 30 that cost shoots up to RM35b

• Thats easy.
        Ori price 9Billion.
        New gov revised price 31Billion.
        New gov “cost savings” price 16Billion.

But where did the 5Billion extra went to, u might ask. Ahh, my fren, that went to Tabung Kawanism.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 20
        • Rajoo Selvam on Jul 13, 2018 at 10:38 pm

Spin as much as you want but all I can see is prices went up by many times with the previous Government.

Now good, we are cleaning all the corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
          • Spin Too Much on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:30 am

Price from old shop is 9Billion. Price from new shop is 31Billion then discount to 16Billion, and the new owners had the gall to call it cheaper than the old price?
            Do you think we don’t know how to count?

• Ghani on Jul 14, 2018 at 11:24 am

The only good I see is good at kelentong the rakyat, just like what you keep doing. Please continue to do so, because from here we can see all worse traits from your Government worming its way out to bask in its deformed glory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
          • Mahadzir on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:05 pm

Prasarana themselves announced on 30th March that cost is now RM35b.

Nothing to do with PH Government!!

• As someone mention below, MOF owns Prasarana, so surely the employee will parrot what the bos says unless all of them dun want their jobs.

• Tajuddin Ohwai on Jul 14, 2018 at 11:45 am

I think you better read what Kenny above has written. John, try harder to understand the chronology of events bro.

• Try reading what May wrote above instead of coming here and bash aimlessly.

• From your name above, ah, I know who you are. Your comments can be ignored.

• Latiff Kajai on Jul 15, 2018 at 7:21 pm

Pity PH Government, got to clean up massive corruption left behind by BN

• SK, Lim on Jul 14, 2018 at 1:44 pm

Too right, john! Not even 100 days already songlaped by the billions. Given 5 more years, the coffers will truly be empty!

• U might still ask where the remaining 2Billion went to. Well, no decision from high up comes for free, u know?

• Mungkin Barangkali, on Jul 13, 2018 at 10:43 pm

Deswai MRCB+George Kent counter free falling right after PRU14? Coincidence…

• MusTanG on Jul 14, 2018 at 7:25 am

Prasarana made a statement on 30th March saying the cost rose up to RM 35b.

Reference:
        1) https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2018/07/12/final-price-of-lrt3-reduced-by-47pct-to-rm16pt63b-says-prasarana/#wk1YJlLiBFOVzjgM.99

2) http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/lrt3-cost-jumps-rm3145-billion

• Spin Too Much on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:33 am

Prasarana owns by MoF lah. Sure their story must in-sync with new boss lah! [The tail follows the head, if the head changes direction the tail must follow]

• Finally we see Fake News Kantoi on Jul 14, 2018 at 6:41 pm

Congrats Mustang!!!! You just burst the bubble of all the fake news that has been posted.

So, there is now clear evidence that before May 9th, cost already went up 35b!!!!!!!

So much for all the fake news here blaming PH for escalating the costs and pocketing the profits

• Mahadzir on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:02 pm

Prasarana themselves made press statement, so how come everybody here is creating false news?
          I checked your links and yes, 30th March they announced.

• Abdul Ghaffar on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:20 pm

perfectly and accurately said! as far as I recall, BN was still in power on March 30 2018

• Finally we see Fake News Kantoi on Jul 14, 2018 at 6:42 pm

Cost already went up to RM35bil long before the New Government took over

• Lolwhut? on Jul 15, 2018 at 5:08 pm

It seems like RM under PH has inflated 3x more than during BN’s time. Did out RM drop so low within the 60 days? Seems like our RM is becoming worthless under this worthless Government.

• rightwinger on Jul 15, 2018 at 8:45 pm

lol…mental gymnastics…

• Long ago i said this aswell, Pakatan Harapan is far worse that BM, its just a matter of time the rakyat will realise it, exactly, wats happening with Trump goverment, FM is an idiot to be honest, he has all the stupid chinese around him n hence, he gets the “High”, wats his done is ab absolutely “No Brainer” job but ofcourse for these chinese fools is a matter of som big praise to lift him up..Its just a matter of time..No manifesto promised are fullfilled NOT EVEN A SINGLE ONE. Oh ya, dont give me the bullshit that the GST was removed…Its not, its just being put at 0%, its not considered as abolished at all, so making the GST to zero is all about issuing a simple letter stating that the rate is zeroed dats all, which is by right 10 minute of work, dont believe me? go n check ur reciepts next time you shop, you wud still find GST no. but no charge. N not to mention stocks, equitues n bonds collapes ever since, oh but who am i talking to here “The bunch of idiots who put there comments “brainlessly” without using there own mind n thinking straights.

• Roll'it like Neymar on Jul 16, 2018 at 4:09 am

Back up back up
        Tell me what you’re gonna do now
        Keep rollin’ rollin’ rollin’ rollin’

• Huh??

• Steve on Jul 13, 2018 at 1:24 pm

Saving Fifteen (15) Billion for these type of short comings with less train carriages even kinder garden teachers and students also know to do it.

People who save this is not SMART at all but saving Ten(10) Billion will be Smart if all stations are implemented with more train carriages at PEAK hours.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 7
    • kenny on Jul 13, 2018 at 3:55 pm

cutting short of the coach doesn’t mean longer hours of waiting, instead LRT can increase the frequency. anything is possible.

in fact the coaches can be added later and in future when the financial position of the country improves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 26
      • Wise thinking. agree with u.
        Too bad not all can see like u do now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 14, 2018 at 9:55 am

We see it orite. Just another shortsighted that has little purpose to rakyat’s interest but more to serve new Gov cronies.

• Finally we see Fake News Kantoi on Jul 14, 2018 at 6:45 pm

Frustrated pembangkang always passing rumours. Time to clean up all the kekotoran left to us by previous dirt

• Ghani on Jul 13, 2018 at 5:11 pm

Short thinking. Just like those who think can extend KJ 2car trains into 4cars or 6cars but in the end must buy all new 4car trains while wasting the still function 2car trains. Adding more short trains is not the solution as there must be safety margin between the trains travelling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Long ago i said this aswell, Pakatan Harapan is far worse that BM, its just a matter of time the rakyat will realise it, exactly, wats happening with Trump goverment, FM is an idiot to be honest, he has all the stupid chinese around him n hence, he gets the “High”, wats his done is ab absolutely “No Brainer” job but ofcourse for these chinese fools is a matter of som big praise to lift him up..Its just a matter of time..No manifesto promised are fullfilled NOT EVEN A SINGLE ONE. Oh ya, dont give me the bullshit that the GST was removed…Its not, its just being put at 0%, its not considered as abolished at all, so making the GST to zero is all about issuing a simple letter stating that the rate is zeroed dats all, which is by right 10 minute of work, dont believe me? go n check ur reciepts next time you shop, you wud still find GST no. but no charge. N not to mention stocks, equitues n bonds collapes ever since, oh but who am i talking to here “The bunch of idiots who put there comments “brainlessly” without using there own mind n thinking straights.

• LatukBandar on Jul 13, 2018 at 1:39 pm

I guess LGE never takes the train to know how cramp it can be, also, he has no concept of what is future proofing something. Shah Alam is highly populated area, this will reduce the number of vehicle on the road as people in these areas along the lrt3 line have no choice but to drive. Also this shows that the cost remains the same, no overbloated as alleged by them before election, if it is about corruption, then everything remains the same except for the final amount. LGE lied. Just like the ecrl, tony pua said 25 billion can be done, najib said 55b, but lge said actual cost is 100b. Then retender, becomes 80 and lge said he saved 20b.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 10
    • Ada PG1 with polis escort, why he kesah?

• Tikam duit raya on Jul 13, 2018 at 10:03 pm

hopefully this announcement wont affect my George kent & Mrcb share prices that much

• Fordist on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:58 am

GK & Mrcb shares already drop 20% since PH tookover. Lower or higher won’t make up for the loss.

New Malaysia is doomed.

• Komuter connect Shah Alam…

• KTM is too slow and bad customer services. Unlike LRT only takes 4 min after previous train depart.

• Anonymous on Jul 15, 2018 at 10:46 pm

This is true. LGE is misleading people…. they’re not saving anything… they spending less on lesser products, lesser trains, lesser caoches, lesser stations… at a certain point the commuters will increase and the trains cannot sustain the growth.

• Waiting on Jul 13, 2018 at 1:46 pm

With smaller capacity, longer waiting time, smaller car parking space. lesser stations and another 6 years to be operational, better don’t do it. It will be another failure. Please focus and use that $$$ to fulfill your promise of Toll Free Highways and Expressways. We are waiting…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
  • I only can feel pity for those who stays/works near those 6 stations. U got played out by New MY.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 8
    • True Malaysian on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:25 pm

Those pipu find your negativity very disturbing.They looking at the glass half full than empty. LRT3 all of 21 stations & more coming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 37
      • Those pipu will be suffering 4 years of construction and then looking at shiny new LRT tracks and trains passing by but no way to use it cuz the stations in their area is axed. Those pipu surely is positive alrite, positively angry at being overlooked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
  • tokmoh. on Jul 13, 2018 at 2:14 pm

Everything is fine except for delaying completion by 4 years.

That just doesn’t make sense. Less and smaller stations, smaller depot needed, no more tunnel construction in lieu of simpler straightforward above ground construction yet completion delayed by 4 years?

Just how much manpower was scaled down that needed 4 years of delay? That reduced manpower still needs to be paid for 4 extra years, construction material and cost can keep rising in that 4 years, it also means 4 years less fare/rent/ad revenue collection.

I have a bad feeling about this, it feels to me like a classic penny wise, pound foolish move. The premium for acceleration construction can’t be too high to cover above risks. Will LGE answer to that?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 5
    • delay by 4 more years, govt earning a lot of money over that 4 years to pay for the loans+interest. they are not stupid. what, u so smart? why didnt u become MoT of MoF?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
      • How much gov can earn as compared to the compounded interest rate incurred? At the current rate of investment leaving and RM free falling, the long term extra cost will negate the so-called savings now. Really penny wise, pound fools.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Bruno Mars on Jul 13, 2018 at 5:32 pm

I propose Loke to be made MOF instead MOT ’cause he seems very capable of finding money while running MOT. Much better than his boss.

• Isobel Chin on Jul 13, 2018 at 2:18 pm

“more than sufficient to cope with the anticipated passenger demand until the year 2035 before additional three-car trains need to be ordered.”

That’s what they said about Putra LRT, but before long the 2-car trainsets were overwhelmed and they needed to double up with 4-car sets, while letting their older sets to rot. Such shorterm thinking. They should look at how long trains are in Singapore.

And the timeline is another sore point. From 2years to 4years construction? Really, LGE? Try living along the construction routes and let us know if you prefer suffering 4years instead of 2. Talk is easy, making arbitrary decision easier. Living it, is the hardest.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
  • U-Tun on Jul 13, 2018 at 2:26 pm

Nvm we’re ok with congested coach and waiting time which feels like forever. That’s why we voted u

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
  • Good, start small & make improvements later based on future situations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 41
    • Damon Lee on Jul 13, 2018 at 6:02 pm

Making infrastructure is not like building Legos. You can’t just tack on stations when the need becomes apparent. This has to be planned and build way ahead of the necessity.

• JOACHIM on Jul 13, 2018 at 2:30 pm

Tell you what, Guan Eng. Let’s just save even more money by removing all the stations except point A and Z. Your KPI will easily be met like this.

Do you even know what’s the purpose of public transportation? Listen to the rakyat and don’t do short-term planning like this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
    • budlee on Jul 13, 2018 at 11:33 pm

LRT3 bailout.
      ECRL bailout.
      TRX bailout.
      1MDB bailout.
      Thats why must listen to the rakyat and don’t do short-term planning like this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • LRT3 bailout? Err, which crystal ball that tells u that? Haven’t started already bailout? Did it also tells you that Brazil will win this world cup as well?

• John May 9 Nangis on Jul 14, 2018 at 11:54 am

spot on budlee. Too much of songlap. That is the problem. and bailout non stop.

• LRT3, cronyism incoming.
        ECRL, cronyism incoming.
        TRX, cronyism soon incoming.
        1MDB, cronyism trying to incoming.

The rakyat wants better governance, not going back to the 90s. This is short-term planning for long-term cronyism like this.

• PJ fella on Jul 13, 2018 at 2:38 pm

This reeks of poor planning. Another dejavu in the offing like the past PutraLRT & STAR LRT? What about the connectivity in those areas that’s been axed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • I think it is good the government look into this. Axing some of the stations is a good move. But they need to look into totality. Extending the duration may not be the best solution. Cutting down the train size also not a good idea.

• This is interesting… Last year we have read in the news and articles that the cost of LRT3 is actually 9 billion. You guys may also a refer link from this portal, where it was stated the cost of the project:

https://paultan.org/2016/08/25/rm9-bil-lrt3-project-launched-37-km-from-bandar-utama-to-klang-26-stations-completion-in-2020/

https://paultan.org/2017/10/11/lrt3-alignment-from-bandar-utama-to-klang-shown/

But on July 10th, 2018 the gov said the cost is 31.5 billion. Then on July 12th, 2018 the gov said they manage to reduce the cost to 16.3 billion, and proudly announce they had saved 47%.

What happened? I’m confused! :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Tubeng Balau on Jul 13, 2018 at 8:16 pm

Leo
      Biasalah, Umgok always want to hide large portion of loans from public in order to swallow big chunk

• Norlia on Jul 15, 2018 at 6:23 pm

Your the same guy with that fake persona from MalaysiaToday, aren’t you? Got tired of being bushwhacked by sensible readers there? Well, you won’t fare too well here either, since your fellow cybertrooper is constantly checkmated by sharp readers.

• History Bender on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:52 am

PH magic!
      The have redefined what is finances against the normal standards.
      Now they will redefine what is arithmetic against all logic!
      Tune into, how the Fin Minister take RM9 minus RM16 and come out with a positive value!

• spoovans on Jul 13, 2018 at 3:13 pm

well folks….after reading this article…it reminded me of a famous tagline of a popular late 1970s American show.. You Asked For it…somehow the justification given by the Honourable Finance Minister, is clearly of a person who does not utilise public transportation on a daily basis during rush hour, most of these folks get around in chauffered driven cars with police escorts, so they are oblivious to difficulties faced by normal Malaysian utilising public transportation on a daily basis…in all fairness, compared to the major reduction of scope, the quantum of ‘cost saving’ is negligible…bottomline foresee some selected New Government crony would hit ‘Pay Dirt’ with this decision

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Azlan on Jul 13, 2018 at 3:17 pm

It was reported nation wide media that the original cost was only 9 billion.

You boost it and then reduce it to show how efficient is your government. Unluckily rakyat is not that stupid to believe all your lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • Kakiputa on Jul 13, 2018 at 5:38 pm

So basically the math is like this:

Markup original price 150% + boast in the media that he managed to reduce 50% from the total price + cronies profited + rakyat mesmerized and happy despite being shortchanged = WIN!

• No choice but to belip it for next 5 years, bro Azlan.

• Tajuddin Ohwai on Jul 14, 2018 at 11:47 am

at least now got no more corruption and songlap. Btw, not 5 years, next 20 years probably

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • ni komen paling naive sekali. no more corruption la konon. Trains cut shorter, 15 billion is for who???

• At the rate ur gov is songlaping, it wun last more than 5 years. Either get voted out or ownselves leaving after squeezing every RM out from Bank Negara.

• Azman on Jul 13, 2018 at 3:36 pm

We should build for the future. The government should proceed with the original LRT3 plan, rather than downsizing now then realise in a couple of years after completion that the system needs to be expanded. By then costs will have tripled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • The decision to cancel the 5 stations is not a good one. What they could have done is maybe build a shell station, i.e, the skeleton of the station so that once there’re more developments around those stations and ridership increases as a result of that, they only need to complete the fixtures and fittings of those stations.

It’s easy to say that the stations will be built once needed, but bear in mind building stations on a live operational line requires restrictions like the trains having to move a lot slower around those areas, thus reducing frequencies. And also, if they wanna reduce the number of rolling stock, why not purchase 22 six-car trains then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • tokmoh. on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:48 pm

Well said. Just like Sri Rampai station, it was a ghost station for 11 years before finally opened in 2010, but that’s fine, it finally opened when it’s finally feasible to operate, the fact it can open is better than non-existent.

The reduction of rolling stock was a lot. I know la initially ridership takes time to build, but this is almost worrisome. For comparison, KJ line has 84 trainsets, MRT SBK has 58 trainsets. LRT3 will only have 22, and they’re all 3-car?!

• yeap. it’s a similar story here in Singapore. For example, when the North-East line opened in 2003, not all stations were in operation. Only when there was significant development and increase in human traffic around those stations did LTA then open them.

The idea of shell stations also isn’t new. As the Circle Line & Downtown line run entirely undergound, you can actually see the skeleton and structure of the unopened stations, between Caldecott and Botanic Gardens on the Circle Line and between Hillview and Beauty World on the Downtown Line. Whenever LTA gives the green light, contractors need to just do up interior fittings, electrical fittings etc with minimal disruption to service as major structural works have been completed.

• karam singh on Jul 14, 2018 at 9:11 am

they can always add new trains later, after analysing on the needs (high number of passngers or low) and perhaps after 3-5 years when the first batch trains are tired.

• jesse james on Jul 13, 2018 at 3:44 pm

hahahahahaha , PH Goverment also rakyat will reduce for 1 penggal only , no action talk only , rakyat is already sick with PH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
  • phatcat on Jul 13, 2018 at 3:48 pm

world have never seen a stupider Minister. he going to give us a crippled train, better cancel the whole thing than substandard infra. this is why you don’t mix politics with public transportation. damn it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Guan Beng on Jul 13, 2018 at 3:58 pm

MRT Sg. Buloh – Kajang 50KM cost RM21billion… LRT3 37KM cost RM16billion… better build MRT with that cost…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Happy on Jul 13, 2018 at 5:35 pm

In addition, MRT1 also got substantial underground portion somemore. This sounds like scam games we cannot opt out til 5 years later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Jumanji PH version. Welcome to the jungle. The only thing functioning is law of the jungle.

• vedder on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Why isn’t the transport minister making these statements? Please no more centralized control!! Anthony Loke, please stand up!!

• kzm (Member) on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:42 pm

It is better they leave depot alone to accomidate 6-car train later in the future.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 13, 2018 at 4:55 pm

Why I feel no hope in bolehland public transport.. I actually very excited for public transport for the past 3-4 years. It look like Bangkok will have more efficient public transport than KL for the next 10 years or more. Try guess how many MRT n LRT currently build in Bangkok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • enche awan on Jul 13, 2018 at 5:10 pm

Have u tried 3 car train during peak hour? Wish u all smooth ride light rail transit comuters -_-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Guest on Jul 13, 2018 at 5:27 pm

“The premium for acceleration construction can’t be too high”

pfft. yeah right. How do you even came with that conclusion?

time saving vs cost is not linear

simply put,
    Overtime is paid in different rate
    double shift is, well, double the manpower
    extending machineries working hours? additional maintenance?
    others?

being armchair expert is easy

• M.Hamzah on Jul 13, 2018 at 5:40 pm

PH was armchair experts for 60 years. Now suddenly mengelabah and constantly making wrong decisions. How did they calculate going from RM9 Billion to RM16 Billion and call it cost savings is against all laws of accounting, finance, arithmetic, logic, and physics.

Are they trying to reshape reality like Matrix?

• LGE & tun kencing kuat. Kecilkan jumlah stesen, kurangkan jumlah train & pjgkan tempoh binaan, claim jimat? Apa ni. & then ckp sufficient until 2035 meh? Lg 3 tahun nanti bola tambah train lg tinggi kos, tambah stesen lg tinggi kos. Dulu masuk poket najib, skrg semua nanti masuk poket you all shj. Apa beza? Sama saja. Ini mcm budak2 pun boleh kira maa…

• Tubeng Balau on Jul 13, 2018 at 8:07 pm

Veyron
    read- The LRT3 project will be restructured to a “fixed price contract” from the previous project delivery partner (PDP) model to prevent future cost overruns.

• This is insane. My house is literally next to the construction site! Extending the project by 4 years means 6 YEARS from NOW!!! Instead of having 2 years of crazy noise we now have to deal with 6?!!

Reducing to 3 set car for LRT, is LGE insane? For sure he never took the LRT at peak hours ever in his life. Does he know how many people live in Kelang and work in the office in KL. Does he know how excited we are for the LRT3 and now to have it handicapped like this.

The man is pure islander, he don’t know how crazy and hectic KL traffic is. Penang traffic at worse a 30 minutes traffic for maybe 10km. Over here imagine travelling through a 45km jam that just as bad as in Penang.

• The man only invaded the island. He not originally from there, thou.

• Muhammad Sardon on Jul 15, 2018 at 7:13 pm

That sounds like the majority in Malaysia too. Invaded Malaysia.

Orang Asli are the original people of Malaysia

• That majority are from the Austronesian ethnic group that has inhibited the South Asian archipelago since the beginning, their heritage can be traced all the way to Perak Man. Orang Asli is a subset from this group. Meanwhile that person heritage is traced back to Mainland so no ties to MY whatsoever.

• reducing cost by scaling down the project scope can hardly call it “saving”. we as just fooling ourselves. if can maintain the scope of the project and cut the cost by a billion, then it is real saving.

• Fred Durst on Jul 14, 2018 at 8:37 am

Idiot planning!!

• rchoo on Jul 14, 2018 at 9:20 am

Now, this is the Finance Minister that uses his brain and not his ass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Ghani on Jul 14, 2018 at 10:44 am

I prefer he uses his ass to think instead of the rotted brain. This is insane, and he doesn’t give a hoot because he won’t use it nor be troubled by its lengthened construction. He is totally disinterested by this public project.

• rchoo on Jul 14, 2018 at 9:27 am

I think a 4 carriage LRT is needed, 3 carriages are breaking the envelope, not advisable.

• LRT3 worker on Jul 14, 2018 at 2:12 pm

so u believed that? i give u simple math.. try to calculate..d company i work with got contract 1.5b for civil work of 4 stations+6km rail (just civil work).. also there are 9 System contractors and 1 of the is LRV got almost 2b contract.. not include PDP&consultant fee and land price.. underground some more.. Think 9b can cope all that?

• HICOM Temasya on Jul 14, 2018 at 4:12 pm

NOoooooOOOoo…

Please keep Temasya Glenmarie station, we need to reduce congestion in that area…!!

Also very near to DRB-HICOM, hehehe

OOoo nooo the agony, piling works were already started, so terrible, please reconsider for Temasya station

• I agree

• Kuinosan on Jul 15, 2018 at 11:09 am

I suggest that we just keep our conversations and comments to cars and their performance reviews. This comment section is building into a platform for political debate which I personally have enough of reading from other forums and political sites. So let us keep this a sacred site for motorheads only shall we? Thanks you.

• War comes to those who seek war. If PH cybertroopers declares open conflict via agitation against the rakyat, should the rakyat not respond in kind?

• Ibrahim Saad on Jul 15, 2018 at 7:04 pm

I see john and his many dupes always posting politics. Time to stop this john. Keep PT clean.

• Ji Kao on Jul 15, 2018 at 3:16 pm

Dear Mr LGE, the short term savings will cost us a lot more in the future. Please also consider the concept of future proofing while you are doing your creative accountings next time.

• In Project Management, there are 3 factors; – Time, Cost, Specification/Quality.
    You could reduce the project cost by careful scheduling and tracking, or revamp the specifications/quality.
    In this case, it’s mainly reducing the specifications/quality and project completion lead time.

If a car manufacturer originally planned to build a D segment vehicle with the latest specs, but later on decide to make a B segment vehicle, the development cost will be greatly reduced, since a B segment vehicle is much smaller and the specifications in general, is way much less than a D segment vehicle in terms of equipment level, safety, convenience items, comfort, etc.
    So it’s not actual cost savings, but more cost avoidance for this LRT project.

Stop blaming the previous Government on the costs, now that you are in power, solve it LGE. That’s why the people voted you for a change, not to blame.