BMW gets driving ban in South Korea for fires: report

The transport ministry of South Korea said it will ban approximately 20,000 BMWs from its roads, following 27 cases of engine fires in the country. The incidents prompted the company’s Korea unit to issue an apology, as well as a recall for 106,000 diesel-powered vehicles including the 520d, according to Automotive News Europe.

“I am asking owners of the BMW cars subject to the recall to actively cooperate to prevent bigger accidents, despite your inconvenience,” said the transport minister of South Korea Kim Hyun-mee. Owners of the affected vehicles can drive the affected units for safety checks, and the ban is intended for quicker safety checks rather than to punish the owners, the transport ministry said.

The order for the car ban will be effective as soon as owners receive a mail notice, which is from Aug 15, the transport minister said. The German automaker identified defects in the exhaust gas recirculation system, while the South Korean government is conducting a separate investigation into the case and may take legal action if deemed necessary.

The issue affecting said diesel-powered models also extended to BMW’s European market, for which the automaker has issued a ‘technical campaign’ for the region.

BMW is the second best-selling imported automaker in South Korea, the report notes, behind fellow German make Mercedes-Benz, with the Munich-based marque charting 59,624 vehicle sales last year. This is a figure that has more than doubled from five years ago, according to Autmotive News Europe.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• What engine? N47 or B47?

• Cityzen on Aug 16, 2018 at 12:45 pm

RM123K.
      2013 BMW 520d or Civic 1.5TCP ?

• One is a premium segment car the other one is a non premium segment irrespective of the manufactured year and market price. just cannot compare this way..

The choice is clear as whether you need a premium car or non premium car to represent your lifestyle and your needs

• stastasta on Aug 17, 2018 at 11:48 am

the 520d may cost you another 20-50k over the next 3 years for maintenenace. and keep in mind that you cannot pay 5 year installement for maintenance.

• John & ioma on Aug 16, 2018 at 2:08 pm

Proton gen2 has a lot more records of fire. The charcoal filter sits directly above the exhaust pipe. After 3 years and 100,000 units proton realised the mistake, and made improvement in the persona. The charcoal filter is chucked away from the exhaust to a corner.

No need recall. Settle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Nonsense! Theres no such thing as charcoal filter at exhaust. No one uses such materials except ur imaginary Proton. P1 like all other automakers uses catalytic converters within which is fibreglass with rare/precious metals to scrub the exhaust gasses. U trying to cheat those who dunno about cars? Fat chance!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • John need to learn to read properly on Aug 16, 2018 at 4:16 pm

please read the statement properly. He said charcoal filter above exhaust…not the exhaust itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • Stop bollocking. There was never any “charcoal” filter in the engine bay at all. Air intake filter is just normal paper based filter. Charcoal filter is only used for cabin aircon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • stastasta on Aug 17, 2018 at 11:51 am

all VW comes with a Charcoal Canister Filter. can proton owner confirm if newer protons also have similar filter ?

• Jean Grey on Aug 16, 2018 at 3:07 pm

LOL I didn’t know Proton Gen2 is on par with Lamborgini and Ferrari famous for spontaneous combustion? LOL

• Rightwinger on Aug 16, 2018 at 9:23 pm

If it’s true then ok lah. But if it’s bull I’m ma chili your mulut.

• I got a Gen2 for 10 years now, I can tell u that is bollocks. What kinda filter sits on top of exhaust, not within it?

• Clueless Newbie on Aug 16, 2018 at 4:49 pm

Does the author care to comment if BMW diesel units here in Malaysia are affected as BMW Malaysia has yet to issue any statement for current owners here. Much appreciated.

• Sinister on Aug 16, 2018 at 5:51 pm

Malaysian BMW diesel cars have no fire problems. BMW diesels are great cars if you have to drive long distance frequently. Powerful and fuel consumption better than Myvi.

Nobody seems to know the real reason the South Korean cars keep catching fire. Could be sabotage since BMW diesel are getting very popular there.

• camtakpro on Aug 17, 2018 at 9:55 am

All cars sold in Malaysia has no issue.

• Burning Motorist Wallet on Aug 17, 2018 at 12:21 pm

LOL No worry bcoz BMW can only caught fire at kimchi land meanwhile sambal belacan is fire retardant ok

• s400h on Aug 17, 2018 at 7:09 pm

I still remember BMW parked near toll booth catching fire. It was dangerous