FIRST DRIVE: 2019 Ford Ranger 2.0L Wildtrak 4×4

Sime Darby Auto Connexion has recently launched the updated 2019 Ford Ranger line-up, comprising eight variants excluding the top-of-the-line Ranger Raptor. For this video, we review the current range-topper, the Ranger 2.0L Wildtrak 4×4 Automatic, which is priced at RM144,888 sans insurance.

First and foremost, the new Wildtrak features a brand new 2.0 litre bi-turbo inline-four diesel engine that makes a class-leading 213 PS and 500 Nm of torque. Power is put to the ground via a segment-only 10-speed automatic transmission, and it’s worth noting that the driveline is shared with high-performance Ranger Raptor.

Besides the upgraded mechanicals, Ford has also tweaked the cabin and paid particular attention to passenger comfort and overall conveniences. For safety, the Ranger once again leads the pack with the inclusion of Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB), which is the first in the Malaysian pick-up truck market.

Sounds good, no? Find out how it compares to the older 3.2L Wildtrak and see for yourself if the new engine and gearbox has what it takes. As usual, leave your comments below. Enjoy!

GALLERY: Ford Ranger 2.0L Wildtrak 4×4 Automatic

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• monsun on Nov 13, 2018 at 4:38 pm

Robust reliable 2.0Bi-turbo, 10-speeder, door lock.

• Othman Saad on Nov 13, 2018 at 6:28 pm

Ford cars in Malaysia run by people who always sleep and lepak. Typical GLC mentality. This is why parts take 3 months to order.

Lucky I sold my Escape.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • Andrew Phang on Nov 13, 2018 at 6:32 pm

My Ranger gearbox rosak, SDAC took 4 months to get the gearbox from Singapore.

I wonder why just from Singapore it takes 4 months. Jalan kaki maybe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Murphy on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:18 pm

Door lock? Is it sarcasm because lately so many ranger door latches all failed and doors cannot close?

• Mario and Bros on Nov 13, 2018 at 4:46 pm

(Like) Ford Ranger 2019 and Mitsubishi Triton 2019
    (Dislike) Toyota Hilux 2019

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
    • Murphy and Bros on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:20 pm

(Kuat rosak, bad resale value and troublesome for owners) Ford Ranger 2019
      (Outsells other pickups 3x) Toyota Hilux 2019

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 13, 2018 at 5:43 pm

Past few postings by PT had so many comments about Ranger and its faulty gearbox.

I rather stay away from a car or truck that kaputs all the time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • Ranger T6 2012 on Nov 13, 2018 at 7:06 pm

It’s because all of the comments are coming from you. I’m a proud owner of ranger t6 2012. Never have gearbox issues since 2012.

• Yeah … mine oso starting to knock when downshifting … dono when it will kaput. 20k mileage

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 13, 2018 at 9:09 pm

Hallelujah for the price. Next gen Ranger high spec confirm cross 150k and this is supposed to be a tax free vehicle yo!

• practical car lover on Nov 14, 2018 at 11:32 am

you can see car prices in Malaysia are starting to creep up. i think its because RM is going down quite a lot this past 6 mth. so manufacturer are preparing for the worst and they mark up the prices in advance in anticipation of possible RM going down some more.

You can clearly see this trend in the launch of new cars especially new Toyota Camry 2.5 @ 190k, basically prices are going up 10-30k depending on the price. Brace for higher car prices in 2019

• Juika on Nov 15, 2018 at 10:33 am

If after sales service is not world class, don’t buy!

• Ban Hooi on Nov 18, 2018 at 11:53 am

Ford Ranger may be a very good truck but the service people at Sime Darby are terrible. Same as VW, they all make good nice to drive vehicles but ownership is nowhere reliable as Honda or Toyota.

• Daniel Lim on Dec 27, 2018 at 8:59 am

Frankly, i personally dislike small displacement Engine. This is a heavy truck. 2.0 turbo is more appropriate for lighter vehicle like sedan, coupe. If turbo is everything, then why don’t all the big trucks, lorries use small cc engine? Big cc got its advantages, less stress on engine, better instant response. Ocoz i don’t meant u need a 4000,5000cc for that. But atleast 2500 – 3000.

• Ismail on Sep 19, 2019 at 5:12 pm

Daily used , good acceleration on high way, good 4×4 in my kebun, sometimes pulling others pick-up from mud, sometime hitting garage till bending the metal post hahaha, hitting by car at back side and the car terribly damaged but few dented on the crash bar only (no asking money from the careless driver, good view on driving, spacious cabin and done service at my home only.

Note: Just..!!!..please to paint the Ranger underneath body with good thick anti rust painting works

2015-2019 smile always.