Proton R3 set to run a Saga in Sepang 1000km race

The Proton R3 team, which bagged the Overall Champion title at last year’s Sepang 1000KM (S1K) endurance race, has announced its vehicle line up for the 2018 edition of the event. The team will be running a two-car line-up this year – racing alongside the Proton Iriz will be a Saga, competing in the event for the first time.

The selection of the Saga is very much a homage to the original, which besides being the first model used by Proton in motorsports remains very much the car of choice for budding racers to get their first taste of competition through race series’ like the MSF Saga Cup.

“The Proton Saga has a long history of competing and winning in various motorsports competitions and the S1K is the perfect platform to reintroduce Proton fans to our R3 racing division, while reminding them about the racing heritage of our best-selling model,” said Proton Edar CEO Abdul Rashid Musa.

“This will be the first time the current Saga will be competing and it will be racing against very stiff competition, but we believe in the ability of R3 to develop a competitive machine,” he added.

The Saga S1K race car is based on the current version of the entry-level sedan that was launched in 2016, and will be piloted by Admi Shahrul and James Veerapan, the winning driver pairing from 2017. Meanwhile, Fariqe Hairuman and Syafiq Ali will race in the Proton Iriz, which was on track for victory last year until a minor mechanical issue robbed them of glory.

For this year’s campaign, the R3 race team will be made up of 21 crew members as well as 15 students from DRB-Hicom University of Automotive Malaysia in Pekan, Pahang.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• casual rider on Nov 21, 2018 at 8:53 pm

good luck guys!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Nikolai on Nov 21, 2018 at 10:54 pm

good luck P1 Baru!

• Kg pisang on Nov 22, 2018 at 11:07 am

Kampung champions only. Nothing to shout about

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
      • syer1n on Nov 22, 2018 at 11:43 am

When did we shout?

• Colin Wong on Nov 22, 2018 at 1:16 pm

I think you misunderstood the expression “nothing to shout about”.

From Cambridge Dictionary:

“something/nothing to shout about. informal.

Meaning: something that makes/does not make you feel excited or pleased:

Example: At last, a 5–0 victory gives the team’s fans something to shout about. The pay increase is nothing to shout about, but it’s better than last year’s.”

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/something-nothing-to-shout-about

• Kg pisang on Nov 22, 2018 at 3:05 pm

How about that, syer1n? You just gave others something to shout about with regards to your poor English literacy

• syer1n on Nov 23, 2018 at 8:06 am

well I think you misunderstood sarcasm. oh because of my literacy. pardon though. probably you take me a little too literal and i’m not gonna prove myself on-line. you notice paultan have a BM segment and why i’m not there.

TLDR:
            Maybe stop telling everyone to not get excited should be a positive attitude perhaps? go with our judgement onwards.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 21, 2018 at 10:25 pm

why got fog lamp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • 1000km race means it runs thru the nite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • Dr.Strange on Nov 22, 2018 at 8:59 am

working as an extremely successful marketing expert for 30 years, P1 should be rebranded Saga. firstly the Saga X70 then Saga X50 ..

• “15 students from DRB-Hicom University”
    P1 and DRB, advancing local automotive and racing. Better than Perotiga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
  • vVivi Zurianti on Nov 21, 2018 at 10:34 pm

unable to get this image outta my mind….

Saga, red & white, taxi…..

• Pakulupapito on Nov 22, 2018 at 12:05 am

This is why proton always have no money. Nobody cares about this, they just syok sendiri. They doesnt even care to do market study and find out what Malaysia wants. Well at least thats the old proton, hope geely can have better market research.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Saga S1K race car better than Vios TRD Gazoo racing car.
    Vios always driving into the ditch.

• Iqbal on Nov 22, 2018 at 8:44 am

Damn! this saga looks really good with r3 livery and r3 wheels

• LOK CHYI YEU on Nov 22, 2018 at 8:51 am

This type of challenge, is usually more challenge to the driver than the car.

• hondaman on Nov 22, 2018 at 11:35 am

Piloted by Admi Shahrul? Sure win one…. he is a champion…

• Aiden on Nov 22, 2018 at 11:50 am

I kept on thinking that this saga is just not smart enough even though you lowered it, change to a bigger rims or whatever.. but good for normal driving, city driving, low maintenance.

• Aiden on Nov 22, 2018 at 11:51 am

but still kudos for them to have these ideas to transform this saga into this..

• protonloyale on Nov 22, 2018 at 1:25 pm

not electron
    not neutron
    but proton!!!
    only proton!!!
    +vely supercharged!!!

• protonloyale on Nov 22, 2018 at 1:27 pm

not electron
    not neutron
    but proton!!!
    supercharge!!!

• Let’s hope they use the CVT version for race to prove the reliability of the gearbox.