The Proton R3 team bagged the Overall Champion title at the Sepang 1000km (S1k) Endurance Race 2017 over the weekend, beating strong contenders from Maxxoil Mayhem Team and Tedco Racing who were driving Honda and Suzuki cars respectively.

The winning car – No. 82 Proton Suprima S R3 – was piloted by Admi Shahrul and James Veerapen (pictured below), who finished way ahead of last year’s S1k Champions, Tengku Djan Ley and Keifli Othman. Compatriots Syafiq Ali and Farique Hairuman in the Proton Iriz R3 (Car 81) finished in fifth place following 171 gruelling laps.

“Team PROTON R3 demonstrated commendable teamwork after being absent from the S1k race last year. We have an excellent team of racers, engineers and technical staff who are totally dedicated to the development of Proton R3 cars and motorsports, and I am so proud of what they have achieved tonight. The preparation, planning and risk analysis plays an important role, apart from having good cars to start with and Petronas as our loyal supporter,” said Dr Li Chunrong, Chief Executive Officer, PROTON.

“Many of the motorsports fans are aware that Proton cars have superior ride and handling, and that our cars can withstand the grit and challenges of an endurance race. Proton cars are reliable and tough, and tonight our experienced drivers know how much they can push the cars to its best capability. The team displayed a good endurance race which resulted in a superb come-back to motorsports. This is certainly a good turning point for PROTON,” Li added.

“We shall continue to put in place good strategy for our cars for better performance and durability, so that our customers receive the best ownership experience. With a good team, we strive to do better in the endurance race next year too,” Li added.