E-hailing drivers are not allowed to solicit for rides or wait around for passengers at airports, says JPJ

The road transport department (JPJ) says that all e-hailing drivers are prohibited from waiting or scouting around for passengers at all places, and this includes airports. It said via a statement that the prohibition is in accordance with e-hailing service licence terms stipulated under the Land Public Transport Act 2010.

According to the department, e-hailing drivers are only allowed to take subscribed passengers who have booked the service online via the transportation network company’s mobile application, as Bernama reports.

“An e-hailing service driver who fails to meet any of the conditions stipulated under the Road Transport Act 1987 and the Land Public Transport Act 2010 may be subject to legal restrictions under the provisions,“ the statement said.

The statement from JPJ comes after an e-hailing driver posted online that he had been issued a summons by the department for picking up a passenger at the Penang International Airport earlier this week.

The department said that the transport ministry had already made amendments to laws relating to e-hailing services. According to JPJ, the amendments were supposed to have come into effect on July 12 last year but the government had granted all e-hailing service operators a year (until July 12, 2019) to to be more prepared.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Yet teksis are? This sounds like a Gov approved cartel. Is this New Gov the Mafia?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
    • Close GRAB on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:21 pm

Thank you JPJ, lousy Grab will be dead soon. Teksi will live again to serve the rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:28 pm

This is all the previous Government corruption. See lah who owns all the Teksi lesen in Malaysia. All ex UMNO cowboys.

Time for NEW Government to kick all these people out. 60 years of corruption has no place in the new clean Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • Kantoied but Still Wanna Defend on Jan 05, 2019 at 2:12 pm

Keyword: ex-UMNO.
        Because all them are with Pribumi. UMNO has been cleansed but the rubbish now is with Madey and his party, and rakyat foolishly voted them into the Government.

• Syazwan Ahmad on Jan 05, 2019 at 4:18 pm

You see Kunta Kinte, John is a BN cybertrooper.

Ever since the previous corrupted government kalah teruk during Pilihanraya, he lost his previous job and cried so much. The new clean leaders started to go after his corrupted masters. He was very furious at the fact that a new, clean government took over.

That’s why, here in PT, you always see him being so dengki and sombong, especially when the articles are related to the new government policies. The new government is just being pragmatic, they have to eradicate 60 years of corruption, not because they don’t care about the rakyat.

I rather believe millions of rakyat voters who are satisfied with what Pakatan is doing instead of one frustrated cybertrooper who thinks the new clean government is a mafia family.

Thank you Pakatan Harapan for saving the country and lowering fuel prices!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Mafia threatened john on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:34 pm

Yes, and this mafia Gov wants to close Proton. Habisla Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • P. Alyanna on Jan 05, 2019 at 2:15 pm

So you admit that your gahmen is a criminal entity then? So the entire PH should convene their meeting in Bamboo River instead of Parlimen.

• gigikuning on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:44 pm

The rise of Big Blue taxi & perbumi. Hail yeah !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:51 pm

Our airport limo and even teksi teksi is so smelly. Half the time the driver sit inside and smoke and sembang with his friends.

Then when he get call, he thinks by opening the windows the smell will go away.

It does not

• Pakatan Kuat Tidur on Jan 04, 2019 at 3:22 pm

john, ill admit that i was against u and ur posts before pakatan won GE14 last may. but after finding out the truth of the new u-turn govt, it turns out u were right all along. Now im with u and i really dislike the new govt!!!!

RM1:50/L petrol price xde, abolish toll x boleh, and much more..

Bodoh punye kerajaan baru. Never make the rakyat angry lah!!

• Rule of Laws on Jan 04, 2019 at 4:27 pm

To enjoy full commercial-like treatments. Better all Grab cars paint in Green and follow taxi-rules jer

• Turn M on Jan 04, 2019 at 5:57 pm

I made the rakyat an offer they can’t refuse, so die also they are stuck with me. *blows cigar smoke*

• Pyraxle on Jan 04, 2019 at 12:54 pm

Stupid joke by JPJ again! For airport/bus station/LRT etc it’s okay for you to saman but other places than that? Funny. Let’s say you’re in a mall meeting a friend and after you finish you wanna do grab, so you wait in the car for a while, that also kena saman? JPJ pls explain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:36 pm

JPJ should actually sort their own big time corruption problem. They talk big a lot but nearly every enforcement officer is taking duit kopi.

This is why accidents are on the rise. After giving duit kopi, the offender just goes back to committing the same offense over and over again.

JPJ is the NO 1 caus eof accidents because their officers are too corrupt.

• JPJ: “Saya menurut perintah atasan”

• Pyraxle2 on Jan 04, 2019 at 12:58 pm

All places including waiting at your house also kena saman? Hahahahaha JPJ pipu obviously have a low IQ. Try to use the Grab Driver app first la, dasar pemalas hari2 kerja fikir makan je tau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Therealmaserati on Jan 04, 2019 at 1:04 pm

What nonsense is this? Since when cannot pick up passengers at airport? Then all the Grab drivers at KLIA doing what?

Such a stupid statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • hondaman on Jan 04, 2019 at 1:42 pm

ehh dude, do you know how to read or not, it says cannot wait, not cannot pick up. If e hailing drivers want to wait for pax, then go and wait at the landside area lah… when you have received your booking, only then you go and pick up the passengers. This is to prevent all those pesky ulat trying to solicit pax. It is obvious that you are one of the drivers who is operating as an ulat kereta sapu

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:53 pm

The lazy teksi drivers still make noice and threaten to boikott. This is why gomen also make Grab life hard.

I wish the lazy drivers work hard. All pampered and expecting bantuan all the time and not used to working hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Vintz on Jan 04, 2019 at 4:05 pm

It says cannot wait in airport and cari customer. Grab drivers can pick up customer from airport only if the customer request via the app.

• PHPHPHPH on Jan 04, 2019 at 4:37 pm

come on la..read and comprehend carefully..According to the department, e-hailing drivers are only allowed to take subscribed passengers who have booked the service online via the transportation network company’s mobile application…there is border between conventional taxi and e-hailing should operate their business model..win win la ..not encroaching others’ territory..baru aman

• RoadRage (Member) on Jan 06, 2019 at 3:19 pm

Yeah i think these retards cant comprehend english.

• F. Ghazlie on Jan 04, 2019 at 1:15 pm

JPJ cekapp… Kereta sapu memang illegal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • CleanUp on Jan 04, 2019 at 11:46 pm

Learn to sapu bersih your stinking teksi first. Yours too smelly and hoping us to pay exorbitant cost for your smelly cabs and stinking services. No tq

• Keny Tan on Jan 04, 2019 at 1:54 pm

If e-hailing drivers cannot operated in KLIA and any airport then why they’re subjected to get licenses and permits as per Land Public Transport Act 2010?. If they’re to follow normal public taxi drivers in getting the necessary requirement, then they should be subjected to fair competition anywhere. Wouldn’t you think so.

• Gti owner on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:03 pm

What to do, new boss ask to came out some proposal to let public validate our existence, just like the changing a white shoe to black shoe idea.

• John Cinta MO1 on Jan 04, 2019 at 3:18 pm

The lazy teksi drivers shouls start working hard instead of being lazy and relying on bantuan.

Because of the samseng attitude of the teksi drivers, demanding this and that, the government has to make the lives of good, hardworking Grab drivers susah.

Don’t be lazy and stop drinking tea all day, then maybe you teksi drivers can find rezeki

• kaizen on Jan 04, 2019 at 3:41 pm

Ini semua comments from a people who do not read or who fail to understand. read carefully … “e-hailing drivers are only allowed to take subscribed passengers who have booked the service online via the transportation network company’s mobile application”.

%#&*.

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 04, 2019 at 3:47 pm

This is for those who clog the waiting area at the airports waiting for riders to hail them.

Just find a parking spot, and then wait for the riders therelah.

• UfolkSknoWhOwToreAd? on Jan 04, 2019 at 4:46 pm

Did you clowns even read and understand the article? Read and understand before comment would make you look a lesser fool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Easy to understand. Grab is not welcomed at airports.

• JOACHIM on Jan 04, 2019 at 6:35 pm

Yes, apparently it is illegal for me to use Grab app to hail the driver at airports even though his car is just 5 feet away from me. Apparently clowns have more sense than those in charge now.

• akubodo on Jan 04, 2019 at 6:58 pm

i dont understand the article. please explain to me

• Korean Fan on Jan 04, 2019 at 5:06 pm

Seriously, do they really need to solicit for passanger? Who in the world wave their hand to stop a car and ask if they are grab driver? Or a grab driver stop you and ask you to ride because they are grab driver?

• Andrekua on Jan 04, 2019 at 6:27 pm

Even though I only started using Grab recently, I noticed that there’s quite a number of e-hailing drivers who pick up long time customers especially those who frequent airport transfer. They totally bypass the app and communicate directly. I think this is what the government want to stop.

• stastasta on Jan 07, 2019 at 9:57 am

nothing wrong with that. its same as you ask your friend or relative to give you a ride to/from the airport.

• agreed..original e hailing should be ride sharing but when people make it a career they slowly become a ‘taxi’.they gather around at airport, bus terminal and mall waiting for customer. the only different is customer use their app to book instead of coming directly to the car. e hailing should maintain for part time only and it will benefit more people. when it become full time job the driver will be money oriented and what happen to taxi before will repeated to the e hailing service.

tq

• Unclear JPJ statement on Jan 05, 2019 at 10:55 am

Hi All. I think the statement is that you cannot look for passengers without e hailing application. As long as you using e-hailing application to get booking from customers should be ok to wait anywhere.