Mazda teasing second-gen CX-3 before Geneva debut?

Mazda has announced that it will unveil a new compact SUV at this year’s Geneva Motor Show, which will likely be the second-generation CX-3.

The “mysterious” model will be the second in the company’s new-generation line-up, and will be underpinned by the SkyActiv-Vehicle Architecture. It will also adopt the latest Kodo design philosophy, which has already been applied on the fourth-generation Mazda 3.

Along with the announcement, Mazda released this teaser of the new SUV’s rear, which bears some semblance to the current CX-3. However, you’ll notice that the vehicle’s silhouette reveals a more flowing roofline as well as a wider stance.

A more obvious cue is the taillights that incorporate a circular graphic within, similar to what you might find on the current CX-5. Also seen within the clusters are trailing light bars leading into the tailgate – the Mazda logo is slightly visible here.

In terms of what will go under the bonnet, Mazda says a mix of SkyActiv internal combustion engines will be offered, including the company’s SkyActiv-X compression ignition engine. Mazda has yet to confirm further details about its new model, and other outlets are claiming this could be a new take on the CX-4. We’ll know more when the Geneva Motor Show kicks off in March.

GALLERY: 2018 Mazda CX-3

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Roti john Pvt Ltd on Feb 05, 2019 at 4:15 pm

The real game changer. Habisla X70!

• moment of silence to those who just bought the facelift CX3

• The current cx-3 looked awesome when it first came out, but didn’t age gracefully

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Osaka boy on Feb 07, 2019 at 11:28 pm

CX3 the best in class CBU japan Suv

• Hope it gets bigger. No more cutting of heads and legs just to stuff passengers into the cramp rear seats.

• Calvin on Feb 05, 2019 at 8:19 pm

Proton X50 the better car.

• kemon on Feb 05, 2019 at 8:35 pm

this 130k cheaper than CHR

• No matter how many versions of Mazda launches for any model, it will always look similar.
    Should hire new designers.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 07, 2019 at 8:20 am

Another great seller for Mazda. Mind you, in the 90s Mazda was close to dead. But they worked hard and invented the SkyActive engine 5 years ago.

This changed the company. It started making money.

Time for loss making companies also to work hard and invent things. Cannot be rebadger all your lives.

• John is Craving Dedak on Feb 07, 2019 at 8:33 am

Why buy China made junk like X70 when you can buy sexy looking Japanese quality CX3?

Smaller yes but at least the SC won’t tell you, “Bang in Proton lah, what do you expect? Sudah tentu rosak cepat”

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 07, 2019 at 3:52 pm

not a cx3

• Abesla on Feb 08, 2019 at 9:19 am

If this comes here, abesla CHR! Who wants to buy overpriced and outdated CHR! Abesla Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Crisp Rat on Feb 08, 2019 at 10:31 am

Hmm did I read that right? The skyactiv-x is already production ready?! Nice!