KTM Komuter train fares get 20% discount from April

Good news for those who rely on the KTM Komuter train service. Transport minister Anthony Loke announced yesterday a 20% discount for all KTM Komuter fares on all sectors (Klang Valley, Northern, Southern) starting from April 1, 2019.

The cabinet approved the discount for both cash and cashless payments. Currently, those who pay for rides with Touch n Go get 20% off board rates, and this will be retained post April. Separately, there’s a concession discount of 50% for students, senior citizens, children and the disabled.

In a statement, the transport ministry said that with this fare discount, KTM Komuter riders will get to reduce their monthly expenses for public transport fares. The saved amount can be used to support other expenses such as food and accommodation, which are the biggest costs other than transport.

“Cost of transport has been identified as the third highest expenditure incurred in Malaysia and we want to help reduce this cost. This 20% is for Malaysians and is on top of the 20% discount already on offer for cashless sales. For example those using MyKad and Touch n Go will get up to 40% discount starting April 1,” Loke told the media.

The minister said that the idea for the KTM discount came about after Malaysians asked for it following the successful recent introduction of Rapid My100 and My50 unlimited passes. The My100 pass offers 30 days of unlimited rides on the LRT, MRT, KL Monorail, BRT Sunway lines and buses, while the My50 is a monthly pass for Rapid KL buses excluding the BRT.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Venezuelon on Feb 21, 2019 at 12:58 pm

BashNers komplen how come no gip FREE petrol, MRT, Komuter… Cukuuur bossku

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 21, 2019 at 5:56 pm

Now we have a clean Government, everything also cheap. Wow, 20% less

Thank you. Even now, can buy unlimited travel for My50 or My100.

Cars are cheaper

Petrol is cheaper

Even broadband also 300Mbps for RM130. If follow before, 300 Mbps sure RM500

Thank you clean Government! you are the best. No GST also, food is so much cheaper!

• Shazwan on Feb 21, 2019 at 6:45 pm

Loke is so good. Doing so much of work. Clean man. This 20% helps me a lot

Petrol also so reasonable now. If follow old gomen, it will be RM3 ringgit by now per liter.

• Chandra on Feb 21, 2019 at 7:13 pm

KTM since 1948 operated immense losses, due to dire corruptions. Flush out those 61 year of pilfering and rent seekers. Now we enjoy KTM diskaun , Rakyat made the right choice!

• Rimau on Feb 21, 2019 at 8:26 pm

RON95 subsidy too. Syukur Malaysia aman!

• Aziz Mahmood on Feb 21, 2019 at 9:30 pm

Yes. Malaysia will maju under the new clean government

• Persatuan Atheist Serambi on Feb 21, 2019 at 1:39 pm

discount fare should only be given to Jack.
    no discount fare for Jill since they already enjoy boarding special privilege coach car.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 21, 2019 at 3:56 pm

Terima ka—sih!!! (ala2 alleycats aru)
    Uolls made the right choice!!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 21, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Discout 20% only? Pfft! Rakyat used to ride Komuter for free back in the days of the previous Government. We have to spend more in PH rule.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Syukur Voters on Feb 21, 2019 at 7:15 pm

Nope. Rather the previous Government used to pay Rakyat to ride Komuter and MRT GoKL.

• Azwan Ali on Feb 21, 2019 at 9:32 pm

Hey, jangan kurang ajar. Be grateful that the new government is saving the country from its demise

• Gud one bro! Hahaha!

the previous Government wud turn Malaysia become Venezuela by now. Venezuela foreva!
        Wakanda foreva! Dedak Foreva!

• This is a car site. It is not about Wakanda or Venezuela. You want to talk about that, go to lowyat.net and troll at /kopitiam section.