March 2019 week two fuel price – up again for RON 97

It’s another Friday, which means it’s time for the usual weekly fuel price update. Petrol is up again this week, but only in the case of RON 97, with that of RON 95 having been capped.

From tomorrow, March 9, RON 97 will be priced at RM2.46 per litre (up three sen from the RM2.43 last week). As for RON 95, it remains priced at RM2.08, which is the maximum price consumers will pay no matter how high market prices push pump prices beyond that mark.

The price of diesel has also been capped at a maximum of RM2.18 per litre, and as such Euro 2M diesel continues to be priced at RM2.18 per litre, while Euro 5 diesel, which is always 10 sen more than standard diesel, remains at RM2.28 per litre.

The government said that without the price cap in place for both fuels, RON 95 would actually be priced at RM2.16 per litre, while that for diesel would be RM2.38 per litre, based on Automatic Price Mechanism (APM) calculations.

These prices will be in effect until March 15, when the next set of fuel price adjustments will be announced. This is the tenth week of the weekly fuel price format, which is set to be announced every Friday. The prices will be effective from Saturday until the following Friday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express frustration over rising fuel prices, with some feeling the government’s pricing mechanism lacks transparency and is unfair to consumers. Several critics accuse political trolls and "cybertroopers" of spreading fake news, especially about promises of RM1.50 fuel, which authorities have denied. Many commenters praise the current government for capping prices and improving fiscal management, contrasting it positively with previous administrations. There is also dissatisfaction with petrol price fluctuations and concerns over profit motives of station owners. Overall sentiments are mixed but lean towards criticism of price hikes and skepticism towards political propaganda, while some show appreciation for government efforts to stabilize fuel prices and promote national development.

• manifestotototo on Mar 08, 2019 at 5:22 pm

UP UP AND AWAYYYY…
    PRICING MECHANISM MANA?? MANAA??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 29
    • Khalid on Mar 09, 2019 at 12:26 pm

hope john and all the BN keyboard warriors berambus from this site. fed up with fake news

• John Bin Copypaste on Mar 09, 2019 at 1:33 pm

The past 5 years also we never had pricing mechanism and nobody made any noise

• Of Mosalah Junior on Mar 09, 2019 at 1:57 pm

PRICING MECHANISM mana ada kaitan langsung penjualan diesel subsidi kepada pihak yang tidak dibenarkan sebaliknya menjual kepada nelayan yang berdaftar sahaja. Nelayan menyalurkan minyak melalui hos di premis pelantar ikan atau tempat menaikkan hasil laut. Nelayan2 tidak turun ke laut kerana ribut dan minyak simpanan tidak habis dijual.

• Troll Hunter on Mar 09, 2019 at 4:15 pm

Troll john please dont come here and say price is so high and rakyat susah. We know all your pseudo names already

• Fernandez on Mar 10, 2019 at 11:49 am

so happy this post only has only 30 comments. Looks genuine now that john and his copypaste names don’t clog it up anymore.

Easier to read.

• Ghani on Mar 08, 2019 at 5:35 pm

Fuu. Abang2 otai stesen minyak happy sakan oii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • John Bin Copypaste on Mar 09, 2019 at 1:36 pm

All the abang abang owning stesen minyak now very quiet. When go up, each make beratus ribu untung. But when go down little bit, they protest and ask Government to compensate them.

Typical lazy attitude

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 08, 2019 at 5:44 pm

Syukur Malaysia aman.

• Troll Hunter on Mar 09, 2019 at 4:18 pm

Malaysia aman kerana ada kerajaan yang stabil, jujur dan amanah sekarang!

• Junaidi Jasin on Mar 09, 2019 at 4:26 pm

Not only Malaysia but keep this blog aman. Benci betul si john datang dengan pelbagai nama lain dan buat kecoh

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 08, 2019 at 5:48 pm

I am happy to pay more for petrol. This is because I know as of May 2018, all money collected by our Government now goes to the building of our country, schools and hospitals.

Unlike before, where money collected by the Government
    “masuk poket sendiri”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 61
    • YB tak reti buat keje on Mar 09, 2019 at 12:02 pm

What a load of rubbish.

• Aziz Mahmood on Mar 09, 2019 at 12:23 pm

Careful bro. Later john will come and use his dupe accounts to create a scenario that the rakyat is frustated with our new government

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 10, 2019 at 12:24 am

You are sooo naïve.

It’s business as usual lah. Nama saja M’sia Baru tapi still same same songlap lah.

Same songlap lah, just different politicians and cronies. Business as usual.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 08, 2019 at 5:49 pm

I am so glad our clean and honest Government has capped the Ron 95 to RM2.08. At least we consumers can plan our finances.

If follow the previous corrupted Government, by now our petrol will be RM3.00 per litre.

Habis lah us!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 60
    • Mahacai detected.

• Copy Paste on Mar 09, 2019 at 4:20 pm

Copy paste: “Continue to fool yourself. It’s okay. The rakyat is telling you otherwise but if you still don’t listen, no matter. You’ll just end up in Malaysian history as the first one term government.”

• Strike One – Cameron
      Strike Two – Semenyih
      Strike Three – Rantau???

3 strikes, batter’s out. Game over PH.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 08, 2019 at 5:51 pm

Everything is going up except our salaries. Terima kasih PH for our suffering! We will remember you again in Rantau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 24
  • I can see that Ron 97 is going back up to 2. 80

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 08, 2019 at 6:13 pm

I hope our regular fake troll does not come here again and ask RM1.50/L petrol MANA?

Already our esteemed PM, Tun Mahathir already said that PH NEVER made such promises and all these are fake rumours.

I rather believe an esteemed statesman who has been our PM for 20 over years than one frustrated keyboard warrior who has not got his dedak since May 9th 20118

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 49
  • Copy Paste John on Mar 08, 2019 at 6:16 pm

Shouldn’t we stop selling Euro 2M Diesel to make our Environment cleaner?

• Anti-John on Mar 09, 2019 at 12:17 pm

BN cybertroopers and bashers say they only want cheap 1:50 fake news fuel and dedak. All low class bodoh

• Copy Paste John on Mar 08, 2019 at 6:17 pm

I must find a way to use public transport now since petrol is getting expensive

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Mar 08, 2019 at 6:21 pm

Soon, our famous guy will come here with his 50 dupe accounts saying our Government is bad and cheated us.

Waiting for him to come.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 173 Thumb down 183
    • RM1:50/L is Fake News on Mar 08, 2019 at 7:05 pm

John prefers to have people like Papagomo and Nazri Aziz ruling the country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
    • Aziz Mahmood on Mar 08, 2019 at 7:12 pm

Pakatan in less than 1 year did more than whatever BN did for 60 years.

At least now, the money we pay will be used for building roads and schools, instead of being given to someone’s bank account or pockets

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
    • Wilson Lee on Mar 08, 2019 at 7:17 pm

I hope he does not come again and clog up this post with 100 comments from different names.

• Copy Paste on Mar 08, 2019 at 8:31 pm

Copy paste: “”Hari ini kita Menang, esok kita turun harga minyak ke RM 1.50”. Google it.”

• Copy Paste on Mar 08, 2019 at 8:32 pm

Copy paste: “Hot of the press headlines!
      “And the vote is in – the Malays have lost their patience with the ruling coalition’s inability to fulfill its GE14 promises” – The STAR, Semenyih PRK, 3 March 2019”

• Good one bro! Lol!!

• Badlisham on Mar 08, 2019 at 11:43 pm

the troll john has finally been caught!

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Mar 09, 2019 at 9:35 am

RON95 for now. Until RON97 falls below RM2.20

• Mohd Tamrin on Mar 09, 2019 at 10:58 am

john, tolong cari kerja yang soleh.

• EDITOR on Mar 10, 2019 at 12:57 am

Cue the self talking among your fake IDs, self praising with suddenly new made up IDs, and self liking your own comments. Yes, we know.

• EDITOR on Mar 10, 2019 at 1:14 am

We stomach your antics, because we leave those who prefer to live in their own fantasies alone. Though you have to realise soon or later, the fantasy world that you create around yourself is so far removed from the reality that is happen in this country.

If you’d really love Pakatan Harapan, you should be helping them recapture the reality on the ground instead of building castles in the sky. Take this as a friendly editor advice.

• John Kroni UMNO on Mar 08, 2019 at 6:21 pm

I hope the bodoh john does not come here and ask “RM 1:50/L petrol mana?”

It is fake news. Tun M, our beloved PM, has said that it wasn’t part of Pakatan’s manifesto. He said that it was BN fake news.

I rather believe a prestigious PM than a low class bodoh cybertrooper.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 214 Thumb down 82
    • manifestotototo on Mar 08, 2019 at 6:39 pm

Najib oso said 1mdb was fake news

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
      • Dato Seri Bijan on Mar 09, 2019 at 12:15 pm

Go to lowyat forum. Don’t post here

• k/tard MO1 Salah! on Mar 09, 2019 at 12:30 pm

US government oso say najib songlap duit. But Mahathir or Pakatan never promised RM 1:50 fuel before GE14

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 08, 2019 at 6:59 pm

agree with you fully. Now he has been caught to be Copy Paste, people are fed up already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 31
      • John Kroni UMNO on Mar 09, 2019 at 12:22 pm

He should go to Facebook. There he can hang out with his crony friends

• Aziz Mahmood on Mar 08, 2019 at 7:08 pm

Bro just ignore john and his dupes, BN keyboard warriors always make no sense. They think they know everything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Khalid on Mar 08, 2019 at 7:14 pm

fed up with john and his fake news. even after may 9, he still troll here trying to find income. hope he berambus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Copy Paste on Mar 08, 2019 at 8:29 pm

Copy paste: “NNCP is also not in the manifesto but they have already dropped RM20million into this black hole despite everyone’s very vocal misgivings, and they will continue to drop more of our money into this dumb idea. [CP: Which now becomes a flying car ROFL!]

Still want to argue what is or what is not relevant in the manifesto? Didn’t Tun said that nothing inside the manifesto is set in stone? A promise is a promise and should be kept! Why did we vote in these lying politicians?!”

• Copy Paste on Mar 08, 2019 at 8:30 pm

Copy paste: “He also told us he never knew about the lopsided toll concession deals despite his signatures on all these contracts. Yeah sure, we believed him. Well, not anymore.”

• Stefan Ram on Mar 08, 2019 at 8:56 pm

John should get a real job than be a BN Cybertrooper with so many fake names

• John the Copy Paste Clown on Mar 08, 2019 at 8:57 pm

Government should bring back Ron 92. It is cheaper and good enough for most of us.

• It’s not fake news by BN. It’s promised by Rafizi Ramli from PKR

• Okey jer on Mar 09, 2019 at 9:38 am

ape jadi Ringgit kalo petrol 1.50/L jer?

• Mohd Tamrin on Mar 09, 2019 at 10:57 am

Akhirnya tupai sudah jatuh. Bertaubat lah john. Pulang lah ke pangkalan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • penny&hope on Mar 08, 2019 at 7:06 pm

a penny is a penny, an increase is an increase. there’s goes the hope …….

• Land below the Typhoon on Mar 08, 2019 at 9:15 pm

How much is B10 diesel a liter?

• 2 strikes. If this keeps going up, Rantau will be the 3rd strike and PH is outta here!

• Amran on Mar 08, 2019 at 10:31 pm

Hebat Lim Guan Eng.. Berjaya terbitkan bon samurai

• Badlisham on Mar 08, 2019 at 11:44 pm

All his comments make us sick. Get out of here john, we don’t want your sick hatred in this forum

• Radzuan on Mar 09, 2019 at 11:02 am

I gip you a LIKE. Best comment ever!!!!!

• Amran on Mar 10, 2019 at 7:25 am

Ron 95 capped rm2. 98. Cukurrrr. Telur turun 2 sen. Dulu naik sekarang dah turun.. Kenapa tak puji kerajaan?

• macampondan on Mar 10, 2019 at 9:03 am

these days i find it amazing. the people is so forgetful of what’s the state we are in especially the debt that’s being handed down by the previous gov.

People rather have short term shiok than lonh term fix and ranting around for shits that caused by all in the first place (for voting the previous gov)

Now with PH , expectation is have immediate fox to everything but in reality, i would prefer more constructive suggestions instead all the tok kok empty vassles.

• I sense cybertroopers are making the rounds again in droves here.

• Jphan. on Mar 15, 2019 at 5:52 pm

Since the boastful drop of 15sen for the first Auto Pricing Mechanism, the pricing have always on the up with the price much higher than the price when it is lowered. We the ordinary raykat seems to be taken for a ride.
    There is no transparency that the raykat can really see how this APM works!
    PH, pls be more transparent and be more professional.
    I am losing ( and l believe alot of others ) faith in this PH gov.