Bangkok 2019: Hyundai Kona Electric launched in Thailand – 39.2 or 64 kWh battery, from RM237k

The Hyundai Kona Electric made its Thai debut at the 2019 Bangkok International Motor Show. The Electric is the battery-powered EV version of Hyundai’s compact Kona crossover, which is coming to Malaysia soon with a 1.6 litre petrol turbo engine. The Kona Electric was showcased at KLIMS 2018 alongside its ICE-powered sister.

The Kona Electric surfaced in February 2018 as a production car. One of the most impressive mass market EVs on sale today, it packs a 64 kWh battery and is good for a claimed driving range of up to 482 km (WLTP mode). Maximum output is 204 PS/395 Nm, pushing the EV from 0-100 km/h in a swift 7.6 seconds. There’s also a basic version with a 39.2 kWh battery, good for 312 km and 136 PS.

Charging the lithium-ion polymer battery up to 80% takes about 54 minutes using a 100 kW DC (CCS) fast charger. With the 7.2 kW on-board-charger, charging with AC (Type 2) takes nine hours 40 minutes for the bigger battery pack and six hours 10 minutes for the shorter-range battery pack.

In Thailand, the CBU imported Kona Electric with the 39.2 kWh battery is badged as SE, and costs 1.849 million baht (RM237,285). The 64 kWh car is the SEL, priced at 2.259 million baht (RM289,916). The factory warranty is for three years or 100,000 km, while the EV battery’s warranty lasts for eight years or 160,000 km.

EV hardware aside, the Kona Electric is fully packed with kit such as all-LED lighting, a seven-inch Supervision cluster colour LCD meter panel, head-up display, wireless charging, button-operated shift-by-wire, a seven-inch touchscreen head unit with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, tyre pressure monitoring system, a single-pedal driving system (like the Nissan Leaf) and heated/ventilated seats, among other things.

The Kona Electric joins the Ioniq Electric in Hyundai’s Thai EV range. The second-generation Nissan Leaf – launched there in December 2018 – comes with a 40 kWh battery (270 km WLTP, 148 hp, 320 Nm) and is priced at 1.99 million baht (RM255,325).

GALLERY: Hyundai Kona Electric in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Chavez on Mar 29, 2019 at 2:14 pm

Kimchis should demand Hyundai to sell this car at RM60k and battery replacement priced at RM3k. At this prices, no sane kimchi can afford it.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 29, 2019 at 3:08 pm

This is why Thailand is the Detroit of Asia. They look into the future. They know EV and PHEV and Hybrid is the future.

This is why the Government is promoting a lot of EV and PHEV cars.

Now you understand why Thailand has gone USD hundreds of billions in investments the past 25 years. The investors know that Thailand is focused and have a vision of what the future will be

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • albert dupe on Mar 30, 2019 at 9:24 am

Stupid kunta still wants EV car, if this is the price even your jepunis overlord via p2 cannot gip it for less than 100k

• Same Type as John on Mar 31, 2019 at 12:08 am

Enough of your dupes john. You already got caught yesterday.

• Yeah. Like got caught telling us for 4 years we have the most expensive car prices in the world, then now pusing and telling us Thailand always have higher car prices than us.

• Celup King on Mar 29, 2019 at 4:38 pm

I hope the resident troll don’t come here and demand for Proton to come out with EV car. Later when they actually start to develop and sell their EV car at RM237k, he goes and complain why so expensip.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Drone on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:07 pm

Flying car more important. Iriz EV can take a backseat.

• Mario and Bros on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:16 pm

Good! Don’t forget YB Kunta Kinte is coming from Nissan Salesman and P2 Salesman who came to talk badmouth about launching G20 Series in Malaysia articles since yesterday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Nazrul on Mar 30, 2019 at 7:47 am

Our abang abang still fantasy about flying cars.

• Why the electric car so expensive? Is it volume? Whole NA engine not same price as lit battery and motor?

• Daddykasi on Mar 29, 2019 at 3:26 pm

Come to Malaysia up to rm800k according tonl protectionism policy NNCP

• thepolygon on Mar 29, 2019 at 3:37 pm

Save the earth they said…

• Among major Asean countries, Malaysia is getting left out in getting the Kona. First launched in Singapore, then Philippines, now Thailand, Indonesia’s turn is coming up next month…tsk tsk.

• Bruno Mars on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Because their target market got influenced and think kimchi got no RV. Add with EV battery, it becomes double no RV.

• bolehland on Mar 30, 2019 at 9:33 am

Bashers instill bad feelings for bolehland pipu. Dun believe in them

• rosemarie lacuna on Nov 12, 2021 at 1:25 pm

I had a bad experienced with 2019 kona model. My ODO is 13k but the module was already defective. Driven only from house to office. 11 kms. SInce, I have another unit. I am using it interval. two week a month i am using my KONA but i found out that my module unit was defective , it cost me more than 80k to replace a entire parts. I can not recommend kona to consumers since it is not reliable. very disgusting.