Bangkok 2019: Suzuki Jimny launched, from RM199k!

Good things don’t come easy, or cheap. The fourth-generation Suzuki Jimny is super cool, and it is now officially available in Thailand. But the small 4×4 also costs a small fortune – imported CBU from Japan, the Jimny Sierra starts from 1.55 million baht for the five-speed manual and 1.65 million baht for the four-speed auto. That’s equivalent to RM199,019 and RM211,852 respectively.

The transmissions are linked to a part-time 4WD system with low range transfer gear (2H, 4H, 4L, this ain’t no soft-roader) and a 1.5 litre NA engine with 102 hp/130 Nm. The 1.5L motor is reserved for the Sierra version with the chunkier bumpers and wide overfenders. In Japan, the main seller is the kei car variant with a smaller footprint and a 660 cc turbocharged triple.

The Jimny isn’t as well equipped as mainstream SUVs, but it is after all a basic off-road specialist. One gets auto LED headlamps with washer, leather steering wheel with audio/call buttons, cruise control, auto air con, and a seven-inch touchscreen head unit Bluetooth, navigation and Apple CarPlay/Android Auto/Mirror Link.

The front seats are fabric manual chairs and the rear ones split fold 50:50. It rolls on 15-inch rims and skinny 195/80 AT tyres. Safety kit consists of ESP, hill hold control, hill descent control and two airbags. Basic.

Seven colours are available, including three with a black roof. The blue car you see here comes loaded with optional accessories that include silver underguards on the front and side, roof racks, red mud flaps, plus that cool retro grille that we love from TAS 2019’s Jimny Sierra Pick-up Concept. Modern day Toyota BJ40? This is as close as it gets.

Prices might come down when Indonesian assembly starts, but for now, the Jimny will be an expensive little toy in Thailand. Can someone bring Suzuki back to Malaysia, please.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Salleh on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:32 pm

Alamak why so expensive? I really this funky car

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 29, 2019 at 7:21 pm

This car, if it comes to Malaysia will be cheaper as Thailand prices are always higher.

And if CKD in Malaysia, it might even become RM123k

So now people have so many alternatives than buying a China made car

1) Suzuki Jimny
      2) Subaru Forester (RM123k)
      3) Mitsubishi Outlander 7 seater (RM129k)
      4) Nissan X-Trail 7 seater (RM130k)
      5) VW Tiguan RM135k (after discounts)
      6) Honda CRV 2.0 RM129k (after discounts)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 27
      • Muhammad John on Mar 29, 2019 at 7:45 pm

I thought you said that Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • Pakcik on Mar 29, 2019 at 7:53 pm

DRB Suzuki sure get cheaper Jimny here.

• Vader on Mar 29, 2019 at 10:57 pm

How can that be? Didn’t you tell us that Malaysia has the highest car price in the world? Logic will tell you there cannot be higher yet here you are saying Thailand prices are always higher. Are you trying to tell us, Thailand is not in this world? Which of your fantastical stories are true then? Or likely non of it are?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Nazrul on Mar 30, 2019 at 7:51 am

After Proton X70 become CKD, nobody wants it. Because CKD means, it becomes Proton quality past 20 years!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
      • Halim on Mar 30, 2019 at 3:20 pm

Oh Wow, so many choices to buy than Proton X70. At least all these cars hold their RV well, unlike Proton and worse still, China cars

• Eh now we not highest car prices in the world? What de cerita now?

• Same Type as John on Mar 31, 2019 at 12:03 am

Already got caught yesterday for trying to frame kunta. Now, instead of shame, you talk a lot.

• English Teacher on Apr 01, 2019 at 11:17 am

No need for anybody to frame Kunta. You are well capabled in doing that yourself as evidenced here.

Your forked tongue twisted so much that it caught in bind around your slithery serpentine body. When you lie, you can only go so far to maintain that lie but eventually you will get caught, much like your politicians.

Take heed from the People and refrain from your vile activities immediately.

• john 2019 on Mar 31, 2019 at 10:40 am

My advice for you is to stop telling so many cerita since your lies are already Game Over when you got caught yesterday.

YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 29, 2019 at 6:39 pm
          Actually I have to admit that I have to believe in what john said. This is because john talks better news and talks wonderful stories. Anyway I rather believe in what john and anti Nissan Fans and anti P2 Fans said.

• Not the first time you had changed your story, as we can clearly see here you now said “Thailand prices are always higher”, this in contradiction with your past story that Malaysia had the highest car prices. So if you had changed story in your 29 March 2019 comment, we aren’t surprised either. No need to accuse john of lying here.

• Unknown on Apr 01, 2019 at 3:33 pm

Correcto, Alan!

• Same Type as John on Mar 31, 2019 at 12:05 am

I wonder where is the troll who for 4 years have been telling us we have
        1) Cheapest Car prices in the world
        2) Cheapest petrol prices in the world.

• Copy Paste on Mar 31, 2019 at 11:17 am

Copy paste: “I wonder where is the troll who for 4 years have been telling us we have
          1) Most Expensive Car prices in the world
          2) Most Expensive petrol prices in the world.”

• RM200k for the Jimny? What are they smoking? I really love the design and styling but the price is just plain nuts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Veyron Owner on Mar 29, 2019 at 6:40 pm

If I can pay that much, I rather work harder and get a G-Wagen instead. Why go for a cheap clone when the original is so much better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • AMenzZ on Mar 29, 2019 at 7:53 pm

Will you use a G-Wagen to do serious off-roading? Splashing piles of mud to your G-Wagen. CBU as always expensive after tax this and that

• But that’s still a rm1million price tag

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 31, 2019 at 10:52 pm

the fact u need to work harder is proof u can never own the g wagen

• Veyron Owner on Apr 01, 2019 at 4:37 pm

Not every one of us are born rich, some of us had to work hard to be where we are. If you aren’t born rich but choose to complain about being poor and blame others for your predicament, you only have yourself to blame. If you spend too much time complaining and not working hard, you only have yourself to blame.

• Smoke weed everyday..

• Donno on Mar 29, 2019 at 7:47 pm

You can get a ford raptor here in bolehland for that price

• Khairul Izam on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:39 pm

Mahal gile! Kecik dari X70, luar hodoh dari X70, dalam kuno dari X70, takde GKUI macam X70. Ini konpem tak laris jual. Kalaulah X70 masuk pasaran Indon, pasti jual merecik macam Gudang Garam beb!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
    • X70 bukan offroader la sengal, this is the real hardcore 4×4 suv, mahal sbb cbu, ko baca ke tak ni? Agak2la nk kondem pun pui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
      • Truckers on Mar 29, 2019 at 10:54 pm

Real hardcore 4×4 SUV with such a low ground clearance? Who are you trying to kid here, kid? Come talk to my Defender before you go claiming something else is a “real hardcore 4×4 SUV”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
        • Overlander on Mar 30, 2019 at 1:22 pm

No hardcore offroader is oem bone stock man, with mods the jimny is capable, almost all 4×4 aren’t stock for borneo safari

• Akira on Apr 01, 2019 at 8:50 am

Jaguh nampak…

X70 kete China la….

Jimny kete Jepon..

• The reality is even if you bring the X70 to Indonesia, it will not spark as high interest or demand as in Malaysia. For one, Geely attempted to enter the Indo market back in early 2010s, and they failed. Proton has mild success in the Indo market, but even recently the Iriz failed to prevent the demise of Proton Indo. Even the most popular Malaysian assembled car, the Daihatsu Sirion (rebadged Myvi), was never a top seller in its category.
      The X70 needs to provide a decent badge/unique selling point to woo Indonesian buyers, and its segment is even more competitive with the very well priced and very well equipped Wuling Almaz and DFSK Glory 580 (Chinese brands, but don’t forget the Almaz is sold as the MG Hector in India, and as the Chevy Captiva in Colombia and Thailand). The fact that the Almaz, a car with a Chinese badge, outsold the CRV in the first few months of its launch shows that the market may be too competitive for the X70, which by past trends is already in an inferior position badge-wise.
      The Jimny is a real rough n tough off roader, so its aimed at a different buyer, and will be a hit in that niche, with its retro looks and off-road capabilities being its selling point.

• Chavez on Apr 01, 2019 at 3:07 pm

Keyword: “niche”. No brand will survive for long if it counts on being niche.

• Saysaysaja on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:41 pm

Dont worry, when reach bolehland will be rm99k. Lols.

• panjang on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:48 pm

Jimny…oh Jimny…why do u cost above 100k?

• Good things no cheap.
    Abang AP sell new Jimny here below RM99k

• joke? on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:54 pm

is this a joke? 200k for jinmy? omg….

• anonymous on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:56 pm

What the hell, a Corolla Altis level with BMW 316i pricing.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:56 pm

Wow thailand has started to become like singapore…its cars are so expensive nowadays even more expensive than Malaysia…but local people will continue to say we are the most expensive worldwide…

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 29, 2019 at 6:13 pm

Not us anymore but only one katak under the tempurung continues to say that.

• hahaha on Mar 30, 2019 at 3:51 pm

Ahahaha yes the resident troll here, who else?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 31, 2019 at 11:19 am

Well you know, I know, the whole of Malaysia know, but only he remains in self-denial and self-oblivious. He thinks he is the only katak in the world, so he croaks the loudest.

• Beli jgn tak beli..ada mcm Wrangler Radicon tu…4X4 is 4×4 la..not like SUV bro X70 …

• john 2019 on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:59 pm

Another Game Changer from Suzuki! If Proton don’t come up with a Game Changing SUV then Proton should rebadge this otherwise Proton will Game Over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Raja Kamarul on Mar 29, 2019 at 6:02 pm

The news is that Sime Darby is in line for the re entry of Suzuki. And that also means it will be crap service like with their Hyundai and Ford dealerships. Crikey!

• Car fan on Mar 29, 2019 at 6:21 pm

At first glance I thought the 199k was a typo.. maybe with an extra 1 in front haha

• Dylan Ch'ng on Mar 29, 2019 at 6:36 pm

Proton should donate the Shah Alam plant to Suzuki

• alphamann on Mar 29, 2019 at 6:44 pm

Danny Tan typo error is it? Should be RM99K?

• ShaunD on Mar 29, 2019 at 6:56 pm

Last time jimny was here, manade so expensive. CBU Japan also, kan? I see many new toys inside, but takkan sampai double the price?

• Will u proton please rebadge this?

• Penarang on Mar 29, 2019 at 8:15 pm

In Thailand, CBU tax is always ridiculously high, if CKD in asean pricing should be down by 40%

• crazy on Mar 29, 2019 at 11:15 pm

In Indo, the 2017 version was only RM 80K, the Thai pricing is doesn’t make sense.

• transformer on Mar 29, 2019 at 11:43 pm

WOW…. I still remember in 1993 SJ410(long version) about Rm33K and Swift(gen 1) Rm36K. In the end my dad bought that SJ410…. I want Swift….

• Anonymous on Mar 30, 2019 at 12:38 am

Damn crazy pricing….!

• KKYAK on Mar 30, 2019 at 11:26 am

If the Jimny come to Malaysia with the same price as Thailand might as well just buy the Ford Ranger Raptor….haha

• jimny got many admirer lately..thats why they jack up price. bodo pipu will buy this at this price then keep in garage.

• Pradeep Godiyal on Mar 30, 2019 at 4:36 pm

I am interested for buy the jimny when they lounch in India

• ganni on Apr 01, 2019 at 10:45 am

Nice to look at but will you spend above 100k for the car that failed in Moose Test????? what a joke!!!

• smlok on Apr 03, 2019 at 4:35 pm

Ringgit deflated

• Ms. Tini on Apr 29, 2019 at 11:05 pm

Hi, anyone! Can let me know where to find suzuki dealer in KL im intrested with SUZUKI JIMNY thank you.

• Liew Mook Lam on Jun 06, 2019 at 9:09 am

can we get this now in Malaysia?

• So sad that when you love a car, but it’s not in market of Malaysia….I saw this Jimny only cost around RM60K in Philippine….Last Jimny I think its around 85K in Malaysia, hopefully somebody could bring back Suzuki in Malaysia and sold Jimny like last price, around old price 80K.