GIIAS 2018: New Suzuki Jimny to be Indonesian-made

The new Suzuki Jimny is set to be assembled in Indonesia. If it’s to be sold in the republic, it would come from one of the company’s four plants in Indonesia, as opposed to being imported CBU from Japan.

This was revealed by Subronto Laras, the president commissioner of PT Indomobil Sukses International at the 2018 Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS), where the new Jimny is being displayed to gauge local interest. It’s safe to say that the display Jimny – without any backdrop, standee or special platform – has been one of the most popular cars with the GIIAS opening day crowd. Even president Joko Widodo liked what he saw!

Last month, Indonesia was mentioned as one of the possible sources for the new Jimny for Thailand, the other being Japan. The variant that will be made in Indonesia is the “Sierra” version with the chunkier bumpers, wide over-fenders and 1.5 litre engine, mated to either a five-speed manual or four-speed auto. In Japan, the main seller is the kei car version with a smaller footprint and 660 cc triple.

However, Subronto said that whether the Indonesian-made Jimny will be the 4×2 or 4×4 is yet to be decided, as the company is chasing a competitive price, and the all-wheel-drive version will obviously cost more. Would a Jimny be less attractive without its famed off-road ability? I’d buy one, just for the looks alone.

The Jimny is quite a legend in the off-road world, a true 4×4 famed for its ability to go further down the trail than its size suggests. First unveiled last month, this all-new fourth-generation Jimny continues with a ladder frame; three angles, three-link rigid axle suspension with coil springs; and part-time 4WD with low range transfer gear (2H, 4H, 4L). Once again, this is no crossover – the Suzuki Vitara covers that segment.

The new Jimny comes with a new “x-member” and two additional cross members for further reinforcement and increased torsional rigidity. The approach angle of 37 degrees, ramp breakover angle of 28 degrees and departure angle of 49 degrees are all ample, and allow the Suzuki to climb over obstacles without scraping its underbody.

Like what you see? Unfortunately, as Suzuki no longer sells cars in Malaysia, there’s no chance of us getting our hands on this baby G-Wagen.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• #Oppo-Find-aSS. on Aug 03, 2018 at 1:31 pm

FIRST!!

• Any way to privately import this baby G-Wagen here?

• SJ410 on Aug 03, 2018 at 10:16 pm

Berjaya group should bring Suzuki back here as they proved themselves in reviving Mazda.

• Testingonly on Aug 03, 2018 at 1:33 pm

Come to Msia would be cheaper.

• Proton oh Proton on Aug 03, 2018 at 1:40 pm

Sad can’t be seeing in Malaysia

• I want one

• sohai on Aug 03, 2018 at 1:56 pm

Thanks to Proton, we can’t have this Baby-G Wagen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • kesharoo on Aug 03, 2018 at 2:03 pm

Nice, pls bring to Malaysia. I will change to bigger tyres though…

• Bernard on Aug 03, 2018 at 8:16 pm

Simply stunning! It has loads of character, go anywhere…,

Must be 4wd and manual transmission. Best combination.

• NotA4WDLover on Aug 04, 2018 at 12:53 am

Goddamn, this is the 1st time I am hyped and sad about a 4wd not being available in MY. As my name suggest, I’m not fond of 4wd cars because most of the drivers are obnoxious, even my dad with his fortuner. And being a sabahan, everyone and their mums have 4wd or at least an SUV so jyeah, the gist is 4wd/SUV are too common in my area and it’s basically becomes the perodua of large cars but weirdly enough, Suzukis are rare even the old models. Which is why the Jimny peak my interest.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 04, 2018 at 10:07 am

proton tak ckd ke

• To bad no more suzuki malaysia.
    Well, If suzuki is selling in malaysia, what will the price be? I’m guessing it will sell below the perevious generation price as that model was CBU from Japan. Fingers crossed!!!

• Marumarumaru on Aug 21, 2018 at 11:23 am

is there any way to buy this car?

• Pokleh on Nov 06, 2018 at 4:54 pm

Direct import or recond from Indon..Btw, Proton deals with Suzuki ends Nov 2018..hope the best for Suzuki car..