Bangkok 2019: G20 BMW 3 Series – 330i for RM428k

The G20 BMW 3 Series was launched in Thailand in late February, ahead of its public debut at the 2019 Bangkok Motor Show. The seventh-generation sports sedan was launched in Malaysia last week.

Like us, Thailand gets the G20 initially as a CBU import, and in 330i M Sport guise. There’s a second option there, though – a 320d Sport for 2.959 million baht (RM380,370). The petrol range topper goes for 3.329 million baht (RM427,897).

Meanwhile, our CBU 330i M Sport retails for RM328,800. Yes, that’s almost RM100k lower due to the ringgit’s weakness against the Thai currency. Spend like it’s RM10 = 100 baht in Bangkok and your wallet will empty sooner than you think.

Power comes from a pair of 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engines, with the diesel version producing 190 hp and 400 Nm of torque, and the petrol making 258 hp and 400 Nm. Both get eight-speed automatic gearboxes channeling drive to the rear axle, although the 330i receives a sport version of the ZF transmission for 0-100 km/h in just 5.8 seconds.

The Sport Line trim on the 320d sports T-shaped bumper design elements in gloss black, a finish that can also be found on the window trim. You also get LED headlights and fog lights, 18-inch two-tone alloy wheels, keyless entry, powered sport seats with driver’s side memory, Vernasca leather, triple-zone auto climate control, aluminium trim and a BMW Live Cockpit Plus navigation system with an 8.8-inch display.

The 330i seen here is the version used in the ads. M Sport trim adds larger front air intakes and a prominent rear diffuser. Also thrown in are adaptive LED headlights, double-spoke alloys, M Sport suspension and brakes, variable sport steering, a BMW Live Cockpit Professional system with a 10.25-inch display, a 12.3-inch fully-digital instrument cluster, a 16-speaker Harman Kardon sound system and a powered bootlid.

The car you see here looks identical to our launch 330i down to the Style 790 M alloys, but there are some kit differences. For the steeper price, Thais get head-up display, a Harman Kardon sound system and a powered boot.

Full local specs, gallery and walk-around video of the G20 BMW 3 Series here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Logical Deduction on Apr 03, 2019 at 4:32 pm

Walao! Rm100k more! Somemore someone said we have the highest car prices in the world. What is this mindbending logic….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Apr 03, 2019 at 9:08 pm

I believe with 70 million population Thailand does have economy of scale and capable to generate thr economy itself. For that reason BMW thai sees the prospect buyers are capable of spending as much. We should not compare MY price to TH but rather at the supplying price from Germany.

• Carsut Merah on Apr 03, 2019 at 10:16 pm

Thats mean our RM is in the lowest rate compare to Thai money… did u get it bro.. dont trust your gov main stream media

• that means, not that’s mean…..

that’s mean = something is cruel or offensive

• Amran on Apr 03, 2019 at 5:27 pm

Bila harga kereta naik, dipersalahkan kerajaan.
    Bila harga Malaysia lagi murah, kenapa tak puji?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • proton sucks on Apr 03, 2019 at 5:27 pm

price is same..just that our currency weak

• paparadzi on Apr 03, 2019 at 7:14 pm

Funny. Normally if our currency is weak we will end up paying more, not less.

• Funny on Apr 04, 2019 at 11:02 am

Gud one bro paparadzi! Lolz!

• Spot on. If the Ringgit is weak, we would be paying a lot more. Hence the difference in price tag is obviously not currency related. Please provide a valid reason on the price tag difference, or remove that statement entirely.

Cheers!

• Vezeroth on Apr 04, 2019 at 8:25 pm

Riggit weak against thai currency la… Hence why 3 million bath is not 300k rm anymore… Our currency has gone down the toilet… Only whole travel will understand.. All those katak wont..

• Kumaran on Apr 11, 2019 at 1:10 am

Does not compute. Take for example 50k as the price of the car, its rm231k and 1.78m Baht. Give or take la not exact. You convert Ringgit at that value you get the 1.78m baht, if you convert the baht to ringgit you get 231k ringgit. It has nothing to do with the exchange rate of of malaysia with Thailand. It all has to do with the purchase price of the respective distributors in Malaysia and Thailand, the harmon kardon speakers, heads up display and automatic booth does not warrant a 100k price difference. So its 1 of these 2 things, could be both also actually.
            1. Bargaining power of Thailand’s distributor is not a powerful as Malaysia’s
            2. Thailand’s distributor has a higher mark up/profit margin as compared to Malaysia’s distributor.

• Roda Impian on Apr 03, 2019 at 9:44 pm

Weak ringgit is good for tourism and local exports, economy, according to previous tourist minister. Back in 2015, ringgit fell to lowest value in 17 years… #maluApabossku

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 03, 2019 at 6:58 pm

Our CKD 330i should have the same kit as the Thai model otherwise it feels cheap as the flagship 3 Series in Malaysia. Another thing missed out from our CBU model is the adaptive LED headlights.

• Doesn’t make sense…weaker ringgit cheaper bmw 330?

• U-Tun on Apr 04, 2019 at 2:43 pm

Author is confused that’s why PT should stick with car-related matters only. Leave it for our unaccredited accountant minister to make statement on financial status of our country.

• 100k expensive than 330i in Malaysia. But their 330i get adaptive LED headlights, harman kardon speakers, & power boot.

• 440k is E-class and 5-series territory already.

• Vezeroth on Apr 04, 2019 at 8:28 pm

U guys need to learn somw economics.. Why malaysia so many katak.. Think abit price of bmw in euro vs baht and euro vs myr… Then look myr vs baht trend

• FX Rules on Apr 04, 2019 at 8:18 am

Lower value currency leads to more expensive products, especially imported ones. Not the other way round. Please refrain from making such statements if unsure.

• Vezeroth on Apr 04, 2019 at 8:21 pm

Thai currency had appreciated vs the myr in recent years… Myr has gone down the drain thanks to race based politics tongkat 1mdb corruption.. List goes on

• Vezeroth on Apr 04, 2019 at 8:34 pm

One thai guy and one myr guy go to europe to buy a car, thai guy brings 3 million bath malaysian guy bring 300 rm.. Why reach europe malaysia guy only got 60k euro but thai guy got 70k Euro so they go to the bmw shop, malaysian guy can only afford cheap spec bmw but thai guy can spec his bmw to the roof, despite both of them doing the same kind of work and earning same income ie say 10k usd.. Faham tak boys and girls… Hence in the kast 10 years we have become poorer compared to thais Indonesians and Vietnamese.. Oh ya singaporeans too..