G20 BMW 3 Series, G29 Z4 in Thailand – 330i RM435k

The new G20 BMW 3 Series has been launched in Thailand ahead of its Bangkok Motor Show debut next month. According to the Bangkok Post, the seventh-generation sports sedan arrives in the Land of Smiles initially as a CBU import and will be offered in 320d Sport and 330i M Sport guises.

It will certainly be pricey at first, as it starts at 2,959,000 baht (RM383,000) for the 320d diesel, and those who want a petrol model would have to plonk down a whopping 3,329,000 baht (RM434,800) for the 330i.

Power comes from a pair of 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engines, with the diesel version producing 190 hp and 400 Nm of torque, and the petrol making 258 hp and 400 Nm. Both models get eight-speed ZF automatic gearboxes, although the 330i receives a sport version of the transmission.

The Sport Line trim on the 320d entails T-shaped bumper design elements in gloss black, a finish that can also be found on the window trim. You also get LED headlights and fog lights, 18-inch two-tone alloy wheels, keyless entry, powered sport seats with driver’s side memory, Vernasca leather, triple-zone auto climate control, aluminium trim and a BMW Live Cockpit Plus navigation system with an 8.8-inch display.

Meanwhile, the 330i is lavished with M Sport trim, which adds larger front air intakes and a prominent rear diffuser. Also thrown in are adaptive LED headlights, double-spoke alloys, M Sport suspension and brakes, variable sport steering, a BMW Live Cockpit Professional system with a 10.25-inch display, a 12.3-inch fully-digital instrument cluster, a 16-speaker Harman Kardon sound system and a powered bootlid.

In other news, the G29 BMW Z4 was also introduced at the same time, with the roadster being priced at 3,999,000 baht (RM518,300) for the sDrive30i M Sport variant and 4,999,000 baht for the top-dog M40i. The sDrive30i gets the same engine with the same outputs as the 330i, whereas the M40i utilises a 3.0 litre turbo straight-six that produces 340 hp and 500 Nm. Both models get the sport auto gearbox.

Standard kit includes the M Sport exterior package, adaptive LED headlights, 19-inch double-spoke alloys, keyless entry, powered seats with driver’s side memory, Vernasca leather, dual-zone climate control, Variable Sport Steering and the BMW Live Cockpit Professional system.

The M40i receives adaptive M Sport suspension, M Sport brakes, an M Sport locking rear differential, Sensatec faux leather dash, M Sport seat belts and a Harman Kardon sound system.

GALLERY: G20 BMW 330i M Sport at Singapore Motor Show

GALLERY: G29 BMW Z4

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Poor thai pipu..way cheaper BMWs in bolehland

• Digidigi on Feb 27, 2019 at 3:44 pm

In malaysia property and insurance agent drive 3 series , in Thailand rich people only can afford 3 series, lucky us

• DominicLiew on Feb 28, 2019 at 4:28 pm

Yes agree lucky we can afford a new 5 series sedan ( mostly on road ) not always ok

• G20 BMW 3er must beat Audi A4 to success here

• Avenger on Feb 27, 2019 at 4:05 pm

RM 434,800 for a 330i? Meanwhile here, 330e only cost RM 258,800. Where is that troll that said our car prices is highest in the world?

• Kubte on Feb 27, 2019 at 6:13 pm

This is G20 la bro wait G20 arrive here almost same lo

• Vader on Feb 27, 2019 at 9:43 pm

A 3Series is a 3Series dude. Whichever generation this is what’s being sold currently. It’s not like BMW Malaysia is giving massive discount on the F30 330e or anything. So I guess the comparison still stands.

• Compare Apple With Apple on Feb 27, 2019 at 7:01 pm

330e is F30 generation.

This 3 series here is G20.

And also normal F30 is sold expensive

• Exp Thaitea on Feb 27, 2019 at 5:58 pm

Wowww very ridicolous pricing.

• The NEW G20 gonna launch in Malaysia Next Month (March) Pricing for 330i definitely above RM300K.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 27, 2019 at 8:29 pm

Guess we will be getting our CBU batch soon and the 330i will definitely be under 400k and customers will compare the 330i with a CKD 530e. Hope the 320d makes a return to Bolehland though and can we get the Z4 30i for under 450k?

• Dominic on Feb 28, 2019 at 4:26 pm

No Z4 in malaysia BOLEHLAND pun tak accept kereta ni kerana buka atas ada smoke nanti saya suka kereta tu nanti beli tu nanti apa GG A