Malaysia does not need KL-Singapore High Speed Rail for now, but third national car still vital – Tun M

The government might have just given the East Coast Rail Link (ECRL) the green light, but it looks like the KL-Singapore High Speed Rail (HSR) project won’t be happening, for now. Prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said that Malaysia’s main focus right now would be to improve its existing rail system through electrification and double-tracking, The Star reported.

“At the moment, a high-speed rail is not too necessary, especially if it is just between Singapore and Kuala Lumpur. So we won’t build the HSR just yet. But we will want to improve the quality and the services of our existing railway system. That can be done, and has been done to some extent by double-tracking and electrification,” the PM said.

“Electrification also does not pollute the environment and, at the same time, allows us to travel at high speed. With double-tracking on our railways, this will allow trains to pass each other without having to stop,” he added.

In September 2018, Malaysia and Singapore agreed to a two-year suspension of the HSR project, which ends in May 2020. As part of the deal, Malaysia has reimbursed S$15mil (RM45.6 million) to Singapore for suspending the project.

Separately, while there has been a lot of train talk lately, don’t forget that there’s a third national car project brewing in the background, because the government has not.

At the same Moving the Rail Industry Forward event in Cyberjaya today, the PM repeated his emphasis on Malaysia’s need for a third national car, the Malay Mail reported.

The PM acknowledged that the rail sector will receive billions in government allocations, but stressed that the stimulatory effect on the economy was not the same with consumer spending in the automotive sector.

“No, we are investing (in trains) but the main thing is, when we build in Malaysia, only the government is the customer, because the railways belongs to the government. So the government must make a decision to encourage local production, by buying more from local sources,” Mahathir said when asked if the government should focus its spending on public transport instead of trying to birth another national car.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• We don’t need 3rd national car as well

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 3
    • Crony on Apr 17, 2019 at 10:48 am

Yes we need. To sustain our livelihood. He he he he….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Nazree on Apr 17, 2019 at 10:58 am

Development and manufacture 3rd national car will create thousands of NEW jobs for youths and fresh grads. Encourage local production, by buying more from local sources. And auto technology knowledge transfer to locals

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 52
      • Same script when 1st National car project was launch!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
        • History Bender on Apr 17, 2019 at 1:45 pm

At least 1st national car is filled with local Malaysian workers. 3rd national car will be populated by foreign workers. It won’t help our economy even one single sen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Spin Too Much on Apr 17, 2019 at 12:39 pm

Why do we need more industry to create NEW jobs for youths and fresh grads from FOREIGN COUNTRIES? How does it help when our money outflows from the country and all knowledge is brought back to their countries once the contract ends?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • If Goverment were to take these keyboard warriors opinion seriously, we will not even have Proton or Perodua…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • LRT User on Apr 17, 2019 at 4:35 pm

We will then have a world class public transportation system. So is that a bad thing?

• please bro, this is the exact thing they said when our 1st national car was launched. See what happen now? create more job for our people? Sorry, given the ‘achievement’ that 1st and 2nd national car has done. I’m not convinced (and I’m sure many think so). It’s better (in my opinion) to improve current public transport: train, bus, taxi, you name it. How can a government leader encourage a ‘NEW’ national car project when we already had two? isn’t it ironic?

• Need focus on public transport rather than Third National car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
  • flying sampan on Apr 16, 2019 at 9:15 pm

3rd national car was Inokom, Naza, Bufori,or not?

• Anonymous on Apr 16, 2019 at 10:20 pm

This is utter bull crap…! And utter STUPIDITY exclusively on TunM’s part. TunM has clearly not prepared for the future. He’s a relic and his thinking is outdated.

4 million people fly KL-SG route every year. It is the busiest route IN THE WORLD…! It grows anually. HSR has a ready market.

To be honest, HSR is NOT PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION; it is an economic catalyst. It helps business people to connect and move faster, eco-friendlier and easier directly into future CBDs of both countries… East Jurong CBD and Bandar Malaysia. It is an economic gamechanger.
    HSR offers ventures into high tech transportation industry on many levels. Bidders are even willing to support technical education as a joint venture… which augurs well in creating highly aerning, higher technical skilled workforce for the younger generation.

To start building the HSR by 2020 will only mean it will be operational only by 2031..! How could anyone say it was NOT NEEDED by then…? Longer the govt drags its feet… the later it starts, the later its completion. (Previous BN Govt had expected it operational by 2028).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 6
    • pengguna ploton kecewa on Apr 17, 2019 at 10:51 am

Airline’s lobby group > HSR lobby group

• Top10 on Apr 17, 2019 at 8:57 pm

The top 10 busiest routes in the world

Jeju – Seoul Gimpo: 13,460,306 passengers
      Melbourne – Sydney Kingsford Smith: 9,090,941 passengers
      Sapporo – Tokyo Haneda: 8,726,502 passengers
      Fukuoka – Tokyo Haneda: 7,864,000 passengers
      Mumbai – Delhi: 7,129,943 passengers
      Beijing Capital – Shanghai Hongqiao: 6,833,684 passengers
      Hanoi – Ho Chi Minh City: 6,769,823 passengers
      Hong Kong – Taiwan Taoyuan: 6,719,030 passengers
      Jakarta – Juanda Surabaya: 5,271,304 passengers
      Tokyo Haneda – Okinawa: 5,269,481 passengers

• Kuala Lumpur – Singapore is the busiest international flight route in the world, in terms of aircraft movement.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Apr 16, 2019 at 10:29 pm

No, we don’t need third national car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • Leafable on Apr 16, 2019 at 10:34 pm

So 1 person travelling in 1 car is greener than on a public train? I think this old man is losing his marble. We are doomed…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
  • Anonymous on Apr 16, 2019 at 10:36 pm

Global trend is towards PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION. As the population grows and cost of making cars go higher… the need for public transportation becomes greater. Not the need for MORE CARS.
    Japan has the top makers of cars yet its own population of 126million people prefer public transportation.

Electrified Double Tracking and use of Electric Trains, enhancing MRT services had been greatly undertaken by BN Govt under DSNajib… not by TunM… ever.

TunM’s MYOPIC view that train development only has the govt as clients is the wrong perception. The PEOPLE is the true end receipient of the project’s benefits. Moving people and assisting people towards enhanced connectivity creates business thus grows the economy. TunM’s askewd view during his first time as PM is what led the first KL LRT/Putra/STAR venture a failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • U-Tun on Apr 16, 2019 at 11:33 pm

Sheer genius, Tun. With flying cars no need to go underneath the mountain it fly above it. So no need to waste on tunnels and rail tracks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Is he high? If anything Malaysia should focus on reducing cars on the road. I’m all for a good rail link between KL and major Malaysian cities such as Georgetown and Ipoh. It could eleviate the lack of space in KL and develop those towns more.
    But it’s in everyone’s benefit to have this Singapore rail link. Just accept Singapore is the better city, and with this link it will bring a lot of skilled jobs to KL.

And please forget about this third national car project. Most countries don’t even have one national car. It’ll just worsen Perodua and Proton their market share and therefore competitiveness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • Mr. Octopus on Apr 17, 2019 at 9:05 am

Cool, you guys filled the HSR news with the 3rd national car snippet to boil the comments section… No need to stoop that low la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Ben Yap on Apr 17, 2019 at 9:25 am

Tun M got all his priority wrong. Don’t worry, the next GE the rakyat will get all the priorities right again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • menglim on Apr 17, 2019 at 2:40 pm

yea and who are you going to vote that will make the priorities right ?

• A troll once said if it’s not in the Manifesto, PH has no reason to fulfil despite making pledges. This 3rd National Car is also not in the Manifesto, yet why are they insisting to force this down the Rakyat’s throats despite no necessity for it? Public transportation is one of the key to a sustainable city and economy yet this gets neglected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Justin Santiago on Apr 17, 2019 at 9:34 am

Since Proton is a flop due to mismanagement, it is only right we have the third national car. After all Proton was a success before it failed. So we can do it again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • Yini macam mau tipu kita kah macha?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 17, 2019 at 10:22 am

ffs stop wasting our money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Not Toyota Fan on Apr 17, 2019 at 10:41 am

Gomen say hutang 1 Trillion but suddenly got money for this flying car-pets project. Why benefit one crony???

Isn’t it better fornthe gomen to use that amount of money for hospital, school, university, rural development, helping the hardcore poor …??? Is it because the helping the rakyat doesn’t give you politicians the “returns” that you desire? Is it because our tax monies are to be treated as your personal bank account? Is it because some big fancy expensive project gives you great PR but helping the rakyat doesn’t give you the same?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Vincent on Apr 17, 2019 at 10:43 am

National car 3 project potential give a positive impact in 10 years? Did Tun quantify how many brands, suppliers, jobs (Millions) have been pushing away to Thailand since the introduction of national car project, Proton!!! Those born after 1980 might not aware that Malaysia was the Asian car assembly hub for many brands before Malaysia has it own national car!

• One_way_or_another on Apr 17, 2019 at 11:59 am

At least we get to know where our money goes… not get stolen by someone.

Guys, we should look at the brighter side. Cheers~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • Ghani on Apr 17, 2019 at 4:34 pm

Between stolen then given to the poor, and stolen then given to the cronies & sons, please return us the 1st person.

• Jonathan on Apr 17, 2019 at 1:30 pm

Tun, I really look up to you as our country’s leader but it is time to put the priority of the people’s first above anything else.

• Robinhood on Apr 17, 2019 at 2:24 pm

Then, don’t tell us that the govt has no money!

• Aladdin on Apr 17, 2019 at 3:20 pm

Malaysia boleh…

• MyNewToy on Apr 17, 2019 at 3:35 pm

Agree, we do not need 3rd National car. We need a bicycle. Like during they live in the 50s. People use the bus and train. Work as a fisherman, rubber tapper and plantation owned by a western. More relaxed those days.

• Einstein on Apr 17, 2019 at 5:14 pm

Back then we don’t have cancer, strokes, heart problems, stress related mental problems, suicides, obesity, high blood pressure, diabetes, massive road related death rates, and many other modern day illness. Life was good back then.

• redpilled on Apr 18, 2019 at 3:08 pm

yeah back when teachers were paid 400/mpnth but ikan kembong was just 20sen/kati (600gm).

• We really need 3rd national car. Look at proton. Now become a global company. So we need one more national car

#donebackup

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Dong gor on Apr 17, 2019 at 7:55 pm

Siok sendiri

• cfansoon on Apr 20, 2019 at 3:11 pm

If built HSR (KL to Singapore) where are the passengers come from?
    Those who used to take Airasia change to take HSR?
    Less passengers take Airasia?
    Last time I took Airasia from Singapore to KLIA…why so many empty seat one?
    Go to Airasia, click “Find Flights” select “Origin = Singapore” and “Destination = KL” select date same as today, you will see still many tickets available.

• cfansoon on Apr 21, 2019 at 10:11 am

I wonder why there is no direct train from KL to Johor Bahru/Singapore, you need to stop at Gemas to take another train if you travel from KL to JB/Singapore or JB/Singapore to KL.
    Is this because not enough passengers taking these route?
    If there are lots of passengers taking this route than why KTM do not provide direct train?
    While there are direct trains from Tumpat Kelantan to JB.