R&D grant for third national car prototype approved, ‘sum is quite large’ – entrepreneur devp minister

The research and development (R&D) grant for the third national car, or new national car project (NNCP), has been approved by the government, and the sum is quite large, said entrepreneur development minister Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Yusof, reported by Berita Harian. The allocation will be used to develop a prototype of the car.

“The allocation will use the R&D grant the government had already approved, and it will be announced by prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad himself,” Mohd Redzuan said yesterday.

“Let the PM announce about the grant. The sum is quite large and is enough to be a catalyst to attract the participation of the private sector in the special purpose vehicle (SPV refers to a company, not a car) that we will establish to raise starting capital to stimulate the development of the third national car,” he added.

R&D grant for local carmakers aren’t new, and earlier this week, finance minister Lim Guan Eng mentioned it in reference to the NNCP, while reiterating that the government will not invest in the project. “To date, the government has no such allocation (to invest in building a third national car) under Budget 2019 except for R&D,” he said.

According to economic affairs minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali, the NNCP was discussed in a recent National Development Council meeting chaired by the PM, and “we will share the prototype with the public soonest next year.”

In October, Mohd Redzuan announced the timelines for the NNCP – the new national car’s name will be announced by the end of this year, while the prototype for the NNCP model is expected to be ready by early next year, ahead of a 2020 roll out. The car is expected to feature semi-autonomous capabilities and advanced safety features, while remaining affordable.

The ministry of international trade and industry (MITI) has received over 20 proposals for the NNCP.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kenot on Dec 07, 2018 at 11:01 am

RnD grant…this is where the tax from rakyat goes to burn. sorry..i still not support this project.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 5
    • Projohn killer comming soon on Dec 07, 2018 at 3:23 pm

If Pertiga is launched, habisla Proton!

• So what on Dec 17, 2018 at 8:00 pm

Government provide grant to National Car’s R&D
        We too pay R&D to Mercedes, BMW, Honda, Toyota & Geely

• Gabriel on Dec 07, 2018 at 5:44 pm

I’m beginning to have headache with this new government. Telling the world that we are in great debt, but willing to spend money on this project.
      I rather have ECRL and KL-Singapore high speed rail than this 3rd national car.
      Gosh…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 07, 2018 at 7:20 pm

I rather have me back the old Government instead of nonsense New Government. This is just same old Mahathir Government in a new bottle. That’s all!

• Ahmadjr on Dec 07, 2018 at 11:01 am

Dapat kat vincent tan lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • “R&D money is not Gov money”. Winliaolor! Like this, whatever Gov money now can simply say its not Gov money, lor!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
    • S.Ibrahim on Dec 07, 2018 at 2:09 pm

No worries. PH fellas will still believe this excuse, just like all the other excuses given.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • panjang on Dec 07, 2018 at 11:04 am

I dont get it, if gomen dont want to get involved then why does ONLY the gomen is making all the comments on this project?

Gomen trigger the project then the gomen approve the grant. Smells like a familiar MO which landed former PM under deep sheet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • newme on Dec 07, 2018 at 11:29 am

Sounds like a 1 term gov.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
  • Anonymous on Dec 07, 2018 at 11:35 am

Wasting of resources

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Amran on Dec 07, 2018 at 11:36 am

Gogo Geely EV!

• U-Tun on Dec 07, 2018 at 12:04 pm

R&D grant?? Haha.. don’t ever dream to get back the money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • SAMSUDDIN BIN AIKHSAN on Dec 08, 2018 at 9:18 am

As mention from somebody above…

Where’s taxpayer money go off…

Wasting…

• Sohai (not ori) on Dec 07, 2018 at 12:05 pm

OMG, here we go again (Remix-Remastered Re-recorded Unlimited version version)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • John Doe on Dec 07, 2018 at 12:18 pm

LGE claims the government has no such allocation (to invest in building a third national car) under Budget 2019 except for R&D due to no foreseeable returns/ benefit to the nation. But a mere grant to waste money instead of building infra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Leafable on Dec 07, 2018 at 12:45 pm

So still need to resource to public fund. Lying again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Not Toyota Fan on Dec 07, 2018 at 12:47 pm

Say gomen won’t pump in money, say it’s a private venture, say gomen got no money but ….. suddenly generously give big grant. This grant didn’t need to be repaid back, unlike a loan which requires repayment. Best jadi kroni 3rd National Car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Gojeng on Dec 07, 2018 at 1:02 pm

Huh? No Govt funds will be used in building the 3rd National Car, except R&D.

So what R&D stands for? Research and Development or Rehat and Duduk? Is the R&D fund did not count for stimulating or starting the project, which equates to funding the project regardless of its scope or level of intervention?

Who are you trying to fool?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • nevermind, as long i get hybrid malaysian car. we hv to move away from fuel. hot climate countries will face staggering temperature increase over the years. And we are still not getting latest Euro Fuel. what are we now..Euro 2 for ron 95?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Greenroda on Dec 07, 2018 at 1:18 pm

Wth after 30 years of failing. Want to start again with rakyat’s money. This is not what we vote for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • almost everyone that has sanity left in them rejects this nonsensical egoistical “national car” project and yet the current gov is bulldozing it thru without a care of the people that voted it into power. absolute tyrant behavior on show.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Chris on Dec 07, 2018 at 1:46 pm

In June, Lim Guan Eng told Channel NewsAsia: “I told the prime minister that we don’t have the money, and he knows it. So it is not from public funds, it’s not like Proton, no. If there are private parties who want to do it in Malaysia using their own money, I think that is something that would be worthwhile looking at – but not from public funds,” he said then.

Hahahahahhaha…now government grant for R&D!!!

Come on! We vote for you to improve our economy! not for 3rd National Car!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • bieight on Dec 07, 2018 at 2:14 pm

damn stupid

• Ruslan Bahari on Dec 07, 2018 at 2:14 pm

This so-called national car which is not using national funds is going to be the downfall of the Pakatan Harapan government. Unless…
    Unless in five years they make a real success out of it, and it causes employment numbers to rise, the brand gets fame and fortune across the borders, and it results in a fairer industry pricing.
    (Giggles silently)

• Ksatria on Dec 07, 2018 at 2:28 pm

haiyaaa..here I am dreaming about car prices turun when I vote PH..Please tell us what’s going on so that we Malaysians get the big picture of what you guys are cooking.

• Afeeq on Dec 07, 2018 at 2:40 pm

The R&D is going into classroom lectures to teach Protiga’s executives how to convince other companies to let them rebadge their cars.

• FireAce on Dec 07, 2018 at 2:48 pm

All these talk about R&D grant while P3 is not even created yet.

This almost sounds like NOBODY is really keen to take up the project to setup P3, including the so called 20++ parties (Didn’t bother to find out the exact numbers) that submitted the proposal. So gula-gula has to display out first.

In summary. Dr.M is saying “Here is a BIG chunk of FREE money for person that take up the task to setup my pet project P3. Any taker? Come and get it”

• Greasemonkey on Dec 07, 2018 at 3:02 pm

No funds for TAR UC,but got funds for this stupid car? We all better vote all the clowns out before they destroy our future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Safety First on Dec 07, 2018 at 3:52 pm

I heard yellow safety vest sales are picking up for something happening.

• Notmypm on Dec 07, 2018 at 3:11 pm

All just to fulfil atok’s ego and wet dream. Better spend the money in agriculture, to produce good clean cheap food for the rakyat who put them in power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • passion on Dec 07, 2018 at 3:35 pm

Fully electric will be good!

• Ben Yap on Dec 07, 2018 at 4:35 pm

time to change government. this government is like lalang… sekejap say like this and sekejap say like that.

• look at how that logo was designed u already know its gona be an ugly car ^^

• Semi Autonomous? What is this? Haha

• Fred Durst on Dec 07, 2018 at 9:46 pm

IDIOT PROJECT!! u will never create high money job. most of the vendor will go for labor intensive regime. More cheap labor from other country will come to the country and be in production. Then more problem to the country. Then when project failed big time and no money pay the salary, all foreigner run away and become illegal working in other industry. Then more social problem will happen. The cycle will never end. This is the worst project ever directly engage by a running government of the day!

• Rayyxs on Dec 08, 2018 at 12:37 am

WHAT IS THE MOST COSTLIEST THING IN BUILDING A PRODUCT???? IS THE R&D PART. IF THE GOVERNMENT SPEND THE MONEY IN R&D ADY WHY JUST TAKE IT UP? STILL NEED TH PRIVATE SECTOR FOR WHAT? SIT THERE AND COLLECT MONEY? WONT USE THE PUBLIC MONEY??? BULLSHIT!!!!! THIS GOVERNMENT REALLY RUBBISH. ALL TALK OF NONSENSE

• SAMSUDDIN BIN AIKHSAN on Dec 08, 2018 at 9:20 am

As mention from somebody above…

Where’s taxpayer money go off…

Wasting…

• TreeHugger on Dec 08, 2018 at 12:15 pm

This new government is quickly revealing its true colour which is worse than previous government. They are acting like heroes of rakyat, give many false promises and keep lying to rakyat who voted them into power. After saying no rakyat money will be spent on this project, just look at how many hours government staff are being forced to work on this project to date and now large sum of rakyat money has been approved for the car R&D. They already lied in the first place and now still trying to deny this as public fund to the project as another attempt to lie to rakyat once again in broad daylight. How can they treat rakyat like we are so stupid as if we cannot look past through their twist of words? Keep shouting that our country has trillion ringgit of debt, cut budget and subsidy left, right, center, and yet has money for 3rd national car which has 50-50 chance of failing and becoming another proton case. If this R&D grant goes through and get to whoever the crony chosen, I’m sure rakyat cannot wait to vote these liars politicians and fake heroes out from the ruling power. Very very disappointed in this new government.

• Pls la…. we need more high tech public transport than what protiga… what a waste of time and money…. You want to success… open up the market la then you can success for sure.. so many limitation here and there.. who dares to help to success… Even Vietnam also can get big investor for their national car… here….. Volkswagen also don dare to work with us… Educate Malaysian… Open up their mind… with Tongkat, we are no body and no where to go… Open up the market… you will see improvement everywhere… income of all the Malaysian will grow.. Economy will grow also… now Malaysia already dead for 2 oils… Palm Oil and Petroleum… you still want to play protiga…. speechless…..

• camtakpro on Dec 11, 2018 at 11:04 am

WTF!!!!

Ugly logo nobody going to buy.
    B40 can’t afford.

Go improve Malaysia infrastructure!!!