The news headlines may have moved on, but the new national car project (NNCP) is rolling on behind the scenes. According to the deputy minister of international trade and industry (MITI), Dr Ong Kian Ming, his ministry has received over 20 proposals for the project, which was raised by prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.
In mid-October, Ong said that MITI had 14 proposals in hand after the government’s invitation for NNCP proposals from the private sector officially ended on October 15.
“In terms of the (new) national car, we’ve received more than 20 proposals to date, from individuals, the private sector and GLC companies. We have a matrix in which we analyse and evaluate each of these proposals. This would be part and parcel of the consultative process by which we come out with a much more comprehensive approach towards this third national car and how it would look like,” Ong said on BFM 89.9’s Breakfast Grille show this morning.
He reiterated that the government won’t be using public funds for the NNCP, which has to be financially sustainable. “I think what we’re looking for are proposals which are financially sustainable. You’ve seen that in the 2019 Budget, there’s been no commitment made by the government in terms of funding the third national car project. So, whatever proposal that comes in from the various companies will have to include serious financial proposals to make this viable.”
MITI is in the process of reviewing the National Automotive Policy (NAP), and Ong insists that the ministry is looking at a larger picture of the entire automotive ecosystem, and isn’t just focused on the NNCP.
“I think we should not discuss the thrd national car project in isolation, beacuse what’s most important is the whole automotive sector. My ministry is currrently undergoing a review process of the NAP. The last review was done in 2014 and the next one is due early next year.
“What this entails is to look at the entire automotive ecosystem. It includes for example the other CKD players; other car players such as Perodua; the vendors that supply the CKD players, Proton and Perodua; and also the other infrastructure or ecosystem related issues,” he said.
Elaborating on the final point above, he added: “If we want to introduce more hybrids and electric vehicles, we’re talking bout batteries, we’re talking about charging stations, electric motorcycles and bicycles. The bigger picture would be looking at the larger automotive sector.”
To recap, last month, entrepreneur development minister Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Yusof announced the timelines for the NNCP – the new national car’s name will be announced by the end of this year, while the prototype for the NNCP model is expected to be ready by early next year, ahead of a 2020 roll out. The car is expected to feature semi-autonomous capabilities and advanced safety features, while remaining affordable.
DO NOT USE RAKYAT’S MONEY.
He reiterated that the government won’t be using public funds for the NNCP, which has to be financially sustainable. “I think what we’re looking for are proposals which are financially sustainable. You’ve seen that in the 2019 Budget, there’s been no commitment made by the government in terms of funding the third national car project. So, whatever proposal that comes in from the various companies will have to include serious financial proposals to make this viable.”
NO FUNDING FOR THIRD NATIONAL CAR PROJECT UNLIKE PROTON. THIS IS WHAT PROTON SHOULD HAVE BEEN WITHOUT UMNO CRONIES.
Last time also they said Proton got no funding by Government when it was in DRB hands.
But we all knew, although in DRB hands and Government insisting it is in private DRB hands, Proton did receive bailouts of RM1.5 bil and RM1.7 bil.
Malaysians were laughing. Government say in private hands but yet, give bailout to Proton
True. For Malaysians, No tongkat no buy.
No more Nasi Lemak products please!
Over 20 proposals …the confidence and support really overwhelming. Kudos
Wow! Already have a prototype before the company is unveiled? Protiga seems to work much faster than Proton. I hope they will be a success, unlike our 30 years national pride of the past.
In other words, the cronies have lined up early and had been chosen. All these “proposals” r just wayang to tipu the easily fooled pipu. The previous Gov have managed to offload the countrys burden and ensure the survival of national car, but now we go back one again to carrying this burden once more. So those who chose PH, stop complaining about car prices cuz u made that choice to choose overpriced Perotiga.
Spot on!
Even for ‘cronies’ as you said, they need to work hard in order to produce a prototype. To make one you can’t just tipu, you need a team of engineers and designers working together. This is what Proton should have done instead of rebadging China cars. Also, stop blaming the Gov for cars you can’t afford as the previous Gov have never managed to make cars affordable to ensure the survival of national car.
So if tis 3rd national car failed and later sold to Tongsan, wll there be a 4th, 5th, 6th etc national car each time the previuos pojek fail?
We already entered record book for “most national car pojek” for a single country…
import car wanna increase price la. local car project wanna do la. When does the govt learn that competition breeds innovation. haih.. Cant do it, just let other ppl do it lor. Why so want face
Many people blame on national car 3.0 but they fail to see the reason behind this project and solely blame on Tun M is desire to attain his dream. In fact we have NO CHOICE because we are heavily rely on automotive. There are a lot of people in automotive industry like car manufacturer, transportation, used cars (online market or showroom), grab car, tyre shops, car repair or service center, body paint, car accessories, car tinting, car wash, carpark, public ticket machine (oen of the income to local municipal) and many more. Imagine one day we have zero car (except public buses) on the road and people all take train, how many of us will losing our job and losing income too. By then who need the public buses or trains as no work available.
Some of you may said we can explore more fields like IT, machinery technology, medication research, telco etc. But we are not in these fields in the past and there are other countries are very good in these fields. It takes decades to them to become expert and invested huge amount of money involved and trained or employed many talents to become successful in these fields.
If we start explore new things government need to invest huge amount of money but now we all know the country is in huge debt. We need outsider to invest money into Malaysia. You guys may argue we have lots of natural resources and should be fully utilize, but if we local Malaysia unable to havest and utilize them then these resources are considered as junk. Why dont we allow foreigner companies to utilize these resources and return some profit to us.
We already have 2 local brand (p1 n p2) plus 2 niche brand car (Bufori n TD) still not enough? There bout 10+ car brand that assemble car in bolehland still not enough?
The main reason of this national car 3.0 is to create jobs. Like the news said it will potential create 175k jobs and over 100 of enterpreneurs. This figure may not real but if the achieve half it will still about 90k people got jobs to survive.
Every year we heard of news some big companies reduce workforce, companies like Western Digital, Seagate, British Tobacco, Japan Tobacco. These are reported one but there are many not reported one like IT companies IBM, HP, Dell etc every year they also retrench staffs more than new employment. In year 2015 38,000 jobs lost, 2016 about 37,000 jobs gone as official mentioned. 2017 unofficial report is about 40,000 jobs retrenched and 2018 is expected to be 50,000 jobs lost.
Now you tell me which field or industry can help to employ these people, let said 30% still unemployed about 50,000. Don’t forget there are more and more youngesters to come out to work, they do need job too. And soon more and more insurance agents and bankers will lost their jobs too if artificial intelligence take over.
To me this national car 3.0 isn’t for national car purpose but it is more for creating job to citizens.
That’s right. Pipu with visions will see this, only oppositions with shallow minds will oppose this. They just want to politicise everything for their own gain.
Actually I’ve no idea what you r implying on creating another National Car to boost up car accessories/parts suppliers in Malaysia. Doesn’t Malaysia have enough 3rd party brands to support them why do you even need another car company?
Malaysia is never a car manufacturer to begin with, we are basically not capable to create a car from the ground up because in our Schooling days there is no such automotive subject to begin with while our higher education on this subject is also limited as can be seen all our national engines are manufactured with other partners or just bolted on by other brands.
To be real honest why Malaysian are so mad is all because this car parts/accessories suppliers were created to lower down the quality (as quoted by Proton) and to feed some cronies along the way.
Do you think Malaysia citizens still living in 1990? We are getting more educated and people won’t buy low quality products these days. To be honest Proton quality is low??? My family had owned 1 saga, 2 iswara, 3 wira, 2 waja, 1 perdana and 1 Gen 2 in past 20 years. Except the mighty Gen2 was giving most headache other proton models are not bad. I have none of these cars broken down in roadside except Gen2. Waja (both mitsubishi engine models) has no issue on engine or gearbox except the absorber problem. Wira proton is well know as the power window, broken 2-3 times during 7 years time. Saga and Iswara are great not giving headache except no powersteering (need more muscle power to turn).
To me worst part of Proton is the after sales service, the SC doesn’t has skilled workers, waiting long time for parts, lower standard of SC somes are authorize workshop deemed as SC and higher bill.
Nowadays no more cronies companies for Proton after Preve launched if not mistaken. Because my friend worked in steel supply company to Proton and the steel was imported from Korea it was from Hyundai steel. Some proton audion is blaupunkt, it is german brand under Robert Bosch. Is this also call crony?
Why proton can’t lower down the price is because they are unable to achieve economy of scale like others. If the sales of Proton is low the cost of production will be higher. To achieve lower cost they must produce more and sell not only domestic but also overseas markets.
Malaysia has a lot of small car accessories shops or spare part shops but this is for “replacement market”. We do not have enough BIG part supppliers in Malaysia yet as the current scale is still consider small. FYI, Proton tanjung malim plant is still under utilized until today. To boost the scale of parts suppliers they need big order from car manufacturer, that’s why more CKD cars or national cars will help them expand their capacity and business too. No volume will lead to higher cost, less competitive and lower margin. We are talking about business without volume business is hard to sustain.
Why waste time talking about the 3rd national car project.
The tax incentive given to 3rd national car project will reduce the country revenue and provide less option for consumer to choose their preferred product.(due to protection market)
Please go to review the Car AP and save few billion more for our country.
National car 3.0 reduce the country’s revenue? Malaysia had implemented excise duty long time ago and all car manufacturers including national car have to pay this excise duty tax. Tax incentive apply to corporate tax once a year but excise duty charge on EVERY new vehicle sold. So there is no revenue decrease but increase of excise duty tax income to government.
Cant even solve Mat Rempit problem, jaywalkers, beating traffic lights, no helmets, no seatbelts, etc etc…, want to do this!!!
Get the basics right first before embarking on a first world project. Remember, we are still a third world country in all aspects.
CTRM (Khazanah Nasional’s subsidiary) is involved in the project and they claimed no Rakyat’s money being used for the project? This is ridiculously deceiving
Dunno meh? Khazanah, EPF, SOCSO, LHDN, etc monies not belong to rakyat but to us. So what?
Are you sure? What about billions in donation? Belongs to who?
That one was private money but used for public gud. According to Nobita, Khazanah money is not public money becuz Perotiga is not public funded but funded by Khazanah
P1 still designing bumpers and logo after 30 years..screw all those claiming need protect engineers and related industries job..they can easily find job without neeer for national car status..just look at Thailand
Lynk & Co, Geely > all
Come on YB OKM, you know they’re your best shot.
Make. That. Choice. Glory to Geely Empire!
Dear Malaysia G,
I would like to express one thing. How good is our Malaysian driver, road infrastructure, public transport and etc. If you could solved those issues and raise your voice for third national car. I salute u. Those ambition to have another car company is not bad, but please fix our citizens of Malaysia main point. Even third national car will be intro, how much tax being impose into import cars. U want all Malaysian to suffer. Hope G feel our pain. Malaysian is suffering with high tax into our daily driven car. Or G can open its market and let P1 and P2 become mature without protection. I feel bad for Malaysian who suffer since day one P1 exist.
Regards,
Fellow Citizen of Malaysia
I hope government not increase the import or excise duty anymore to foreign car brands, meanwhile please DO NOT reduce excise duty too. Imagine with current high tax on vehicle luxury brand like Mercedes and BMW are selling more new vehicle every year. This imply that Malaysian have high capability to afford expensive car. Look at the road condition in KL, the traffic is getting higher every year despite more highways built.
If decrease of car tax means government encourage more citizens to buy car and our traffic will get worsening. National car 3.0 is creating additonal option to citizens rather than to encourage citizen to buy more cars. It is increase of OPTION not volume.
Talk like najib. It’s not about using public money. The main question is Will it artificially jacking up car prices? Don’t beat around the bush. Answer it.
I was told by one of my contacts that Kepong kit car makers Bufori also submitted for national car. they cant even save themselves and make proper cars and they bid for this? is this an insult or joke?
WE, RAKYAT DON’T CARE ABOUT 3rd or 4th NATIONAL CAR!!! WE JUST WANT PH TO REMOVE ALL UNFAIR TAX BARRIER ON ALL CAR SOLD IN M’SIA. WE, RAKYAT HAS SUFFERED SINCE 1981 TM STARTED PROTON! RAKYAT VOTED PH, NOT FOR TM TO CREATE ANOTHER NATIONAL CAR PROJECT AND WHEN IS CAR PRICE REDUCTION(-30%) PROMISE GOING TO REALISE?
(54K Myvi Advance becomes 38K) WHERE???
Did you ever went to Thailand Bangkok, Philippines Manila or Indonesia Jakarta? Look at these countries with no vehicle tax or very low tax rate, the traffic condition is extremely horrible. 5km distance will take at least 30-45min in day time non-peak hour.
And yet with higher car tax rate in ASEAN except lower than Singapore, Malaysia has the highest ratio of branded cars. Our cars are expensive and yet we still afford to buy expensive foreign cars, what if government reduce the tax people will buy even more expensive or additional cars to flood the road.
And this national car 3.0 intention is to create job opportunity, I did not seen a reason to oppose it unless you can tell me which single industry nowadays can give 175k job opportunity.
Country like Vietnam just launched their national car WINFAST and being featured in the Paris Auto Show. The EV cars look really attractive. If Vietnam can do it we Malaysians can do it too. We should encourage the 3rd car development initiatives n work to succeed in this program.
This time around the management, procurement, designing, financial control, sales n marketing n technical training are utmost important to make the 3rd car project n it’s brand successfull otherwise we Malaysians will become a laughing stock.
Make it the pride of all Malaysians.
If you guys realise I did reply several posts here. Why I so keen to do so, I am not related to PH nor involve in politic. My point of view purely from economy perspective. Nowadays more and more industries reducing workforce and many retrenchment happened and people are losing their jobs. This is not only happen to Malaysia but also globally. There will be more retrenchment happen in future not because of Malaysia government not good but due to cost effectiveness and advance technology lead to automation.
There are no single industry can create more jobs in near future except this national car 3.0 project. It is true having new national car is not a good idea to settle our daily commuting issue. But this project gives lots of career opportunity and more businesses to car related companies, shops and stores. More job created means more personal income tax collect, more business means government able to collect more corporate income tax. And yet this project is not using public fund, it is 100% private project. In this scenario government does not spend money to create more jobs and business opportunities and yet they able to collect more excise duty from new national car 3.0 and more income tax (personal and corporate). This is huge income to government to pay off the country debt.